We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

What a magnificent time we shared in Punta Cana. The Paradisus Reserve is a must see resort location. The must significant persona for your stay is your concierge. Our week long stay was simply awesome due to the personal touches from our concierge, Yenifer Valdez.

In order for you to enjoy a picturesque stay, be sure to consult with your concierge upon arrival.

They will advise you on restaurants, personal touches that are designed to meet the needs of all visitors and resort amenities that are not always known.

THIS WAS OUR HONEYMOON, AND WELL WORTH THE TRIP. KUDOS TO Yenifer Valdez, Santos our waiter, Noel and Maykol our sports entertainers, and of course, Jose DeLa Cruz our rock wall instructor for adventure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Esther,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking the time to share the magnificent time your shared with us.

We are thrilled knowing that your holidays were this great! We will surely congratulate Yenifer for being awesome with you and for making sure you had everything to enjoy.

It was a complete honor to host such a special occasion as it was your honeymoon, and do not doubt that Yenifer, Santos, Noel, Maykol, Jose de la Cruz and the complete The Reserve team will be waiting for you next year!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,021 - 3,027 of 5,484 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just spent one week at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana. We had never been to an all inclusive or Punta Cana. I must say that we enjoyed this beautiful property, and the service received by the staff. I highly recommend this resort for anyone that would like to have a relaxing vacation, with opportunity to do as little or as much as you would like.

The resort is well kept in all areas, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Although the resort is large, there is a tram that takes you from The Reserve to the beach and to other areas. We had no trouble jumping on and off. If you are willing to walk, it is a beautiful walk through the gardens and nice landscaping. We were able to do a little of both.

The beach area was perfect. The sand and the beach was just amazing, with the Chiki huts.
We had dinner at all the A La Carte restaurants except Passion. Our favorites were Fuego, Vento, Mole and The Grill. One thing to note, that we were not aware of, is that some of these restaurants are in an outdoor setting, therefore it can be hot and humid, not uncomfortable, but something to note. Another item to be aware of, is that because it is an outdoor setting, there is likely to be mosquitoes. Take bug repellent.
We did take a tour to Isla Saona. Avoid the expense and stay at the resort. Saona Island was full of bees and wasps and they cannot control it because the Island is a nature preserve. I am not exaggerating on the amount of bees and wasps we experienced. As for the beach, it is very difficult to get into the water without water shoes, There are lots of large shells and rocks, which make it very difficult to walk in.

The resort entertainment was okay. Some of the better shows were the Cirque, Dominican Republic Night and Michael Jackson.

Overall we had a very nice and relaxing weekend which is what we were looking and hoping for. The resort was great and we would likely do this again.

Before I wrap this up, I need to thank the below staff that made our stay even more enjoyable. The way I see it, the staff is an integral part of a vacation and we enjoy developing friendships with the staff, as we do on a cruise (we have always cruised).
These below staff members of the Paradisus were wonderful to us and made our stay a true joy.

Concierge/Reception - Rosmery De Jesus - She greeted us when we first arrived and took great time to make sure we were taken care of before our rooms were ready. We arrived at 10:00 AM, a little early. She was wonderful on the following day as well, in making sure we had our resort vouchers in place, answered any questions we had and was available to talk us through the Melia Rewards. We were not interested in the Melia Club, and although she did try hard (no pushy) to get us to go through the presentation, we are jusi not interested.

Concierge - Diosmery Francisco - She was located in our Reserve Bldg 37. Disomery ensured that we had reservations at the A LaCarte restaurants every night, addressed a couple of inconveniences with our roon immediately and was always a pleasure to talk and see in the morning, afternoon and evening. She always had a smile on her face, and always made sure to tell us that she was there for us and that we could let her know if we needed anything at anytime.

Beach Service Reserve -
Maiker Ramirez (Drinky, Drinky) was always ready to greet us and set us up under our favorite chiki hut. He kept our drinks flowing and had some great drink recommendations for the hot weather. Always a pleasure to talk to.
Ramiro Ramirez ( Mi Gente Bella) was also wonderful. Either him or Maiker were great. Awesome beach team with the guests.

Restaurant Staff -
Rannelly Polanco - What can I say about this wonderful young man. He was wonderful at taking care of us at dinner and lunch. He always greeted us with a smile and was ready to serve us.
Arturo De Los Santos - He was our server at the A La Carte and then at Gabi Beach. Arturo was very sweet and conscious of making sure we were happy and and very pleasant.

Bar Staff - We had the joy of having Felipe Mateo as one of the bartenders at The Reserve. He always had great conversations with us and our daughters, knew us by name, and was willing to provide some great drinks that were well mixed and prepared. He even would make non-alcoholic drinks for our daughter who did not drink alcohol. Felipe was well liked, and it was clear by the other guests who would walk up, ask for him, greet and talk to him. Toward the end of our trip, we learned that Felipe was no longer with the resort, and the bar area was not the same. We were sorry to not be able to say goodbye. He was truly great at his job.

Once again we would like to thank all of the above staff, for making our experience that much better. Without them, it would not have been the same.

Rina Bolanos
Miami, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BolanosFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Bolanos Family,

Receive the warmest greetings from The reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for giving us the privilege to host your holidays.

We are happy to learn that we caused you a great first impression at our luxury All Inclusive The Reserve; we like to call this a ‘‘Luxclussive ’’experience! It is great to know we exceeded your expectations with our service, our beautiful beach and our unique gastronomy.
We will surely thank on your behalf Rosmery, Diosmery, Maiker, Ramon, Ranelly, Arturo and Felipe for making your vacation that much better!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay; we are already waiting for you.

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I enjoyed relaxing in the shade by the ocean by day and the wonderful eateries they had to offer for dinner. I enjoyed a waiter by the name of Nestor at the Grill. His personality helped sell the place. In fact all the employees were friendly! I highly reccomend this resort!

Room Tip: They have rooms for families and rooms that come with butlers. I had a studio. It was a ver comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KathleenFras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kathleen,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience. We will surely congratulate our associates for their pleasant and very attentive services, especially Nestor at The Grill for showing his great personality and providing a quality service every day.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are waiting for you with arms wide open!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was the second event that our company planned at the Paradisus Punta Cana. Our customers came to the resort from all over South America. The resort was to capacity and we were moved to the front of the resort to stay in The Reserve. The Reserve has all suite rooms. This worked well since most of our customers traveled with their spouse. The pool area and buffet were just as good here as in the Royal Service. It is a bit of a walk to the beach, but there is a tram that takes you all over the resort and a walking path that has no vehicles.
I worked with Yohanna to plan this second event and again she was wonderful to work with while planning. She worked tirelessly on our event and was always prompt with an answer to any questions that I had for our group. Whenever she wasn't available on days off, her superior Alexander was there to answer any questions and work with me. During our time at the resort, Yohanna was always at our receptions/dinners to make sure that everything ran smoothly. I would highly recommend this resort for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 11KarenM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently stayed @ the Melia Resorts, The Reserve Family Concierge Paradisus Punta Cana! Loved every bit of our stay as our experience was truly Paradisus Paradise! Christelle and her staff @ the Reserve made us feel @ home as soon as we got there, thank you so much for your hospitality! Angel, our travel agent with Island Travel Company is amazing to work with! The beach, the food/restaurants, the pool, the service, the property, the entertainment, the kids club, the excursion & transportation ~ just fabulous! The property, including our suite was well maintained and just beautiful! We especially appreciate the service and sweet friendships from Luisa our family concierge, Jose & Emilio @ the pool, Rudolpo @ the swim up bar, and Mikey & Santos @ the beach (Matt, Lorena, Max & Pia say hello!!!)...We learned that they are looking to further expand on the Reserve beach areas, as well as refine/enhance the teen club activities, can not wait to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckeyeritchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 7 wonderful days at this resort! We were extremely sad to go =[ All the pictures on their website are representative of what the resort looks like! It's so gorgeous!

The resort is approximately 30 minutes away by taxi from the airport. When we arrived, we checked in at the lobby and a lovely server brought us some refreshing smoothies while we waited for everything to process. The lobby is an open floor plan with beautiful greenery everywhere. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to the Reserve, as we originally booked a luxury junior suite. We then took a golf cart to our room which turned out to be a one bedroom suite.

The room itself consists of a living room with a small kitchen area (no stove, just a sink and some cabinets). There was a mini fridge which is restocked daily with water, orange juice, soda and beer. The AC in the room is not very strong at all. Our bedroom had a super comfortable king sized bed. Off to the side through a sliding door is a jacuzzi. The sliding door had a bunch of stains on it (guess someone had too much fun) and the jacuzzi didn't work. There is a safe and closets in this area which contained 2 bathrobes and slippers. Past the jacuzzi tub is the bathroom which has double sinks, a toilet behind a closed door (which by the way is glass...) and a standing shower. All was pretty clean. The room door leading to the hallway doesn't close very well and slams every time it shuts. All the doors in our section of the resort slammed and it was very noisy. Wifi in our building was weak and could only be accessed when standing near the balcony (building 37). Our room was cleaned everyday, sometimes twice a day.

There are 13 restaurants on site and you will need to make reservations for almost all of the a la carte restaurants. Gabi Beach, Gabi Club and Naos are buffets that are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Naos seemed to be closed after breakfast during our stay. The Hydro Grill is a la carte also but open during the day. All other restaurants are only open for dinner.

Gabi Beach & Gabi Club - both have great ambience and wonderful service staff. The food is pretty good, especially the grill which prepares omelettes (get fresh cooked eggs as the pre-made scrambled stuff is gross) in the morning, and fresh cooked steak, pork, seafood and chicken for lunch and dinner. The steak and pork were amazing! Really juicy and of a higher quality than any buffet that I've ever been to. I went back for seconds and thirds at every meal! The non-fish seafood is kind of lacking which is surprising because we are on an island... (but fish was good!) For breakfast is also some amazing hot chocolate. Most desserts are small and even bite sized so you could try everything if you wanted to. There is also ice cream and fresh fruit. Special thanks to Anthony Cid who was our server at Gabi Club. He was extremely friendly and his service was speedy and courteous. He remembered our drink orders and suggested some new drinks for us too!

Wine costs money but cocktails and hard liquor does not. We had tons of pina coladas =] They also have non alcoholic pina coladas and fruit smoothies as well as soda and non-carbonated drinks. They are pretty heavy on the alcohol and drinks were delish. My favorite was an espresso martini but it tasted more like a boozy milk shake.

Here's our restaurant rundown:
Naos - we only visited once for breakfast as it was closed other times we went. Standard breakfast fare.

Hydro Grill - Salads and burgers mostly. French fries here and actually all over the resort taste bad, do not order fries.

Vento - It says mediterranean cuisines but seemed more italian to me. Many pasta and risotto dishes. We had a shrimp tempura appetizer, the garlic fish entree and a risotto. Delicious and flavorful!

Mole - Mexican cuisine. We were served some chips and salsa before ordering. The oaxaca chicken was some of the best chicken I've ever had in a restaurant. Super tender with a great sauce. Also had flan for dessert which was not bad.

Passion - Costs extra per person but well worth it. The service provided by our waiter (I think his name was Juan but I can't remember) was impeccable and what you would expect from any 5 star restaurant. Can't remember everything but we had an octopus appetizer and a scallop appetizer both of which were unbelievable. The pork entree I had was some kind of sweet pulled pork which was amazing!

Fuego - Latin american fusion. This and Passion were probably the best 2 restaurants. We had a shrimp ceviche and mufungo. I only remember having a fried chicken nugget type of entree which was way better than your run of the mill chicken nuggets.

Aqua - Italian food. I really enjoyed this place as well. I had a leg of lamb which was fall of the bone good.

Bana - This place is alright. If you've been to Benihana, it's the same. You get a small portion of fried rice and a selection of meat cooked on the grill (beef, chicken, salmon, etc). The show was good but that's about it. We were hungry after and had to go to the buffet.

We did not go to La Palapa (also costs extra if you are not royal service) or the Grill.

The beach at the resort was gorgeous. It was super clean and the sand is soft and squishy. I think they clean it every morning. There are plenty of cushy beach chairs with straw umbrellas over them. It is super relaxing. For reserve members you get towels at the beach and you can have as many as you want. I think non-Reserve guests get a towel card and have to return their towels to avoid being charged. Thank you so much to Ramon Ramirez for bringing us our drinks! We wanted a fresh coconut but they ran out the first day we were there. Ramon was nice enough to let us know the next time they had coconuts and made sure to save them for us! The beach has a water sports area where you can rent some stuff for free (not sure what). They also have activities that cost money such as parasailing, boat and snorkel combos and scuba certification classes. We spent our afternoons in the cabanas by the pool at the reserve. We never had an issue with finding chairs/cabanas at the pool or the beach. The beach has a separate area for the reserve. There were people that placed their towels on the chairs and never came back but at the pool the staff will occasionally come and remove those towels. Rolled up towels in the cabanas at the reserve mean that it's empty and free to use.

There were also some fun activities everyday and Fabio V Romero made them even more fun! He is a great dance instructor and very funny! We took Bachata and Merengue lessons. We also took a painting class and a candle making class to bring home some souvenirs. I especially loved aqua gym (basically aerobics in the pool) with Noel. He is super enthusiastic! There is a gym we never used but theres spin classes, abs classes, pilates, etc. They also have tennis courts and an activities area with archery, table tennis and a climbing wall.

I went to the spa for a massage and a pedicure. I had an amazing massage green tea from Ana Maria. Great pressure and very relaxing. The green tea oils smelled refreshing and were really good on the skin. Juana also gave me my pedicure and she was very friendly. The pedicures are given in these cabanas outside so it can get a little hot. You also have the option of a massage outdoors on the beach. That was a unique experience!

Every night they have shows like the Lion King, Dominican culture show, modern dance and many more. I wish the resort would put a bit of money into decorating the theatre because it looks a little shabby. It's just a stage with some temporary chairs. The shows themselves last about 1-1.5 hours and were fun to watch! Get there early for front row seats (about 15 minutes is sufficient).

The resort is pretty big but still walkable. They have trams that take you around the resort and they come every 10 minutes and pre-determined stops. Usually you can have them stop wherever you want if you call out though. The reserve area is far from the main resort. The main resort is where most of the restaurants and the beach is. It's about a 10 minute walk from the resort. The lobby area has a place to book excursions which should be done a day or 2 in advance. They have the same activities/companies as you will find on the activities section of tripadvisor.

MOST IMPORTANT TIP: Bring $1 bills for tipping. For us, we were a couple staying 7 night and we needed about $130 which included tipping on our excursions. Bring some more to be safe because you will not find change on the resort.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk, they might upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JDu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience! And thank you for selecting us as your holiday destination.

We are happy learning that you had 7 wonderful days with us! And we are glad that we had the honor to host you at The Reserve. Your comments and positive feedback tells us that we are doing the right thing by pampering our guests and providing them only but reasons to relax and enjoy.

Our complete team is happy knowing that you enjoyed our restaurants and be sure that we will congratulate the complete Food & Beverages team and also to Ana Maria, Juana for their friendliness.

We hope to have you back in no time and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed with our seven year old and had a fantastic week. A real vacation. The service was great. A huge shout out to our good friend Emilio (yes, please! I’d love a drink!) by the pool! I miss him every day (Patrick, Mary & Jane say hi!) and Jose was super as well. Our family concierges Estafania and Sofia were very helpful. Our daughter, Jane, bonded with Sofia and cried when we left for the airport and she's not a crier. Sofia, among many other things, saved a favorite stuffed animal that was left by the pool. We thought the service in Gabi was very good and enjoyed all the restaurants. Although, our daughter only went to the kids club twice, we were very impressed with the staff and programs. When our daughter did go, she had to be drug out there! The only downsides to the trip had NOTHING to do with the resort. Our transport to the airport was an hour late (Sofia stayed with us the entire time working the phone although it was separate from the resort, THANK YOU, SOFIA!). The airport situation is totally unacceptable. We made it through security relatively easily to run into a complete state on confusion to hand in your exit documents.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and thought that was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Mary,

Warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; it was a great pleasure to host you and your family at your home away from home.

We are so grateful learning how much appreciation Emilio earn from you, we have no doubt that his attentiveness is what makes him so special; also, we will congratulate your Family Concierges Estefania and Sofia and please tell you daughter Jane that Sofia sends her a big hug!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to your next visit and we are sure that next time will be easier at the airport!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 113 in Punta Cana
4,434 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £216 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing