We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon - Fantastic Hotel -”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon - Fantastic Hotel -”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We stayed in the Royal Suites section from 4 June to 18 June. Our stay was fantastic. We had booked and paid for the upgraded section to stay in the Royal Suites. On arrival we were again upgraded to the newer part of the complex. The rooms here were top class 5*. However, we were a bit further from the sea than what we had wanted and the reception staff were more than happy to move us to another room. The view from this room was great. It looked right onto the pool and the sea. We had a jacuzzi in our balcony - out of this world!! With staying in the Royal Suites, you were provided with slippers, dressing gowns and unlimited top up of the mini bar! You could even put in a request for what drink you preferred. The restaurants were limitless - the private Royal Suites Restaurant was lovely and was a pleasure to eat in. The other restaurants were really good as well and the choice (for me who is a picky eater) was great. We tried all of the restaurants while we were there and would recommend the Italian and the Mexican. We also went to the theatre and this good entertainment when on holiday. The weather was also great when we were there - it did rain everyday while we were there but this was around 6pm at night and it only rained for a short bit. It was quite nice as it brought a breeze!! The pools were fantastic and just great to relax in. Claire our Thomas Cook rep was great and helped us book the right trips (coral reef snorkelling would recommend).

Overall we had a great romantic honeymoon and would be back in a flash!! Would recommend you upgrade to the Royal Suites as there is a huge difference!!!

P.S. Casino was good night out for a bit of fun!!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,471
    1,190
    477
    261
    172
See reviews for
1,738
2,620
67
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I went from June 20-27th. And I can not rave enough about this hotel. From the time we stepped off of the bus and went to the front desk we experienced nothing but friendly service. The only complaint we did have is that we were not shown how to get to our room and it was dark and quite confusing. We had to ask a couple of people were our building was.
The rooms were cleaned every day and mini bars were stocked daily. The food at the buffets are excellent. They have a wide variety of food every day. Not once did we not have an abundance of different things to choose from. Any of the meat we tried was good and all of the fruit and veggies were awesome.
We also like that we didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a lounger at the pool. As a matter of fact there were still loungers empty at 9 am which in my hotel experience is rare. Getting one on the beach is another story. You have to be down there by 6-6:30 or you will only find one at the back which is close to the road. The beach is truly a dream. The Ocean is very clean. Nothing in between your toes.
All of the people working at this resort were very friendly. We had absolutey no problem with any of the staff there. They are the friendliest people. We just loved them. They couldn't have made us feel more at home.
We plan on returning on our next trip.
Burlington Ontario

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

On arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded to the Royal Suites - check in was very easy & the staff were very freindly & couldn't have been more helpful. The bellboy took our cases over to our room & explained about the free daily top up service of the fridge - beer, coke, fanta etc all free of charge. The food from the buffet restuarant & most of the a la carte resturants was of supurb quality & there was certainly plenty of choice it catered for everybody tastes. The drinks were excellent, I think we went through the whole cocktail list during our 2 week stay - but beware of the 'mamawana' local drink it sure is lethal stuff. We met up with friends from Canada & between us went on 4 excursions - Deep Sea Fishing, where my husband caught a tuna, Boogie Buggies - the boys got exceptionally dirty as they drove through the biggest & muddiest puddles they coud find, Saona Island - fantastic exprience especially standing on a sandbank in the middle of the ocean where the water only came up to your knees & lastly Bavaro Runners Safari - this gave us a good insight to the Dominican way of life & was an excellent day out. I have to say we had a really wonderful time here & would definately return again - it was simple paradise. The weather was good only experienced rain in the evening, crystal clear water, white sandy beaches who could ask for more.

Julie & Ian Ward - United Kingdom June 11th 2009

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womble2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My family and I just returned from a 7 night stay at the Grand Palladium Palace and I would never return to this resort, ever. In my 35 years of traveling to the Caribbean islands, I have never experienced such rude hotel personnel across the board as I did during my stay. Everyone from the front desk lobby personnel to the bartenders to the bell boys were absolutely rude and arrogant. When you asked someone a question, they did not want to provide any information. When we arrived, we went to the Renova Spa so my wife and I could review their services. We were greeted by a nasty woman at the front desk who did not even acknowledge our presence. My wife made a manicure appointment and the woman yelled, Go wait over there and that will be 50 US dollars. Every hotel person we interacted with over the 7 days acted exactly the same wasy. The air conditioning never worked in our rooms and the restaurants were extremely warm when dining. Everyone in my party of 4 returned home ill. When we asked the lobby manager to relocate us due to the air conditioning being broken in both of our rooms, they did not accomodate us since they said the hotel was booked solid. That was a lie as we were able to move for one night until they fixed the air conditioning. The restaurant that was supposed to bridge the meal gap between breakfast and dinner was never open. When I asked the manager why it was not open, he replied, due to the rain. I did not understand this response as it did not rain at all.The bedding was like sleeping on cinder blocks. The physical fitness equipment treadmills and ellipticals in the so-called spa were broken and the air conditioning never worked there too. We were constantly harassed 24/7 by the tour guides at the pool area and on the beach. The quality of alcoholic beverages were "bottom-shelf" no name brands and were awful. We were told by our Apple Vacations Rep. that no reservations were required to dine. When we arrived at all of the restaurants during our stay, they were half full and the hostess said there were 2 hour waits. No one was waiting and they would not allow us in any of the restaurants. Absolutely the worst dining facilities I have ever encountered. Breakfast concluded at 10 AM in the morning and dinner started at 7 PM. Lunch was served 1-3 PM. If you wanted to eat something small after 10 AM, you had to take a 20 minute train ride to a hole in the wall that served fried chicken fingers and mozarella sticks. All of the U.S. families I talked to over the course of the week agreed that they would never go back to the Grand Palladium Palace Resort ever again. We all agreed that Mexico, Jamaica, Aruba, and the Bahamas are all much better islands to visit. Trust me, this is not a 4 or 5 star resort at all. This is a 1 star hotel with no service, poor dining and quality of food, poor fitness center a spa.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coach3415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Vacationed here June 20-27 with teen daughters.
Beach: Fantastic! Soft white sand, clear warm turquoise water. Active but not overly crowded. You can walk for miles. Chairs were plentiful, but you have to get up early in the morning (6:30-7:30ish) if you want to get some in shade.
Rooms: Spacious, clean and comfortable. Not luxurious, but absolutely fine for this price range. The maids decorate with fresh flowers daily. We had some maintenance issues, but they were resolved to our satisfaction. The resort should probably abandon that silly card slot thing, everyone seems to find a way around it. The Palace grounds are quite pretty and seemed to be better maintained than the Punta Cana and Bavaro sections.
Food: No limit on the ala carte restaurants and reservations were not needed (dress code for men) The buffets offer a wide array and they try to appeal to an international clientele. Take your time and look around, you'll find food to please you even if you are not an adventurous eater. You can actually follow a healthful diet here (but don't, it's vacation!), as there is lots of fresh fruit, salad, yogurt, even a fresh juice bar at breakfast.
Be aware that most of the wait staff have only limited English skills.
Bars: Lots of 'em, easily accessible. Coco Loco! An atmosphere of relaxation, enjoyment and fun, but fortunately not Spring Break type drunkeness.
Entertainment: Live music in the lobbies at night, where many guests relax with drinks. "Theater" productions were really lame, don't bother.
Animation staff: Friendly, funny, they'll try to get you to participate in activities but they won't harrass you.
Apple vacation rep: Miguel is very helpful with information, translation, etc.
Excursions: would recommend Marinarium.
Caveats: (Mostly aimed at Americanos) Yes, many topless women on the beach, so don't go if that will bother you. Don't expect everybody to speak English - the reception staff does, the Apple rep does, but you'll need to make some effort to communicate with waiters, maids, etc. This might be an issue if you were expecting to send your young children off to the kids' club. A lot more smokers than at home. The resort is quite large, so build in time to wait for the train if going to other sections - active adults can walk it, but it would be tough for senior citizens or small children.
You'll hate to drag yourself away from the beach when it's time to go home!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavertPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Grand Palladium Palace June 13th-June 20th 2009

First off Great job to Dawn’s Vacations/Apple Vacations, things could not have gone any smoother. We are a family of 4 traveling with 2 teens, boy 13 and girl 16.

Arrival/Room
USA300 Flight left BWI early and landed early; we were easily escorted to an Apple Vacations bus which took us to our hotel, a few stops on the way, but not that long. Check-in was a breeze; I had e-mailed my room request giving 3 buildings and got my first pick. We were in Villa 91 of the Palace Section room 9114 a loft suite. I believe this was a Honeymoon suite because the furniture in the room was white. It was a perfect room with a wonderful view of the ocean and located very close to the pool and lunch buffet. We got there around 12:30 the room was not ready yet but were told to check back at 2:00, they gave us our towel cards, the kids put on their bathing suits we headed to the pool bar and started our vacation. At 2:00 as promised room was ready and luggage was delivered. Room was a little hot on the first day, but cooled down by evening, we were lucky our room did not require a key to remain in the slot for the a/c to stay on as I heard some rooms did.

Apple
Apple rep on site Miguel Estrada gave us a run down on the resort and answered any and all questions we had. He was there everyday to set up excursions ask questions or help with anything. Always very friendly and helpful.

Food
We thought the food was great, every morning we ate at the Buffet next to the Italian restaurant right across from the Palace lobby; if you get up early they have coffee and pastries available in the Palace lobby till 7 before the buffet opens. Food was great any thing and everything you can think of omelet stations, all kinds of food plus, espressos and cappuccinos’. 2 of the mornings they even had Champagne and OJ for Mimosas set up as you walked in.

Restaurants- We went to the Japanese twice, the first time we did not sit at the Hibachi table, but set in the restaurant and ordered off the menu. It was very good. We went back again this time making a reservation for the Hibachi table when they opened at 6:30 and that was so much fun and very very good. They put on a good show.

Italian-make sure to go hungry, the food was wonderful, they have your order 2 entrees as ½ orders, plus and anti-pasta bar and bread, very very good. We did have quite a wait for this one, but it was worth it.

Brazilian-another one to come hungry for. Meat meat and more meat, everything was very good, a vegetarians nightmare lol.

Seafood/Steak- 3 of us got the t bone(done perfect) and 1 the shrimp everything was fabulous.

Mexican-wow another one to come very hungry for, the appetizers are big enough to be an entrée, (try the chicken fajitas) the food was fantastic, no room for anyone even the kids to order dessert.

We did a buffet one night and found it to be wonderful as well, many many choices and that night they were carving a roasted pig that was out of this world good.

Pool/Beach
What can you say they were perfect; the swim up bar at the pool was always so much fun, a great place to meet people, and the beach was so clean and pretty. We never had a problem finding shade on the beach or by the pool, plenty of chairs. My 13 year old did get quite an eyeful everyday with the topless women, mainly on the beach area, but after the 1st or 2nd day the shock wore off.

Animation Team
These guys and girls are so much fun we got involved in so many fun activities with them, beach volley, aerobics, water polo, dancing, water bottle bowling, beer chugging and other crazy games. They were such a great group of people and made sure you were having a great time.

Excursion
We didn’t really want to leave the resort because we were having so much fun, but we (my husband) did plan a trip to Don Lucas Cigar factory, they come and get you for free, they have a small factory were they hand roll cigars and a shop where they sell cigars, liquor , jewelry t-shirts and other souvenirs.

Entertainment
My kids meet friends during the day and at night would meet up with them at the Black and White Club for teens, this was located over by the Sports Bar in the Bavaro section, it was a good place for them to hang if they didn’t want to go to the show. It had all kinds of gaming platforms, Xbox, Play Station, ping pong, fuzz ball. The kids said that the people that work there were very nice. And it was a great way to meet others kids

All in all we all agreed that this was probably our best vacation ever!
We all had so much fun and made lots of new friends while we were there, which we hope to meet up with again. We can’t wait to book another wonderful vacation at the Grand Palladium.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rwethereyetMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My husband and 18 year old daughter, her friend and her parents spent a week at the Grand Palladium Palace June 12-19. We had changed our plans from Cancun because of the swine flu. It turned out to be a wonderful vacation.
We really have no complaints about our stay. The hotel was clean, we had no maintenace problems in our room and neither did our friends. Our room was cool, we got an extra card key at the desk with no problem and left it in the slot to keep the electricity on. The room staff never took it. Our friends room did not cool as well as ours but they said it was ok. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed twice a day, although times varied, the first day the room was not cleaned until 5pm. There is a fridge that is stocked daily with water, pop and beer. We left a little note inside with 2 dollars saying mucho aqua and beer and they left us plenty! We also tipped the cleaning staff 5 dollars a day, the room was always cleaned well. The resort is large, so involves quite a bit of walking. There is a little train to get around but it fills up in the evenings.
The food at the buffet was plentiful and you could aways find something you liked. They made fresh omlettes for breakfast etc. Now remember this is not America and food type and preparation can be different. There are 4 or 5 resturants that you can make reservations for dinner. We tried the Japanese and the Brazilian both very good. We had no trouble making a reservation, you line up about 6.15 in front of the one you want and make a reservation for later that evening, usually withing 90 minutes of the time you are there. THERE IS A DRESS CODE FOR THE MEN IN THE RESTURANTS OTHER THAN THE BUFFET- LONG PANTS AND SHIRT COLLARS. You will not be allowed in without them.
Service is reasonable. Waiters are sometimes a little slow in bringing your beverages especially in the buffet. Pool side service is good.
Entertainment was fun show starts late at 10pm if you have an early dinner there is not much to do until the show starts except drink in the lobby or go to the casino and lose money! There are two different shows each night. Entertainment staff are great, lots of activities on the beach and by the pool to participate in and win prizes-tshirts, coffee, hats. There is aerobics and yoga daily if you are so inclined.
This is not a party resort. Mostly couples and families, didn't see too many young children or babies while we were there. My 18 year olds would have liked more of a party scene, there is a disco but it does not start until 11.30pm and we did not go.
The staff at the front desk, casino and bars mostly speak english, the waiters and room staff not so much.
The beach is amazing, beautiful soft white sand, clear tourquoise water. The pool is great, very clean. Plenty of chairs and shade huts at both places, go down early and lay out your towels to reserve yours, we went about 7-8am but then came back to the room and went back to bed, noone disturbed our stuff.
We went with apple vacations and arrainged our excursions with them but there are other on site reps to make reservations with.
Overall this was a great vacation and a wondreful place to stay. We would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
12.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
1.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.7 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino

Property: Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing