We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place for a Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed at the Punta Cana Princess for our honeymoon. Our stay was from May 15th to the 24th. This was the first time either of us has been to the Dominican Republic.

Check-in: We reached our hotel at about 3:30 and check-in was a breeze. They bring you a small glass of fruit punch while you are checking in. We were unable to get a honeymoon suite but the guy at the front desk made sure that we had a room with a view of the ocean and a king size bed. We were in building 5, room 5113. We had a view of the ocean and of the pool. It was a great location.

Restaurants: We went to all of the restaurants at the Punta Cana Princess. Plus, we ate at a few of the restaurants in Caribe Princess. To dine at their restaurants you need to get a reservation through Punta Cana Princess’ Guest Services between 10am – 1pm the day before.

** If you don’t eat pork that you are very limited in selection.**

Mare Nostrum – During the day it is a self serve dining area. They do a small breakfast that is the same all the time. The food that is out during the day can change a little bit but is mostly the same. It is a great place to pick up a snack. On the beach outside Mare Nostrum they have a cookout every other day. The cook out consists of burgers, chicken, and pork chops. We ate their one evening for a special dinner for all of the honeymooning couples. This is an open air restaurant.

Il Bacio – This is an Italian restaurant. We only ate here once but enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. I got the Ravioli which was very good; while my wife got the Chicken Florentine. She thoroughly enjoyed her meal.

La Petite Fondue – This is a Swiss fondue restaurant. Our meal was very good. We got the cheese and the mixed meat fondue. It was fun and the atmosphere in the restaurant was nice.

Rio Grande – This is a Tex-Mex restaurant, but it is not like the ones we have here at home. The haves ribs, steaks, chicken, and beef or chicken fajitas. The chicken burrito appetizer is really good and the chicken fajitas are awesome. We went her twice for dinner. It was our favorite al-a-cart restaurant.

The buffet was really good. There is a different theme every night. I have to admit that any way they cooked their chicken it was perfect. I really liked the Dominican Style Chicken.

The Grounds: The grounds of the resort were immaculate. Every morning the walkways were hosed down and swept up. The grounds crew worked hard to keep the trees, bushes and plants looking good.

All-in-all, it was the perfect place to go for our honeymoon. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and on the beach. We would walk the beach and visit the flea market. It was just what we needed. During the time we were there we were in paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bsroache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,956)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,445 - 3,451 of 5,956 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2009

This was our first trip to Punta Cana. We have, however, travelled extensively to Cuba and other Caribbean destinations. We found the Punta Cana Princess to be a lovely resort, with great food and wonderful staff. The staff genuinely are interested in whether you have an enjoyable vacation. Diana in Guest Services was particularly helpful, and was very easy to communicate with by email before we arrived.

We did not eat at all the restaurants, but where we did have dinner, the fondue and seafood restaurants, were very, very good. The buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner were extensive and also very good food, with a variety of meats and fish. The only issue we had with the restaurants was that we were told by our rep that the restaurants are not always open, being co-ordinated with the type of food being served at the buffet. For instance, on Italian theme night at the buffet, the Italian restaurant is closed. We also found though, that the Italian restaurant was closed on Spanish night. I would recommend clarifying exactly which restaurants are closed each night so that you can plan your visits accordingly.

The rooms are spacious and clean, with plenty of drawer and closet space. The bathroom also is spacious. Our suite was a little tired and could use a paint job. The maid service was top notch.

We upgraded to a VIP package, which included several nice touches, such as a fruit basket in our room, lovely terry robes and slippers, the use of the bali beds on the beach with butler service, use of the internet (very fast) for 20 minutes per day, and several other amenities. The bali beds don't seem to be common at other resorts as we did not see them anywhere else when we walked along the beach. They are nice to use and have sun shades. Some of them are a little worn -- they are always outside, regardless of the weather, but some were being replaced during the week we were there. If you are sensitive to the sun, take some clothes pins or foldback clips to hang a pareo or extra towel, to help control the shade. Also, there is the issue common to most resorts, with guests reserving loungers and palapas very early in the morning.

The resort is fairly quiet, with some entertainment in the lobby every night. There is nightly entertainment available at the sister resorts, with a free shuttle available. A casino is not far away, also with a free shuttle. We did not go to the other resorts or the casino, so I can't comment on these.

There is a full service spa in the resort, as well as a mini-spa on the beach. Although we did not use any of the watersports, there seemed to be plenty available.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Punta Cana Princess again, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an Adults Only, peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wsibconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

This was our second trip to the Punta Cana Princess. Our trip last year sold us on the resort. It is a smaller property with all the charm and elegance you can receive without the high prices. We found that the food overall is very good with many choices as to where and what to eat. Even my wife, who has many diet limitations to deal with never went hungry.
The rooms are always clean and made up every day with care. Only tip would be to bring extra face cloths as they are always at a premium and not always re-stocked. I would also recommend to bring a plug in air freshener if you get a ground floor room. They ground floor rooms can be somewhat musty smelling (not always) and it isn't just limited to this resort. Reviews from other properties say the same thing. Rooms on the second and third floor do not seem to have this problem.
We had a couple of issues with our room including a noisy fan and reported it to guest services. Within a half hour a cheerful maintenance staff person named Cesar who spoke incredibly good english (self taught) fixed the problems quickly and was very professional.
We found the food at this resort to be excellent. I found myself being a little more adventurous and trying many local dishes and more exotic foods with pleasant results. The dishes were very tasteful and nicely presented. We only ate at the resort and did not wondered to the sister hotels this time as we only had a week. Some tips for food: they serve some great tasting hamburgers and hot dogs but do not have relish, so bring your own little paks if you just have to have it!! Also bring your own little paks of peanut butter and favourite jams if you like your brand in the morning. And if you just to have your salad every day, they have a limited selection of dressings, so you can bring your own little portions. Also we always bring small snacks for the room as dinner does not start until 6:30-7:00 pm, so if you usually eat by 5:00, you can be a little hungry.
Grounds have been improved in year. The Mare Nostrum grill have added lounge chairs, hanging basket loungers and wrap around booths to sit at on the patio area. Very nicely done!! The grounds are very nicely groomed and well maintained. Groundskeepers are always present and work very hard in the intense heat.
The Animacion team this year was a different crew from last year. This team seem to have a different approach to the type of clientele the Punta Cana Princess attracts. The resort does not have a theater for a nightly show like the sister hotel has, so they improvised with various shows and contests in the lobby with wonderful results. The lobby was always full this time and participation was plentiful. They were always around during the day trying to get guests to participate in daily activities that are displayed in the lobby. Very nice addition to the hotel.
We went on one excursion this year with a new tour company headed by "Punta Cana Mike" who is a native Canadian who now calls Punta Cana home. We took the Bavaro Tour and was by the best and most humbling experience of our lives. You get to experience a school trip run by volunteers and mingle amongst the children and ask questions. There cheerful faces and amazing disciplinary conduct was astonishing. We brought school supplies and left them with the head master who is more than appreciative of any donated gifts. we were asked to give all the children vitamins which are a luxury item and such a valuable commodity for these young children. Very rewarding and reasonably priced tour.
Now the main reason we came back to the Punta Cana Princess was the staff or we refer to them as family. Once we arrived at the hotel, it felt like coming home. Staff instantly remembered us from last year and after hugs and family updates, we were treated like royalty all week. From persons like Serapio, Santa and Luisa at the Mare Nostrum beach grill, Bernardo at the Mare Nostrum bar, the famous Nelson at the pool bar, Felix at the beach area who will help you with lounge chairs or beach bed, Hector (the movie star) and Kenya at the lobby bar, Raul the Food and Beverage Manager and Federico the General Manager all made us feel welcome again. They all work very hard to ensure your holiday will be a wonderful experience.
We will be back again next year for that relaxing holiday and rekindle friendships, old and now new ones.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baseball_gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and myself along with another couple were here for the first week of May. We had the most wonderful time. The service was amazing, the drinks were great, the bugs were not bad at all, the weather was perfect, it only rained for about 5 min then the sun came out, not bad at all for the rainy season and the food was wonderful. Every night the buffet had such a variety that you have no choice but to be sastified. I will definatly be comming back to this resort. I cant figure out why this isn't a 5 star, it should be!! I celebrated my 31st birthday here this year and would love to do it again!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle31Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Upon checking into the Princess we were directed to our room...which was on the first floor and although the room was nice...our view was of a shrub and our travel agent had requested we be on the top floor. We contacted the front desk and were able to move to the top floor the next day. Our room was lovely with a view of the pool and the ocean.
The main buffet has a good selection of food and the beach bar/buffet is also very good. We were terribly disappointed when we went to their steak restaurant...the beef was ttough and did not have a good flavor. We did not try the swiss fondue or the Italian restaurant. The night time entertainment was weak...but after walking miles on the beautiful beaches several times a day we were exhausted and ready to retire around 9 or 10p.
The only issue i have with the location of the hotel is that it is not walking distance to shopping (except the beach vendors) or site seeing. Also...if you have small children please remember that topless apparel is acceptable on these beaches!!
Do NOT go on the excursion trip to the Soana Island. It is a waste of money and the island is filthy and disgusting. The restroom facilites are deplorable and we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel. The bus ride alone was nearly 2.5 hours to the boat and back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corneliusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This was one of the best vacations I ever had!

I was at the Punta Cana Princess from May 2-10, 2009 with 7 of my friends and we had a blast. The resort is small, but in the best ways. The service is OUTSTANDING and it is very personal because it is small.

Food:
I can't say enough about how good the food was at this resort. I have travelled to several all-inclusive resorts in Punta Cana and in Cuba, and I have never enjoyed the food as much as I did here. The main buffet was great with a different theme each night (we went for Asian night) and for breakfast and lunch each day. There is also a buffet at the beach bar for late breakfast (if you missed the main buffet) and lunch/snacks. It was really nice to be able to sleep late and still get a full hot breakfast! The a-la-carte restaurants include fondu (I highly recommend the shrimp appetizer!) which we loved so much we had it twice, tex-mex which was good (not great), Italian (which was surprizingly good - I didn't expect them to do Italian so well) and seafood (at the beach bar that turns into an a-la-carte at night). Everyone in my group was able to eat well, and found food to suit them. And the service was awesome at all of these locations. If you need anything, look for Ramon in the white jacket...he will pretty much get you anything you ask for! Elvis is the little wine steward for the whole resort and will run all over to get you wine if you order from the wine list (not included). Dario-Wonderful in the Italian restaurant does some pretty cool magic tricks. The mariachi band is excellent. I just can't say enough good things....and they always accomodated us, even though we were such a large group (8 + we made friends and had 10 for dinner a couple of times)

Pool/Beach
Both kept really clean and lots of chairs and shade available. Nelson at the pool bar is excellent, and very generous with the pour.

Rooms
The room was nice and big with a couch as well as the beds. Both a ceiling fan and AC, so it's nice and cool for sleeping. Nice big bathroom and lots of hot water. Robes and slippers provided to the Regency Club package, which was nice. Fridge stocked daily with water, beer and real COKE and SPRITE (can't get that in Cuba!). Turn down service at night as well as the usual cleaning service in the day.

There is a trolly that will take you to the other Princess resorts, if you want to shop (the gift shops next door are way cheaper for the same stuff) or go to the shows, disco or casino. If you miss the trolly, ask at the desk, and they'll come again, or get you there in a golf cart. The beach bar is the best place to hang out at night in our experience.

I will definately try to get back to this resort again in the future! Thank you Punta Cana Princess for such a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gillihe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Hola, 4 of us stayed at thePunta Cana Princess from April 19 to May 3rd. After reading many reviews on this resort we decided to go.There is not to much I can add to my review that others already said. Food, maid service(sometimes late in the day) front desk, waiters (Blanco and Ramon) , animation team (mosquito) and bartanders ( nelson) and everyone else that I may have forgotton were outstanding. Loved the beach bar at night. GM Diana at the front desk is a sweetie. All the staff there went over and above their jobs. This is one resort that we will be returning too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CapeBretonCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.2 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 27 in Bavaro
13,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £120 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa in an Adults Resort (18 years old and over) where the fascination of an unforgettable holiday is readily available to our clients. Caribbean style and art of living combine in each of the corners and rooms of this pleasant, high-category holiday resort in Bavaro Beach. Five-Star All Inclusive Hotel, quiet and relaxing, on a heavenly beach; that offers all the services and facilities of our sister hotels Caribe Club and Tropical Princess.The charm of the 263 beautiful Platinum Suites, the seduction of the 7 Honeymoon Suites equipped with a thousand and one details and including a full range of services are completed with the careful and selected menu of our 5 restaurants (main buffet, Italian, Tex-Mex, Mediterranean and Swiss), and a functional snack. Wedding packages available. A full range of daytime leisure activities, extensive gym and spa area, a beautiful bright environment, with a large number of evening activities, next to the famous Princess Tower Casino (located at Bávaro Princess Hotel), and Areito Disco (one of the best in Punta Cana); that add the pleasure of some days of rest and an unforgettable holiday at the famous Bavaro Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Cana Princess Resort
Princess Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Spa & Casino
Punta Cana Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing