We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Bumps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 4.5 day stay at the EPC. Overall, a wonderful 10th anniversary treat. However, it was not without issue. The transportation we arranged with the concierge did not show up at the airport. We had no way of contacting anyone so we just took a cab which turned out fine--we loved our driver. It took less than 40 minutes on pretty much one road to the resort. We arrived to fresh, cold towels and champagne. Upon arrival, we were amazed at the beauty of the resort. It is lush, well designed, and just plain gorgeous.
Our room was not ready as we arrived early. They brought us to have lunch, which we did but after lunch our room was still not ready. We changed into our suits and enjoyed some time at the pool with a few drinks. Our room was ready by check in time at 3.
Our room, a swim up suite, was beautiful and decorated for our anniversary with towel swans, rose petals, and champagne. We were in room 4004, which was located close to the main building and of course right on the cascade pool and the cielo bar. I didn't find the shower and toilet to be a bad thing. There was a door and the shower is not open but separated from the room by glass. You can't really see in unless you try. Our room was not cleaned one day until after 5:30 when we returned from the pool and called.
The activities were typical cheesy resort type. The shows at night were also pretty corny but we really enjoyed the circus show of all the evenings we saw.
The drinks were sweet and tropical. My husband also wanted some plain Bombay Sapphire gin and they had it--they had it all. Presidente beer was ok but pretty gross out of some of the taps. You could get other beer at some of the bars inside.
The food was one of the major issues. We enjoyed our lunch everyday--especially the pizza at Las Olas. The food they prepared there had a theme everyday like Tacos, Paella, and Pizza. Her rice and beans were delicious. Our 2 favorite restaurants were Agave(Mexican), and Chez Isabelle (French). Oregano was just ok and one night they had a party by the pool with a buffet that was pretty bad. Cold food and just not tasty.
Breakfast was plentiful but they often burned the omelettes at the omelette station. The fruit was underripe--except the mango which was delicious. The pastries and cereal were good. Coffee was good and they serve it with hot milk! Interesting....
Dessert--tres leche cake at Agave was delicious. Creme Brulee at Chez Isabelle was also good.
Each day, we started at the beach--waiter service for drinks was fantastic and a few dollars at a time goes a long way. They appreciate it. We never had a problem finding a chair and even a palapa. The water was rougher than some caribbean locales but not rough compared to Jones Beach here on Long Island. The beach was private and so clean. No shells, no seaweed, no rocks.
After a while, we settled at the main pool where again there was waiter service and of course a swim up bar. The water was warm, the tiles around the pool were hot as hell. There weren't many floats but we could usually get one after a while. You can bring your own if you want. Towels were plentiful and large, which I liked.
Turndown service was done each night and they left a newsletter with the next day's activities and such. For our anniversary night they decorated with roses and towel arrangements. For my birthday they left balloons and a cake which was delicious.
We really had a nice, relaxing vacation. I think we would even go back in spite of what we didn't like.
The few bumps started with the taxi. It didn't come but we spoke to Roberto at public relations and he arranged for the hotel to cover our taxi back to the airport. The next bump was what my husband had arranged for our anniversary--chocolate covered strawberries and champagne. The concierge arranged it but room service lost it and never brought it. Then they called and admitted that they lost it. By that time it was 11pm. My husband was upset. Antonio, the concierge, was very upset that this happened so he arranged for it to be brought the next night. It was, along with the Room service manager to apologize. They made it right. Antonio also arranged for our jacuzzi to be set up with a spa bath and flowers. It was a service that normally costs money but they sent it for free. It was nice. Since Roberto and Antonio were very concerned that we were happy, they set up an additional "romantic dinner" complete with champagne on ice. It was very nice. Sure, the food is included but they add small personal touches that made it special.
I went to the spa for my birthday. I had the tropical nourishing body treatment. It was heavenly. The treatment also comes with hydrotherapy beforehand which I loved!!
We used the gym--new equipment, a few of each cardio machine and also weight training. It was clean and well maintained. Wi-fi really only worked in the main lobby and internet cafe.
Overall, we were super impressed with the maintenance of the resort. We saw people cleaning and maintaining constantly. Before we left today we saw a guy polishing the outdoor showerhead!!! It was such a beautiful place.
I think I've covered it all... I gave it 4 stars because of the food and the bumps in service. I wish I was waking up to the pool in the morning....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank abbs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,060 - 5,066 of 13,532 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I just returned from a family vacation at The Excellence Punta Cana and it was a dream come true.

The resort itself:
Gorgeous with very clean and beautifully decorated rooms, restaurants, lounges and bars. Everything looks new and spotless. Our rooms were in buildings 5 and 9. We all had balconies and plenty of space. The housekeeping service was very efficient! Outside you'll find the pool which looks like a river running along the ocean-side edge of the resort. It is gorgeous, warm and lined with plenty of lounge chairs, huts and beds. The whole resort is an adults only spot which means that there's never any crying kids or anything of that nature. The nighttime shows are all aimed for adults. We saw a circus show, a Dominican dance show, and a Perfect Match couples game.

The beach:
Of course it is located on an amazing stretch of beach which never seems too crowded. The waves are pretty big, but fun to play in. The water is crystal clear blue, the sand is soft and the beach is lined with two-person huts with lounge chairs underneath. There are also beds with pillows in the sun. My family is not a pool group so the beach was incredibly important to us....we were impressed.

The food:
The resort has plenty of dining options. the breakfast buffet is delicious and has tons of variety. Lunch was available sit-down style at The Grille (good but time consuming) and order-at-the-counter style right on the beach (Las Olas). Most days we grabbed pizza or snack food at Las Olas and it was perfect...tasty and quick. Dinner was always excellent. Our favorites were the French place (Chez Isabel) and the tapas place (Flavor Market). We were always pleased with the quality of the food. We were a party of 8 and they were always able to seat us quickly, no reservations required.

The bars:
All-inclusive resorts allow for plenty of drinking and you'll enjoy doing that here.The bar right at the entrance to the beach was the one we frequented most with plenty of classic options as well as signature cocktails and frozen treats. This bar also has waiters who walk the beach offering to bring you something. The pool has a swim-up bar that we would go to in the late afternoon. This bar tends to be crowded but it has a lively feel. The mini bar in the rooms is included and always well stocked with beer, wine and liquor.

The service:
Amazing! Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. My sister lost her camera and they made sure they helped her find it right away. There is staff everywhere making life at the resort extremely easy for all of the guests. We became friendly with some waiters and bartenders and they were fantastic!

My parents went (in their 50s) and my sisters and I went with our boyfriends (all in our 20s) and everyone found this vacation to be perfect. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing week of sun and fun!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank AndreaMP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 5 day stay at your Excellence Resort in Punta Cana. We have to say that was the most amazing, wonderful, relaxing, clean, enjoyable, fun vacation we have ever had. The food was ALL delicious in every restaurant. The staff was always friendly and helpful and all looked like they just walked out of the dry cleaners! They spoke and smiled EVERY time they met someone walking by. The entire property was spotless. Room service was always quicker than we expected! The morning room cleaning and nightly turn down was perfect. I could go on and on. We will be back there as soon as we can work a while to pay for another trip and re-pack. Thank you for a WONDERFUL VISIT.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mason3809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just returned last night from an awesome 6 days at Excellence! I have zero complaints other than the beds were hard! The restaurant selection was great...Spice was our favorite! The shows were great! Drinks were great! The pools were awesome allowing for sports and entertainment on one end and quiet, low key on the other! We were able to find great lounging and rafts everyday! We enjoyed the resort so much we never left in the 6 days we were there! The beach is almost private with the resort sitting on a little cove! The staff was always so pleasant and made you feel so welcome anf at home! We can't wait to return! Probably my favorite all inclusive vacation so far!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELL1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is zero compared to the Excellence Playa Mujeres.Reynaldo at Front Desk was Not helpful especially during our last vacation day at the Hotel.We were so stressed out because of our messed up transportation arrangements with Ted at Expedia Blue and instead of pacifying us,Reynaldo was just non chalant in the end.This was our 5th Anniversary and was unpleasant because of Reynaldo and Ted.Our bed was hard,uncomfortable.Our room was cleaned only after 3p.The male pool drink staff was not catering to all customers.Food was bland except at Chez Isabelle and Spice.Hotel needs Major updating.The only pleasant time we had was with the Horseback riding staff.They were nice.The beach was not swimmable,it was always dirty and rough waters.

Room Tip: Ground floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. All our Excellence Resorts are designed with a different personality, but always with the same high standards. We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food, service and facilities.

Your comments are very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. Please rest assured that all the info you have raised have been addressed and that appropriate corrective actions have been taken.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have to say this was one of if not the best place we have ever stayed. The food at the hotel is first class, as are the staff. Check out Ricardo at the Breakfast Eggs station, he is the best. Johnny is the best server I have ever experienced and Edward in the Excellence Club always treated us First Class

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, get an Excellence Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank michiganbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence for 5 days in August 2014. All in all, we thought it was a great choice for an Adults only All Inclusive vacation and would recommend it to family and friends. Facility is not brand new but is very well maintained. The pool is perfect for relaxation - large and clean with many floats on hand. The beach is expansive and the sand is very soft. The surf can be a bit rough for just hanging out in the ocean, but you can easily navigate in for spots of swimming.

Best parts of the resort are.... 1. the staff - there were always people on hand to help with anything and everything and they were always very pleasant. 2. the beach/pool areas - in addition to reasons stated above there are also many seating options available outdoors from loungers in the sun to covered seating and several different types of beds... and while you may not get your first choice depending on the time of day, there were always chairs of some sort available. 3. plenty of bars!! For an all inclusive resort - I was impressed by the constant and easy availability of all sorts of drinks.

Things to improve on.... 1. the food. I understand the difficulty in preparing and providing a ton of options at an all inclusive resort and keeping them all fresh and good - but the food left something to be desired. You can navigate around this with good choices, but all in all we weren't in love with the food. 2. can't swim at night. This may just be me but the resort is SO beautiful at night with the pools lit up, but you can't swim in them past 6. Not a deal breaker and I understand the need to clean them but seems like a missed opportunity. 3. Transportation arrangements are better left to do yourself and keep the front desk out of it (outside of immediate taxi requests). They did not do a good job of reserving our transportation for us and lost track of a cancellation which led to borderline harassment from an upset taxi driver.
FYI at this resort you are an hour from the airport (for travel time expectations); a cab is ~$70 but you can do shared transport via Expedia for $13pp - just note that Expedia is not upfront about how many other resorts you may stop at (they told us none but that was not true) so despite the cost savings you may just want to do your own taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank BostonTravelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 113 in Punta Cana
4,434 reviews
16.5 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
13.8 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,426 reviews
17.6 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £193 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing