We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!”

Garum Espacio Gastronomico
Ranked #230 of 307 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: US$6 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SPANISH RESTAURANT, TAPAS BAR, WINES, SOCCER , MOTORBIKE FRIENDLY
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were not really hungry and this place also offers tapas... so we went to Garum to experience some of theirs.
We had the Papas Bravas, Alioli, Chicken Croquetes, Bread with tomatoes, paprika in oil and tortilla... all amazing!!
We came back a couple days after and the same... great food, the staff was friendly and the prices are reasonable.

Will definitely come back here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
177 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Grea place for the adults while checking the kids at play!”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We love going there. Eating a Pinchos Morunos or Pan Tomaca with some beers while the kids are playing in the carousell..

Good time for all the family.

I also love the Sancocho there!! For people who wants to try the most traditional dominican dish, this is the place!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Odd and Peculiar Place”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had breakfast .... it came with rolls and toast ... too many carbs for me. And a little pricey.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lady G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Monday night 2 for 1 tapas - a very bad experience.”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I went to the Garum restaurant at Plaza San Juan a few weeks ago with some friends as we had decided to finally try their 2 for 1 tapas special. The setting and atmosphere at the plaza is pretty nice (although not as nice as the Palma Real plaza) and as we did not know what the food was like, we decided to order one of everything on the menu.
The staff was very friendly and service was good. They did not have a good wine selection and wines were over-priced.
The tapas was not good. Most of it was just bland and boring. Their cerviche was the worst I have ever tried. It tasted like someone had dropped a jar of salt on top of it.
When we got the bill they had charged us all wrong and charged us more than what we were supposed to pay. It was supposed to be 2 for 1 but they did not seem to understand how that applied to their billing. So we had to argue over the bill before we could leave.
We were all still pretty hungry and decided to go across the street to another restaurant where we ended up having a nice dinner. The Garum restaurant is not a place that I will return to anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LifeinPuntaCana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place, bad food”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

maybe i was not lucky, but the food was not even decent.
i would not go back for eating. The coffe is good thou, and people are nice.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raquel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka38, Public Relations Manager at Garum Espacio Gastronomico, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Raquel,

We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while visiting Garum, we hope you give a chance to redeem any ill thoughts we might had caused, please give us a second chance if you are ever again in the Dominican Republic.

We hope that your stay in our country was a pleasant one.

Regards,

Iggy Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garum Espacio Gastronomico also viewed

Bavaro, Punta Cana
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Bavaro, Punta Cana
Bavaro, Punta Cana
 

Been to Garum Espacio Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing