We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kingdom of the BAD customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Ranked #90 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I happen to visit this place quite often since a friend owns two properties there... Staff is rude and not used to have people complain about the services not done.
I been visiting this place for probably a little over two years, seeing them go thru different managements but this is the worst.
Last weekend I came to the apartments had the cleaning service paid, the following weekend realized it was not cleaned and I am still waiting for the apartment to be cleaned (two hours and nobody shows up).
I don't think the administration is on the right track, I don't see the hotel service picking up if it continues like this.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank TriniTrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed in the Fishing Lodge during the Easter weekend! It was like paradise. My child and my friend's children had a blast. And we had a blast too!!

Blondie is the best with kids. She is very friendly and was always trying to make the kids happy, giving us - the adults - some quiet and peaceful time. :)

Red Bull excellent zumba lessons! Excellent massages too. :)

James Bond, the best Easter Bunny ever! :).

The hotel is very clean, the food was also great. Best Guacamole wraps!

We were able to go fishing with Island Marine charter, a private charter in the Cap Cana Marina. We had a blast and the kids loved it too. Great pictures!! Thanks to Humberto and his crew!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The incredible staff at Alsol Fishing Lodge is by far, the distinguishing identity of this classy and inviting all inclusive resort. From the moment I arrived, folks such as Victoria, Eduard, Kabuk, the wonderful concierge Eskarletand, and Red Bull addressed all my needs and wishes. I found all of them easily accessible and more than able to accommodate all of my requests. The hotel itself is expansive in size and scope, but the staff invokes a since of warmth and homeyness. I simply wish my time here never came to an end. I look forward to many more visits, hopefully in the not too distant future.

An extraordinarily satisfied customer

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDon241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from 7 wonderful days in Cap Cana at the Fishing Lodge. The resort is actually managed under the name Alsol Luxury Village, so search trip advisor for that resort for many more reviews, including my own.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skycruiser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is one of the best places I have ever been...The Resort has everything..great golf ...great places to stay..and great restaurants....beach is wonderful..and then go to the Fishing Village..and I believe it will only get better...

Room Tip: every place is good..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaRay52SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our sojourn to the Alsol Fishing Lodge of 58 days, from January 8--March 5 was arranged over the internet. Unlike many of the reviews, our stay, so far, has been lovely. The sky is cerulean blue by day, the temperature in the 80's with a pleasant breeze, the condo well-appointed, the staff pleasant and helpful, the food, although not gourmet, certainly above standard for hotel food. One highlight of our stay has been the Animation staff, Nabuk, Edvard, Blondy, Junior, and Redbull have provided varied entertainment--from daily Spanish lessons, dance lessons, recently released movies, karaoke, and tonight Dominican folklore, music, and dance. They are never pushy as in some resorts but certainly have enriched our stay (especially our Spanish).

Room Tip: One pool patio has several pools, a beach bar that serves food, plus kiddie pool; the other pool has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulletbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

No hangars.No garbage cans No bath towels.No soap
There was someone elses tooth paste on the sink counter top!
No beach towels.
Unsecure abandoned construction sites adjacent to our rooms in both locations, and on the beach.
Random men stalking the construction areas.
Beach area was smaller than my back yard and you had to walk past an abandoned empty building to get to it, through debris of construction etc.. The view of the beach was completely obscured by an unfinished building that they painted on one side so from a distance it looked finished. No windows, just a cement shell with dirt and empty cans littered all over.
Ocean water was 75%covered in seaweed. Mostly un swim able.
Food- buffet was fly ridden and not enough of anything past 8:30. One tray of fruit was put out and once it was gone, it was gone. Same with most of the other items. There was nothing fresh put out, the smoothie bar was abandoned after the fruit ran out, no meat, cold hard pancakes, and the cereal had bugs. No gaining weight for sure. No place to get snacks for the room. They served Spam!!!
Room keys didn't work repeatedly. 1/4mile walk to the desk over and over and over..security had to replace locks twice. If you took the key out of the holder in the room, the electricity & the air conditioning went off. Meaning if 1 person left with the key the rest of us in the room had no lights or air! Getting extra keys that worked was a burden, a chore, a pain in the butt.
Internet service was only available on our balcony, not in the rooms or the beach. It was slow, intermittent, and annoying to try to communicate.
New room had washer no soap no where to buy it without spending $100 to get there and back first.
Theyleft a lunch size plate with two pieces of cheese cut into pieces and another plate with 3 slices of fruit in our refrigerator. It looked like left overs. There was an exploded bottle of chanpagne in the freezer, we think it was all from a previous guest. We showed the housekeeper and asked her to remove the broken glass bottle, it remained there our entire stay and most likely is still there now.
Property had no stores. None. No sundries not shirts no ice cream no shopping. No beach activities at all. about 10 chairs on the beach total. The "Spa" had only 1 masseuse!
Concierge was incapable of making dinner reservations much less any activities. No activities on beach. Pool had 1 volley ball & 2 ping pong paddles. The other two pools had less than 10 chairs and no bar or food . She was unable to describe any restaurant off property or let us know if it was 100 yards or 25 miles away. All retail, which was a predominant amount of buildings on the property, and some guest room buildings were whitewashed and empty. Pictures in this case are NOT worth a thousand words unless you zoom in. It was very eerie and abandoned looking. Like a ghost town from 2008.
Staff was overworked many days working breakfast lunch and dinner. The bartender, the restaurant staff, the golf cart taxi drivers, were far and few between and exhausted.
We were abandoned at lunch the first day waiting for our room after being told our golf cart driver would be back in 45 minutes. 1 hr and 30 min later we chose to hoof it back and see what was going on.
Had to walk back to the front of the resort with our luggage about 1/4 mile in the heat.
Our first rooms were a disaster (see above). outside our 3 separate rooms were creepy guys lurking and security guards shooing them off.
When changing rooms we carried our luggage all over the resort ( abut a mile) while we were taken first to an occupied room! Then being taken to a room under construction and then to our final room. Again no towels. We kept the same beach towels all 5 days! ( no soap, no stores)
Maid service was only if you requested it and always late inthe afternoon if at all. They never left towels we called each day for bath towels. 50 50 chance of getting a clean towel to shower with. But if they did come to make the beds they took our used towels without replacing them, so we had to hide them so we'd have something to dry off with!!!
Taxis were $2 to go in cap Cana with 4 decent restaurants so we were told by guests, but Reservations were not available from 5-10PM at 3 of the 4 restaurants nearby during our entire stay. Taxis anywhere else would've been $80 -$100 each time. Having a concierge who was incapable of booking anything much less telling us about the restaurant or its location made it limiting to say the least. Getting back would have been very iffy.
Other guests had similar experiences. One couple got 4 nights free at their sister resort del sol at another date for their inconvenience. Everyone we talked to had a bad experience and got their first night comped. One couple had no furniture in their room. one family said they had been there since the 16th trying to move with no where to go, and found that the staff, the food, and the service did not increase with the large influx of guests the following nights. Bad service was the norm. No amenities was an understatement. No apologies from the staff but plenty sentences beginning with " we have a Situation"…....
The sad part was the resort had SO much potential. It had beautiful buildings with terraces and lovely architecture laying vacant and unfinished. Beautiful views of the harbour and the Sanctuary resort across the water. Plenty of retail space with no tennants. The resort isn't ready to open for business and with the experience we and other guests had I doubt it will be open for long.

Room Tip: Choose another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
12.9 mi away
RD68 Hotel Boutique
RD68 Hotel Boutique
#26 of 27 in Bavaro
29 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
981 reviews
0.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
3.4 mi away
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge
Xeliter Golden Bear Lodge
#104 of 112 in Punta Cana
69 reviews
12.2 mi away
NH Punta Cana
NH Punta Cana
#72 of 112 in Punta Cana
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fishing Lodge Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fishing Lodge Cap Cana

Address: Calle Paseo de los Pescadores, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £101 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport, in the largest and most luxurious Marina of the Caribbean, and surrounded by the famous beaches of white sand of Punta Cana and Cap Cana, Marina Sands is an impressive luxury resort of 299 suites of different and generous dimensions, decorated with top quality materials and furniture designed in true Mediterranean style.Five thematic restaurants, five bars, four swimming pools, a Dominican style chapel for weddings and mass, a state of the art fitness center, commercial boulevard with shops and boutiques, restaurants and bars, disco and set of activities and exclusive services that will satisfy even the most demanding.Marina Sands guests can take advantage of the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club, regarded as the best Caribbean Golf course in Mexico and the Caribbean, as well as other top courses in the area. Also available are aquatic activities, animation, children's activities and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fishing Lodge Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing