We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This review probably won't make the cut but i'm going to post this anyway. The staff was ok but the manager was rude. Housekeeping didn't come until we called for them to come clean up our hotel room. Room service didn't come until about 2 hours after we called for them. when we called the front desk at 6 am because we had just ran out of toilette tissue and we needed towels, we were told to call back at 8am when somebody would be available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank kish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,990
    790
    259
    76
    55
See reviews for
2,618
1,312
55
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I haven't been to too many all-inclusive resorts but after staying at the Reserve at the Paradisus in Punta Cana, the bar has been raised pretty highly.

I was at the Reserve at the Paridisus June 7-14, 2014. It is big with lots to do for everyone. The Reserve Pool is smaller than the main pool but never felt overcrowded. Right off of the pool is the Gabi Club (buffet) and a bar. Our waiter at the Gabi Club, Antony, was so attentive and always there to get us drinks, coffee, whatever we needed. And like all the staff at the Paradisus, he always had a genuine smile on his face.

The grounds are beautiful. I really commend the staff who keep the flowers and trees so nice and who make sure there isn't any litter around.

The beach is a good 10 minute walk from the Reserve (or a quick tram ride), and there is a separate Reserve Beach. The first time you go there you may be asked to join someone for a "free" breakfast. I immediately smelled time share pitch and politely said no thanks. The breakfast at the Gabi Club was fine enough and already "free". The beach though is wonderful, not overly wave-y and clean sand. Again lots of seating and never felt too crowded.

There was a schedule of activities at both the Reserve and the main Paradisus resort. These include dance lessons, painting, sports, aqua aerobics, aqua spinning, wine tasting...among lots of others. At our pool Reuben was our activities instructor and when Reuben was around, fun was always had! He was also around at the nightly shows and made sure to entertain my family who he saw regularly at the pool. My last day there my family did a wine tasting with Fabio and LeBron (that's his last name...sorry forget his first name!). They were so entertaining and we all had a great time drinking wine and laughing.

As for nightly entertainment, each night the resort has a show either in their theater or in the spacious lounge area. If you are lucky to be there on a Sunday night when they have the Michael Jackson show, go. It was spectacular. All the shows were pretty good, and some nights I wanted them to be longer than 45 minutes because I was having so much fun.

There is a "disco" night club which I only visited once, it was okay. The casino was pretty small so if you are a big gambler, I'd find a cab and go to the Hard Rock for the evening. The live music at the lounge area was great, because you could sit with a drink and enjoy the evening air while listening to good music. Very relaxing.

Finally I wanted to mention the food. The Gabi Club was decent for a buffet. Breakfast was always the same but had a good variety. Ricardo the omlette guy was friendly and accomodating, whether you want a regular omlette, egg whites or an over easy egg. I ate at all of the restaurants that were included in the reserve all-inclusive, most were pretty good. Aqua was our favorite, the lobster lasagna was to die for, as was their tirimisu.

Overall we had a great time at the Reserve at the Paradisus Punta Cana and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were in 3362 and it was a couple buildings away from the main lobby/buffet area but we could stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for having selected The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Your comment made us really happy; it is a joy to know that our team did such a great labor recreating a memorable experience for you. We are grateful to have associates as Antony, Ruben, Fabio and Ricardo: because of their professionalism and great commitment we feel confident and secure that we are exceeding our guest’s expectations and making them live the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broussard, Louisiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our first trip to the Dominican Republic and we used Trip Advisor to give us guidance on where to stay and what to do. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at the Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real. We were greeted promptly with refreshments and cool towels in the lobby. They arranged to get us a pool side view room in Building 40. We had to wait for this but the wait was worth it. You can get swim up poolside rooms but I felt the extra cost was not worth the convenience. There are only 8 or 10 buildings in the Reserve but the main resort is much bigger. Building 40 is closest to the beach and about a 5 minute walk. That said, there are gold carts that come around frequently and they will take you to the main resort any time. Each room had a jacuzzi tub on the balcony which the kids really enjoyed. One night they filled the jacuzzis with balloons (for the kids) and bubble bath and rose pedals.

The Reserve has two upscale restaurants along with a buffet and a poolside grill. We ate at all of the restaurants in both facilities and the service was excellent. The food was above average and the teppanyaki/hibachi restaurants add a bit more of entertainment. I liked the Bana restaurant the best although Vento was very good as well. There are a couple of restaurants (Vento and Aqua) that require men to wear slacks and closed toe shoes which surprised me a bit given this is a beach resort.

There are many activities to do during the day in both facilities and the beach and pools have lots of cabanas and beach chairs/sofas. They could probably use a couple of additional sail boats as it seemed there was always a waiting list and you had to reserve this in advance. At night, The Reserve is relatively quiet but they always had a singer in the bar area. The main resort has different theme nights and more night time activities. We found a nice bar called the Red Lounge on the last night we were there. They have hospitality hosts that really make you feel at home and try to get you involved in the activities. We did some Zumba, went to a cocktail workshop, and saw most of the shows. Carlos "Timon" and Edward "Chocolate" always had smiles and never missed an opportunity to make us feel like best friends. The bartenders quickly connected with everyone and often had your favorite drink waiting when you sat down. The pools are very nice and the Reserve has more things for small children. They have a rock climbing wall and bunging jumping but this is only offered at certain times on some days. The beach is nice too and we found the service was better if you tipped. We scheduled one day at the spa and had a nice massage about midway through the trip. The health club is nice and they offer yoga and spinning classes along with some other stuff.

Our overall stay was excellent and I would attribute that to the outstanding concierge service we received. We had a wonderful host named Glenys who took care of our every need and went above and beyond in making sure our stay was the best. She was off for a day or two to attend some classes but she kept in touch and Suleyn took care of us while she was gone. We have visited Cancun, Bahamas, Costa Rica, Aruba, Jamaica, and Turks but nothing has come close to the service we received at the Reserve!

Regarding excursions, we did four outings and here is a brief summary of each:

Hoya Azul at Cap Cana - Excellent, 45 minute hike during which the tour guide provides information on local plants and flowers. But the highlight is the lagoon. Beautiful, crystal clear water. You get to swim about an hour. It's very cold at first but worth it. The excursion is about 30 minutes from the resort. The only downside was the wait for the transportation to get back to the resort.

Rancho Macao Dune Buggy - Average. Bumpy and dusty. Some vehicles are not road worthy. I would not do this again. There is a stop at a small lagoon but it's too small and another stop at a beach where you are badgered by local vendors. About 40 minutes from the resort.

Segway Tour - Above Average. We spent some time at a beautiful beach and another stop at a nice lagoon for a swim. The lagoon was not as nice as nice as Hoya Azul. It would have been better if we spent more time on the segways. Located near the airport.

Caribbean Bucaneers Dinner - Excellent. Good entertainment but the food was average at best. It is a nice change of pace and is only 10 minutes from the resort.

Parasailing - Available at the beach and there is room for negotiation on the rates.

Shopping - A nice outdoor mall and grocery store very close to the resort. They will bring you on the golf carts or in a van - maybe a 3 minute ride from the lobby. Also, there is a small market within walking distance on the beach with about 10-12 shops for sourvenirs.

Room Tip: If you have to be close to the beach, stay at the main resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Terry,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

Let us tell you how much we appreciate your warm words and the recognition showed to our associates, for their exceptional labor and for providing you the service and treatment you deserve. At The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana our only objective is to exceed your expectations and make you live a pleasant and Pure Freedom experience.

Thank you for expressing your thoughts and for letting us know every detail of your stay; the comments of our quests stay are the tools we use to improve and renew ourselves.

We will certainly congratulate our team on your behalf.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; you will always be welcome at The Reserve.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilly-Mazarin, France
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First of all I would like to apologize for my english. We are french and it s not our natural language.Usualy we leave our comments in French but this time I choose English in order for more people to read how this place is nice.
This is the third time we are staying in the Reserve Paradisius PC.
We stayed 10 days from 11th to 20th of June, despite the start of the "rainy season" we had sunny days every days.
It is so difficult to discribe how this hotel is perfect in term of staff skill, rooms equipments,beautiful beach, quality of food in all all restaurants........
Hotel staff: from the check-in to the check-out all staff are presents, smily and professional.
Special thanks to Alexis (reception manager who made so good arrangment for us when we arrived by changing our room at the last minute),
Also a big thanks to Sophia and Luisa from the concierge service who were so efficients, smily and so kind.
At the Reserve beach side, thanks to Oneida,Santos and Ramon for their kindness and their efficiency. Champagne,Bananamama and Dirty Monkey was so good....
After all these thanks, few more descriptions about hotel.
Rooms: at The Reserve all type of room are perfect for a couple or for a family. Equipment is complete. Rooms are quiet and very clean.
Restaurants: There is several differents type of restaurants but the quality is high in all of them.
If you have a concierge service, they will arrange the reservation for you, but if not they can help you anyway.
Just one remark, there are two restaurants where you have to pay extra charge to get in
La Palapa (20usd): quiet place but we think the quality is not higher than the other restaurants
La Passion (50usd) we recommand tasting menu and the quality is present.
If you need more informations, do not hesitate to leave some message. We stayed three times in this hotel this year and we will come back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: No particular advise to choose the good room. At the Reserve all of them have good location. May be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascal91380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greeting from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for choosing us for the third time.

It was a complete pleasure to host you again, and even more to know that we again were able to exceed your expectations. We are happy to learn that you had a fantastic time and that our team provided you the service and attentions you deserve; we will congratulate all our collaborators mentioned by you on this review for going above and beyond to make your stay unbelievable.

We hope to have you in a near future to host your 4th visit; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about how great the staff is! Our favorite bartender Mindri, our room server Evan Martinez and our member service rep Sandra Zorrilla. They were all wonderful. We had an amazing stay. The hotel grounds are gorgeous and everyone is so friendly!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sajohnson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for dedicating these kind words regarding your recent stay.

We are thrilled while reading your review, it is great to learn that you had an amazing experience and that our team was able to exceed you expectations. For us it will always be a complete honor to host you and paper you with our services and treatment, because we know you deserve it.

You can be completely sure that those who made your holidays a memorable experience already received your gratitude and our congratulations specially Mindri, Evan Martinez & Sandra Zorrilla. We will continue to encourage our team to always work with the passion and commitment that characterizes us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we will be waiting with our arms wide open!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I just got back from the Reserve a few hours ago. My family and I spent the last 12 days there. We were sad to leave. Everyone was so kind and went out of their way to make our vacation a memorable one. We upgraded to Family Concierge and it was worth every penny. Our Concierges were Estefania and Sophia-- they were so wonderful with our daughter Scarlett. (She loved the surprise bubble bath with balloons!!!) Special shoutouts to Ruben who is alot of fun! (Bambina says hi!) Also Katherine at GABi was one of the sweetest people we met-- she welcomed us each morning with big smiles and hugs for my daughter.

Some of my friends saw my pictures we posted while at the resort and wanted to know where we were because it looked so beautiful and like so much fun. So before we even left, we were recommending this place.

Go, take your family, have fun. (Take me with you?!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Heather,

Receive the sunniest greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; you cannot imagine how happy we all are not only to receive your comment but to know that we made the best of your stay.

It has been a pleasure for all of us to have had serve you as you and your family deserve, I can assure you that your warm words will be transmit to Estefania, Sophia, Ruben and also Katherine, they will be very glad knowing how great you felt with them.

Behind any successful company there is always an excellent team with a service commitment, which is exactly why The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana is definitely the best place for a pleasant vacation.

We will be waiting for your next visit; do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind regards.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband, 3 year old son, and I just returned from our stay at the Reserve (June 2014). My husband and I stayed in the DR in 2010 for our honeymoon at a different resort, and we had dreamed of returning as we fell in love with the country and the people. Our recent trip exceeded our previous expectations - The Reseve was seriously the nicest resort we've ever stayed at!

First, we'd like to thank the amazing staff that truly made our stay the most enjoyable:
Family Concierge(s)- Estefania! She gave us our welcome tour, explained everything to us, gave us our cell phone and checked in with us every day whether it was meeting us by the pool, at breakfast, etc. She did all the things that can sometimes make your trip stressful - booking our cabanas, dinner reservations, spa treatment, and was truly kind and sincere, spending extra time getting to know our son. When your 3 year old is happy, you can relax as a parent - and that would not have been possible without Estefania's thoughtfulness. Also, a thank you to Sandra and Sophia - when Estefania was not available, they were both warm, welcoming, checking in with us to make sure our every need was met. They just made us feel like we were at home!

DJ "Junior"- thank you for helping us to take home a special memory of true Dominican music, always having a smile on your face, taking the time to ask us how our day was, and doing your job -- the entertainment and shows were excellent, as well as the beach party (every Saturday night!) with music right on the ocean with special guests -- worth staying up for :)

I've read complaints about the food, and now I wonder, where do those people usually eat?? The food was extremely fresh (including fruits, VEGETABLES --- salad bar at every meal, seafood, hot items, grilled items, juices, breads, and desserts/icecream) at the buffets, and we did have the luxury of eating at all of the a la carte restaurants because of the length of our stay. Not a single one disappointed, there were plenty of items to chose from, and our son always had something that he liked. He especially enjoyed the milk/cookies that were delivered by room service every night - a sweet yet special touch.
Some of the outstanding wait staff that we'd like to thank, for being so prompt, efficient, sincere, and just overall HARD working: Angel Almonte, Gaby Club: Juanilin, Jose Reinoso, Anthony Cid Anbiori Marte, Teurys Feliz Rubio Amado Garcia, Luis Vaseure, Willis Balentin. A big thank you to them all!!

Fabio V. Romero was an outstanding activities manager - he kept the energy positive and fun throughout the day, excellent job! There was always something to participate in - aqua spin, painting class, Dominican Rum tasting... OR, you could just relax!

The trolley ride from the Reserve to the main Paradisus/beach is less than 10 mins, goes through the beautifully landscaped grounds, and is readily available (we never waited more than 10 min total, catching it right outside our building). The beach is truly beautiful, and nicer than the other resort that we had previously stayed up farther north. There was only one day with a little seaweed - and guess what, it's the ocean! there's going to be seaweed! :) the waves were calm enough for our 3 year old to run in/out and just play in the sand, the cabanas were a nice retreat from the sun, and the service for drinks was again, outstanding (thank you Emilio Valdez and Josué Ramirez!!). When we weren't at the beach, we enjoyed the kids pool/adult pool which were also super clean. Something I also really appreciated about this resort - the towels are huge, plentiful, and fresh. Both poolside and in your room. We had brought some beach/pool toys with, but the Kids Zone and the concierges also have sand toys/floaties for you to use if you want.

We stayed in the one bedroom master suite -- which included a living area, dining area, room for our son's rollaway bed, a mini bar/sink area, master bedroom with king size bed, bathroom with the Jacuzzi tub, separate shower/toilet and 3 sinks. It was more room than we expected, and such a luxury! It was modernly decorated (the whole resort is really) and very zen/peaceful. Our maid (Maria?) greeted us with a smile every day, and did an excellent job - our room was clean, re-stocked, and she even called room service for us when we had requested additional milk/water for the fridge (not something the maids have on their carts, as an FYI).

A couple things that I was pleasantly surprised to find: they had standard US (even some grounded) outlets throughout the room. We had 2 separate AC controls plus ceiling fans, and the room was refreshingly cool after being outside all day. People had previously reviewed that the walls were 'thin' -- we could occasionally hear a neighbor or someone in the hallways, but overall, we had no noise concerns. There is a secure safe in the room (with a outlet in the back, so you can charge your phone while keeping it in the safe).

The WiFi is best at the main Gabi Club/restaurant area at the Reserve. We didn't mind having to be disconnected everywhere else we went, but I can see why others might complain about that.

I have been asked many times already to describe this trip to friends/family... it was amazing. I would highly recommend it to them, and I do to you, reading this review. You can't appreciate the beautifulness of the resort, the staff, or the country until you experience it. We will be back for sure, and will stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Nicole,

Thank you for having selected The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is absolutely great to learn that you had a great time; we highly appreciate you warm word and the recognition to our associates. We feel grateful having the opportunity to work with a team committed to our guest’s satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future and make you live once again, the Pure Freedom experience; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,889 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing