We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Winston, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Staff member were polite. The room was well maintained......food great.....excellent adult all inclusive. The beach was nice . The mini bar was stocked with top shelf alcohol and restocked daily. Over all a great resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,812
    2,820
    973
    418
    286
See reviews for
801
9,191
109
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This resort is not close to being a five star resort as they claim. Here are the Pro's: Premium Liquor, Rooms are clean, and no kids running. The Negative's the POOL Closes at 6pm never heard of this at any resort, does not reopen till next day so having a swim up pool room is useless, there is literally 15 pool floats for at least 60 couples in the pool at the same time, pool towels are literally tearing apart and run downed. The resort needs remodeling and painting, for the money spent you would think resort was maintained. The food was okay no seasoning and last but not least a live ROACH joined us in the Spice restaurant, server apologized and stated they will fumigate sorry. I know this sounds critical, however this resort can be compared to a 2 to 3 star resort. Extremely disappointed, we stayed in excellence Riviera Maya and cannot be compared. This is a true and honest review.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cruz2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

Please let us assure you that we take our guests comments very seriously, however we would like to explain that, we have a complete program for pest control in all our hotel areas, but on the other hand, we would like to highlight that our hotel is nestled on a virgin tropical area surrounded by beautiful mangroves.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I went with one other couple and we had a fabulous trip!!! It was beautiful there and all the staff was all so friendly and helpful. There were activities and things to do on the resort all day long, we never left to do anything else. All around awesome trip and will def go back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen1yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary at the Excellence Punta Cana from July 20-July 27. We stayed in a Junior Swim-up Suite room as part of the Excellence Club. We couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations, food, service, and amenities at the resort! To begin with, the room was very clean and spacious, and the location relevant to the main areas on the resort was great. It was a bit out of the way of the main lobby/pool area, but this meant it was also a bit quieter and less traffic to and from. The swim-up suite was in a secluded part of the pool, so it was very relaxing and quiet both inside and outside of our room. The easy access of walking right out to the pool from our room was very convenient.

The food selection and quality was exceptional. The resort offers many different types of cuisine including Asian, pizza, Italian, Mexican, French, and tapas to name a few. Even the breakfast and lunch buffets at the main restaurant Toscana had great food. We've been to other resorts where the specialty restaurants have good food but the buffets are marginal. The buffets at Excellence have a great variety of all different types of cuisine for both breakfast and lunch, and it's delicious! For dinner, the French restaurant, Chez Isabelle especially stood out as one of the better meals we enjoyed on the resort, although all the food was very good. There was also a good selection of different types of dishes at each place, so I think no matter what your appetite is, you would find something delicious. I was surprised that they did not require reservations at such a large resort, but somehow we never had to wait for a table and the service inside was always quick (but not rushed).

As part of the anniversary package, we also were able to schedule a romantic dinner on the beach for 2. We were able to choose from a variety of menus beforehand, and were served at our own personal table on the beach. The dinner included a salad, soup, entree, dessert, and wine or sparkling wine. The menu we chose included lobster and steak, both of which where exceptionally prepared.

The activities available on the resort were endless, from archery to bingo to nightly entertainment shows. There was always something to do, but if we wanted quiet time on the beach or in the pool, this was always available too and not too crowded. The beach area seemed very spacious and uncrowded. The ocean on this part of the island is not very calm, however, so if you're looking for a relaxing swim in the ocean, this may not be the best place (at least at this time of year). But the water was the beautiful Caribbean blue you see in pictures and the soft sandy beach was kept mostly clean of algae and other ocean debris. As for the pools, there is one main pool and the cascade pool, although the main pool is so large and seems to have so many sections that you feel like you're in a smaller pool. The resort provides blue pool floats on a first-come first-serve basis, but we found these were not difficult to come by if you just kept your eyes open at different times of the day (so don't bring your own)!

A quick note on the Excellence Club: if you're considering upgrading, do it! It was worth it for the room location of our swim-up suite, the Excellence Club Lounge, the upgraded bar in the room, and the difference in the Anniversary Romantic Dinner (non-Excellence Club dinners are not on the beach, just in one of the restaurants on the resort). The Lounge always had appetizers, desserts, and drinks available, not to mention a cool place to land after being in the sun all day. The concierge service there was very attentive to detail and helpful. Although great service is available throughout the resort, the Excellence Club makes you feel a bit more pampered and "VIP" compared to the rest of the resort. You will still have a great experience if you don't do it, but being part of it made our experience much better.

The people at Excellence were the icing on the cake for our resort experience. They were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating in any way possible. Service at the bars and restaurants was always quick and handled with a smile. We would definitely come back here and recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlyssaMatt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to the DR and the hotel exceeded our expectations overall. We travelled from July 31-Aug 6. For the value, you really can't beat this place.

Pros: adults only; every dinner meal we had was excellent; no reservations needed for the restaurants and a really great variety of cuisines available; 2 of the most beautiful pools I've ever seen; nice beach, especially if you (like me) prefer some waves/currents; rooms were very clean; customer service at front desk/concierge was excellent; nightly entertainment was pretty entertaining, even though a little bit cheesy (though that should be expected at a resort); weather was perfect throughout our trip; drinks are strong!; 24 hr room service is included

Cons: the a/c doesn't go very low temperature wise--as a result, my bf had problems sleeping every night because he was too hot; breakfast here is REALLY disappointing (especially considering the quality of dinner) and lunch is mediocre at best; be prepared for a pretty big language barrier with regular staff; pools close at 6pm--they don't actually kick you out, but the pool bars/service stop, so if you need something you have to get out and get it yourself

Overall, it was a really great trip and we were pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of this place. We would definitely come back are will be looking into this resorts other locations.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Palio514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griswold, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our Honeymoon in May of 2013. It was excellente! We loved the room, the food, the drinks, the grounds, the staff and just the whole experience.

We went for six days and wish we could have gone for more. We stayed at the resort for most of the time and never got bored. Our bed was a little hard but it wasn't as bad as people make it sound in some of the reviews. We loved the bathroom with the rain shower and a jacuzzi tub in every room. It certainly felt like luxury to us! I also particularly like that they had incense in each room.

Also, we were part of the excellence club and thought that the benefits were worth the little extra.

One great thing that we noticed, compared to other resorts, was the no reservations required policy for the restaurants. We loved that we could go basically whenever we wanted to the restaurants and we never had to wait more than 2 minutes. Who wants to worry about making reservations, right!? And when we woke up at 3 a.m. and we were hungry? We ordered room service, which is included! We loved the 24 hour room service and actually used it quite often, the chocolate mouse cake is amazing!

We did the horse back riding and it was so wonderful. The feeling of riding a horse on the beach is irreplaceable and we definitely recommend it! They take your picture beforehand and when you come back they have your picture printed on a bottle of rum and a CD case and of course they aren't free. We bought them because we didn't bring a camera.

As far as excursions go, we did one to Punta Cana it was an all day excursion with a Catamaran Cruise with drinks, snorkeling, fresh water lagoons in the jungle, an amazing lunch and dune buggies. It was amazing! I can't remember the name now that it has been over a year but it is highly recommended. And if you go, BRING YOUR CAMERA! We so regret not bringing ours!

We loved everything here and I would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing time. I day dream about going back all the time!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a cheaper room, we loved our mountain view room in building 11 on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1990MariaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This our second trip to an all-inclusive type of resort, but first time to Excellence Punta Cana. We had a wonderful time!

We had a junior swim up suite in Building 2 and were very pleased. It's nice to have easy pool access when you just want to take a quick dip. The bathroom is the only part we found interesting, and strangely typical for resorts. There is clear glass that gives you a view from the bedroom into the shower...which is fine for couples, but the view also shows into the toilet area. Never will be able to understand why they'd build it that way, mood killer sometimes.

Food at the restaurants is good. We love the pizza at Oregano, and Agave was probably our least favorite.

The majority of the staff is very friendly, although there was a young hostess at one of the restaurants that stuck out like a sore thumb because of her miserable attitude. The activities staff is wonderful and energetic and I don't know how they maintain that after one full day after the other.

The shows are entertaining enough, but geared towards an older crowd we thought. You saw all the younger couples getting up and leaving about ten minutes in. We loved the acoustic pop-R&B singer by the martini lounge on Sunday night, would love that every night!

Ocean is breathtaking and private, not sandbag-filled like other resorts.

Do the horseback riding on the beach if you can, great staff and a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Men do need to wear pants to dinner for half of the restaurants, they are not lax on that, wifi coverage was better than expected, and we never felt pressure to tip...a few things I was curious about when planning the trip.

Plan a visit here, you'll have a wonderful time!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,879 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing