We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NOT go back....EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
Ranked #76 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at 11am on the 24th of June. Check in was at 3pm, or was supposed to be! We were waiting until 5PM for our room to be ready!! Then when we got to our room, it was old and smelled horrible. The thermostat said that it was 80DEGREES in the room. We had someone come to try and fix the AC but they said thats how it was. We slept the 1st night sweating our butts off!! We demanded a new room the 2nd day, and thankfully the AC was better, but the room was just as gross!!!

The food was absolutely HORRENDOUS!!! we didn't eat breakfast or lunch (except for some french fries by the pool) and waited to eat dinner in the A la Carte. Positive note....The Italian a la carte was DELICIOUS!! But with saying that, we ate there EVERY night.....so it got old after a while!!

The pool was great. Very clean and well maintained!! Just make sure to wear water shoes or socks in the pool as the bottom was very rough and cut up all of our feet!!

The beach was beautiful! White sand and clear ocean!! Very nice....and they have LOTS of cabanas on the beach so there is always somewhere to sit!!

OK.....So the WORST thing that will make us NEVER go back was the SELF SERVICE EVERYTHING!! I was absolutely SHOCKED when we were there that you have to get everything you want yourself. I don't know, but when i go to an all inclusive resort, i want to sit down at dinner and be offered a drink, or have a napkin brought to me!?!?!? We were in the Lobby, by the bar, and this lady came around with a tray COLLECTING cups and garbage. We asked her if we could please get 2 cappuccinos, and she said "no, we aren't allowed to serve anybody in the resort" ?!?!? I am still completely puzzled by this?? How can you call yourselves a resort, and not do any of this?

NO wifi, unless you pay $3/hr, and it NEVER lasted an hour!!!!

Needless to say we will NEVER be returning to the VIK ARENA BLANCA "resort" in DR. It was such a disappointment!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

As a service oriented company, we highly appreciate our guests’ opinion and therefore we recognize the value of taking your time to let us know about your experience. Our commitment is to achieve our guests’ total satisfaction, therefore we feel very regretful that some of our services did not meet your expectations. We continuously work for improving the quality of our services.
We are so sorry that our food did not meet your expectations and your comments will be taken into consideration.

Sincerely,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 3,374 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We went in April of 2013 and it was ungodly hot! The only reason we stayed here was because it was an "Apple Square Deal". The food was OK I guess. The bugs were terrible. The workers at this resort did not seen happy to work there. I'm not usually one to complain about things but this place was one of the worst resorts I've been to. I think there was maybe a handful of people that spoke English and you could barely understand them and vice versa. The best part of this place was their mojitos but they ran out of mint the second day we were there. The shower barely had water pressure. The bathroom in general was kind of gross. I don't think it was cleanes after the last guest that used the room. Also we were told to keep our valuables on us. That's just sad.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

We want to thank you for having chosen our Vik hotel Arena Blanca to spend your vacations and for sharing with us on this site your vacations experience in our resort.
In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guest’s opinion. Please accept our apologies for the experience during your visit and any inconveniences that this may have caused. Thank you so much for bringing these things to our attention so that we can improve our services.

Sincerely,

Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I read that they steal from the room.
In the room says they not accept no responsibility for things outside the safe.
The safe costs 2$ per night.
But the room next door we can open with our room key.
For instance 2104 opens also 2108. 2228 opens also 2226 room. And so on...

The trip to Santo Domingo is showed at 260$ but you can take it for 120$.
All the prices are fake and you cannot count for anything.

Internet only in the lobby although if you pay for it.
Avoid this one.

Room Tip: The view is only good to the central garden and that is noisy in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adela619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

We are grateful for your preference in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your holidays!
We appreciate for taking of your time to let us know about your experience in our hotel, we regret the impression you had from us. Thank you so much for bringing these comments to our attention so that we can improve our services to future guests.

Cordially,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My hubby and I travelled here in May for an 11 day stay.
The food was good, service was ok, and the resort was up to standards.
The a la carte's were ok. We did like the international, but the buffet was good every night.
The beach is beautiful, and the pool is decent.
There were salesmen by the buffet looking to get people to go look at the time shares next door, but if you were polite and told them no, they left you alone. The lobby is pretty small and it seems to be where everyone shows up before dinner. They should extend it.
Overall, it is good value for dollar !!

Room Tip: We stayed in bldg 5, and had Oceanview. Very quiet and great view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bissonjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for your vacations, as well for letting us know about your recent visit.
Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion on this site and we hope see you soon in our Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

Sincerely,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed In room 3109 and I most definitely got bed bug bites while on our trip. We loved the hotel, the food, the people, and everything about the hotel except I am pretty bummed about the bed bug bites. What do we do now? First day back and we washed everything in hot water and are leaving our suitcases outside. Did they come back we use? We just don't know yet.
The beach and hotel are fantastic. I would recommend the hotel but maybe don't stay in or around room 3109 or any other rooms reporting bed bugs. They are definitely there. Good luck. Enjoy the uncrowded pool and pristine beach.

Room Tip: Not 3109. Bed bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duke33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear client,

We really appreciate for selecting our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for the enjoyment of your holidays!
We are always happy to know all our guest’s opinions regarding our services, because by this way we can improve our services quality and grow, as a company committed to get the total satisfaction of our guests.
We are very regretful for the inconveniences you mentioned happened during your stay with us, your comments will be taken into consideration. Thank you so much for bringing these comments to our attention so we can continuously improve our services.
We are glad this did not prevented you of enjoy your vacations.

Cordially,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved staying at the VIK. Our room was great, the resort was beautiful, food was good, staff was nice. We took out 7 year olds and they loved all the night time entertainment.
Thank you for the wonderful stay and memories. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolNBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHAB, Director de Relaciones Públicas at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference in having chosen our Vik hotel Arena Blanca for your vacations, as well for letting us know about your recent visit.
Thank you very much for writing your kind opinion on this site and we hope see you soon in Vik hotel Arena Blanca!

Sincerely,
Francisco Amancio E.
Guest service Manager
VIK hotel Arena Blanca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were not booked at this hotel but were sent here for one night as our hotel overbooked on our arrival date (more on that in review of Ocean Blue and Sand). We arrived at the hotel around 5 pm and the front desk had our information already filled out and completed. Our room was not ready and we were told to relax and have a drink and wait 20 minutes. So we did. After waiting over 45 minutes I returned to the front desk and the gentleman said our room was ready but he couldn't find us. (He didn't look because we were in the lobby- the first of the terrible service to ensue)

We were taken to our room which was quite warm. It was over 80F in the room. I turned on the A/C (it was on heat?) and hoped it would cool down. When our bags arrived, we pointed out to the bellboy that the pull out couch had no sheets or pillows, not enough towels and no wash cloths and he was happy to inform me that the housekeeping staff would be by anytime. After an hour we went to eat because the housekeeping staff had not shown up. The food was actually okay for buffet style.

After eating we returned to our room and still had no visit from the housekeeper. The room was as hot as it was when we left to eat. I went to the front desk and complained about all our issues and was told that it would be taken care of promptly. 4 hours later I returned to the front desk and asked for a manager. Conveniently at this point, no one seemed to be able to speak English. One European who worked there told me that "you are in the Dominica and the people are LAZY, what do you expect". I called a manager at the hotel we were supposed to be staying in and he said he would make a call.

After a 18 hour day of travel and dealing with this crap, we tried to go to sleep in our hot room. At 11 pm housekeeping and maintenance finally showed up and woke us up. We got sheets and towels but still no wash clothes and they could not repair the A/C. It was a miserable night.

We got up, ate a quick breakfast and headed to our booked hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms would be at other hotels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
Vista Sol Punta Cana
Vista Sol Punta Cana
#20 of 27 in Bavaro
3,846 reviews
6.4 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
whala!bavaro
whala!bavaro
#84 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,000 reviews
2.6 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,344 reviews
3.6 mi away
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Address: White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#70 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £94 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing