We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best all inclusive vacation we have had!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“Best all inclusive vacation we have had!!!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just returned last night from an awesome 6 days at Excellence! I have zero complaints other than the beds were hard! The restaurant selection was great...Spice was our favorite! The shows were great! Drinks were great! The pools were awesome allowing for sports and entertainment on one end and quiet, low key on the other! We were able to find great lounging and rafts everyday! We enjoyed the resort so much we never left in the 6 days we were there! The beach is almost private with the resort sitting on a little cove! The staff was always so pleasant and made you feel so welcome anf at home! We can't wait to return! Probably my favorite all inclusive vacation so far!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELL1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,699
    2,797
    965
    415
    284
See reviews for
789
9,077
107
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is zero compared to the Excellence Playa Mujeres.Reynaldo at Front Desk was Not helpful especially during our last vacation day at the Hotel.We were so stressed out because of our messed up transportation arrangements with Ted at Expedia Blue and instead of pacifying us,Reynaldo was just non chalant in the end.This was our 5th Anniversary and was unpleasant because of Reynaldo and Ted.Our bed was hard,uncomfortable.Our room was cleaned only after 3p.The male pool drink staff was not catering to all customers.Food was bland except at Chez Isabelle and Spice.Hotel needs Major updating.The only pleasant time we had was with the Horseback riding staff.They were nice.The beach was not swimmable,it was always dirty and rough waters.

Room Tip: Ground floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. All our Excellence Resorts are designed with a different personality, but always with the same high standards. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have to say this was one of if not the best place we have ever stayed. The food at the hotel is first class, as are the staff. Check out Ricardo at the Breakfast Eggs station, he is the best. Johnny is the best server I have ever experienced and Edward in the Excellence Club always treated us First Class

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, get an Excellence Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michiganbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence for 5 days in August 2014. All in all, we thought it was a great choice for an Adults only All Inclusive vacation and would recommend it to family and friends. Facility is not brand new but is very well maintained. The pool is perfect for relaxation - large and clean with many floats on hand. The beach is expansive and the sand is very soft. The surf can be a bit rough for just hanging out in the ocean, but you can easily navigate in for spots of swimming.

Best parts of the resort are.... 1. the staff - there were always people on hand to help with anything and everything and they were always very pleasant. 2. the beach/pool areas - in addition to reasons stated above there are also many seating options available outdoors from loungers in the sun to covered seating and several different types of beds... and while you may not get your first choice depending on the time of day, there were always chairs of some sort available. 3. plenty of bars!! For an all inclusive resort - I was impressed by the constant and easy availability of all sorts of drinks.

Things to improve on.... 1. the food. I understand the difficulty in preparing and providing a ton of options at an all inclusive resort and keeping them all fresh and good - but the food left something to be desired. You can navigate around this with good choices, but all in all we weren't in love with the food. 2. can't swim at night. This may just be me but the resort is SO beautiful at night with the pools lit up, but you can't swim in them past 6. Not a deal breaker and I understand the need to clean them but seems like a missed opportunity. 3. Transportation arrangements are better left to do yourself and keep the front desk out of it (outside of immediate taxi requests). They did not do a good job of reserving our transportation for us and lost track of a cancellation which led to borderline harassment from an upset taxi driver.
FYI at this resort you are an hour from the airport (for travel time expectations); a cab is ~$70 but you can do shared transport via Expedia for $13pp - just note that Expedia is not upfront about how many other resorts you may stop at (they told us none but that was not true) so despite the cost savings you may just want to do your own taxi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BostonTravelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was my first time in this hotel and my wife and I never imagined something like that. Excellence Place, nice people, Very Very good service, extraordinary food. I have no world to describe this little treasure..

Room Tip: All rooms are quieter and nicde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank VICTOR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this resort through an travel agent. The experience from when we first arrived was wonderful. They greet you with champagne & warm wash clothes. Checking into our suite was smooth as well. The employees greeted us every time they saw us. HOLA is one popular greeting. The resort overall is very Beautiful, we stayed in building 4...everything was great..! The only down fall is the wifi service, it only worked in certain areas of the resort. Other then that...if I ever plan to visit DR again I'll be staying at Excellence.!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Staff member were polite. The room was well maintained......food great.....excellent adult all inclusive. The beach was nice . The mini bar was stocked with top shelf alcohol and restocked daily. Over all a great resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing