We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly quiet and relaxing for a family resort ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quiet and relaxing for a family resort ”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have spent a wonderful week at this resort. The Reserve is part of a larger resort, whereby the main resort is busy, lively and lots going on. The couples only (Royal Service) is small and then there is the Reserve, which is newer and in my opinion far nicer. Whilst it is pitched for families, there is much more of a calmness to the place and the kids pool is separate to the large main pool.

The only downside is that it is only families that can reserve cabana's round the pool and beach. So, if you're looking for some shade you need to be up early to get up early to grab one of the non-reserved for the day. Didn't bother me so much as at nearly 28 weeks pregnant I'm up at 6am, but definitely needed the shade in order to sit out.

The staff are extremely proud to work at the Reserve and all seem to really enjoy working there. Everyone was very attentive. Special mentions should go to Iris (our concierge) who made sure everything was perfect for the day, including restaurant reservations. Also to Santo and Emilio who ensured we never were without a drink by the pool. They were both always walking around with a smile and remembered preferred drink orders from previous days too.

Staying at the reserve you have access to all the restaurants and if staying for a week you never need to go back to dinner at the same place twice. Definitely try the red snapper at Fuegos and Ventos is
also very good. We were lucky enough to win a romantic meal for two on the beach - a reason in itself to get involved with the daily activities. This was superb and Edward (our waiter for the evening) was very attentive.

Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking to get away to relax and have the option to get involved with a more lively resort if they want.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination; it was an honor to host you.

We are so glad knowing that you had such a wonderful week with us; also, thank you for your trust into telling us about our opportunity areas, please be sure that we are currently working to renew and improve ourselves in every possible to way to be able to exceed your expectations and we hope to have the privilege to host you again in a very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,888
    760
    246
    68
    45
See reviews for
2,489
1,301
55
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just returned from a week long vacation at The Reserve. We brought 8 adults and 5 kids with us. What sets this place apart is the family concierge. Ovidio Pavilis was our concierge. He did an outstanding job. We got to know him and he got to know us. He took care of every possible detail of the day for us and made each transition throughout the day smooth. We can't say enough good things about him.

Another employee that stood out was Berlis at the Kids Club. She had tremendous energy and our kids could not wait to give her a big hug every time they saw her. The kids club is truly a great ammenity that allows adults time to themselves throughout the day or dinner time. The whole staff at the kids club was great but Berlis set herself apart.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank P0lfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for selecting us as your holiday destination.

We are happy to know that our team was able to exceed your expectations, especially Ovidio and Berlis; we will congratulate them for going beyond your needs and for providing a great and a Pure Freedom experience.

Thank you for your warm and kind words, our guests comments are the ones that makes us better every day.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are already waiting to host you in a near future.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We returned late last evening after a 4 night, 5 day stay at the Paradisius Punta Cana. We stayed in a suite with concierge service, well worth the extra money! Our concierge Sophia Paternina rocked! She made sure that our first footsteps onto the resort where comfortable and throughout our entire stay was always available for questions. She sent us coconuts,cookies, chocolate covered strawberries even made a bubble bath in our jacuzzi tub with gorgeous flowers throughout the bubbles. She was such a sweetheart when we return we will be requesting Sophia for our concierge again, she made our trip so much easier for us!
The service and friendliness of the staff didn't stop with Sophia, we met many workers on our stay at the resort and everyone was friendly. The first day we where there we ate at the Hydro Grill, we met Jose , Melvin & Valentine very nice and professional gentlemen. Valentine made sure that we where being taken care of and didn't need anything more! The food was very good there and Jose was very prompt with his serving. Melvin however is the man! He went above and beyond what he needed to.While we were chatting with him he asked us if we would want to eat there the next day and we said yes so he invited us back for a "special" meal. He made us an amazing shrimp,chicken & beef platter to die for, with a side of plantains! I have never eaten food so good. Melvin you are awesome! We also met Ramon Simbert at Hydro he is also super nice and a great cook as well.
Everyday we would eat at the buffet on the Reserve side with great service, food and friendly conversation with Luis Vasquez & Celso Peralta. We also had Celso as our waiter when we ate at Vento which was a very good restaurant. Def my favorite!
During our stay we also ate at The Grill which was probably my least favorite but it was still good. Bana which is Japenese was a great show and really good food. Aqua which is in a really neat part of the resort,also had very good food.
The beach is unbeatable, I never had to worry about needing a drink. Mikey Mike, Ramon Ramirez,& Louis Santana kept us well hydrated and taken care of. They where so nice to deal with and chit chat with. The resort itself makes it an enjoyable experience having gorgeous amenities, but the staff such as the people that I mentioned above make it truly enjoyable. Every single one of these people did their best to make us feel special and taken care of! For this reason I would choose to go back to this resort again! Thank you to everyone, you make the resort unforgettable!
The only thing I would be skeptical or apprehensive about is going to the Melia Club meeting. We met Jean Louizaire on the beach and he invited us to go to a 90 min promotional meeting which lunch to hear about their program. He did explain everything well and was very nice to deal with. However once lunch was over we met with a gentlemen I cannot remember his name but he was shifty and a woman I believe her name was Marisela a "supervisor". We heard about the club and if you travel a lot and have the money to put down right then and there then it may be something worth while for you. We ended up wasting 4 hours of our vacation being pressured to buy into this club. At one point we asked to have a minute to talk it over amongst myself and my boyfriend and the "supervisor" said NO what is there to talk about? I'm sorry but that is not how you do business. So unless you plan to travel a lot and have cash on you to spend don't waste your time!
I would absolutely return to this resort for another vacation, and would recommend to my own family and friends and to travel to!

Room Tip: We stayed on 3rd floor suite with a view of pool was very quiet and had a pretty view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Me and my girlfriend just returned home last evening from a wonderful vacation at The Reserve at Paradisius Punta Cana.Our stay was a 4 night 5 day in the concierge suite.I myself have visited Punta Cana 3 other times and this resort was by far the nicest.The Reserve concierge part of the beach was excellent.The water was very clean and the sand was also very well taken care of.Other resorts I have visited were not raked on a regular basis.The beach never seemed crowded which was great seeing that we decided to go on peak season.The Reserve pool was also very clean and well maintained and also was never overly crowded.Our 1 bedroom Concierge suite was great.Its was very spacious for 2 people and the hot tub was definetly a treat.The restaurants that we attended were as follows:Vento (Mediterranean),The Grill (Steak House),Bana (Japanese),and Aqua (Mediterranean/Italian).My favorite was definitely Vento with Bana a close second but all 4 were very good and exceeded my expectations.

Now onto the staff.First let me start with Ramon Ramirez, Luis Santana and Mikey Mike from the Family Concierge bar on the beach.All 3 were extremely friendly and welcomed us the first morning on the beach.We never waited very long for drinks as the bring them right to you.Now to the staff at the Hydro Grill at the Reserve pool.Celso,Valentin,Melvin,Jose,Luis Vasquez and Ramon Simbert all get 2 thumbs up from me.They were all extremely friendly and helpful.They all welcomed us with open arms from the beginning.A special shout out to Melvin at the grill.He was always laughing and smiling throughout the day and made our pool trips great.He even cooked us a special lunch on our third day which was better then any of the buffets.The little things that the staff does here really go a long way.

Last but definitely not least our Reserve Concierge Sofia more the exceeded our expectations.From day one she welcomed us and made us feel right at home.From reserving our spots either by the pool or the beach every morning to making our dinner reservations for every night it really was comforting knowing that every thing was taken care of.She also had special treats in our room every evening and even had a bubble bath drawn for us after a long hot day in the sun.She was very pleasant to deal with and had no problem with taking care of our every needs.

My only negative comment would be the Melia Club presentation.We were approached at the the beach to sit through a 90 minute presentation..which turned out to be a 3.5 hour high pressure sales pitch.We were told no obligation to buy today which was false and one of managers Marisela became very rude toward the end.I even asked if my girlfriend and i could speak privately about the matter (we were interested at that point) and she responded with a NO.She even lied about the time of day it was when we asked her.The last thing we wanted was to spend that amount of time sitting through a presentation.

All in all we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.The staff really goes above and beyond the meet your every need.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to the great fun provided by the counselors at Kids Zone (Kiwi, Berlis and Alvie in particular), our girls (5 and 7) wanted nothing to do with us on vacation! They do a great job. Only wished they gave the kids more time in the pool. The drop in and out is super easy and they really get to know the kids personally. Thanks to all for a great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambrills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a beautiful property. The rooms are very nice. The pool at the Reserve is fantastic, but oddly, closed at 6pm. The beach is beautiful, but know that it has waves, not tranquil water so snorkeling is not an option although other water activities are available. The food is very mediocre. The nicer restaurants allegedly book early, so we had to accept early reservation times (although they looked half empty when we left an hour or more later). Their two nicer restaurants require you to pay extra on top of the all-inclusive price. I would say that the service, generally, was mediocre. It was often not with a smile. Every breakfast we had to ask for utensils and flag someone down for coffee refills. We had to order every drink ourselves from the bar and not once got served at the pool or beach. Even though you pay for all inclusive, the waiters appear to focus on the people who are willing to tip handsomely. They literally walk right by you and pay no attention to you at all. There are very nice cabanas around the pool, but they fill early by people willing to pay extra to reserve them. The Reserve is the second property back from the beach, so it is either a long walk or you wait for a shuttle. The sales staff there relentlessly hunt you down to make a sales pitch, which was very annoying. Each building has a concierge, and I will say ours - Anabel Gonzalez - was great. Our son celebrated a birthday on the trip and she decorated the suite and left cupcakes. That was awesome.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed in a 2br Family Concierge Suite. Having only been to one other all inclusive (that was significantly more expensive), we didn't expect this to be any better per se. We were wrong. Great room, fantastic food, beautiful grounds. Service was exceptional. Ovidio was our concierge rep and could not have been better. Highly recommend!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
2.2 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#23 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing