We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Honeymoon”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We decided on Excellence for our Honeymoon because it had the best combination of good reviews, accommodations, and price. We were not disappointed.

It was a good hour drive from the airport, and was a bit bumpy, but we made it there where a 5 star greeting was waiting for us. Check in process was seamless and we were in our gorgeous room in no time. Everyone from the bartenders to the maids was so polite and thoughtful. The accommodations were perfect, comfortable, and luxurious.

The food was sometimes hit or miss, but for the most part, delicious. Especially the breakfast buffet at the grill. Don't miss it.... it's everything you could eat and it was awesome. Our favorite for dinner was the Italian place, followed by the French place. The Asian place was our least fav. The pizzas and snacks at the beach bar were awesome and definitely hit the spot on a hot afternoon.

The beach was like a postcard. The pool was glorious. We preferred the beach because it was less crowded. Servers out there were very attentive without being too bothersome. They had a daily drink demonstration and tasting which was so great, and brought around to go personal pizzas around lunch time.. all the little touches made it that much more special.

I would recommend upgrading to the excellence club level.. Special area on the beach with padded chairs and more servers, access to the lounge which can be nice when there's too many people at the bar in the lobby, and our upgraded room was AMAZING and worth it.

We will definitely be going back soon!

Room Tip: We got an excellence club roof top terrace room and LOVED IT. we had our own personal plunge pool on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,773
    2,813
    970
    417
    284
See reviews for
794
9,153
108
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at the property middle of May, 2014 and spent 10 days. Next time it will be longer. This was our first trip to Punta Cana and we could not wait to book it at again at this hotel. The resort was beautiful and the people were terrific! (Entertainement staff - Julio, Luz, Anney, Jhonatan -Thanks for the great time and being so pateint and determined to teach us to dance. Thanks to Jhonatan for the CD of D.R. music so we can practice and be good dancers when we come back! Resturant - Brenda was always smiling and happy to see us. We had some great conversations with her!) The food was also very good. Lots of variety and all you can eat! We did do several excursions which were somewhat high priced but the Dolphin tour was a once in lifetime thing for us. We did a snorkeling tour but it was more drinking and standing in the water than actual snorkeling. I think the only thing that was a negative for us was the intense mosquito biting going on as the sun went down and at night. The resort tries to smog them out with bug spray trucks but they kept on coming. Several night we skipped the outside dinners to eat indoors. It's out of the resorts control though after all, you're in the tropics. If your debating weather to go, don't. Go and choose this location. You won't want to come home. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mbk1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 for our anniversary and it was outstanding. The only thing I would change would be location of room. We ended up on the first floor right behind one of the restaurants and it was crazy loud, plus our patio had a view of exactly nothing (or more accurately, the wall of the building) so no real point in trying out the lovely looking hammock. Oh! and fair warning on bathroom...they have this weird configuration of half wall of glass in shower facing bedroom (so if you're showering and someone is in room, they can see top half of body) and then the jacuzzi bathtub is in middle of room. So if you have any privacy issues - might want to think about that. But other than that, amazing time!! Staff was outstanding (ex. we brought bottle of champagne back to room after catching the lobby show and the next day after housekeeping had been through, they left us TWO fresh bottles of champagne! Love that!) Food was delicious and great variety of restaurants. Note: they rotate which restaurants are open on a daily basis so do check the little flyer they leave for you each night to make sure the place you're craving is open that night. Buffet was my favorite for breakfast/lunch - the abundance of choices is staggering. The Grill on the beach is also a solid choice for lunch or later afternoon snack. Very enjoyable that they have staff that walks the beach asking if you need drinks, etc. and will bring it back for you (and we didn't stay in VIP section). We went mostly to relax so we didn't take advantage of the kayaks, boogie boards, snorkeling etc. and didn't go on excursions. We did one outing that the hotel offered free of charge and that was the horseback riding along beach. Personally, I'd skip it if we go back and recommend you do too. The horses looked exhausted and extremely thin. I ended up feeling completely guilty for riding them so not a fun adventure. Final piece of advice - I'd spend the extra money and get a swim up room. The pool doesn't come right up to your door but it's only a few steps away and those rooms had really nice, comfy looking cabana beds, patios to lounge on. Plus they were on quieter side of hotel. Go and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Swim up rooms have cabana beds and are on quieter side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heather Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The resort was beautiful and the people were the best....Erik (the drink server on the beach), Kassandra and Annye ( the entertainment people), Rosanna (server at Tocano) and Angel (server at the Grill) were some of the best people working to make everything we want and need while on vacation. These are some of the best people to have at your resort dealing with the customers. The place is beautiful, clean and more than enjoyable to go on vacation. Best believe I will be coming back next year with a group of people......On of my best vacations ever!!

Room Tip: Ground Floors makes it easier to get to your room after drinking alot....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are a 50-something couple and recently spent just three nights at Excellence Punta Cana. It was a great experience. Our third adults-only all-inclusive; the other two (Riviera Maya and Jamaica) were also good, but this was the best. We took a ground-floor, non-ocean-or-pool-facing "junior suite." This was not a problem since the room itself was very nice and we spent plenty of time in the pool and on the beach. The selection of food and drinks was excellent, and the service was very good. One member of the couple we were traveling with was ill, and they were very well taken care of. We did not choose to participate in any of the evening or off-site activities (since we were staying such a short time), but there was a good variety of options.
Only complaint (and we'll get over it) is that there was a lot of noise at times at night with late night revelers talking/yelling and laughing as they returned to their rooms.
Also, more of an observation: this is the only all-inclusive (or hotel of any kind) we've been to where the pool closes at 6:00 pm. It was sometimes closer to 6:30 till they shooed everyone out, but still.... Not sure we would have gone for a nighttime swim anyway, but it was kind of odd not to have the option.

Room Tip: Even the "low-rent" suites had great amenities. Our patio was on a corner and near the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in February 2014 with two other couples and everyone loved this resort! We contemplated this resort again for our Christmas vacation trip in December 2014, however, there are just so many resorts out there that we felt we should try a different place.
This resort is considered the best one according to feedback we got from tour guides – if you are staying at Excellence Punta Cana you are lucky, they told us. The resort is, unfortunately, about an hour from the airport, which but wasn't great but was worth the ride.

Check-in:
Check-in was quick and efficient. One of the couples we were with will not stay on a ground floor room and the resort was advised of that months before we arrived so when they found out they had a ground floor room “crap hit the fan” and they had to wait quite a while to get a room on the second or third floors but they eventually got it.

Rooms:
Our room was in building 14 on the ground floor and it was OK for the first couple of nights, but by the third night there were sand fleas in the room and I got bitten like crazy!!! They immediately fogged the room which helped with that issue, but the A/C was wretched. We had it set for the coldest temperature possible and I was still sweating while sleeping at night. Service came to look at it but said nothing was wrong. By the end of the 4th night I couldn’t sleep, and the A/C wasn’t the only issue – the “stores” on the beach were right on the other side of the fence that was about 50 feet from the door to our room and there were dogs barking their heads off all night long! I am not one to complain but when I was exhausted and teary-eyed one of the ladies we were there with and my husband both insisted they move our room and they did so without issue. Moved us to the third floor of building 8 in the Excellence Club. The room looked the same as the other one we had but the A/C worked and no barking dogs at night and the view was spectacular!!! They will do anything and everything possible to make your vacation as comfortable as possible!

Room Service:
24 hour room service!!! FABULOUS!!! Everyone in our party took advantage of the room service, which was quick and delicious.

Bar service:
Not a single complaint about the service at any of the bars on the resort! The Chilean Sauv Blanc was delightful! We were all very impressed as our whole group are white wine drinkers and the typical Spanish White they have in the Caribbean sucks!

Food:
Not a bad meal was had by anyone! We loved poolside restaurant – they even brought food to our chairs poolside (outside the restaurant). All the food was fresh and delicious no matter where you ate! The a la carte restaurants were amazing and you didn’t need a reservation for any of them. Half way through one meal they brought a platter of grilled lobster to our table that we didn’t order – two in our party don’t eat seafood (I know – crazy, huh?!?!). It was so Yummy!!! Pizzas were delivered for free poolside every day at lunchtime! So good!

Entertainment:
Shows were great, dancing in the lobby bar late at night, amazing Valentine’s Day party. Lots of things to do every night.

Beach:
4 of the 6 of us aren’t beach people but the other two loved it!!! They could walk for hours and did so almost every day. Not a complaint was had about the beach and it was so very close to the pool that you could turn around in your chair and take a picture of the beach from poolside.

Pools:
There are two pools – one large freeform pool with a swim-up bar which is where we hung out the whole week. Lots of chairs, no need to “reserve” them. The smaller pool was considered more of a “party pool” and wasn’t as quiet but two of our group had their room overlooking this pool and they didn’t have any complaints as the pool closed down at 6pm. Both pools are clean and well-maintained and very refreshing.

In summary – we loved this resort and its amenities, service, and size and would consider going back!

Room Tip: The higher number buildings are too far from all the amenities - we started in #14 and had barking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChristineRaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I went to Excellence resorts in dominican republic punta cana and came back home a few days ago. First thing we arrived, we were greeted warmly with a glass of champagne and a wet towel. Great first impression! The rest of our trip at excellence was filled with great service, friendliness and attention to detail. The nighttime entertainment was diverse and definitely catered to the adult only crowd. The scenic view of the resort is beautiful, subtle and tropical in every way. The pool side bar is really cool and the restaurant food was good. We took in one of the adventure packages and we went snorkeling, scuba(they call it snuka) diving and steered a speedboat! All firsts for me!! Also went to Bella Mare and smoked a Dominican cigar, bought some souvenirs and Mama Juana( a mix of honey, wine and rum fermenting in wood chips, don't worry, you can't leave without hearing about Mama Juana)! Our Amstar representative was a proud Dominican who gave us great advice on what we can do and his knowledge of the country was obvious. He also shared some of the real life culture and conditions of a Dominican with us because we asked. Our excitement of being there was apparent to everyone who walked by us as we said hola to everybody and always received a warm response back. We tipped regularly and it is GREATLY appreciated by the staff because those tips is what makes a huge difference in their lives. I would recommend to bring $100.00 in ones and tip whenever you can. Obviously you don't have to, but we were humbled by the Dominican struggle. We looked forward to tipping because this experience was changing our lives too, just in a different way. If there was one or two things that we wished were a little different, it would be the roughness of the water and the limited selection for lunch. The waves are pretty strong on that part of the coastline so if you are looking for the turquoise colored water with tranquility, this is not the place. Nevertheless, my wife and I enjoyed the waves and being with each other. There is a certain degree of Americanization(yes there was a Philly cheesesteak on a menu) of food but there was more than enough of other options to avoid it. Overall, we were in paradise and the staff's favorite phrase when we said thank you was "es un placer!" Translation, it is my pleasure. My wife and I would strongly recommend Excellence Dominican Republic punta cana to any adult couples or a group of friends looking for a wonderful resort experience. We want to go back tomorrow!!!

Room Tip: Don't expect a free upgrade by mentioning that you are on a honeymoon or anniversary. At least t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
13.8 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing