We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Palace July 20 - July 26, 2014. We checked in at the front desk with Luz. While Luz was very pleasant, she appeared to be distracting us. Her directions of the check-in process were very confusing and the directions she gave to navigate us to our room were just as confusing. Luz was incredibly slow and appeared to be inefficient in checking us in.

DINING - RATING ZERO

Once we found our room which was conveniently located to the pool and lobby area, after a long flight from the United States we decided to eat dinner at the Steakhouse. We were told by Luz to arrive at all restaurants no later than 6pm to be placed on the list to be seated and no reservations were needed. We arrived at 6pm on the dot and placed our names on the list. By 8:30 pm we had not been seated. When we questioned the attendant at the restaurant we were told that she had not called any names from the list and could not give us an estimate as to when she would do this. By 9pm we opted to simply leave and eat at the buffet after being told by restaurant management that only individuals with reservations would be seated immediately and there was still no estimated time for when we would be seated.

Upon arriving at the buffet the selections were HORRIBLE. American fare was FEW AND FAR to come by. I finally settled for French Fries and pizza which I decided not to eat after I saw one of the chefs drop several fries on the dirty counter and then place them in the bin to be eaten by the next person in line. When I told the chef that wasn't very sanitary, he proceeded to tell me that it was clean and I would be fine. That was hard to believe as there were TONS of children putting there hands in and out of the food bins at many of the buffet stations. The first night at the resort, I went to bed hungry as I refused to eat at the buffet. Immediately the next morning I went to complain at the front desk.

The "Public Relations" attendant explained that the only guests who were permitted to make reservations were those who belonged to the "Palladium Club" and without a reservation it was most likely that a guest would not be seated. I advised that as it was only the 2nd day of my vacation, I would be more than happy to contact my travel agent and advise that I would switch my resort IMMEDIATELY if I was not afforded the opportunity to fairly fine at the restaurants that were so eloquently advertised when I purchased the almost $2,000 package to stay at the Palladium Palace. It was only at that time were reservations made for the duration of my stay. One should not have to threaten to leave to be afforded the opportunity to fairly enjoy EVERY amenity that was advertised upon purchase.

NOT ALL INCLUSIVE - RATING 1

In addition, this is NOT an all inclusive resort. Should you desire to enjoy lobster or certain wines at the restaurants, you are told that you must pay an additional cost of $35 for lobster and anywhere from $17 and up for assorted wines. Also, in 6 days I spent approximately $75 on tips alone. This is not traditional for all inclusive resorts. You have to tip everyone at the resort from the bellman, to the wait staff in the buffets. The all inclusiveness of this resort is NON-EXISTENT.

LANGUAGE BARRIER - RATING 0

Thankfully, I have the ability to communicate in some level of Spanish. If you do not have the ability to speak Spanish, you will struggle to get ANY assistance during the entire duration of your trip. There may be a total of 5 people in the entire resort staff who can communicate in English.

HOSPITALITY - RATING 3

BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS!! Getting fresh towels are VERY hard to come by at this resort. For at least 2 days we were unable to get fresh face towels and when we did, we may have only received one. We called several times and even notified our housekeeping person Francesca but that never helped. The last night we showered with hand towels.

AIR CONDITIONING - RATING 2

The Dominican Republic has very warm tropical weather. This includes intense humidity and heat however, no matter how low we placed the air Conditioning, the room NEVER cooled. We placed the air Conditioning on 19 degrees Celsius and ran the ceiling fan and would still wake up in the morning drenched in sweat. The electricity in this resort is also quite faulty and on two occasions the television just shut off and for over an hour.

OVERALL - RATING 3

The overall experience of this resort is a 3 star experience. I only give this resort 3 stars because eventually you have to make the best of just being on vacation. I would suggest booking at a COMPLETELY different resort as staying at the Grand Palladium has made me want to never return to the Dominican Republic. There are much better destinations to visit which have the hospitality and tourism experience to create a vacation that makes you not want to go home (I.E. Ocho Rios, Jamaica). I am a firm believer in trip advisor and I cannot tell you how much you should listen to every negative review of this resort. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PLACE! READ THE REVIEWS OF THE BAVARO and PUNTA CANA for additional reviews! The properties are all connected on the same location!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dillardkim2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino.
We regret that we did not performing as our usual level of standard of services during you stay. Our objective is not only to fulfill, but also surpass our guests’ expectations; therefore we put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guests’ experiences play the key role in this continuous process, which leads us to achieve service excellence. Rest assured that your remarks will be addressed to the corresponding, therefore action plans will be placed in motion aiming to improve our overall services.

We hope to have the opportunity to hosting you again in the future and thus be able to offer a pleasant and uneventful stay.

Sincerely,

L. Takes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 6,875 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The stay at the Grand Palladium was very classy! Very nice and clean! The costumer service was very nice! Talk to Roberto for a great stay and great services! The beach at the Grand Palladium was very nice and clean! I would prefer this hotel to any family, no matter what age. There is activities for everyone! I had a great time here at the Grand Palladium and I hope you do too!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gage1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Our family is honored in receiving your comments.

We are very proud to read about your satisfaction on this trip and would like to thank you for having distinguished the attentiveness demonstrated by one of our associates during your stay.

Hope to be your home in Punta Cana for a next trip.

Best regards,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family of 5 (my husband, myself, and three little ones under 10) had a wonderful time. Our check in was smooth, got a room immediately and they took up our luggage right away, no waiting at all. Food was excellent, the kids loved the buffet! Crepes and omelette stations were very good. We also tried the Japanese and Spanish a la cartes and those were really good. The beach was absolutely beautiful and we had a room in Villa 82 that faced the beach which was perfect. We stayed in a loft suite which suited our needs. The kids slept up top, and it was warmer there, but not uncomfortable. The TVs were old and reception poor, but we didn't go on vacation to watch TV. Wifi only in lobby, but we didn't mind, we enjoyed being "disconnected". It did seem true that it was better if you spoke Spanish, but it is a Spanish speaking country so that shouldn't be a surprise.

Overall we enjoyed our time. Beach and pools were great. Bar service was excellent and they served the drinks well. The buffets could have used more waiters, however.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms in villas 82, 81, 91, and 92, have excellent ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank arsnd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive our gratefulness for such valuable feedback. The opinion of our customers is of the greatest assistance to us. I also want to thank you for taking some of your precious time to write a review aiming to share your impressions on this trip with millions of travelers worldwide.

We are delighted to hear that your expectations were met with our overall services, at Grand Palladium we managed to create memorable experiences. On the other hand, your remarks on improvement areas will part of our daily work.

We look forward to have you back for many years. Please let us know about your future booking, we will be more than pleased to assist you.

Our very best regards,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Grand Palladium Hotels and Resorts, Royal Suites Turquesa and Palace Resort Spa & Casino, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, from check-in to check-out incredible perfection! The location was tranquil, a hypnotic oasis of tropical magnificence. Hospitality was flawless. La Caterdral, El Bohio, Mare Nostrum, El Rodizio and Tapeo, just a few of the restaurants and buffets, dining was exquisite, unique and delicious. The "People of Palladium" (P.O.P.) kept the resort pulsing with energy! Hosting sports and entertainment programs on the beach, to creating entertainment for the evening shows at the 'Amphiteatre Sunset', all the way to the nightclub scene at the 'Discotheque Sunset Boulevard', absolutamente electrizante!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino as your vacation destination, as well as by letting us know about your recent experience.

We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their endeavor and dedication we can accomplish our goal, which is the total satisfaction of our guests.

We also would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future to offer you another memorable stay.

Warm Regards,

L Takes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I chose the Grand Palladium Palace Resort for our honeymoon destination after reading so many wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor. However, our stay here had us wishing we went elsewhere. We got zero honeymoon perks - just "Oh honeymooners. Congratulations!" No upgrade, no perks, nothing! On our second day we came back to our room and had a note asking us to come to the reception for our welcome gift. We went to the desk and were told that we were getting a free lunch in the VIP section and a tour of their new gorgeous rooms, which we were lead to believe was because we were on our honeymoon. Wrong. Not only did we NOT get this "VIP lunch" we were promised, but we were thrown into a sales presentation for their time shares - which are $70 grand, but you can just pay us $26 grand today and then $1750 each month until it's paid off. When we told them we weren't interested, the lady kept trying to throw more stuff in and cut the price down. When we said no again we were asked quite rudely - "Why? Don't you see the savings here??". Then another man came over and continued to try to sell us on this some more - "Give me a price that you can afford. We will work with it." ZERO!!!! WE ARE NOT INTERESTED!!

The service in the buffet was usually awful - with the exception of some waiters/waitresses who were fantastic, but far and few between. A lot of the time we would be in there for 30-45 mins and no one would come ask us about a drink. Several times we could not find anywhere to sit because tables were not cleaned off.

There are some positives to this resort however. There are a variety of a la carte restaurants to go to. The steakhouse was amazing! But you have to get there early (as in before it even opens and wait in line) to get a table - worth the wait though in my opinion. The beach and grounds were beautiful - well maintained and always clean. Staff at the beach bar were great. After a few trips to the bar they always remembered our drinks orders and were very friendly.

Overall, not a horrible resort, but we definitely could have gone better for the same price so will not be returning. Very disappointed considering it was our honeymoon.

Stayed July 15-22, 2014

Room Tip: We stayed in 94 building. Close to the beach and buffets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Palace as well as for the time you took to post your review after having stayed with us.

We are most concerned for the fact that your stay was not up what you expected. The comments of our guests are of the utmost assistance for us since it enable us to detect rooms for improvements and can therefore take instant actions. Be assured that we will never cease in our effort to improve the level of our services and facilities.

Receive our sincerest apology and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. We will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and enjoyable stay as possible.

Sincerely yours,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wonderful. Food was excellent, different menus every night in the buffets. Speciality restaurants excellent, no queues. Staff friendly and helpful. Pool area clean and bar service good. Entertainment in the afternoons very enjoyable. Special dinner down by the sea wow! Best holiday I ever had.

Room Tip: Block 64 quiet near pool and bar and lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014
Google Translation

Estimado/a Huésped,

Nos alegra bastante saber que usted ha tenido unas excelentes vacaciones familiares estando con nosotros y aprovecho la oportunidad para agradecerle por haber preferido nuestro Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, así como por haber publicado sus comentarios en Tripadvisor.

La satisfacción de nuestros huéspedes es de suma importancia para nosotros. El saber que cumplimos con nuestro objetivo nos impulsa cada día a dar el mejor servicio.

Esperamos tenerles de vuelta en un futuro cercano.

Atentamente,

L Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

There was nothing "Grand" about the grand palladium! There were 14 in my group and we were treated horrible, starting from their airport to the hotel! My room wasn't ready till 4 instead of 3. The a/c in my room and niece's didn't work, we were moved the next day. The a/c in my new room didn't work again and the fridge didn't work. When I called to complain the manager never came out to talk to us. Items were stolen from our rooms and still waiting for an answer from the "lock interrogation"! The entire staff were very rude, not sure if it was because if the heat! The staff in the restaurant: Santo, Israel, Carolina and not sure of the name other waitress were remarkable!! They're the ones that made our stay enjoyable. Bottom line I would not recommend this place and take at least 3 stars away from them!

Room Tip: Need wifi in all the areas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank mimi0622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ltajes, Resident Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for selecting Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino as well as for the time you took to post your review after having stayed with us. We are very concerned for the fact that your stay was not up what you expected. The comments of our guests are of the utmost assistance for us since it enable us to detect rooms for improvements and can therefore take instant actions.

We do believe that all our guests ought to be treated equally and receive a quality service. Therefore, we are concerned with the perception you received from certain employees; that is definitely not the image we would like to project. Be assured that we will never cease in our effort to improve the level of our services and facilities.

Receive our sincerest apology and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. We will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and enjoyable stay as possible.

Sincerely,

L. Tajes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
1.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,104 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £169 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing