We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Certainly Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana is an all-around nice all-inclusive resort but not one that deserves the 4 ½ star rating it has. The problem as we found it was that the resort didn’t differentiate itself from any other offerings and we didn’t receive a level of service that others mention here.

Our problems started with check-in. The front desk could not find our reservation (note to anyone going here, print anything and everything that is considered a voucher, for the hotel, for your taxi service, excursion, whatever, the island runs on being able to produce a voucher). After emailing our voucher numerous times to resort while we sat and waited things were finally sorted out for the most part. However the woman at reception read my wife’s passport incorrectly and put everything under her middle name. Further, when we got to our room there was a welcome card labeled “Welcome, John Doe”, not our names. These two errors plagued use the entire trip every time we tried to charge something to the room or make a reservation, and they were never corrected.

Our room was nice, spacious and well presented. The bed was good and the pillows were decent. The bathroom was also very nice and clean. Our problem was that in the five nights we stayed the room was cleaned once. This is due to the schedule we kept, we’d get up early, 7am, go to breakfast and the beach, return around 11am, stay in the room or go to the gym for an hour or so, go to lunch sometime in the early afternoon, return to the room mid afternoon and stay there until 6 or so before we went down to the bar and dinner. Only a couple of days did the staff attempt to clean our room while we were in it, and when we notified them we’d be out in a little while no one returned in that time to clean the room. This was a nuisance because when its 88 degrees and humid you tend to take a couple showers a day and use towels quickly.

Speaking of showers, the one in the room looks nice but is largely for show. I could only get water to come out the jets in pairs, not all at once. You’ll also struggle to take a cool shower if you want to, the water gets very hot. The only other issue we noticed with the room is that the mini-fridge is kept in a cabinet which makes it get very hot and then turn off, leading to flat sodas and skunked beers. A recommendation to the hotel is to put the fridge somewhere where it will get air circulation.

Onto the beach and pools: The beach is very nice, calm, beautiful water, and clean. Lounges and chairs are ample as are the towels. If you go early like we did you’ll have an easy time finding a space, there is also less seaweed around at that time. As the week progressed we noticed more beach vendors but in general you will be left alone which is nice. My wife frequented the Reserve pool but I did not. She noted the lounges needed to be replaced and were discolored from sweat and pool water. The pool is very nice and can be calm but at certain points of the afternoon can become very, very loud with families and music.

Entertainment: Admittedly we didn’t do much, it wasn’t the design of vacation. There is plenty available to do however either free or for an extra charge. The run in we did have with one of events was some party going on at the Reserve pool that lasted until 4 am. I’m not sure what exactly was going on, I couldn’t see from the balcony, but loud Latin music was playing until 4 am and caused for a lack of sleep. We were on the third floor on the building furthest from the pool and could hear the music clearly all night, it was maddening. For a place that bills itself as a family resort this didn’t seem to cohesive with that.

Other: The gym is nice, its gets quite hot but there is only so much air conditioners can do on a hot humid day while 10 people are exercising. They could use some more dumbbells of higher weights however. The free bikes you can reserve are a nice idea and make for a quicker trip down the beach or restaurant. They are a little rickety and rough riding but they get the job done.

Restaurants: We went to most of the restaurants and were overall pleased with the quality, variety, and taste. We ran into a couple problems with timing and reservations. Our first day there we arrived late in the afternoon when everything was closed before dinner and we couldn’t get a reservation anywhere until 9 am. All restaurants strictly adhere to the reservation you have, you won’t be seated a moment before even if the place is empty. Our second problem on the first day is that the front desk told us we couldn’t make reservations a day in advance which wasn’t true and caused for some late night eating.

Naos: We went here for breakfast 4 out of 5 days. Selection is great and things are fresh. The omelets are well made as well but there are no condiments. Being close to the beach is a bonus

Gabi Club: Went for 1 breakfast, selection wasn’t as good as Naos but it isn’t as big. We went here once for lunch as well and it was much better. Great selection and variety, well made samplers.

Gabi Beach: Went for a couple lunches. It gets quite crowded and there is nothing to distinguish it from a run-of-the-mill buffet.

Passion: Too good to write about quickly. I wrote a separate review, simply put the best dinner we had and a definite must go.

Fuego: The biggest disappointment. A rude hostess that made us wait a half hour beyond our reservation. Tiny portions that lacked flavor, uninspired dishes that make it very forgettable. Avoid.

Bana: Decent but not great. It’s a hibachi place with a lack of showmanship. Don’t go here if you’d like to have dinner alone. You also don’t get a choice of a meal, and only a choice of one of two appetizers. The sushi was good but everything else was drowned in soy sauce and consequently salty.

Mole: A good Mexican restaurant with classic dishes that were well made and fresh. A great steak and great appetizers.

Aqua: We had one great lunch here with octopus tartar, eggplant parmesan, lobster lasagna, and risotto. Everything was great, flavorful and fresh, the best lunch of trip, and one of the top three meals. We returned a couple days later for lunch and things were only ok. My order was wrong and the pizzas we got could have come from the frozen food section of any supermarket.

Vento: Second best meal of the trip. A quiet, intimate place with inspired, flavorful dishes. The menu is well thought out and everything looked pleasing. If you have doubts about some of the other restaurants do yourself a favor and go here twice.

Overall I’d say The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana is middle of the road, the great things are tempered by annoyances and a lack of concern. If you are a couple without kids, take the family reviews with a grain of salt, you might not get the same level of service. If you want somewhere truly quiet, don’t go here. But its good value for the money that can be made better by the choices in room and food you make.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank mpirog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 5,375 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Santo Polanco is the best pool waiter I have ever met.He is genuinely nice .This resort is amazing already but with Santo Polanco it's a way better experience. Make sure you stay in the reserve and visit Santo Polanco.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just came back from a week at the Reserve w/ my family. We have kids ages 5, 13 & 17. We got adjoining rooms & the family concierge service. It was a great vacation all around. The rooms were modern & very clean. Estefania, our concierge, was outstanding, and the resort pool and grounds were the nicest we've ever seen. I can't say enough how well-kept & perfectly manicured the grounds are - kudos to the groundskeepers who never seem to get mentioned in these reviews! Our favorite restaurant by far was The Grill. Their ribeye steaks were incredible & they had a more "american-style" salad buffet. The beach was beautiful & the water perfect, and the private section for Reserve guests was awesome. Everything about this resort was first-class & I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great, all-inclusive resort vacation. We will go back for sure.

Room Tip: Pay for the Reserve & family concierge service. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rugry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our second stay at this property. We prefer the Reserve with the private pool and access to the Gabi restaurant. Loved the fact they offered exercise classes since our last visit. Loved the service we received poolside. Special mention to Noel and Jose De Los Santos. Great job guys! See you in 2015.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joni_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful Hotel with remarkable beach and extra large own garden area: easily the best in this area and probably the whole island.
Totally clean and neat. Walking along the beach and comparing to the other resorts, this one did have the best beach location and best facilities.
Lots of different restaurants, but even the buffet ones vary every day and would suffice alone: but many a la carte options exist. Overall food was the best of all All-Inclusive Vacations we tried - and we did already try a lot...
Spent 3 weeks there - never got boring: every day has a lot of different activities: dance courses (local dance types), sports, but also painting classes, and lots of other creative stuff.
Excellent, very nice and intelligent (they speak so many languages!) staff in animations department made some long lasting impressions: Ana, Ruben, Maykol, José, Rafael, Angelica, Warlin, Noel, and of course Fabio!
Also all the rest of the staff (waiters, barkeepers, etc) we forgot the names by now were always helpful and nice.
We miss the vacation already and think about coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GermanVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear German,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you so very much for your kind words and positive feedback.

We are so glad knowing what a remarkable holidays you had and how much you enjoyed our Luxclusive service, our everyday different activities, and of course the great service from our associates Ana, Ruben, Maykol, José, Rafael, Angelica, Warlin, Noel and Fabio.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are already looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was beyond my expectations!!! All the staff was extremely friendly( really friendly). The food was delicious and I love their small portions. It helped me not over indulge while at the same time enjoying the food. The pool was so clean and hardly burned my eyes while swimming! The restaurants were excellent. I can go on and on. But make sure you bring sun screen. Sun in strong over there!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Kat,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination; it was a complete pleasure to host you.

It makes us real happy that we were able to exceed you expectations! We will congratulate our team for providing you an extremely friendly service.

We hope to have you back in no time and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Wow... Where can I start.. It's been an incredible 7 days of our life...
Resort.. This place is incredible and it has one of the most beautiful landscaping you will ever see and you would want to take your camera with you anywhere you go!!
Beach... Wow and the private beach with the most comfortable chairs and a butler service only at the reserve beach and the ocean is outstanding
Rooms.. The rooms are very spacious and always clean and the beautiful thing is that there is a door that separates the bedroom from the rest of the room for privacy ...
Main pool... Wow wow Wow
Words can't describe how beautiful and always clean it is .. And the butlers around the pool are awesome with drinks all day, Drinky drinky lol thanks to Jose for the drinks all day long!!
Concierge desk ... We were staying on building 39 and Annabelle was wonderful and probably the most helpful person and willing to do anything to make you happy:) and she also did a surprise bathtub party in the room one night for kids with balloons and cupcakes.. Thank you Annabelle :)
Kids Zone... Wow wow .. Did my kids have a blast, I have a 5 and 2 year olds and they had the time of their lives .. My son didn't want to come out of there he wanted to stay there all day long... My daughter at first didn't want to go but thanks to Berlis and Martina and Angelina my daughter gave us a break and stayed there couple of hours a day ... They treat kids as if they were their own and love them as if they knew them for a long time ... I recommend the kids zone and the activities and the pool party they do is the Best and my son had a blast!!!
I highly recommend this resort for your next family trip :) worth every penny !!
Again ,
Thank you Berlis, Martina and Angelina at the kids Zone ... You truly made my trip relaxing
Thank you Annabelle for making everything easy from restaurant reservation to any little small detail !!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Salim Ranin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for selecting us as you holiday destination.

We are incredibly glad knowing that you had 7 incredible days with us and how much you enjoyed our grounds, beach, the service from Jose around the pool, the attention from Anabel and her wiliness to do everything to make you happy; the Kids Zone’s team especially Berlis, Martina and Angelina and the love showed to your kids.

Thank you for this positive feedback! We dearly hope to have you back real soon and please do not hesitate to contact for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.3 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,213 reviews
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,362 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £223 - £747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing