We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
whala!bavaro
Ranked #85 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Mason, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beach and friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Thought this would be a good place to have a break with my wife as she had often mentioned Bavaro beach as being one of the places she wanted to visit. Neither of us were disappointed and thought this hotel was great value and also charming in it's own way. The staff take their time to welcome you and were friendly and the cleaning staff were always on the ball and kept our room spotless. The fact that we could be sitting on the amazing beach within a few steps was the highlight for us and we returned very relaxed from this stunning part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    215
    170
    85
    81
See reviews for
193
486
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at Whala for ten days of swinging in hammocks and eating well. Our holiday here was one to remember. We felt at home immediately and hated having to pack to go home. The rooms were cleaned daily and the girls were friendly even after seeing the mess my wife leaves. The hotel is a two minute walk to the beach, where the sand is white and the colour of the sea is amazing, we took loads of snaps but they were disappointing and dull compared to when you are there. The staff all seem pleased to be of help and were good with the details. Breakfast at the hotel was more than enough to fill the gap and there was a choice of hot or cold buffet. We didn't venture into the town as we became very lazy and were having too much fun not having to wear shirts and suits. This was one of the easiest holidays to do nothing. Checking flights to Punta Cana as we speak.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Johnnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We normally go somewhere brash and loud but as we are getting older we just wanted some peace and quiet.
We decided just to take simple phones and no other way of communicating while away. We actually had to talk to each other and it was like old times.
The hotel room and resort is a quiet one and suited us being more basic as we are on that page at the minute. Friendly guys at the hotel and around the town.
Like I said this was a big change for us and it worked well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This girls time away was a long time coming and Punta Cana was stunning. As soon as we got off the plane the vacation started and the palm trees put us in the right mood, think it's the prettiest airport. The hotel reception were friendly, sorting our rooms quickly and giving us the chance to ask about the location. I was expecting plain but on the service side it was more personal, the hotel and Island is a beach haven and just the views for us to kick back and rewind. I will take a mental picture of the sun going down on the amazing beach with sky as far as you can see away with me. Spent some quality time with my best friends and I am very thankful. The world is a very beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had booked this a while ago and after keeping an eye on the reviews we couldn't wait to see it for ourselves.
The hotel is very basic, but the thing that impressed us most was the care and friendliness of the staff at the resort.
We had a self imposed ban on gadgets and anything needing wifi so we could make this a real break away from work.
Beach shoes and sun loungers were our only companions.
So great to be free of fixed eating times we ate when and where we were hungry.
Recommend this vacation to those who want to be free and have forgotten how liberating a simple existence can be.
Thank you for reminding us how good life can be.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent a week with my wife here for a short break. We needed some time to ourselves to relax and found this hotel and location ideal for that. On the beach so no walking or taxis needed to chill out with great views. Take a book and some decent tunes and you'll lose track of time like we did. Hotel itself is not super modern by today's standards but it is well looked after and clean and the staff are very amicable. Nice small pool and the food was fresh and pretty varied. A good price and great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a rough 6 months we really needed some time out. This seemed to be a good deal so booked for a week. My wife usually does the picking as far as hotels are concerned so it was all down to me. The resort was smaller than the usual places we stay and the room was generous. It is on the side of basic rather than deluxe but it was ok everything considered. Room cleaners and linen change during our stay. My plan of a beach holiday to read and let the worries slip away happened with not much fuss. A good deal, for a good feel. Recommended for simple tastes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.9 mi away
The MT Hotel
The MT Hotel
#82 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
Hotel Cortecito Inn Bavaro
#104 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Natura Park Beach - EcoResort & Spa
4.3 mi away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
1.4 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Property: whala!bavaro
Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. Bavaro Beach is part of the Dominican Republic most exclusive coast resorts, thanks to its fine white sand bathed by the beautiful Caribbean Sea with crystal clear and emerald tone waters. Located in front of the beach, whala!Bavaro is the ideal place to enjoy the summer heat. The hotel is located in an excellent location that offers a wide variety of sport and leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing