We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Nice Pool & Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Nice Pool & Beach”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence for 5 days in August 2014. All in all, we thought it was a great choice for an Adults only All Inclusive vacation and would recommend it to family and friends. Facility is not brand new but is very well maintained. The pool is perfect for relaxation - large and clean with many floats on hand. The beach is expansive and the sand is very soft. The surf can be a bit rough for just hanging out in the ocean, but you can easily navigate in for spots of swimming.

Best parts of the resort are.... 1. the staff - there were always people on hand to help with anything and everything and they were always very pleasant. 2. the beach/pool areas - in addition to reasons stated above there are also many seating options available outdoors from loungers in the sun to covered seating and several different types of beds... and while you may not get your first choice depending on the time of day, there were always chairs of some sort available. 3. plenty of bars!! For an all inclusive resort - I was impressed by the constant and easy availability of all sorts of drinks.

Things to improve on.... 1. the food. I understand the difficulty in preparing and providing a ton of options at an all inclusive resort and keeping them all fresh and good - but the food left something to be desired. You can navigate around this with good choices, but all in all we weren't in love with the food. 2. can't swim at night. This may just be me but the resort is SO beautiful at night with the pools lit up, but you can't swim in them past 6. Not a deal breaker and I understand the need to clean them but seems like a missed opportunity. 3. Transportation arrangements are better left to do yourself and keep the front desk out of it (outside of immediate taxi requests). They did not do a good job of reserving our transportation for us and lost track of a cancellation which led to borderline harassment from an upset taxi driver.
FYI at this resort you are an hour from the airport (for travel time expectations); a cab is ~$70 but you can do shared transport via Expedia for $13pp - just note that Expedia is not upfront about how many other resorts you may stop at (they told us none but that was not true) so despite the cost savings you may just want to do your own taxi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BostonTravelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,813
    2,820
    973
    418
    286
See reviews for
801
9,191
109
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was my first time in this hotel and my wife and I never imagined something like that. Excellence Place, nice people, Very Very good service, extraordinary food. I have no world to describe this little treasure..

Room Tip: All rooms are quieter and nicde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VICTOR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this resort through an travel agent. The experience from when we first arrived was wonderful. They greet you with champagne & warm wash clothes. Checking into our suite was smooth as well. The employees greeted us every time they saw us. HOLA is one popular greeting. The resort overall is very Beautiful, we stayed in building 4...everything was great..! The only down fall is the wifi service, it only worked in certain areas of the resort. Other then that...if I ever plan to visit DR again I'll be staying at Excellence.!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Staff member were polite. The room was well maintained......food great.....excellent adult all inclusive. The beach was nice . The mini bar was stocked with top shelf alcohol and restocked daily. Over all a great resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This resort is not close to being a five star resort as they claim. Here are the Pro's: Premium Liquor, Rooms are clean, and no kids running. The Negative's the POOL Closes at 6pm never heard of this at any resort, does not reopen till next day so having a swim up pool room is useless, there is literally 15 pool floats for at least 60 couples in the pool at the same time, pool towels are literally tearing apart and run downed. The resort needs remodeling and painting, for the money spent you would think resort was maintained. The food was okay no seasoning and last but not least a live ROACH joined us in the Spice restaurant, server apologized and stated they will fumigate sorry. I know this sounds critical, however this resort can be compared to a 2 to 3 star resort. Extremely disappointed, we stayed in excellence Riviera Maya and cannot be compared. This is a true and honest review.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cruz2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.
We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

Please let us assure you that we take our guests comments very seriously, however we would like to explain that, we have a complete program for pest control in all our hotel areas, but on the other hand, we would like to highlight that our hotel is nestled on a virgin tropical area surrounded by beautiful mangroves.

Our corporate customer service department remains at your disposal at customerservice@excellence-resorts.com in order to further discuss the matter or in case you require any future assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I went with one other couple and we had a fabulous trip!!! It was beautiful there and all the staff was all so friendly and helpful. There were activities and things to do on the resort all day long, we never left to do anything else. All around awesome trip and will def go back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen1yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary at the Excellence Punta Cana from July 20-July 27. We stayed in a Junior Swim-up Suite room as part of the Excellence Club. We couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations, food, service, and amenities at the resort! To begin with, the room was very clean and spacious, and the location relevant to the main areas on the resort was great. It was a bit out of the way of the main lobby/pool area, but this meant it was also a bit quieter and less traffic to and from. The swim-up suite was in a secluded part of the pool, so it was very relaxing and quiet both inside and outside of our room. The easy access of walking right out to the pool from our room was very convenient.

The food selection and quality was exceptional. The resort offers many different types of cuisine including Asian, pizza, Italian, Mexican, French, and tapas to name a few. Even the breakfast and lunch buffets at the main restaurant Toscana had great food. We've been to other resorts where the specialty restaurants have good food but the buffets are marginal. The buffets at Excellence have a great variety of all different types of cuisine for both breakfast and lunch, and it's delicious! For dinner, the French restaurant, Chez Isabelle especially stood out as one of the better meals we enjoyed on the resort, although all the food was very good. There was also a good selection of different types of dishes at each place, so I think no matter what your appetite is, you would find something delicious. I was surprised that they did not require reservations at such a large resort, but somehow we never had to wait for a table and the service inside was always quick (but not rushed).

As part of the anniversary package, we also were able to schedule a romantic dinner on the beach for 2. We were able to choose from a variety of menus beforehand, and were served at our own personal table on the beach. The dinner included a salad, soup, entree, dessert, and wine or sparkling wine. The menu we chose included lobster and steak, both of which where exceptionally prepared.

The activities available on the resort were endless, from archery to bingo to nightly entertainment shows. There was always something to do, but if we wanted quiet time on the beach or in the pool, this was always available too and not too crowded. The beach area seemed very spacious and uncrowded. The ocean on this part of the island is not very calm, however, so if you're looking for a relaxing swim in the ocean, this may not be the best place (at least at this time of year). But the water was the beautiful Caribbean blue you see in pictures and the soft sandy beach was kept mostly clean of algae and other ocean debris. As for the pools, there is one main pool and the cascade pool, although the main pool is so large and seems to have so many sections that you feel like you're in a smaller pool. The resort provides blue pool floats on a first-come first-serve basis, but we found these were not difficult to come by if you just kept your eyes open at different times of the day (so don't bring your own)!

A quick note on the Excellence Club: if you're considering upgrading, do it! It was worth it for the room location of our swim-up suite, the Excellence Club Lounge, the upgraded bar in the room, and the difference in the Anniversary Romantic Dinner (non-Excellence Club dinners are not on the beach, just in one of the restaurants on the resort). The Lounge always had appetizers, desserts, and drinks available, not to mention a cool place to land after being in the sun all day. The concierge service there was very attentive to detail and helpful. Although great service is available throughout the resort, the Excellence Club makes you feel a bit more pampered and "VIP" compared to the rest of the resort. You will still have a great experience if you don't do it, but being part of it made our experience much better.

The people at Excellence were the icing on the cake for our resort experience. They were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating in any way possible. Service at the bars and restaurants was always quick and handled with a smile. We would definitely come back here and recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AlyssaMatt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,289 reviews
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,889 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing