We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence was superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hockessin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellence was superb”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This all-inclusive resort is a fabulous find. We enjoyed every day of our time there. Rooms and beds were wonderful - very important to us. Restaurants galore. So much to do there during the day. I would seriously consider another trip to Excellence in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lnatali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,805
    2,818
    972
    417
    284
See reviews for
798
9,181
109
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort was wonderful, the staff were very good (and most had a knack for their job vs just competant). The grounds were very nice and there were a lot of walking trails (there were gardens and such). The beach was nice and not crowded - plenty of huts to stay under if you burned easily, plenty out in the open. There were always plenty of towels to be had and the event staff were very friendly and remembered everyone's name after 1 day! We only took one excursion in 7 days and regretted it (catalina island was not all that it was cracked up to be) and should have just stayed on the resort. The food was good, all but the lobster house. For some reason it was bad all around. The lobster didn't have a good flavor, and the key lime pie tasted like a sponge without key lime flavor! But all the others were very good and there was almost never any wait.

The beach was very nice and they came to every 30-60 min to get a drink order and the bar on the beach had pretty good food.

The nightly entertainment was pretty good, and the circus act was spectacular (like Cirque de Soleil) but some were more like vegas shows. They kept everyone entertained and during the day there were lots of activities - from salsa lessons to archery to drinking games. If you are heavy drinkers or light you will have a good time. The drinks were pretty good and there is 1 martini bar that is excellent.

The staff took extra measures to make sure you enjoyed yourself, they even left a cake and sparkling wine in the room for my wife's birthday! Lots of anniversary and honeymoon couples were there and mostly Americans.

Only a few complaints - oddly the soap since it was "oatmeal soap" and was rough on the skin -especially when you have sunburn! The surf was rough but there was an area that was pretty calm and most days you could take out the kayak and catamaran.

The beach was nice and most of the time spent laying under the hut enjoying the beach without the crowd.

I would recommend bringing bug spray, they did a great job most of the time killing the bugs but got eaten alive during a night barbecue. I wouldn't bother with the excursions (at least the snorkeling trip), there is ton's of things to do there!

Room Tip: We had a garden view and it was great, and quiet. Though about upgrading but the swim up rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Amazing time!! Beautiful resort and top notch staff. Always something to do if you wanted or plenty of ways to relax. Great price and felt like a king and queen with the service provided. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

From the very beginning the staff at Excellence Punta Cana was very attentive and helpful. I went with my wife on our honeymoon and it was great to not have to worry about a single thing while I was there. The staff took our bags to the room which was beautifully decorated with rose petals and towels formed in the shape of swans. The whole experience was nothing short of excellent. Everyday there is always some activity or show to go to. The staff is very excited to interact with clients and they get involved by dancing with clients or teaching them how to dance dominican styles, even playing pool volleyball. Jhonathan Montalvo was a staff member there and his energy, care, and motivation contributed to an amazing vacation experience. We became friends very quickly and I enjoyed his sense of humor and attentiveness he gave to me and my wife. Julio-Cesar was also very much loved by all the clients for his charisma and humor he shared with the clients. By the time I left it felt as if I was saying goodbye to family. I loved everything about Excellence Punta Cana and would recommend anyone to visit for honeymoon or vacation. The wide variety of foods was amazing and the waiters take great pride in serving and seeing people happy. Adán in particular did a fantastic job and treated us so well. He made recommendations for great dishes and even prepared a special table for my wife and I at Chez Isabelle (french restaurant). I have so much more to say but I give this place 5 stars. I had so much fun watching the daily themed shows, doing contests, dancing (never danced much before going there) and talking with staff/other clients. Theres something great about being where no one knows you and you can just forget about your worries in the USA, be yourself and just let loose a little bit! I would like to return here every year for sure! Go to this place, people. Its like living a dream.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Jey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon, upon arrival you are greeted with a glass of champagne and then escorted to your room, which was beautifully decorated and clean. The mini bar is stocked up daily and has a great selection. Room service is also included and an option we utilised often!
The hotel itself is beautiful and luxurious, the pools were great and there was never any difficulty finding a sunbed. The daytime activities were also a lot of fun. The beach located at the back of the hotel was beautiful as well! The evening entertainment was fantastic and the entertainment team obviously work extremely hard!
The restaurants were all amazing and had delicious food, our particular favourite was Chez Isabelle. We visited all 8 restaurants and we did not once have a bad encounter with food, every single meal was delicious and there were plenty of options.
The staff at Excellence were friendly and extremely helpful. You really want for nothing at this resort!
The weather was beautiful the entire time. The staff are amazing. The hotel is perfect. The food is very tasty. I could not recommend this hotel enough, we certainly hope to come back again.
Thanks to the staff and the luxury at this hotel our honeymoon was everything we hoped it would be!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsT91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This resort is the MOST EXCELLENCE!!!! We visited July 5-15, 2014. 17th time in Punta Cana, 3rd time at Excellence. We were looking for the place that we could call home and return to, the Excellence is home. Arrival and Check in: cold cloths, cold champagne, warm and friendly "Welcome Home". Check in fast, thoughtful, great first impression. Huge thank you to Alexander, Reynaldo, Fernando and Edwin! All have been tremendous on all 3 visits. Bell boys, awesome, friendly and quick, bags in room record time. We stayed in block 5000 and love it. Walk out the patio and there is the Cascade pool and the Cielo Bar. Videl, main bartender, never saw anyone work so hard, the guy never stopped. Thank you Videl for once again taking such good care of us. Vargas another bartender, moved around to different bars and it was always nice to see your fabulous smile! Beach beautiful, water rough, boogie boards available for those who love the thrill. Just at the end of the resort, beautiful calm water to just float in, crystal clear. Coral reefs give great opportunity to snorkel. Lots of chairs, cushions, shade. Dario,best beach guy EVER!!!! Thank you!!! Restaurants fabulous, people great, very impressed with Emely, public relations and Roberto, guest service manager, OUTSTANDING!!! Domingo, great sax!!! Rafael on piano great! could go on and on. THANK YOU Jose, Brenda, Marsaly, Ariel, Yarisi, Rosanna, Jhonni, Sandy, Samuel, Alexander the Great, Mr R, Momma, Doniel, Hector, Robert, Victor, Edgar, Kendry, Felix, Omar, Lorena, Erick, Andres, Juan Carlos, Santana, Luis, Tony. I apologize if I missed anyone, but everyone is EXCELLENCE!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Excellence club, beautiful rooms and view. Block 5000, living room, bedroom, big great lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poppa-Santa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I recently returned from the excellence after two weeks of blissful relaxation and of course our wedding. The staff on the front desk and in the restaurants were brilliant always happy to help in whatever way was needed. Our wedding coordinator Livia arranged our wedding perfectly from the flowers (which we couldn't bring home) to the horse and carriage from the spa to the beach. Absolutely beautiful. My first time to the Dominican . The beach was soo clean and never crowded staff always walking round and asking to bring you drinks or food or anything you needed on the beach or at the pool side. Robert and Victor on the Martini bar were brilliant always happy and Luz and Anney the poolside entertainers never stopped laughing and smiling. Made our stay more enjoyable. Our bedroom was made up everyday and always had something different designed in towels on the bed the bath even got filled for a romantic night. I would recommend a holiday here anytime. If going to go on trips I would say definitely book from your tour operator in the hotel the diving is amazing. See Franklin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#24 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,682 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing