We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Once again we have just returned from the Excellence Punta Cana - maybe some don't understand the hype but we most certainly do - from our greeting from Roberto - "Thank you for your loyalty and Welcome Home" - to the very minute we left everything was perfect.

This is now our 5th holiday at this wonderful hotel and we are not alone in returning. We met people whom we first met in 2009 and others who have been coming for over 5 years. We decided to upgrade to the Excellence Club a few weeks before we came and we cannot thank Linda Bauer enough for all the hard work she did in arranging everything for us. Our room was beautiful, on the ground floor and only a few steps from the pool. Thanks also go to Carlos the concierge in the Club along with Adonis (he really is a god) who served drinks and coffee.

The rooms in blocks 6 to 12 have all been renovated and are looking beautiful and still have the WOW factor. They are cleaned everyday and the turn-down service at night is very appreciated. These ladies work very hard to make sure everything is done to your satisfaction.
The other blocks will be upgraded this year.

The gardens are beautifully kept and is the perfect place for the flamingos, birds and ducks. The ponds can be a little smelly but there is not a lot that can be done with the water not circulating all the time.

We noticed a few changes this year mainly the Pool assistants - what great girls, Natilie, Nilda and Sonia - so sorry if I have forgotten anyone. Towels were laid out on all the sunbeds in the morning and they went round about the pool all day checking everything was OK for everyone. Another lovely touch was Management going around everyday asking if anyone had any problems and taking the time to speak to people. This is most definately new and appreciated by everyone.

Food - where do I start. There is something for everyone - the choice is varied. Our favourite restaurant is Spice - a few shared by many others. The waiters are first class and a big thanks to Jesus for such a well-run restaurant. Chez Isabelle - lovely atmosphere, good food and a perfect ambiance. Our favourite waiter, Junior, was so attentive and is fantastic around the table. A very polite young man who we hope will go far in his career. Agave - I love Mexican food though it is not a favourite of my husband. We had a great night in here with a lovely meal and good wine. Samuel is a treasure and we will be keeping in contact through email and facebook. Oregano - though this restaurant has been here for a few years we had never gone for a meal believing it to be just Pizza but when we arrived we wanted something very quick and light to eat so we decided to try it. Oh how glad we were. The food was fantastic and the pizza was as light as a feather. We even went back a second time to try their Lasagne which other guests had recommended to us and it was worth it.

We could go on reviewing the rest of the restaurants but I could write forever. Suffice to say we enjoyed our food in each one of them.

Special thanks go to the following for making our holiday so magical once again. Roberto, Linda, Carlos, Adam, Victor and Ana (Lobster House), Junior, Samuel, Adam and Ramon (Toscana), Rosanne, Grizel and our favourite from breakfast, Magaly, and Lisbeth from the Grill - one of the most friendly, beautiful and intellegent people we have ever met. Restaurant Manager, Victor is a very special person and runs perfect restaurant. There are so many and apologise to anyone not already mentioned. We have also a special mention for Altagracia who served our drinks around the pool. Along with everyone else she welcomed us with a kiss and cuddle.

It is unbelievable that, no matter how many people go through the hotel, everyone has remembered us, not just by face but by name and we appreciate it so much. Love everyone of them lots.

Lastly, it was so lovely to see Rafael back - missed him last year.

Will finish by saying - please try this hotel. Everything is done to please holidaymakers and we are already making plans for next year.

Room Tip: We chose Excellence Club this year but have honestly never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank livefortheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,736 - 7,742 of 13,668 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We chose ths resort after much research on TA and were pleased with our choice.
The journey too/from the airport was not as bad as we expected, with the holes in the road having been filled in. On arrival we were greeted by Roberto (he spoke to us several times during our stay and when we left). We were celebrating our Anniversary had emailed ahead to let them know and also requested a top floor room in block 9. Great welcome at reception from Edwin and greeted with a 'happy anniversary' . Room was as requested with an anniversary banner on the door, champagne and fruit in the room and we enjoyed a champagne breakfast in bed and a special anniversary dinner.

Our room was lovely, no musty smells and the air con worked well - in fact it was too cold at times! We found the bed extremely comfortable and there was a mattress topper on when we arrived. We had towel art from the maid every day, except one, turndown service every evening and fridge stocked daily ( except one day, but a quick call to concierge and they were there within 5 mins).

Food - we didn't have any bad meals, just a few that didn't quite match the description on the menu - but nothing we couldn't eat. Tried all of the restaurants and favourites were Chez Isabel and Spice. We weren't too keen on Toscana - not the food but the ambience. Hubby likened it to being in a canteen because the room is so big. We really think this would be better as a buffet in the evening - one thing we missed from other AI's we have stayed at.

Entertainment was good - with professional acts each evening. Weren't too keen on the sellers that pitch up a couple of times a week with their wares, but soon learnt which routes to take to avoid them!

The pool is lovely with plenty of beds and palapas and loved the beach. We did manage to get into the sea, despite it being red flagged. Had fun jumping the waves. There was always someone coming round the pool and beach with drinks, canapés, pizzas and a few days management came out to speak with guests.

All of the staff that we interacted with we're lovely, really friendly and spoke brilliant English - much better than my Spanish! Loved Natalie at the Pool Concierge, such a lovely girl who will do well at Excellence.

Overall we really enjoyed our time here.
Contact me if you have any questions :)

Room Tip: Block 9, top floor. Lovely Garden view and very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellence Punta Cana was amazing- the resort is gorgeous and the staff is friendly. Johanna and Viktoria were especially nice and helpful. The swim up bar is great along with the horseback riding. The beach was red flag, but we enjoyed it anyways. We stayed at Excellence Playa Mujeres last year and that resort is better if you are trying to choose between the two.

Couple of negatives- we didn't have hot water the first night, but that was quickly fixed the next day, the Excellence Club in my opinion was a waste and we encountered one rude employee which I had to talk to the front desk about. The shows are great, but it gets really hot. The ride there takes an hour from the airport.

Couple positives- Food was pretty good, the servers are always around and helpful to bring you drinks and snacks, we liked the beach grill, they brought pizzas around the pool everyday, shows are fun

Overall its a great resort and beautiful. You will have a blast

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I chose this resort to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Based on our research, it seemed like one of the most beautiful and well liked vacation spots. We had also never been to the Dominican Republic so we were excited about that too. Firstly, the hotel is absolutely in the middle of nowhere. We had a van full of people and it was quite painful dropping them all off one by one at their resorts until finally (2 hours later) it was our turn...the very last guests to get off. Check in was simple enough but my biggest issue is that the resort is so large that they have about 10 or 11 different buildings with guest rooms. When the humidity feels like it's 150% the last thing I wanted to do was trek back and forth across the grounds to get to the pool, beach, the lobby, one of the restaurants to eat. We were always dripping within minutes. To make matters worse, the lobby and most of the restaurants were not enclosed and the air conditioning in our room never seemed to feel strong enough so there was rarely an escape from the heat.

Although the pool was very large and well maintained with plenty of floating rafts and staff on hand to bring drinks or handing out a drink of the day, what I found extremely irritating and quite disgusting was that the hotel had no problem with people smoking their cigarettes and cigars in the water. It was so much fun enjoying a nice swim and realizing I was making my way through someone's ashes. Also, the one bathroom that they had right next to the pool was under construction at the time so it was a nice long walk back to either the lobby or your room if you had to go. The pool's shape didn't make it any easier as well, as it was long and winding with few opportunities to be able to get to the other side.

The food was quite enjoyable and with all you can eat who can complain. Some of the nicer restaurants on the grounds had quite a wait time so unless you had a reservation, you were stuck waiting outside for about half an hour. Our favorite part of this trip was the live animals that they had at the entrance. On a very nice little trail that they have made, you can walk by a pond and see ducks, turtles, and flamingos and they also have some beautiful geese and macaws to see. We went down for that walk a few times because it was so enjoyable.

Lastly, although I will say that the food was enjoyable both my husband and I got a slight touch of food poisoning on the last day. I was surprised because everything tasted quite fresh and delicious but needless to say the plane ride home was a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Adults only, all inclusive. Very nice resort. The beach swimming was a little rough. Big waves. You can walk down the beach just 10 minutes and find calm water. The rooms are suites. The interior section of the resort has all plants which leads to a lot of bugs. Resort is an hour away from the airport. A small handful of salespeople on the beach hassling you. Its manageable. The beach is walkable. There are elevators in the buildings of the resort. Each building is three flights. The first floor is a all walkout to the pool. We chose the second floor. We did not have an issue with bugs in June Beach was wonderful, nice sand. The waves were a little strong. People were walking further down the beach to find calmer waters. The food was excellent. Only the breakfast and lunch were buffet. Dinner you had to rely on the restaurants which did not have a lot of choices. Room server was there but again not a lot of choices. The Spa was all extra. The fitness section has all the equipment for a good workout. Room was always cleaned. Water pressure for showers was always strong. Pool was so so, but the beach made up for it. A lot of people were getting suckered into paying for the club suite, a waste, it just gave you extra booze and a seperate sitting area on the beach, nothing spectacular. The resort had free wifi

Room Tip: Choose upper floor, less bugs or choose lower floor if you want a walkout to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I booked a long weekend (July13-16) for our 5th anniversary. The resort is fantastic, but I can honestly say we would not go back. The bad out weighs the good.

The Good: The pool was amazing. Every room was only a few steps from the pool which stretched the length of the resort. Chairs and floaters were plentiful (granted we were there "Off Peak" season). Beverage service in and out of the pool was great. Restaurant service was quick and attentive. Language was not a major issue. Most of the staff spoke English well enough for casual conversation. The beach was big & clean and the sand was soft. My wife was very happy with her Spa visit. As a whole the resort grounds were stunning.

The OK: The drive from the airport was long (45-50 mins) and bumpy , but not as bad as other reviewers make out. The room was nice, but didn't have the "wow factor". The cable reception was fuzzy. The balcony door didn't quite fit the frame. Closing it completely to activate the AC sensors caused the opposite end to open a 1/4 inch. Just enough to let in very small bugs. That said, we did not notice a bug issue and did not need the bug spray were brought. The AC was sufficient in our room. The window from the bedroom into the shower/toilet area was a little strange. The beds were hard, but not horrible. The ocean was rough, but not unlike the Mid-Atlantic and Northern East Coast beaches. It was ok to jump around in, but you couldn't relax in it like you could on the Caribbean. The lighting...The rooms were dim even with all lights on. The walking around the resort at night was an adventure. The restaurants were lit for romance, but reading the menus was a challenge.

The Bad: Not trying to sound like a broken record, but the food was below average at best. The choice for restaurants was made by deciding where we thought we could possibly get a palatable meal. My wife sent back her filet mignon. How do you screw up filet? Not how it is cooked, but the taste and quality of the beef. The heat & humidity( I know, we went in July) was unbearable. In the pool or ocean was the only relief. The open air restaurants had fans, but couldn't move enough air. The indoor restaurants had AC, but it couldn't keep up. Add in the long pants requirement for men and it was uncomfortable.

Overall: We had a good time. The drinks were flowing and we spent 6-8 hours each day at the pool. If they can upgrade the food to average, we might return. Until then, we'll find other options.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FatGuyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We went to this hotel on recommendation, the year before we went to the iberostar grand, both hotels come in the same price bracket and with similer write up, we had a lovely holiday but some things needed updating, the room we had was nice as discribed but i think the difference between the 2 hotels was this one was eleven years old and the grand was 4 years old the restauants are great and the staff fantastic in both hotels but the buffet in the excellence let it down needs a complete upgrade but before that i assume the area will have a new hotel excellence2 and the other will be downgraded then it will be worth another visit this is what the iberostar have done over the years iberostar 10 excellence 6

Room Tip: rooms that have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
16.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,492 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £190 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Savannahville Tours N.V., Travelbag, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing