We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Vacation at an Excellent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I were at the Excellence in Punta Cana for a wedding and everything from the customer service to dining in one of the nine restaruants was EXCELLENT. The staff went out of their way to ensure that our every need was met. We have traveled extensively, and we clearly rate our stay at Excellence Punta Cana at the top of the list!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LayKSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,585 - 5,591 of 13,346 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Check-in was easy and room was ready on arrival. Grounds were large and lush with lots of nice tropical plants and animals which was a nice touch. Rooms were a nice size, we were on the ground floor with a patio and hammock. Hector Louis at the sports bar took great care of us even after he was moved to another location. Activity staff was nice and we appreciated the daily beach volleyball games. The water was very rough during our stay so be careful if you do venture out. They were in the process of doing some renovations to the grounds, which was definitely needed as parts of the resort are starting to show its age. Overall we had a great stay and will consider another excellence resort on a future stay. Any questions don't hesitate to send me a message!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our first time at an all-inclusive and in many ways it exceeded our expectations.

Good:
The food was good (not great, but good).
Drinks were plentiful
Service was EXCELLENT
The beach was clean
The resort grounds are beautiful

The Bad:
The beds were hard as rocks and the mattress pad only helped a little bit.
The room decor could stand to be updated.

The beds were our only major complaint. The staff were awesome and while there could be improvements to the food we did not starve. The biggest issue we had with the food was that it was a little on the bland side and just needed more seasoning.

We were on our honeymoon and they offered us a complimentary honeymoon package (sign on the door, romantic dinner in a restaurant) that was a nice added touch. They also included a 30 minute horse back ride on the beach, but that is included in everyone's stay so I think that is a little misleading.

The resort was nice and quiet while we were there, we were able to relax by the pool without a bunch of yelling and horseplay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We spent a week at the Excellence Punta Cana and couldn't have been more pleased with the resort. The staff were all wonderful, going out of their way to make sure that any request was met promptly, always smiling, friendly and cheerful. Jhon at poolside was so attentive and made sure to always have our favorite drinks quickly brought to us. The rooms were large and well maintained. The in-room mini bar was always stocked with beverages and they were so accomodating to my special request of drinks. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is enormous, the beach is beautiful with white sand no seaweed or garbage around. The various restaurants gave one so many options to chose on a daily basis and the food was good. We really liked the outdoor beach bbq and poolside dinner they had during our stay. We took a spanish lesson poolside one morning and enjoyed our instructor. I loved that there were no vendors that attack you to buy things when you are on the beach as there are in many other resorts.

The only criticism that I have is I didn't care for the glass walled toilet/shower area as I prefer more privacy. That is a very minor inconvenience of the resort and other than that, everything was spectacular. It does cost quite a bit to get from the airport to the hotel ($70.00) but it is worth every penny. I have stayed at several all inclusive resorts and this is by far the nicest.

We spent some time at the small casino and were pleasantly surprised that we hit quite a few jackpots on the slot machines. Very unusual for such a small casino.

I realize that there are some people who just can't be happy and have complaints about where ever they are, but believe me when I say that there is nothing to complain about at this resort. Well done Excellence! It definitely lives up to their name!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was our first experience at an all-inclusive. Some friends of ours went and sold us on it. When you arrive at the resort, they start the pampering. You are met with a smile, a moist towel, and a sparkling glass of champagne! Not your typical check in either. You don't go to the front desk to check in. We had what we call our own personal concierge! His name is Mr. ROBERTO PUELLO. He made our visit wonderful. He made us feel like we were the president. Never in our life have we received this type of service. They have 8 restaurants serving everything you heart desires. We visited the spa and did the couples massage. The staff was wonderful and very professional. We left feeling like a million dollars. They also offer live entertainment every night. Very talented cast, high energy. They select some guests to become part of the show. The swim up bar was unbelievable. Whatever you want, they got it. We also rode horses on the beach. Our guides were wonderful, you would enjoy, regardless of your riding experience. They offer cabanas all over the beach, with servers that keep your drink and food orders coming. The beach is clean, water is clear. It was our anniversary, so we received their anniversary package. We normally don't go to the same place twice, there are so many places we haven't visited...but, my wife said we would definitely go back to The Excellence. My only regret is I can only give them a 5 star rating....they deserve a 10! OK, go ahead and book your visit and enjoy the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cleve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have travelled extensively in the Dominican Republic...Santo Domingo...La Romana...Perto Plata...Samana...Punta Cana etc. etc. but I return now each year (and have done so for the past 5 years to absolutely the very best of the very best in the Dominican...Hotel Excellence.
This treasure is not only a 5++ star adult only hotel ...it is an unsurpassed experience in 'service'.

The accommodations are first rate...the 24 hour room service menu alone rivals that of any great restaurant...the other 8 eating establishments are first rate and infinitely varied...especially the addition of their newest member...'The Market' where you sample a very wide variety of unusual and delicious treasures.

Club Excellence...the VIP option for your stay is a must if you appreciate and value service over and above the 5+ star variety.

The staff at this hotel are not faking it...they really enjoy their jobs and go over and above...way over and above to ensure you have a wonderful experience....from remembering your favourite drink to returning lost items to their owners...always with a smile; when they say 'It is a pleasure to help' ...they mean it!!

So many staff members come to mind...but a few really stand out...the concierge, Club Excellence pool area...Ines Antonio Rafael...and Daniel ...the best bartender in the DR...to Paloma who takes your room service orders...and always gets it just right...and fast!

All in all...this is my jewel in DR's crown....the very best of the best.

Room Tip: Club Excellence...ocean view room...the very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I had an AWESOME time during our 4nights/5days there. The resort had everything you could want. Rooms were large with Jacuzzi and long balcony (we stayed on 3rd floor overlooking cascading pool). Excellence has a very clean/large beach area with bars near by and plenty of chairs/beds. Horse back riding and bike tour were also included at the resort at no charge. One thing worth mentioning is the PHENOMENAL staff. They def take care of you and work EXTREMELY hard to make sure you have a great experience there. Everyone included bartenders, maids, hostesses, waiters, and especially entertainment crew. Def take advantage activities and shows that they have. We live near NYC and the circus show on Thursday nights is comparable to/better than shows we've seen in the city. I would also like to give a shot out to the entertainment crew including Jonathan, Luz, and Julio (this guy really loves his job!) Although it was Jonathans first week working at excellence, he was very professional, very friendly, and took great care of us during the bike tour. They made of feel so welcomed that we would go back simply to hang out with them again. I highly recommend this resort and guarantee you'll have an excellente time. Perfect for honey mooners/ celebrating your anniversary. Def will revisit this resort in the future. location and staff make this location.. 6 stars for service

-raj and vandita

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rrraj222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
1.4 mi away
Excellence El Carmen
Excellence El Carmen
#2 of 5 in Uvero Alto
1,792 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £207 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing