We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Menu, amazing specials and food”
Review of Le Petit Jardin - CLOSED

Le Petit Jardin
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Le Petit Jardin is located right behind Plaza El Dorado in Los Corales, next door to the Bavaro Hostel. Le Petit Jardin is a French Canadian and an Italian with a Dominican staff. It's the result of their combined and explored passions in a warm and tropical atmosphere. This is the place for a romantic meal, a cerveza between friends or a quick pizza to go. A special request, a different menu or a group event? Ask us...Here, anything is possible.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple Menu, amazing specials and food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friends and I all went to Le Petit Jardin on the 2 for 1 Pasta Carbonara night. WOW!!! It was delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxing. It was a great choice for dinner and they routinely do 2 for 1 specials.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rr19832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 for 1”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The night we went happened to be 2 for one on both Cuba Libres and pizza... so that's what we had. Your pizza is made from scratch & on site (you can watch if you want) and stands up to any pizza I've ever had. I would definitely recommend it; and if it existed in my home city, it would probably be my go to place there too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco T, Owner at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello - and thank you for taking the time to post a great review !

We're happy to hear that you had the chance to take advantage of some of our daily promotions.
Thank you for also mentionning our great pizza!
And when we'll open a location in MTL, we'll let you know ;-)

Marie-Eve & Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Fun place to eat!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My friends & I ate here during our spring break and we absolutely loved it! The sugar pie is to die for & the owner even gave us free shots of a local beverage called mamawana. We will definitely be back on our next visit to the DR.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vinnydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco T, Owner at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review!

We're happy that you guys had a good time! Thanks for mentioning our desserts as we work hard weekly to serve only homemade recipes :-)

We're looking forward to serve you another mamajuana shot !!!

Cheers !!!

Marie-Eve & Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Descent location. A bit of atmosphere with the thatched roof and tropical feel. But the food is "just o.k." Even the spaghetti, which they say they are known for, is 'just o.k.' Nothing to brag about in our opinion. They use packaged pasta, but they make their own sauce, which is no better than what you can heat up from a jar. The wine is on the pricey side. There are cats running all over the inside of the restaurant. The staff pets the cats and handle food without washing. Yuck.

We have eaten there twice, but have removed it from our 'GO TO" list of restaurants in the Los Corales area.

A good chef, removal of cats and some professional servers could make this place a landmark restaurant, but for now . . . it's just o.k. !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreakquentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco T, Owner at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello- Thank you for posting a review.

It's unfortunates that you did not like your experience at our restaurant…even if you mentioned coming twice.
Serving homemade and fresh products is part of our values. But, we are in the Dominican Republic and have sometimes, a lack of resources and time. That said, we do use packaged pasta just like the majority of the restaurants.
We just think it's unfortunate that you did not mention any of this to us or to a member of our staff so we could have changed your plate and fixed the situation on the spot.

As for our wine list that you mention being on the pricey side, glasses between $4,50 to $5.80 and bottles ranging from $15 to $25, are reasonable prices for quality wine.

We are an outdoor restaurant seating with NO walls or doors…so yes, you may have a cat passing through once in while.

Please take note that we always take into consideration all of our feedback.
Unfortunately, not all our reviews accurately reflect our opinion of our restaurant and atmosphere.

Marie-Eve & Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great food, super friendly staff and Open mic Tuesday's!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They have a great selection of food and it tastes exquisite. They have open mic Tuesday's which everyone should take advantage of!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco T, Owner at Le Petit Jardin, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review!
It's was a pleasure to meet all of your group and we're very happy that you guys had a good time on our tuesday open mic night!

Cheers !!!

Marie-Eve & Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Petit Jardin also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing