We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ruined Honeymoon”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've waited many months to write this review as I wanted to put this experience as far behind me as possible, talking or writing about it was just too frustrating. My husband and I stayed at the Grand Palladium for our Honeymoon. Not the Bavaro or the third tear hotel on this property, a The Grand Palladium.

We arrive:
They do not have our reservation which I confirmed days prior!
They cannot speak to our travel agent because their booking department is closed. We remain calm and after about two hours of unexplainable procrastination on their part they agree to give us a room for two days until the booking department opens on Monday.
The room they give us is absolutely horrendous. Mold. Old. Dirty. Outdated.
We complain but considering they don't even have our reservation nothing can be done.
Monday comes, they speak to the travel agent and we are now booked for the rest of the week. We spend hours in the lobby telling them that they must move our room as it is literally full of mold (I have pictures) and is simply too outdated, not our idea of a vacation at all. They show us another room. Exactly the same, minus the mold. After 3 hours on Monday of begging with the front desk people to help us (most spoke minimal English) we are finally directed to an office where we speak to a head manager fluent in English. At this point I am in tears as this is my honeymoon. The manager was very nice but basically said unless you are Weill to ay $30 extra per night we CANNOT upgrade your room. We are so upset at this point we agree. We are immediately put in a gorgeous newly revocation room. After all they caused us they could not have given us this upgrade? As we check out at a few later we see a sing on the desk regarding upgrade charges. Turns out it only costs $15 per night to upgrade to that room. (Again I have pics)

Horrible experience!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michali143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear michali143,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for having chosen Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as the place to spend such special occasion, your honeymoon; as well as for having taken some of your valuable time to post your opinion.

We are very concerned for the fact that your stay with us was not up what you expected; so we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest regret for the situations described.

We understand perfectly that, after a long trip, it is very important to enjoy your room immediately; and your room be as you have already reserved therefore we have addressed these inconveniences to the corresponding in order to fine-tune with the operation.

We hope you to understand that sometimes the demand for arrivals at the same time can cause the service is delayed.

Regarding the language barrier Please be assured that we have a great task ahead of us concerning the language education to our associates. As a matter of fact, we are providing intensive educational courses, including English classes, since we understand their importance in our continuous effort to improve the quality of customer.

We understand your point of view regarding some of our facilities however as a company oriented to the service we want to satisfy all of our guest’s desires but not always is possible cause there’s a hotel's policy to follow and this probably was one of the reason your requests was not fulfilled at all.

We hope to have the pleasure in hosting you again in the near future.

Our very best regards,

R. Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,344
    1,492
    764
    379
    262
See reviews for
2,060
2,768
64
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Grand Palladium is a huge resort with plenty to do, many places to eat and the staff are also friendly...The complaints that I have are 1) rooms need to updated [furniture is a bit worn, felt dingy and stuffy] 2) AC didn't work and 3) it takes sometime for staff to attend to complaints... Overall it was an OK experience.

If I ever plan to come back to DR, Grand Palladium Punta Cana would not be my first choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BROOKLYN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear JENNIFER J,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from you about us!

We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests’ satisfaction, thus your opinion is of the utmost importance to us.

We carefully reviewed all your observations and herewith we would like to express our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have had during your visit. This unfortunate occurrences with the AC are not norm here however it is possible any electronic device may fail.

We count on with a very efficient maintenance team to make any type of repair to this service. We truly once again take this chance to re-address our most sincere apology if your expectations with these particular services were not met at all. It is not in any way the image that we want to project over all of our facilities.

Even though I can assure you that we continuously work with our staff in order to improve the quality of our services.

If your vacation plans towards Punta Cana for a next visit, please let us know; we will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and uneventful stay.

Kindest Regards,

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

After only being here for 3 days we are over whelmed by the level of service and the beautiful hotel itself. The beaches are well maintained and clean at all times. Gorgeous blue sea! Definately will come again. Lorin from the reception staff was excellent and very helpful! POP entertainment at night was also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma792x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Emma792x,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their endeavor and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal, which is the total satisfaction of our guests.

We also would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future to offer you a memorable stay.

Sincere Regards,

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just got back from a 6 day stay at Grand palladium bavaro. Wow what a great hotel to enjoy the best that Punta Cana has to offer. The facilities are up to date, clean and well kept. No complaints and will visit again,bars every 100 feet definitely may have helped.thanks Roberto from customer services for the best atention, Book now!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triplec19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, Director General at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear triplec19,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience.

We put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinions. Focus our efforts and dedication to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to confirm that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have surpassed all your expectations.

We appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their endeavor and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal, which is the total satisfaction of our guests.

We also would like to have the opportunity to serve you in the future to offer you a memorable stay.

Sincere Regards,

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to go on this holiday for a relaxing/luxurious 2 weeks away and from day one we had nothing but problems.
We went to the 5 star Grand Palladium in Punta Cana. On arriving we were given our room. We got to our room and we had been given two beds instead of a kingsize. And their was no jacuzzi or whirlpool bath as stated in the description. Also when we walked through they were doing building work on the roof and bits of dirt and debris were falling onto our heads as we passed. The noise was absolutely awful. Ourselves and another couple who were being shown to their rooms looked at each other in total shock and disbelief.
So we went back to reception to find our representative. We told him about the beds and the bath and how they were doing building work and they didn't even know they were doing the roof. He said he could change our rooms but we didn't pay for a whirlpool bath and have the economy rooms. At this point we both were not happy because it clearly stated that it would either have one or the other.
When we got to our 2nd room it was absolutely disgusting and my wife sat and cried . Far from the luxurious 5 star holiday we had imagined we would be on! It was more like a two star if that.
Some of the things we noted down
* Rooms were very very dated
* Bathroom was disgusting. Mould over shower screen and up walls in the bathroom. Rust in the bath. Bath dirty when we got there. No plug if you wanted a bath (no way we would have one in there though)
* No iron or ironing board. Phoned reception 4 times. Had to go to reception and didn't know what we were talking about. After a while got one sent up minus the ironing board. Had to iron on the bed.
* Bed covers had pen marks all over them like someone had been scribbling on them.
* We had a mini bar but no bottle opener. Again had to go back down to reception for one.
* No glasses were replaced in the rooms for drinks.
* Light was broken outside our room which we asked to get repaired, but no answer.* There were mites of some sort on our bedside tables when it was dark. As soon as we turned a light in they dispersed.
* Television was out of the ark. No channels on them at all. Left note twice to be fixed.
* Safe didn't work
* Bin left for 3 days without being emptied and we ended up with a mass of ants. Once emptied they disappeared.
Half way through our stay we got 2 letters pushed under our door to see the manager ASAP. We went down and they said they needed to move us and gave no explanation, but said they would upgrade us to a jacuzzi room. We had no choice but to pack everything up the next day and move AGAIN! In our new room it was a lot better than the ones we had been given but hardly 5 star. We quickly learned that our door didn't lock or close properly on our balcony. We went to reception and told them this and they said "it's ok because your on the top floor...the third floor and no1 will get in". We ended up pushing a chair underneath for peace of mind.
We decided to give our bath a try out and when we emptied it, within 2 minutes we had an irrate Russian man banging on our door. He explained that there was water gushing down his walls into his room, obviously off our bath. So we told him to see reception. Dreaded using the bath again.
Food wise it was again 3 star. One day my wife saw a new batch of fresh baked macaroons being put out so went and got herself one. She bit into it and there was a black hair baked in through the middle of it. She felt physically sick. Also the food was not covered so flies were all over the cold stuff. The al a carte Japanese and Mexican were fantastic though.
The only thing that really saved this holiday was the beach and some of the staff. Had it not of been for those, this holiday would have been a complete and utter disaster.
We as a couple would certainly not recommend this holiday to anyone, especially if they are looking for 5 star.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear DonnaArmy,

First of all, thank you for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, as well as for having taken some of your valuable time to post your opinion.

We are very concerned for the fact that your stay with us was not up what you expected; so we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest regret for the situations described.

We hope you to understand that sometimes the demand for arrivals at the same time can cause the service is delayed.

We understand perfectly that, after a long trip, it is very important to enjoy of our services or facilities; and this could be according to what you have already reserved and have dreamt I truly reiterate our apologies for this unplanned events, I also would like to take the opportunity to emphasizes that this described events are not normal in here, and do not represent over all of our services either way is the image we want to project.

Therefore we have addressed this inconveniences to the corresponding Department in order to fine-tune with the operation and our staff members may provide a prompt and appropriated assistance without causing future repeats.

We understand your point of view regarding some of our facilities however as a company oriented to the service we want to satisfy all of our guest’s desires but not always is possible.

We hope to have the pleasure in hosting you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

R. Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheektowaga, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from this resort yesterday! This was our first trip out of the US. Overall, I would say we enjoyed ourselves and the people were overly helpful. However, there a few things that do seem consistent through the reviews here, and our trip. First, I do believe we also were given a different room than the one we had booked, but it was tricky to tell because the rooms are so alike when searching on the website. Our jet-bath only had a shower hook-on which you needed to hold yourself, or else it would flood the entire bathroom/bath tile area. This made it very hard to do anything but take a bath, which after a long day sometimes you just want to shower and crawl into bed. Secondly, when walking into the room (We stayed in the 2000s) the room instantly felt damp, sheets felt wet, and the room smelled like a basement. After airing the room out with the balcony door (which turns the air conditioning off) the room seemed better. Since my boyfriend and I are in our early 20's we felt silly complaining, and the language barrier makes it tough to communicate, so we felt the stress wasn't worth it.. After staying in our room for two days, we realized we had no MP3 player like it said, and when we turned our TV on the picture was very fuzzy -- luckily we brought a laptop to watch some TV here and there.By this time we felt it was too late to say anything-- I now regret not saying something earlier. The beach and pools are beautiful, however every few minutes someone comes up to you trying to sell something.. and there are many different options/things being sold so it's very hard to lay without being interrupted. The food was great, but like many have said the restaurants are hard to get into, except for a few, which were the ones we went to-which were great...The buffets are good, but by day 6, you do begin to realize there are a lot of the same choices... and you crave something different.
Overall, the trip was a great first experience, but I don't think I would return to this resort if visiting the DR again. I would be open to trying other ones to see if there is a better experience out there. Although the staff was amazing, friendly, complimenting and the resort is spotless and always getting cleaned, especially bathrooms by pools or beach.
Some recommendations for people traveling here in the future, would be to double check you have the right room instantly, find out how the cab-traveling services work so you don't have to walk everywhere (it's a huge resort)... bring snacks/and the right Sunscreen SPF for you--- or even a higher one incase because the costs here are 3x as expensive, and learn some basic spanish..
Hopes this helps any future travelers to the Grand Palladium

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Remember14,

First of all, thank you for your preference in selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.

We are aware that the vacations is a special and unique occasion one in a lifetime; therefore we truly regret to hear that we were not able to fulfill your expectations with some of our service. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience you may have faced while on vacation.

We assure you that all these issues have been addressed to the corresponding aiming to prevent future occurrences.

We thank again for your constructive observations. If your vacation plans towards Punta Cana for a next visit, please let us know; we will be attentive to offer you a pleasant and uneventful stay.

Best Regards,

R. Segarra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

After reading all of the reviews of this hotel, my boyfriend and I still decided to book this resort for one week. When we arrived to our room, I immediately noticed that it was not the room we paid for. It was a simple room without the in-room jacuzzi - make sure you're clear to the receptionist which room you paid for before going through the hassle! We had to pack all of our stuff again and make the changes into the proper room which took a couple of hours (the AC didn't work, the TV didn't work, sheets smelled absolutely disgusting!). The only good thing about the rooms were that the fridge was filled up every single day with soft drinks, beer and a few 1L water bottles.

The pools and beach are beautiful, no complaints. The clean beach towels were always available for exchange. The pool could use more cleaning up (a lot of leaves, little branches in there). There was someone ALWAYS coming up to you to sell you something or an excursion EVERY 3 minutes on the beach AND the pool, which was absolutely annoying. I've never had this problem at any other Dominican resort i've been to.

I've been to many resorts, and I must say that the buffets were horrible. It was the exact same food everyday, at every restaurant, same flavours - NO change or variety. E.g. The same chicken, pasta, pizza EVERYDAY for lunch & dinner etc. They could at least change some flavours around… My boyfriend and I were so excited that we could have a huge variety of restaurants to choose from BEFORE BOOKING - we were disappointed. After waiting almost 1.5 hours for the italian restaurant, the food was horrible that we didn't bother going to any other a la cartes and stuck to the same buffet the whole week. I'm not sure why they make people wait for the a la cartes considering there were at least 8 empty tables when we walked in, meanwhile an entire line up waiting to get in. The service at the restaurants are also horrible - we were usually almost finished eating before we were ACKNOWLEDGED or offered any drinks.

The resort is HUMONGOUS, it is hard to travel between the resort complexes without taking the train (which was usually packed). Although there are many features to this resort (many restaurants, pools, casino, disco, night shows) it was extremely tiring and definitely not walking distance to get to these services.

My boyfriend and I are very laid back and easy going but I wish I listened to the reviews on here. We were not impressed with this resort and wouldn't recommend anyone to go here. Pay a little extra and go to a better resort!

Room Tip: Room 4000 close to 2 pools, 2 buffets, casino, lobby and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear NSGAL81,

First of all we would like to thank you for selecting Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa as well as for the time you took to post your review after having stayed with us.

We are very concerned for the fact that your stay with us was not up what you expected; so we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincerest regret for the situations described.

We understand perfectly that, after a long trip, it is very important to enjoy your room immediately; therefore we have addressed the problem to the corresponding in order to fine-tune the operation.

We hope you to understand that sometimes the demand for arrivals at the same time can cause the service is delayed.

With reference to the restaurants, it is worthy to mention that the a la carte restaurants are open without reservations; however, they are subject to availability. According to the number of guests that chose a certain restaurant, it may happen that some of the restaurants do not have availability or that there is a waiting list at a given time. However, in the evening we offer a wide variety of restaurants, both buffets as well as a la carte, in order to offer our guests several excellent alternatives at all times.

We understand your point of view regarding some of our facilities however you cannot make a judgments over all facilities by just trying one of them. As a matter of fact most of our guests give a positive opinion about the specialty restaurants and the food in inquires. I truly lament that this was not the case with your experience.

Hope to have opportunity to turn things around and offer you an experience according to your life style, if you reach Punta Cana by Palladium Resorts.

Best Regards,

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
15.8 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
13.5 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
38.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Avda. Francia s/n | Playas de Bavaro Higuey, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing