We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hand painted rum bottles are amazing”

Pirate Rum Factory & Taino Cave Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Pirate Rum Factory and Taino Cave Tour from Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Pirate Rum Factory & Taino Cave Museum tour is well received as something different and unique in Punta Cana, because it is interesting and informative of the rich history that goes back 500 years before Christopher Columbus named Hispaniola. On your private tour a professional tour guide will take you and your family through a 4 million year old cave with bats, a waterfall, Tainos & Taino gods and explain the rich history of the Dominican Republic since the days of the Tainos, Christopher Columbus, Spanish conquistadors, pirates, and the Dominican Republic. You will be surprised to learn the 500-year history that brings us to the Dominican Republic today. Naturally, this ties in with the pirate rum and the hand painting of the bottles, the taste of rum infused with natural fruits, indigenous to the Dominican Republic, and is shown to be a great educational experience. We believe it would be a highlight for any visitor to the Dominican Republic. Great for all ages! Let me know if you would like to visit the Pirate Rum Factory & Taino Cave Museum. Taste the Tradition!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hand painted rum bottles are amazing”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We really enjoyed the pirate rum tour. Everyone there was very nice and made the experience very pleasant. The cave was really interesting. It was a lot bigger than I thought it would be. You get to sample 8 different types of rum -the coffee flavor was my favorite. Best of all, they have wonderful hand painted rum bottles, both with all the different flavors or empty. I bought an empty one for $10 and they customized it for me for free. It is my favorite souvenir from our entire trip. Don't miss it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    35
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never stopped laughing!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Everyone on the boat mjade sure you were smiling, laughing, dancing, drinking, and were having the time of your life! One of my favs attractions!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drinks, laughs, fun”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

When you first arrive here, it looks small. But do not let first looks fool you. The cave is big and very cool. Our tour guide was excellent and informed us about great local information and Christopher Columbus. The rum factory tour afterward was not as large but still very neat and worth the trip. The bottles are all hand painted and the artist is there. They then let us taste ALL of their home made flavors. I had to pass at a few shots, as I couldn't drink as much as my friends, haha. "Johnny be good" we loved you, Cheers!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenrivera678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“good time”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We called the rum factor to pick us up and it cost us $30.00 each, It was nice, the tour of the cave is interesting, the other areas of the tour are small, a museum and a shop to buy hand painted rum, you each get to try 8 different types of rum

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go for the rum and hand painted bottles, not the tour”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My wife and I went to the rum factory and had an interesting experience. We called the factory for a ride. They sent a driver for us $20 round trip. We met our "Guide". A really manic Haitian who had a tendency for off putting sexual jokes, poor grammar, and inexplicable bursts of maniacal laughter and screaming. Odd guy. Made us sing Jonny B Good while he played air guitar. He took us through the cave which was ok. A bit of a history lesson and some Taino figurines. We got through with that then headed to the rum factory where we saw beautiful hand painted bottles and the artists painting them. Really cool. We tried the rums. Most were good, but we had to suffer through more of our guide's crude jokes while we sipped rather small amounts of the free rum. We did buy two bottles, one full @ $30 and one empty @ $10. There were smaller bottles available as well. Really great tropical art on them. Be prepared for the hard sale and bargain hard with these guys. They will come down more than half of the original price of the paintings. I would suggest going just to the rum shop on your way through town. Just look at the bottles and try the rum. Take the tour if you are a real history buff, but otherwise save yourself and just appreciate the fine rum and artwork.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HudsonJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pirate Rum Factory & Taino Cave Tour also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Pirate Rum Factory & Taino Cave Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing