We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every minute at Excellence was awesome (food, entertainment).” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Excellence Punta Cana
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every minute at Excellence was awesome (food, entertainment).”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

My son got married at Excellence. The wedding planner was amazing. The bartenders, wait staff, housekeeping, concierge's were so helpful, energetic and polite. We had a wonderful time with the entertainment staff, Johanna, Cesar and Miguel. The concierge Celeste even arranged a cake for my son's birthday. The italian restaurant staff even sang to him. We enjoyed the pool, food, horseback riding. Too many wonderful experiences to list them all. We recommend this adults only resort for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BunkerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,551
    2,754
    945
    411
    279
See reviews for
766
8,913
105
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We have been on many trips and by far this is the best resort we have stayed at. The staff is great and so are the guests.The food is five star quality with the French restaurant being our favorite, we ate there three times.The nicest thing is no reservations needed for anything and no limits on the amount of times you can go to any one restaurant. The waitstaff at all the restaurants were great Miguel was awesome . The resort is well maintained and very clean.The beach was great,water very clear no seaweed or rocks.There was plenty of chairs and towels at all times.The service by the pool by the funny Altagracia was great. While playing pool volleyball she would bring over 12 drinks or more. The entertainment staff including Cesar,Juan Carlos and Eliza were great. Eliza saved us at the sports bar by bringing bug spray and helped my wife with her spanish. Cesar was great , good luck with your bodybuilding.Juan Carlos was a great sport, he was in a kayak in the pool and Tom and myself around 500 lbs combined lifted him and his kayak out of the water and tossed him several feet.The look on his face was priceless.We met some really great people at the resort, sorry if I mention your name wrong or forgot Tom and Lauren, Happy and new wife, we were all part of team USA and then Danny and girlfriend, Liz and Brian they were team UK. In the end I have to say team USA won the pool volleyball olympics.Danny and Brian they do make sunblock with a spf of higher then 15.Happy im sure your still happy.Tom lets just say you are the life of the party, when you turned up the music by the pool and Ken from the Uk the older gentleman jumped from a deep sleep from the poolside bed that was funny.Thanks to you all for making this our best vacation yet and also to the excellence hotel punta cana , what a great resort. Please let me know how you get the staff to keep smiling all the time I would like to try it on my wife thanks again

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at the Excellence at the beginning of June & the overall experience exceeded our expectations. We had booked an Excellence club garden view which was very spacious and comfortable on the first floor overlooking a small garden and pond. On check in we were greeted by Roberto the Excellence Club manager who escorted us to our room, explaining all about the facilities of the hotel along the way. All through our stay Roberto went out of his way to ensure that we had everything that we needed & we felt like honoured guests. Our room was on the 2nd floor in building 10 which was close to the club facilities. The facilities of the club include snacks and drinks & free internet access which we used to keep in touch with home. Our room contained a well stocked mini bar with wine beer, soft drinks and snacks. We were also given full bottles of Beefeater gin Jim Beam, Barcelo rum and Smirnoff vodka. The mini bar was refilled every day and if you wanted a particular bottle of house wine (very good Argentinian & Chilean wine) they would also bring that to you at no extra cost. We used the room service once and that was also very good. The maids kept our room very clean with towel art & flowers evey day. One night we returned to find that our jacuzzi bath had been filled and sprinkled with rose petals plus a bottle of chilled wine on the side. The quality of the food and top shelf drinks were also very good.
The level of service was good all through the hotel and ther wasn't (apart from acess to the club lounge) any differentiation of service between club and other guests. I think that it also helps that you don't have to wear a wristband so no-one can tell if you are an EPC guest or not.
At the breakfast and lunch buffets there was an excellent choice of food, meats, fish, fresh fruit, cheeses, baked goods and fresh waffles, pancakes. etc. The staff who greet you and seat you at the restaurants are always smiling, particularly Libeth who we would often see at breakfast and then again at Spice in the evening. Our favourite restaurants were Spice , Agave and Chez Isabelle. We never had to wait for a table although we did eat early.
We also had no problem finding a shady spot at the pool. We chose the quieter one near to the club as we like to read and have a gentle swim. If you want more activities then the main pool would be a good choice for volley ball and aerobics. The pool concierges Carlos and Gregorson, together with Cleto do a great job. Towels were plentiful and they would organise pizzas to be brought round in the afternoon if you didn't want to leave the pool. Waiter service around the pool was also very good starting with the drink of the day first thing in the morning (Caribbean cocktails). There were also plenty of sunbeds on the beach and plenty of palapas for shade. The beach is kept very clean and there are lifeguards on duty. Although there is a section of the beach that is red flagged there is usually a section to the right and left which is safe for swimming and if you walk along the beach in either direction for five minutes or so, you can find shallow areas which would be fine for swimming. You can walk for miles along the beach which is unspolied and very relaxing. There are a small number of shacks selling souvenirs. Nancy's is probably the best one which is right next to the hotel. The prices are very good with no pressure to buy. They also do masssages if you want to try them. The spa at Excellence offers a range of massage treatments and there are daily specials at reduced costs. We had a news letter delivered to our room every day which gave a list of all the activities on offer at the hotel and also information about which restaurants would be closed that day.

At breakfast there was a pianist to entertain you and in the early evening the sax player Domingo created a real ambiance. All the drinks on offer were made with premium spirits (on request) with a good range of cocktails. As well as the main restaurants,
there were regular cookouts on the beach at lunch times and on some evenings .

We didn't manage to stay up long enough to see the shows which started at 10pm but those people that did, said that the Michael Jackson and Chris Blizzard shows, together with the circus show were the best ones.

The grounds and main areas of the hotel are well maintained. The small eco park in the grounds was also vey pretty with flamingos and peacocks.

Overall, for us, this was an excellent chilled out holiday. If you want a very lively "party" hotel then this wouldn't be the one for you as it is vey couples orientated, although there is a mix of ages.

If you want to do a lot of excusions then you have to factor in that the hotel is quite remote and you may have to travle quite far to your excursion ase (unless it is a local activiity).

We hope to return again next year as for us this holiday was excellent all round.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, MD
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

This place is awesome. We just got back from our third trip here and are already planning a fourth. We know exactly what we are getting here and we love it. The food is good, service is outstanding and the place is beautiful.

We did the excellence club this time and enjoyed it but wouldnt do it again. The lounge was especially nice the day we had rain. I complained to the front desk about the weather and they cleared it right up, haha. The truth is this isnt really worth the money. We only did it because it was the only way for a swim up room the whole week.

Some of the wait staff leave a bit to be desired but they are few and far between. You may have to ask more than once to get something fixed but its a cultural thing they move a little slower in the islands. We saw one cockroach this time thats one in three stays and it was in the one of the hallways. Nothing can be done about the bugs its the tropics. People who had them in the room must be isolated incidents as trip advisor is the only place I have heard about it.

Carlos at the towel shack near the SOL bar is a dream, you could not have a better host. He will greet you with a smile, fill your drinks and bring you lunch at the pool all with a wonderful attitude. Jose at Kafe Cafe near the beach at night is always in good spirts as well and very funny.

See Nancy and Charlie at the first shop on the left for all your shopping needs they are good people. Take some donations for the kids if you can (pens, pencils, flash cards, old baseball mits, any school supplies) they will see to it that they make it to the schools.

We took everything we could possibly need so as not pay the outrageous prices at the shop on the resort. We never take any excursions or the free horseback ride (watching those people march through the pool area everyday made me feel sad for them) we cannot think of any good reason to leave the resort.

Chez Izabel, Barcelona and Agave are by far our favorite places for dinner. We never ever go to the lobster house or the Grill for dinner as we dont care for them. Stick to the fish, shrimp and beef at Barcelona and Chez Izabel and you will not be dissappointed. Room service was always good and came pretty quick from my experiences. We had breakfast in the room 5 out of 7 days.

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns. My true feeling is the people that leave negative reviews about this place wouldnt be happy anywhere.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martini33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holiday133
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

I had read all the reviews before going and some of them did scare me a little but all i can say were do these people eat and live, the food was fantastic we went for 14 days and every meal was above expectation the french was the best for me i have been to paris several times and the food was much better at this hotel.
The bed was very comfortable and the room exellent. i did not go down to the pool till after 9/10 oclock and could always get a bed, i also have to mention the trip from the airport to the hotel is a little bumpy but it not what i was i expecting after reading some reviews, some people thing it should be like driving on our motorway.
if you are thinking of booking this is a fantastic place to go to and don't be put off the a lot of negitive people a lot of people like to find problems with everything, this place is paradise

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank holiday133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Let me start off by saying we relied on trip advisor to make our decision on this trip, I read recent, past and ancient reviews in an attempt to gather a good perspective.
I read some really horrible reviews of this resort. All I can say is, those who gave it a bad review and wouldn't return, good, I won't have to worry about running into you there upon our return.
1) The ride to the resort from the airport, not as bad as people make it out to be. Our transfer was pre-arranged (recommended) as went off like clock work. If you are of the squeamish type, don't sit in the front where you can see the traffic, those moped and motorcycle drivers are purely insane. It took us 1 hour and ten minutes including a drop off at another resort... no problem at all
2) check in.. a breeze, literally, nice breezy entrance with champagne greeting and a cold towel, had our room keys within minutes and our bags were delivered within 15 minutes
3) Room.. our suite was awesome, second floor of building #1, we had a vaulted ceiling and restricted view of the ocean. This room seemed to be perfect for us, it was away from pool so was extremely quiet. King bed (a little stiff but not as bad as some reviews but hey, bed comfort is subjective, I gave it a "B". Room was huge with stocked mini-fridge, very clean.
4) Housekeeping.. I believe they had motion detectors in the room. As soon as you left for breakfast they were there in your room to clean for the day, and I mean clean. Our room was spotless every single day.
5) Food.. Many reviews mentioned people getting sick, we had no issues, but we listened to our guide at our reception meeting. They provide bottled water, the ice is fine, people get sick from the intake of the coconut milk. We were told that it is a natural laxative, easy on those Pina Coladas and CocoLoco's and you will be fine. We could always find something we liked on a menu at any of the restuarants, food was good, not great, certainly not horrible. If you are from anywhere on the East Coast, I would not recommend the Lobster House, our group of four all ordered the lobster cooked a different way, when it came, I promise you, the plates were interchangable, and the lobster seemed a little under-cooked. The Grill, Agave`, Toscana were all very good. The lunch grills on the beach were very nice
6) Service... overall excellent, the staff could not do enough for you. I will again mention motion detectors. As soon as your glass was empty or you sat your fork down, boom, they were there. Can I get you another drink?, would you like something else, more coffee senor`... the absolute best service you could expect
7) Grounds.. impeccable.. always clean, always groomed, Peacocks, Flamingos, turtles, parrots... it was staying at a nature preserve
8) Pools..awesome, both pools were like bath water, the Cascade Pool was our favorite. The pools seemed to have plenty of seats although if you were looking for chairs in the shade by the pool, you best be an early rising person (before the sun came up) Palaba's on the beach were available anytime of the day and were a short walk from the pool so really shade issue was not a deal breaker
9) Drinks.. read on here that the drinks were watered down.. in my opinion, if you wanted strong, you could get strong, the bar staff were awesome ( special shout to Pedro, our man at the Cascade pool bar) you could add floaters, add shots, order specials (Rum Punch was off the charts), I am thinking those complaints of watered down came from those ordering the "Drink of the Day". These were made from pre-mix and nearly tasted identical from day to day. Overall, the drink menu was what you made of it
10) Excursions..we did two.. the catamaran/speedboat island trip and the Jungle Zip Line tour. I would highly recommend both. If you choose the zip line tour, be prepared for quite the wild day, this includes the ride to the jungle (they called it the free butt massage) very rough ride but well worth it. The zip lines were a blast, the most FUN we had the whole trip. Getting to the excursions was a truly cultural experience. Pay attention to the guide and you will understand why the staff treats you so well while you are there.
11) Entertainment.. none of the show staff are leaving anytime soon for Hollywood or Broadway but the shows were well done and enjoyable. The Michael Jackson show and Circus show were very good
12) Beach.. the beach was awesome..please remember that this resort is on the ocean side and they do have waves, no worse than OC Maryland or Myrtle Beach, pay attention to the safety flags and your fine. Plenty of room on the beach and lunch grills were a nice touch. Walking 500 yards to the right of the beach front there is a natural break, we found very calm water with some things to see snorkling but don't plan this trip around snorkling

Summary... Great place for R&R, great beach, awesome pools, wide selection of foods, good selection of excursions and the staff treat you like royalty. This is adults only resort and we enjoyed every minute of our kid free stay

Hints.. although all inclusive, we did tip, $2 a day to housekeeping and as stated, our room was impeccable, $1 for each drink order(4 at a time) and $5 per couple at dinner. We spent 7 days there and used approx $70 in ones for tips
Language barrier, sometimes difficult but if you treat it as a fun adventure, as they say..No Problem

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluewatergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We selected Excellence based on a friend's recommendation and we were not disappointed. We took a private taxi from the airport that we arranged through the hotel (it was charged to our room). We made it to the resort in 50 minutes. The ride was a little wild at times. If you get motion sickness, you might want to take something!

When we arrived at the resort we were greeted with a cool towel and champagne. Since we had booked a room in the Excellence Club (highly recommended) we were quickly taken to our Club for our checkin. Our room wasn't quite ready so we enjoyed some snacks in the Excellence club for about 20 minutes. By the time we got to our room we had been served 5 glasses of champagne - which we enjoyed!

Our room was lovely and five steps from the pool - which is amazing, clean, and well designed. The beach was only 10 steps further from the pool. While the beds are a bit hard, the room was great. Our room was usually cleaned late in the day and then they would come back for turn down service at night, which was really nice. We had a couple occasions where we didn't get enough towels, but they were quickly replaced. At first our mini-fridge didn't work, but it was fixed by the next morning. Our toilet was leaking water (clean water, thankfully) and it took them a few tries to get things "fixed". They never really remedied the problem and they always sent someone immediately when we "complained".

This resort is simply beautiful and amazing. Like the other reviewer said, they put no pressure on you to tip, but you feel compelled to from the heart. They staff are wonderful people. Carlos the pool concierge is excellent and very friendly. Cleto, who does something with the pool stuff, will reserve huts for you along the pool each morning. We tipped him for helping us out.

The pool here is absolutely great. It is built in such a way that it feels intimate, yet can hold many people. It seems most people hang out around the pool. The waters are rough on the beach, so very few go out in the ocean. Every picture on the website is exactly what you will find - a simply beautiful resort with lovely people.

Excellence Club: We chose to get a room in the Excellence club and it was well worth it for us. We enjoyed the private concierge service - who knew our room number and name without asking, and all the other perks.

TIP - the waiter in the Excellent club lounge (especially in the evening) makes the best drinks on site - they are REAL drinks! We ordered our drinks from him and took them around the resort or to our room.

FOOD: My wife and I are are food snobs, so we went not expecting very much. The breakfast at Toscana was alright with plenty to choose from, including caviar. There is an omelet station, pancakes and waffles, etc... You can virtually make anything you wish. We did tire of the restaurant during our seven days. We ate at the Grill for lunch a couple times and were not impressed. We had a really great meal at the Lobster house (lovely view right by the ocean) and when we returned were sadly disappointed as it was a far cry from our previous meal there. Chez Isabelle was our favorite and we usually could rely on most of the menu to be decent. Agave (mexican) had great chips and salsa service, but the rest of the menu was not so great. The pizzas from Oregano and Room Service are fairly decent, but we tired of those as well. Room service takes awhile, but they let you know a time, and usually it arrived earlier. I came to the conclusion that the resort was the most successful at cooking potatoes and shrimp.

We did not partake in any of the activities, and went to part of the Michael Jackson show - which was too loud for the space (perhaps we are already old!). We did have massages and pedicures at the Spa which was very very nice. A wonderful place and fairly reasonable if you take advantage of the daily spa specials.

We will definitely go back here someday as the scenery, staff, and pool/beach made up for any dislike in food and other minor problems. We loved that it was a couples only resort and that we could simply sit and relax and enjoy the water and sun.

We highly recommend this resort to anyone - it is simply excellente!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.0 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
12.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,780 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Property: Excellence Punta Cana
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Savannahville Tours N.V., TravelUp, Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing