We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 January 2009

This was one of the best holidays i have been on. The hotel was good, and the rooms were excellent. The weather was really good, although it did rain heavily for 5-10 minutes, then stops for the day. It dries up very quickly, so would advise to take a umbrella with you to avoid dissapointments. The food was nice, although i am a vegitarian, so lack of vegetarian dishes were available, but did make do with it as was there for a week.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hazel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 6,921 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2009

We have just returned from spending two weeks over Christmas and New Year at the Grand Palladium Palace and it was amazing. We upgraded our room before we went and discovered upon checking in we were staying in the Royal Suites. We had a specific pool where no kids were allowed and we able to use the Royal Gourmet restaurant, which was gorgeous.

The whole holiday was great, we ate at all the a la carte restaurants: Mexican, Spanish, Italian, Dominican and Japanese and they were all lovely.

All 3 hotels, Palace, Bavaro and Punta Cana are all on the same resort and offer more bars and restaurants than you need, they even offer a train to take you around the resort! The grounds were stunning and amazingly cared for.

The people were amazing, from the barman to the waiters they were all friendly and helpful. One exceptionally helpful person was Cely one of the Butlers in the Royal Suites, who couldn’t do more for you. Cely wasn’t our allocated butler, however she was so helpful and friendly and always willing to help with everything you needed.

Only one thing we wouldn’t recommend would be the snorkelling, we got a speedboat from the beach and drove out about 15mins to the reef, however, there wasn’t too much to see, not particularly colourful. This was the only disappointing thing we found on the trip.

Overall a totally amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hariboandbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband and I have been to this hotel two years ago, and we both thought it was wonderful. Our room had a jacuzi, and a very nice balcony, overlooking the swiming pool and a very nice garden. Gardens are just amazing, very well kept, with abundance of coconut palm trees, you can even get a real coconut cut up, and enjoy coconut milk by the pool for free!
The beach was lovely, although, beware that the sea is not too calm, and waves are prety strong-not suited for bad swimmers or kids, by my judgment. The beach is miles long, and you can enjoy long walkes on white soft sand, it is very safe, we did not feel threatened there.
Hotel itself is a huge complex, and you can use the facilities of all the parts, but if you are not overly active, it is not necessary.
The food was just amazing. They have a buffet for all the meals, and if you go all inclusive, there are snacks throughout all day. Drinks are also abundant, with many coctels to choose from.

My only bad experience was with a maid, who did a wonderful job so we left her a tip every day. However, one day I left 50$ in my bag, in a purse which was put in closet (away from her sight, or where she had to clean), and when I returned the money was missing. It was my own fault that I did not use safe, but, my advice-put anything of value in the safe, or cary it with you, or you will loose it. It made me uncomfortable knowing that someone was searching through my things.
All in all, it was a very relaxing holiday, in beautiful suroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KrisCroatia_Zagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

Spent 2 wonderful weeks at the end of October in the sun and ocean at the Grand Palladium Palace. We went down with another couple and none of us have any complaints. The hotel was great. We were in awe when we got there. We had Jr lofts and they were spacious and clean. As far as the food goes, well we never made it to an a-la-carte restaurant because we were impressed with the food at the buffets. There is something for everyone. The pool area and grounds were always kept clean and the flowers and palm trees are beautiful to look at. One thing we all agreed upon was how nice and friendly the staff was. We met some great people and had a blast. This was an excellent vacation and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cdn-sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

We stayed at the Royal suites section of the grand palladium palace for 4 nights, and found it very nice and quiet. We had a great room on the 3rd floor of the 5100 building, which is over the lobby, and with a direct view of the pool and ocean. The pool and beach section of this area was very nice...quiet and the chairs were much nicer than the other pools. We never had a problem getting a chair, although we did go in the morning and put our towels on some chairs, so we could get under the shade if we wanted to. It was very nice to have the mini fridge stocked each day with sodas, water and beer, and we got a very nice fruit basket with a bottle of rum one evening . The complex was big, but we found walking not bad at all, the maps are all along the walkways to help you find where you want to go. The train runs about every 10-15 mins with about 13 stops throughout the 4 resorts. The casino wasnt much, but we had fun in it . maybe about 20-25 nickel slots, which do take american money, then they give you tokens which you can exchange for american bills. The buffets were good, especially the one at the bavarro resort. Dominican night was fantastic, dont miss it. You get a shot of the famous Mamajuana when you go in !! Only ala carte restuarants we used were the gourmet in the royal suites area ( which we were no thrilled with ) and the arricefe in the bavarro section near the beach , which was very nice and beautiful. We didnt do any of the excursions, just relaxed by the beach and pool and had a blast . We will probably go back , and would recommend this place to others. The staff was very nice and everyone understood a little english, some more than others, but we had no problems with that.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank pbinn310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We went as a party of 10 ranging in ages from 12 - 71 to celebrate my parents golden wedding anniversary. Everything went well from check-in to departing. We had 5 rooms in block 82 with sea views, perfect. We loved the look of the whirlpool baths in the rooms on the website, but tried it once and didn't fill it up enough and sprayed the room with water, be careful. I think most people would only use the bath once. One of the queries we had which I couldn't find an answer to on any website was how the toilets were situated and if you had another shower other than the one over the bath. There is a sliding door off of the bedroom which houses the toilet and a separate shower. The rooms were clean and spacious and the mini-bar refilled every day of coke, fanta and beer with plenty of water. We found the food to be good, we are also foodies and if we were expecting fine dining we would have chosen our hotel accordingly. It was as expected with plenty of choice for most tastes. The only problem we found was the breakfast in La Torres buffet was cold, we remedied this by having fresh eggs and toast or else putting things through the toaster. Service very friendly and helpful, it helps if you tip for attentive service in restaurants, bars and rooms, take plenty of single dollar bills. Pool clean and plenty of room and beds although we only used the pool in the palace. The beach restaurant was closed due to it being low season, this we found annoying as we had paid extra due to it being half-term in england. It did open for our last couple of days and felt we didnt miss out much by going to La Uva for snacks and lunch, in fact is was much nicer having lunch there. The beach was absolutely beautiful, great for swimming and walking. Plenty of beds, although my brother in law is an early riser and managed to get our beds in the same place every day so maybe it wouldn't have been so easy if he wasnt with us. People do save beds even though the hotel asks you not to. We started off using the train to get around as we thought the resort was much bigger than it actually is, in fact once we got our bearings the walk to the furthest point of the hotel away from us could only be 10 mins max. Do try all the restaurants and bars as they all vary slightly. At Hemmingways for example you could get a glass of Cava which you couldn't anywhere else. The spa was very nice and our 2 teenage girls loved the peace there, although for the last couple of days they couldn't get in as they had changed the policy to reservation only, if you do go enjoy the peace and the nicely padded beds. It did need more for teenagers in the evenings, the disco was mainly older people and the club only went up to age 12, our children were fine with us but I can imagine it would be a problem for some.
All in all we had a great time and I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing beach holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed in the Royal Junior suites section of the resort. The rooms were nice and roomy, however, not as pretty as the pictures. For example, there were thin cracks in the wall in the bathroom and the room overall was basically average. The good news is that the service was excellent. All employees were friendly and the reception staff was very helpful. We also really enjoyed the private beach area of the resort. It was very nice and we especially enjoyed the variety of chairs, the "beach beds", and the views of the ocean. Overall, the grounds of the resort were very nice.

The downside of the trip for us was the food. We are foodies and I would say are picky eaters. We favor a vegetarian and low fat diet, and finding food that we liked was sparse. Starting with the breakfast, the milk was whole fat and warm. The cereal was tasteless and mushy. Therefore, we basically ate eggs, pancakes, waffles and yogurt every day. Since we normally have a light breakfast consisting of low fat cereal, this type of food was too heavy. The only fruit we enjoyed was the pineapple. We did not like the cantelope and the watermelon was tasteless. Also, the juices mostly tasted like sugar water. The upside of the breakfast was the coffee, however, do not look for skim milk. Moving on to lunch. The variety was plentifull, however, in preferring a vegetarian diet, the only food we ate was salad (iceberg lettuce, cucumbers and black/green olives), cheese pizza which was very good, pasta, french fries, and chips and cheese, The highlight of the food was the desserts, they were very good. However, we typically eat a low fat diet, so as you can see, there was very little low fat eating on this trip. In regards to dinner, we went to 2 ala carte restaurants. The first nite we went to the seafood restaurant, and everything was very salty and was average. We also went to the Spanish restaurant, and it was again barely average. In general the seafood at the restaurants was not good. I expected more. The other nites we dined at the buffet, and more of the same food we had at lunch. For us, food was a necessity and we filled our stomach's, however, it was not enjoyable. I wish I could be more optimistic, but for us, we will not stay at this resort again due to the food. I will say that a few of the guests we spoke to said they liked it, however, they are meat eaters and may not be as picky. In closing, we found the Dominican Republic beaches beautiful, the service very good, however, the food was too big of an issue for us, therefore, we are going to stick to vacationing at the Bahama's or Mexico where the food is of higher quality. Good luck!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Enfjleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
TRS Turquesa Hotel
TRS Turquesa Hotel
#47 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,683 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £176 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing