We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPECTACULAR!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Ranked #75 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
ellieking100
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The service received at the Sirenis resort was more than we could have asked for. Upon arrival we were greeted with a complimentary cocktail and local Dominican dancers. There was always a member of staff to hand, attention to detail was amazing and they were always very friendly and playful.
When we first arrived in the room it was wonderfully air-conditioned and very clean indeed. Unlike normal air conditioning units there was no noise whatsoever and was effective. Mid-week we were left a little surprise by on of the maids/cleaners which was delightful. The bathroom was almost entirely marble and everything worked well, had no problems.
The location was stunning!! The beach was owned by the hotel and therefore kept incredibly clean. Waiters were on the beach to take your order from first thing in the morning for drinks. The beach is situated about 3 mins from the huge pool that has 2 pool bars and 3 bridges that can be swam under. There are different places to get food throughout the day, the best one being the Mexican restaurant next to the pool. There are many different excursions available, as we did snuba diving, drove a speed boat and went snorkelling in one trip, but ask around the different people in the hotel for prices. Mainly bring US dollars as they don't really like Dominican pesos.
What we liked best about the holiday was the crystal clear ocean as it is perfect for snorkelling but we recommend taking bread from breakfast and feeding the fish as they come very close to you and are not scared, also get an under water camera as the pictures turn out fantastic!! The beach is beautiful, never seen anything like it. Also the Peacocks are amazing and they had little baby chicks when stayed and they will be your alarm clock . What we liked least was as you walk up or down the beach you will be harassed by men on the beach trying to sell you novelty items, this is when you leave the section of beach owned by the hotel. All in all it was fabulous!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellieking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,121
    2,612
    1,373
    792
    651
See reviews for
3,385
2,625
165
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Me and my partner went here for 2 weeks from the 2nd june to 16 june 2010. we booked all inclusive with first choice. First imperessions of the dominican were good even though it started raining as we got off the plane it didnt put us off as it only lasted 5 mins before the sun came out and was still hot!
Be ready with 10USD to get through immigration (and 20USD on the way out) we avoided having our suitcases taken by the airport staff as we knew they were only after a tip and it was only a short trip 2 the coach.
On arrival 2 the hotel we were greeted by a cocktail at reception which we thought was a nice touch, reception staff very friendly and easy 2 understand. Its quite daunting at first how big the place is but its easy 2 learn where things are, and in your welcome pack they give you a map with everything labelled on 2 help you. We were told 2 make our way 2 our rooms and our luggage would be brought up 4 us, we tipped the man 3USD which he was very grateful 2 recieve. The room was quite dated but was still very clean with flowers on the bed and in the bathroom, it was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and toiletries which included; shampoo, shower gel, soap, flannel, shower cap and even a sewing kit. i would advise getting a saftey deposit box which they do charge an amount per day for and a 50USD deposit which you get back when you check out. The maids do come quite early so if you've had a late night the night before id advise the do not disturb sign and then change it 2 please clean my room when you leave which they do return to do.
The pool is huuge and there were always sunbeds, although we put our towels down each morning this was only because we wanted the same spot right by the edge of the pool each day :) the hotel give you a towel card 1 per person which they will charge 20USD for if lost. Lunch by the pool is a BBQ 12-3 which is cooked infront of you, they also have chips and salad.
Drinks like coke, sprite, fanta etc are all help yourself around the pool which is good 4 young children, there are also bars that serve a large selection of cocktails which is unusual for an all inclusives, aswel as beers and spirits. There are 2 swim up bars in the pool if you want 2 be lazy and not walk 2 them. All bar staff are very friendly, and not pervy (being a girl alot of places abroad that happens and its not nice but not here) which my bf approved of 2! They do have people walking round offering you trips and photos but aslong as your firm with them and say No Thank You they tend 2 leave you alone, which is good, nothing worse than being pestered!!
We ate in the main buffet resturant every night and did regret not booking a resturant just never got round 2 it. The food was good, quite a selection, which they did change every night, but by the end of the holiday we were looking forward 2 some good english food but think thats the same on any foreign holiday. the dessert selection was good with cakes and ice creams 4 little ones. (esp the blue candy ice cream mix it with the strawberry :] )
The entertainment team (Animation Suuuperrr) put a show on every evening which was good veiwing, sometimes a little 2 much dancing but all in all, good shows. The majority of the hotel was english so the shows were directed more towards us which was good. They do do shows which interact with the audience and ask people to go up, if your like us and like watching other people make fools of themselves but dont want 2 do it yourself sit in the middle and not in the front few rows!! They do work really hard though all through the day doing activities and after the shows they stay till midnight with entertainment such as bands, karaoke, and partys. After this they have a nightclub which is open till 3am, but you cant hear music from the outside so no need 2 worry about being kept up.They do make you feel welcome and are very friendly. There is one person we cudnt stand and thats Roberto the animation manager (luckily) you only see him at the end of the shows where he introduces the team one by one for you to give them an applause, and then passes the microphone over for someone 2 thank him and say his name, where he then milks the applause and does ridicluous hand/dance moves and holds his hands up 2 his ears for you 2 give him more applause by the end of the holiday we were soo fed up of him we were booing him. Id like to state he doesnt do any choreography, any of the set or perform at all.
My bf did unfortunately get ill with an ear infection which we did have 2 see the hotel doctor for, she was very friendly and spoke very good english which is always nice 2 know. I would recommend having travel insurance as they do charge for a consultation and then for the medication you have 2 have, In total we had to pay just over £300.
Our first choice rep was ok, not the best but nothing really to complain about. We did do a trip through first choice "the outback safari" which included going to see a local school, a dominican house, where they produce coffee, chocolate etc, having lunch and then finally a gorgeous beach not sure of the name but beautiful blue sea and white sand-amazing!!!
The beach at the hotel was cleaned every morning by the hotel workers and although sea wasnt clear bright blue was very nice and much clearer than english sea!!! dogs do walk along the beach but they dont bother you and seem friendly.
The hotel has a pet donkey we named Dominic who was very funny and isnt always on his lead, but isnt scary and little kids love him/her.
Over all we had an amazing holiday here and some of the reviews on here are from people that are 2 picky!!!! if they want 5* go to a 5* dont complain when u dont book one!! This is a perfectly good hotel, clean, friendly, good choice of food, a big pool, plenty of sunbeds and drink selection what more could you ask for!!!! Definatly book it, were home now and i wish i was back there :( would definatly go back in a heartbeat :) love dominican republic x

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ustwoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswaldtwistle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My partner and myself stayed here for two weeks 27th May - 9th June, we got back last weekend. It is a great hotel and complex even though we had read quite a few bad reviews beforehand.

We arrived at the airport and had about an hour journey to the Sirenis which was good as you can see for yourself what a poor third world country it really is, they look like they have nothing. Check-in at the hotel was very speedy and they took care of everything, ie, bags to your room etc, but be prepared to tip for services like this although you don't have too. The staff at the hotel work very very hard and nothing is ever too much for them they were always very courteous and always smiling, the maid worked very hard and we always made a pont of saying hello to her, she put flowers in the room everyday and did displays with the towels in the bathroom and the bedspreads in the bedroom, so we liked to tip as we went through the holiday

The animation team are great especially at the show which starts at 9.30pm every night in the theatre, we only went a few times but it wasn't really our thing, but it's good for families and children, after that the Sirenis Band usually played till midnight ish, then the nightclub opened, but you had to pay for drinks $3 for a beer.

We went with Thomas Cook and there are lots of organised trips you can go on, we went on the Jeep Safari for $95 each which we thought was a bit pricey! But if you want to see the Dominicans and how they live and work then I feel this is the best trip to go on, it was value for money, but take some money with you for souvenirs as they take you to shops along the way and everything is overpriced but you can barter. Also, there are children and adults begging when you go on the trips and I felt really sorry for them and gave them money. Apparently we were informed that Dominican Republic has a good tourist trade and that the people love us holidaying there because we are bringing money into the country but I never saw any evidence of this with how poor the people are, I think the only people getting rich from tourism are the bosses of Sirenis, I think more could be done to help the people there with better living conditions, they are very primitive in their ways and they looked miserable, their main tool is a machette, everyone has one apparently.

After going on this trip we'd spent so much on souvenirs that we decided not to go on any more and getting feedback from other tourists we'd met, I felt we'd been on the best one.

The food at the hotel was excellent, I am a vegetarian and always found something to eat, We couldn't fault the food or the service in the main buffet restaurant which we visited three times a day. You are allowed to make reservations at the themed restaurants, (2 a weeK), we only went to one of them one night, the Japaneese Jade Restaurant and it was spectacular to see the chefs cook the food, Tepanyake style or something, but the food was drowned in soy sauce and everything was brown and we didn't enjoy it. So after this experience we didn't go to any more themed restaurants and we felt the buffet restaurant was the best and we'd missed going that night anyway. There is food available almost 24hrs a day.

The weather is really hot and sunny at times, some days it was too hot to sunbathe, even on cloudy days you can still get burnt, so put plenty of sun lotion on, also there were always plenty of sunloungers available, if you wanted a shaded area then you'd have to get up a bit earlier but it wasn't ever a problem for us as we loved to go to the beach everyday. We had a thunderstorm one day and it did rain a few times but it was a relief and most people seem to ignore this and stay on the beaches etc.

Unless you're into beach aerobics and learning to salsa dance with the animation team during the day round the beach and pool, there isn't much to do. If you don't go to the pool or beaches, the complex is miles from anywhere, you can't just stroll out and look in a nearby town at shops etc unless you go on an organised trip or pay high prices for taxis etc. I missed doing this on the holiday, you did feel stuck at times and limited. In reception with the bars there is access to the internet which was $7 for 30 mins. A phone card cost $20 for 20 mins.

There is just one thing I have to complain about, the mosquitoes, they are rife at night when the sun goes down, it becomes really humid and you can't see them. We were bitten so much at night by these, mainly on our legs. The bites didn't seem to surface until a day after and they were red and horrible and they made you feel miserable at times because they were so unsightly. Everyone on the complex seemed to have them and were all comparing with each other, it was quite funny at times. Trouble is though, once they've bitten you there is nothing you can put on them to get rid of the red lump they leave, they have to run their course. They don't discriminate they'll bite anyone even the locals and staff! Prevention is better and make sure you bring lots of repellent with you and apply it at night when you go for your evening meal as they are everywhere, better still bring long pants and sleeves for night time, linen clothes would be the coolest, I wished I'd have done that.



However this was a good holiday with no real complaints, the rooms are basic but clean and the beds were hard but it wasn't a problem.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. We also saw four wedding ceremonies taking place when we walked along the beach which was nice.

Hope this review has been useful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebStarOswaldtwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the sirenis cocotal for 2 weeks. Its ideal just for a quite realxing holiday as the holiday is hotel based. (There is no resort near buy. Bavro is the main resort but its a 45min taxi each way and there aint alot there)

The hotel rooms are very clean with 2 double beds a fridge with free soft drinks every day. there a tv with a good choice of english channels.

The food is really good always find somthing diffrent. The beach BBQ is everyday from 12ish till 2ish which was really nice. Only tryed the stake house restaurant which was very good.

The pool was the biggest i have ever seen, with two swim up bars. Its right next to the beach. me and my girlfriend used the beach and the pool area and there was no problem with her swimming and sunbathing topless (lots of women doing it). the sea and pool are really warm like getting a bath.

the entertainment is ok lots of dancing and beyonce making silly noises. The micheal jackson show and circus are very good, the rest are ok,

My only complint is the time share people dont leave you alone. every time you go to you room they nag you to come into they office.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOFORITUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

so here we are just arrived back from the Dominican stayed at the serenis cocotal in punta cana. We couldn't of asked for much more really. The staff are fantastic, they allways make sure we had drinks, always asking see if we were ok really nice people. The hotel is gorgeous, everything is kept really clean, whenever you look around there is allways, a cleaner mopping the floor, guys in the gardens cutting the grass etc. The Food, was ok. we started to get a bit sick of the food as some of it tended to be the same. However there were always the restaurants that you could book into. The JAPANESE was fantastic, i have never in my life tasted food like it. So as soon as you get there make sure you book the Japanese you won't be disappointed.

The rooms are very spacious we had 2 double beds, seating area, massive wardrobes, and a lovely sized bathroom. The cleaners are lovely fresh bedding and towels everyday, along with red petals scattered all over and lovely swan designs with the towels.

The only thing we were really disappointed with was the excursions. We booked them through thomas cook we did saona island, which is beutifull, the buggys which is fantastic, and the megatrucks which was rubbish i would stay clear of this. Basically we paid alot of money for these excursions and ended up back 2 hours early on every trip. The buggys which we really enjoyed was only half day it should have been from 9.00 until 1pm but we were about for 11.30 so that was disappointing.

Also the entertainment is amazing, i take my hat off to all the animation team they are brilliant. Throughout the day, they are playing with the kids, archery, dancing, etc, then at night they have different shows on, ie micheal jackson, miss serenis, couple serenis, grease, mama mia, absolutely fantastic dancers.

I would say this is the best holiday i have ever been on and would definitely go back there. The weather was fab it started to through it down when we were getting on the couch to go home lol. No but really beutifull place.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank serenislady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We have been to the Dominican a few times and always enjoyed our time there. My husband does all the reading of reviews and we did come across a couple of bad ones, but nothing that put us off, We were wary of going back as we had been in Jan 2010 and the hotel we stayed in was crawling with Canadians who took over the place and the noise was way to much from them, and we are not the quietest of families and we don't mind noise either we understand other people are on thier holiday too. Luck would have it this hotel did not have so many and the other guest who were there, were, on the whole, very nice people. This time it was the puerto ricans that were a slice to much, they did'nt like to socialise we tried to intergrate with a large party but they were not interested. That of course is there choice, but it would have been nice to get more than a look down the nose from them. The pool was MASSIVE, at one end it was shallow enough for babies then wound round into a deeper part with a bar further on was steps in the middle with a statue where you could sit and cool off and chat, it wound round further with shaded spots to another bar and ended with another shallow part for the kids, FAB. If the pool is not your thing then the beach was right there for you, beautiful sands and the sea was like a bath, if you like to snorkel you did'nt have to swim out to far either you could still stand in the sea and catch the sights. I was hit in the chest by a fish which jumped out of the water so you can get up close !
We did'nt have any trouble finding beds there were plenty but if you like to have the option of beds with shade you might be advised to go a little earlier for the choice. The animation team were great, once they got going, Although they did'nt come round to let you know the games were starting, there was a board and they would announce on a mic but if you were not in range you could not hear and you missed the games. I had to go looking to join in. '5o Cent' is funny, a real character, Mosquito was another, look out for his break dancing, if the kids ask his he will show them a few moves. If you like aerobics, Find Beyonce she if fab for that. James Bond does not live up to his name unless u speak spanish!!!!! We met a family who's kids went to the kids club, they had nothing but praise for the girls at the club, our son was a little to old at 12 to join the kids were a bit to young for him. I got chatting to Berlis on the last day a what a sweet girl she is I'm sorry I did'nt meet her earlier. By the way the family we met turned out to be our neighbours, we travelled thousands of miles only to meet them on holiday. As they say it's a small world, but as Jimmy told us "he would'nt like to hoover it".
Food was good, even the fussy eaters should find something to eat, there was a good selection, try the chicken nuggets they were tasty. the staff tried to do something different everyday. Drinks were good too, you were served pretty quick.
Night time entertainment was ok the staff work hard to put on the shows. It may not be to everyone's taste or standards but it would be rude not to go see one.
Overall we had a great time the staff and the people we met were all lovely, and we would go back to the dominican without a doubt. Even with the one or to things that could be a little off putting, but people can be to fussy. Holidays are what you make them and with the help of ALL the people we met they made ours fab.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHowe70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2010

our vacation at the sirenis cocotal was AWESOME! we had a blast!... the weather cooperated for the most part. a little rain and 1 cool day but i definitely cant complain!!

the resort was very nice. always clean, always stocked fridge. I really enjoyed the food. my fiance was starting to get bored by the end of the week of the meal options but that is because he is picky. he really enjoyed the make your own pasta bar.

the steak house was amazing but the italian restaurant i didnt really care for . which didnt matter becuase i grabbed a snack at the main buffet afterwards!! :)

the beach was awesome and there were hardly any people there. which was nice if you wanted some shade, or an intimate vacation .... not so nice that we couldnt get one game of beach volleyball together because there weren't enough people, which made it hard to meet people also.( this is becuase we went in the off season)

my only complaint ( and its not the fault of the hotel) was there were lots of european travelers and maybe its a cultural difference (we're canadian) but it seemed that everyone was smoking . It was almost as if they weren't sure which areas are smoking and which werent. so people would just light up wherever.

We did the "boogey" ride also with hola tours and it was really amazing. We were on the 7am tour and we were the only ones on the trip so we stayed longer at the destinations, and got a horseback ride too!

Our Rep, Lauren was so awesome. We were the only ones at orientation and she was very good with explaining to us all that was included and what could be purchased outside of the all inclusive. She was at the resort for the entire time she said she would be so we always new we could find her. Be careful of the "happy man" . he sells the same tour for $5.00 less per person than hola tours. however if you are unhappy in any way when you book through your rep you can place a complaint and then westjet and hola tours will look into it, if you book through something else there is nothing they can do for you unfortunately.

There are a few vendors down the beach if you are looking to purchase anything also.

The staff hospitality was also wonderful. Everyone always so helpful.

It was not quite the same as the bahia principe (which is where we stayed last time), nor did i expect it would be... I would recommend the resort to anyone but next time we will try maybe a different location , to keep things fresh.

I should mention the zip line tour looked unreal... but i forgot my runners, silly me. so we will have to try that out next time.

I could have stayed forever. Please dont be put off by any poor reviews of this resort. It was well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey_McQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
27.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
948 reviews
25.8 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,746 reviews
10.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 111 in Punta Cana
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#82 of 111 in Punta Cana
329 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
47.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Property: Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotelopia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing