We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation at the riu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Ranked #52 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Vacation at the riu”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The resort is absolutely beautiful. The pool and beach are gorgeous. Rooms are nice and spacious. However, don't plan on sleeping in late. You hear the workers early in the AM banging around their carts and speaking in Spanish. The food is horrible. Room service options are about 4 things. Room service also tends to forget your order or just never brings it up. The towel card is just so ridiculous. If u want to eat at any of the restaurants you must make the reservation 2 days in advance (I thought this was vaca). But the staff is very accommodating near the pool and buffet etc. Front desk didn't explain anything to us. They were not very helpful. Couldn't imagine how this is a 4/5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jm311912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,651
    994
    395
    139
    130
See reviews for
939
1,588
40
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited in February of this year and loved it so much this is going to be the annual girls trip destination. Ultra modern, free wifi in the lobby and great drinks.

This hotel is part of a large complex where you can stay at one and play at multiple, so some of the gals stayed at the cheaper parts and we all meet up at the same beach.

So many people complain about these resorts and look at what they are complaining about, topless women, well your in the DR and it has a heavy European influence. You don't like topless women, vacation in the US.

Mold, you're next to the ocean, what do you expect?! We did not have any "mold" issues.

Actually, we had no issues at all. Staff was super friendly 24 hour food and drink was great. Caribbean street was fun tourist shopping.

Loved this hotel and can't wait to come back.

Two tips for anyone staying at a non tipping all inclusive:
1) Tip you get stronger drinks and better service
2) Bring your own cup the staff is more than willing to mix in a large glass for you

Room Tip: Tipping at check in can get you a free upgrade or a $20 tip for the expedited check in process.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DZalumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

i have just returned from our 2nd holiday at the riu palace bavaro. i went with my husband and were were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. we previously stayed in sept/oct 2012. i was worried before we went not by the negative reviews, but that it would'nt be has good as the first time. but i need'nt have worried its was'nt only as good as the first time... it was better.

FLIGHT

we flew out of manchester on 21st september with thomson in the premium cabin. great flight and it was good to see the premium service was back to how it used to be. it had gone down hill in the last couple of years

TRANSFER

private taxi transfer which was included in price of our holiday, and much prefer it to coach transfer. the driver was friendly. even though is english was not great and we don't know much spanish. but we managed to have a conversation.

CHECK IN /HOTEL

check in was quick and we were greeted with a cool drink. we did have to wait a short while while they checked if our room was ready although it was after 4 pm in the afternoon.

ROOM

has previous year we stayed in the vip area room 5324 which had sea and pool view on upper floor has requested. we had to wait a short while before we could go up to the room. but this was because thomson and i also emailed hotel a week before hand to say we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. they had decorated the room with flowers etc. that was the reason we had to wait awhile which was lovely. could'nt fault the room or view and the maid did a brilliant job. wether you think the upgrade is worth it is really down to indivual. we try not to spend that much time in room but i personally like the induvual blocks of rooms to the large long corridors in hotels. also in the vip area its now adult only ( don't belive this was the case on our first visit) even though i dont drink beer much myself i know alot of people who go to dom rep like presdente beer. this is availble in your mini bar( not the case on previous visit) you got use of an adult only pool as well has the main pool. we spent time at both. the vip is quieter of the two. its also a quieter part of hotel

FOOD

i have never had a problem with the food here. the buffet has a great choice and unless your very fussy can find something different to eat. and both me and my husband will try anything once. and advantage of buffet is you can try a little of something on your plate to see if you like it you can always go back for more if you do. just don't pile everything on your plate then end up leaving it. noticed alot of people doing that and its such a waste and waste cost money. we did'nt go to any a la carte this year. we had previously and they were good. i just don't like the regimented sitting system. this is one thing that i don't like and wish the riu's wer more like the iberotars i have visted were you can make a reservation at different half hour intervals like any restuarant you would visit back home. also found the buffet has more atomsphere.

ENTERTAINMENT
yes its a bit cheesy. but i love the dancing esp latino dancing. i could watch that every night all night ( hubby not so keen). i have seen better dance shows at other all inclusives and better micheal jackson show but still good. and loved the beach parties that took place over about 4 lucnches on the beach next to main pool

SWIMMING POOLS

being in the vip area we get use of both main pool and vip. in the morning till around mid afternoon we spent it around the main pool. has i liked to do the aqua aerobics and the beach parties were great fun. then after 3 we would either go onto the beach or around the vip pool.

on the main pool we got the same sunbeds everyday (thanks felipe) and the pools are surounding area are kept very clean. the pool guys do a great job. yes i do think some of the pool towels could do with replacing but thats a management decsion, plus these towels are used by loads of people and with all the washing prob won't last very long.

BARS

the drinks are'nt really that strong unless you have it without mixer or have beer or wine and found the the drinks in the lobby bar the strongest. unless you had a julios special at la yola pool bar or an henri special at pool bar in vip pool bar.

SERVICE/TIPPING

i cannot fault the service at this hotel. karina and severingo and marino in th monte cristo buffet. ok karina and marino remebered us from our previous visit. has did the pool guys and henri in pools. i was surprised how much marino english was. when we first met it was very basic but it was very very much improved. even though marino did'nt serve us this year but everyday would come and shake our hands everyday. karina tried to teach us spanish and wanted to know the what the english equivilant was. good service is'nt always about how fast your drinks get served its the welcome you recieve even julios at the pool bar took time to talk to us. and we found out were he lived etc. and how he was looking forward to his four days off to see his bambino. we did'nt tip everyone and certianly did'nt tip every round of drinks. we would only tip if we recieved good service which we did. with one exception of marino. we gave him a 5 dollar tip just for being him towards the end of our hol and he was genunely grateful. and how much his english had improved i think he must be having lessons. which i know they have to pay for in dom rep. so good on him. also tipped the made adout 2 dollars every couple of days or so. and the pool guys. previously we gave a tip to gardeners but strangely never really saw any this time yet the gardens were lovely and it was nice to see how they had come on.


OVERALL

i know this hotel recieves mixed reviews and everybody has different ideas of whats good and whats bad. and i'm very particular when it comes to picking our holidays. but try as i could'nt see what the really negative reviews are going on about. is this hotel perfect no its not. but then again is anywhere? even if you stay at home. but it tries really hard to be perfect and i could'nt fault any of our holiday. this hotel is very clean, ( some places in uk could take a leaf out the this places book)

will i return for a 3rd time yes of course. would i recommned it to family and friends already have and will do so in future. anybody thinking of going here just ingnore the bad reviews and go and make your own mind up.

p.s look out for karina, marino and severingo in the buffet , julios in the pool bar , all the pool guys but esp felipe and you will always get a sunbed.

Room Tip: 5324 in vip area or 5115 in vip area although view better in 5324. they are upper floors so u dont g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollymagooDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks stay at the Riu Palace Bavaro. We were slightly worried after reading a couple of reviews on here. This was our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing. The brilliance of the holiday started at the airport when we had our own private taxi to transfer us. Far better than a crowded coach.
On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly efficient staff. It was a quick check in and a refreshing fruit punch was served. Our room was a standard room and it was more than adequate. The cleanliness was to a high standard. Extremely roomy, fresh towels most days and amazing towel art accompanied by flowers.
The food was to a high standard, wide variety of foods available. My partner is a vegetarian and never struggled to find a meal. We ate at the speciality restaurant on x3 occasions and all experiences were enjoyable and delicious. The main pool was kept clean and we never struggled for sunbeds. Despite the size of the hotel and the capacity it never appeared overcrowded. The beach is beautiful and again never appeared overcrowded. The grounds were always well maintained and kept extremely clean and tidy. The staff at this hotel work extremely hard and nothing is to much trouble. If you are planning to stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed. Its beautiful and we could not find fault with anything at all. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a top room floor, ask for a room above the restaraunts, you don't get wet if it rains wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Riu Palace Bavaro with husband, 22 yr old daughter and her boyfriend. Had a GREAT time. Room (Jr Ste Sup) was clean and roomy, pool was awesome, beach was beautiful. We would definitely return. The only reason I'm not rating it a 5 is that the food was just okay, but that is okay with us. We visited all 4 specialty restaurants and enjoyed all of them except Taino (steakhouse). I do not recommend it. The other 3 were pretty good and worth going to. We made reservations when we went to breakfast on our first day for three nights and then stopped by each morning thereafter to book another night. Ended up at the Italian and Japanese twice since we enjoyed our first meals there.

I have used TA to help plan trips in the past but this is my first review. If you're like me, you may be wondering about booking here based on some of the reviews, but we honestly had a great time and would return without question. We go for the beach, the pool, and the relaxation. Riu Palace Bavaro is great for those things. Yes, if you are going just for the food, you might be a little disappointed, but, again, that's not what we're there for.

With only one or two exceptions, EVERY staff person that we encountered was very friendly. The pool servers were great and definitely remembered you. The staff at Geisha were fun to be around (hint to management.....watch them in action and then train your other specialty restaurant staff to interact like they do).

Bottom line, if you want a beautiful, clean, fun resort with an amazing beach, GO!! We will be back. Another note to management: THANK YOU for not allowing the beach vendors. Please DON'T change that policy. That would definitely be a deal breaker for us.

Any questions, just ask.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovesthebeach95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zottegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

So good we already went twice!
Great welcome upon arrival… a bellboy to take our luggage, friendly staff @ reception desk for check-in. We received a cocktail and a cold towel to fresh up. As we were staying in the VIP-area of the restort, we were kindly asked to wear a special bracelet. Next we were accompagnied to our room. During our walk we enjoyed the nice gardens & fountains..
Our Ocean Front Suite: very large surface with salon, hugh flatscreen & (open) bathroom with walk in rain shower & indoor jacuzzi, balcony with sun loungers & outdoor jacuzzi; location: top floor; the view: stunning…!!  From our balcony we could ‘jump’ on the white beach 
Beach: private beach with sun loungers & palm trees (which is good for people who need some shadow..)
Pool & Bar: private pool with private bar (for VIP guests only) To chill out we had the choice: sun loungers or Balinese beds.. we choose the beds…, so comfortable!
Food: the buffet was endless; well assorted and varied; some already prepared, some with showcooking. The buffet was taken care of with the outmost precision. Hygienic & well decorated with eye for detail. Extras: separate champagne buffet & chocolate fountain..
Sports: large variety of land & water sports.
Spa/Wellness: large spa center & fitness room. The massages were the best.. ZEN….!
Staff in general: friendly & professional
We are frequent travellers in 5* resorts in Europe & The Caribbean. This hotel did meet all our requirements!

Room Tip: Ocean Front Jacuzzi Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

my stay was frm 9/19-9/24/13...i traveled with one of my best friends...we had an awesum time. resort BAVARRO is beautiful. every staff member we came across in the resort was excellent! food was very good..we enjoyed the different choices.hotel decor was brilliant. are jr suite was perfect! we also enjoyed the towel decor left in r rm by housekeeping. the shows n activies performed by ANIMATION....kept us busy..special thanks to these individuals...johas?(fd) severino(waiter) luis (bartender)pina colada(animation)coco(animation)the housekeeper who cleaned r rm n stocked us up for rm 3083. there are more of the waiters in the mornin n evenin buffet restaurant who were wonderful!..sorry i cant remember ur names...we r returning in the spring. hope to c ur awesum faces again!

Room Tip: higher floor better view/rm facin cabanas were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaliz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
15.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
17.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#68 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
1.0 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda | Higüey - Punta Cana, Punta Cana 74100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing