We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Very Good Caribbean Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
leldel@optonline.net
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Another Very Good Caribbean Resort”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Its been about six years since our last visit to Punta Cana, DR. Looking for a little quieter spot this time around. Found The Reserve to fit the bill perfectly. Note we were there during off-season. Please of open spots at the pool, beach, restaurants etc. High Season might be a differant result. My own home is not as clean as the total resort. There larger Paradisus facillity is in short walking distance if you want a little more action, casino and shows were located there as well. I observed workers constantly maintaining everything. Good Quality Food if not Excellant but the Steak House is the best for my book. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms near the entrance are 10 minutes walking to the beach. If you are beach person you need to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that after six years you decided to come back to the Dominican Republic and most important, that you have chosen us as your holiday destination. It was a complete pleasure to host you and have the opportunity to serve you.

We will congratulate our team for their labor and encourage them to keep up the good work.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,983
    788
    259
    76
    55
See reviews for
2,610
1,312
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

October 2013 - What a beautiful resort at The Reserve, Paradisus Punta Cana. The room was immaculate and EVERYTHING worked perfectly. The service all over the hotel was 10+ stars. ALL the restaurants featured different themes, so you never got tired or bored. The pool, with built in lounges (built right into the pool surrounding fountains and massaging jets) were like no other resort. The pool area was immaculate and had plenty of chairs, towels and huts and each morning all was set up EARLY for you.

The Guest Service Manager, Silvio Lantigua made sure everything was taken care of and all your needs were met. He couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. He helped this vacation be one to remember. All our bartender friends ---Kelvin, Jorgeluis, Vilorio, Emilio, Silvio and Julio helped us with special drinks round the clock and got to know our names and kept us entertained with fun stories. Each night was special when we hooked up with one of them. And
Alexander helped try to keep us in shape with a great pool work out each day. His upbeat spirit and dancing was fun and got lots of us involved.

The Paradisus is a great spot to spend a romantic getaway where all your needs are right on the property. Thanks to all -----see you next year. Jill & Jim from CT

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Jill & Jim,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations and most important, that you had the romantic getaway you were looking for. For that we thank our team, for always showing the passion and care to our guests and giving the best every day.

We will congratulate those who made your stay a memorable experience; we hope to once again the opportunity to host you and make you live the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Hubert, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I've been to many hotels in Punta Cana and this is absolutely my favorite! The rooms are spectacular and the resort is really modern. There are a lot of spaces where you can chill (at the beach, ar the bars, in the lobby, on your balcony) The food was pretty good, althought it is pretty much the same in the buffet almost everyday but the restaurant à la carte are nice. Eliseo Palacio, who served us at the Reserve buffet every day was the best ! He was having fun and you can really tell he loves his job!

Room Tip: Rooms in The reserve are really spacious but the ones in the corner (my stepfather was alone in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marie-Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Marie-Eve,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are glad to know that your holidays were amazing and that our associates were able to exceed your expectations, especially Mr. Eliseo Palacio. We will surely extend your gratitude to him, and thank him for always showing the commitment and passion for service that characterizes us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

i had a great time in this hotel food and service was great. room service was very good andres gomez perez was always on point as far as room service. the surounding grounds of the hotel is very tropical and magical.the beach is great and will not disappoint you. the people who work at the hotel are friendly and go out of there way to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: the rooms at the reserve are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Lizette,

Thank you for having selected The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is absolutely great to learn that you had a great time; we highly appreciate you warm word and the recognition to our associate Andres Gomez Perez. We feel grateful having the opportunity to work with a team committed to our guests satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future and make you live once again, the Pure Freedom experience; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culiacan, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife an me went to this all-inclusive hotel only for one night searching for a relaxing weekend and we found it,
The service is really good and there is always looking forward to serve and help. The check in was good and painless on a table with a welcome cocktail instead of a counter, which I always find to be a plus.
The food is good quality and the variety is fair enough, same with the drinks. They have a 24hrs room service with no further charge, the downside is that they don't provide drinks, only beer and wine (no spirits).
The beach is beautiful, maybe as every spot in Punta Cana.
The room was excellent, with a separate room, big jacuzzi, a bathroom with 2 sinks, living room with a TV (as well in the bethroom) and a balcony with view to the gardens.
I would give five stars on my review, but they had some problems with the water and powe, which didn't bothered too much; still a really nice stay.
I would go back to this hotel another time.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms of The Reserve are 10 min walking from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ingelara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We are so glad to learn that our team did everything to serve you; knowing that you and your family had a nice weekend makes us happy and encourages us to always improve ourselves and work the opportunity areas mentioned in your comment.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to host you in a near future and make you live the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hello everyone, this the second review I have written in Trip Advisor and I hope it can be of great help to those wanting to visit this resort in the future.

I am going to start with my first experience at the Reserve At Paradisus Punta Cana which was the reception area. My wife and I arrived on Sunday October 13, 2013 and were promptly greeted by the reception staff. We were directed and accompany by the staff to the check-in counter where welcoming drinks were waiting for us. The check-in process was very enjoyable and absolutely hassled free. After the check-in process was completed, one of the resort concierge showed us to our suite numbered 2371. Upon arrival at the suite, the concierge hinted for us to accompany her for breakfast where she was going to show us the property in more detail. However, I knew that she also was trying to sell Melia club time shares. I kindly notified her that we were not interested in any type of club or time shares and she never mentioned it or suggested again. Simply tell them you are not interested and they will leave you alone.

The suite was extremely comfortable and meticulously cleaned. The suite consisted of a luxurious and powerful water massage Jacuzzi (bathtub) with steaming hot water at all times. Separate lounge with sofa-bed, a mini bar filled with Presidente beers, sodas, and LCD’s televisions in the lounge and bedroom area. Also, the suite comes with double sink with plenty of toiletries, jetted stand up shower, a free safety box for your valuables and a not so good free high speed internet. Room service was provided 24/7 with a in room menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We ordered room service in three occasion and the order was delivered roughly fifteen minutes after the call was placed.

There are two buffets in the resort, the Gabby Beach and the Gabi Club located in the reserve area. The buffets were open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the architecture structure was very nice. Both buffets were equally good with plenty of choices, however, the Gabi club at the reserve takes the price. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the sea food combination salads they offered at the salad bar the most.




The Hydro Grill located next to the pool was open for lunch and closed late afternoon and it offered a variety of delicious grill snacks. The chefs at the Hydro Grill were amazing individuals.

Asides from the buffets we also made reservations to visit some of the restaurants that were opened during our stay. We visited Mole, a Mexican cuisine restaurant that offers delicious dishes. We also visited the The Grill which was an Argentinean cuisine, Aqua which was Italian and Vento. However, if you are a meat lover go for the Grill restaurant where you can find an unbelievable tender sirloin stakes called Churrasco. There are other restaurants in the resort, but they are not all inclusive.

There are two pools not counting the children’s and the Royal service pool that you can enjoy if you’re staying at the reserve. The main pool located at the Paradisus section has a swim up bar and the other pool is located by the reserve area where does have a swim up bar but it was not operating due to the low season. However, there is a bar steps way, almost attached to the pool where you can get your drinks without leaving the pool. The water at both pools where crystal clear, but the pool at the Paradisus section was much nosier. If you enjoy loud music go to the Paradisus section, loud music was only played at the Reserve section during aquatic exercises, Merengue, Salsa, or Bachata lessons.

There are plenty of bars throughout the resort, but the Gabi Club and the North Avenue Bar at Paradisus’ main reception area are the most visited. The North Avenue Bar is located in the same area where the shows are performed every night. Some of the top shelf liquor like Johnny Walker Black is included, however, Gray Goose Vodka is not included. You can only get the lager style Presidente beer in light or regular. Presidente beer is very good, but be careful, the alcohol content on this beer is more than 6%. The nightly shows were pretty good, we enjoyed the Circus show the most.

This resort is amazingly beautiful, but be prepared to walk. There is good 13 minutes walking distance between the Reserve and the beach. They offered wagons shuttle cars that transport you around the resort, but sometimes they are full and you’re forced to walk to your destination. We actually enjoyed the walks, the scenery was beautiful and after a heavy breakfast, lunch or dinner the walks made us feel not as guilty.


I have to acknowledge some of the employees who made our stay at the Reserve so wonderful and made our experience so unforgettable. Also, employees who consistently were very attentive, caring, and always did it right the first time.

The pool’s concierge at the Reserve Santo Polanco was an exceptional, caring and humbled young man who made our stay very pleasant and memorable. Jose De Los Santos were very attentive and pleasant. At the Gabi Club: Celso, Hewan Ramirez Mercedes and Luis. At the Hydro Grill Jose Reinoso, Melvin Brizon y Manolo Vasquez. At the beach: Adolfo Porte, Ramon Ramirez and my favorite do not fear Maiker Ramirez aka drinky, drinky is here. I also want to mention Mr. Francisco Estrella, who we never met personally and only spoke on the phone to order room service and who was very funny and serviceable.

It is extremely difficult to find currency change at the resort, so please bring lots of singles so you can reward those who work so hard to make your stay so unforgettable. We stayed 11 nights and brought $100 in singles, we wished we would have brought more change.

The concierge assigned to our building did not helped us make any reservations for the gourmet restaurants or offered any advice that could have helped us during our stay. They were pleasant, but very passive and not very enthusiastic about doing their job. Exception, hotel concierge Adalgisa Morla was very nice to us, however, since she was not assigned to our building restaurants’ reservations were made only when we saw her around the property. We were under the impression that the building’s concierge were suppose to take care of the restaurant’s reservation for our entire stay. So, I suggest not tipping the concierge at the beginning of your trip and wait to see how much service and help they provide to you during your stay.

Do not waste your time picking up the resort’s credit, they are intended to make you spend more money. They are basically discounts coupons that don’t save you any money. My wife would had preferred discount coupons for the gift shop instead of the resort’s credit.



In conclusion, my wife and I had visited three other resorts in the Dominican Republic and by far this has been the best one of all. We rated this resort at 4.5 star because they were no consistency in the restaurant's reservations. We would definitely suggest and recommend others to visit this wonderful paradise. We have uploaded some pictures for you to see. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 37 facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Frank,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

Let us tell you how much we appreciate your warm words and the recognition showed to our associates, for their exceptional labor and for providing you the service and treatment you deserve. At The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana our only objective is to exceed your expectations and make you live a pleasant and Pure Freedom experience.

Thank you for expressing your thoughts and for letting us know every detail of your stay; the comments of our quests stay are the tools we use to improve and renew ourselves.

We will certainly congratulate our team on your behalf, especially to Santo Polanco, Jose de los Santos, Celso, Hewan Ramirez, Luis, Jose Reinoso, Melvin Brizon, Manolo Vasquez, Adolfo Porte, Ramon Ramirez, Maiker Ramirez and Francisco Estrella.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

What an amazing trip. Beautiful place and the best service we have ever experienced. Our concierge Sandra was a super woman. She was everywhere we needed her. Booking us dinners at restaurants and looking after all our needs. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for having selected The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We feel grateful with our team, especially with Mrs. Sandra for being a super woman and provide you the service and attention you deserve. We will surely congratulate her for always exceeding our guest’s expectations and for always commit to our goals and priorities.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing