We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great family holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just got back from 9 incredible nights at the Reserve. Wonderfully relaxing holiday. My 6 year old son just loved hanging out at the Kid's Club while my wife and I were spoilt with cocktails at the beautiful beach by Ramon Ramirez and Luis "the singing waiter" Santana and bartender Oneida Zarrilla.
We got back to our room one night to find the bath tub full of bubbles and balloons for our son. A wonderful surprise for our little boy to add to the nightly delivery of cookies and milk by our family concierges Estefania and Hairol. Estefania was always making sure our stay was just perfect from making reservations at one of the restaurants to ensuring we had a cabana by the beach.
Our room was meticulously cleaned every day by Maria de Paula.
The reason I specifically mention every by name is that really care and take care in the service they provide.

Room Tip: I think it's definitely upgrading to the family concierge and the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,011 - 3,017 of 5,553 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Reserve Paradisus Punta Cana in June. Hotel rooms were actually booked via RCI exchange & we paid separately for AI fees. This was actually our first time doing an all inclusive, as we never really considered it "our" thing. Overall, we had a party of 5, 4 adults and 1 two year old. Each couple had a beautiful 1 bedroom master suite located in building 41. Overall, I found the hotel & grounds to be beautiful & very well maintained. Below are our observations/experiences:

Check In: about 20-30 minutes. Smells wonderful in there! Just a little hard after a long day traveling with a 2 year old!

Room: Beautiful, large, clean 1 bedroom master suite. We had read separate reviews about the mini fridge not being cold, ours wasn't either. Trick is to leave the cabinet door open. We had 2 wash cloths in room at check in. Housekeeping did replace everyday. We promptly asked for stock of milk for our 2 year old & they kindly delivered enough white & chocolate milk boxes for several days! In addition, room was already set up with a Pack N Play. We actually didn't use since our son was too big.

Beach: Very beautiful, nice sand, ocean clean, current was a little rough, would keep close eye on kids. We did reserve palapa early(placing towels on) in morning, otherwise, most are taken by 10:30am. Bar service was kinda hit or miss. Majority of our week long trip, we had great service. We tipped every round, maybe that helped.

Food: Exactly what we expected for an AI. Since we have a 2 year old, we didn't venture very far. Service at most sit down restaurants is rather slow. Personally, I don't mind, but with a hyper 2 year old, just didn't work for us. We ate breakfast everyday at Reserve Gabi and found it was by far our favorite meal of the day. Eggs cooked to the way you like them, tons of fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, juices...just our style. Most of the trip, we ended up eating lunch at the Hydro Grill. It was extremely convenient, plus pizza and sandwiches were great. We had the same waiter everyday(forgot his name), but he was super nice & remembered us from day 1. We did splurge & pay extra to eat at Passion by ourselves. It was wonderful & highly recommended!

Booze: we mostly stuck to mixed rum/whiskey drinks. Presidente Light beer was ok. On the beach, we loved the Choco Loco(sp?) drink and the Sammy Sosa drink.

Pool: clean, warm, plenty of areas for our little one to hang out with us. Enjoyed the swim up bar & available shade areas in pool.

Extras: we did leave our 2 year old a couple of days(appx 2 hours each) in the Kids Zone while we hung out at the big pool. Our son did great there & we liked being so close, but being able to get some adult time. We also hired a babysitter(via concierge) for appx 3 hours one night. She was very sweet & spoke great
English. We were told rate was $10 per hour and we actually $15 per hour. Not sure where the communication breakdown was, my husbands speaks fluent Spanish.

Downfall of trip: very much to my dismay, my cellphone was stolen in the pool area last night we were there. It was only out of my sight for 5 minutes, I either left it in the restroom or left in the pool palapa. I very soon realized & was extremely heartbroken. Could have been an employee, could have been another guest, who knows. There were only a handful of people at the pool, it was rather late. My husband did contact security, but they didn't really seemed too concerned. I would have thought they might want some report filled out or something, but nothing. We left on a sour note & Punta Cana airport on a Saturday was pure hell!

Overall experience: was ok, not sure if we would return to PC in general. Really don't think the AI experience is for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mcostafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I just returned from an 11 day vacation at The Reserve at Paradisus in Punta Cana.
It was a great vacation. The beach is excellent (all sand, no rocks). The towels were always available, the sea had some seaweed closer to 6 PM, but it was not that bad. The food was good: there are three buffets for breakfast and lunch (Gabi beach and Naos are located by the beach and Gabi by the lobby) and there is always enough seating space there. While there might be less food choices than in some other places we have been, we always had enough to choose from and food was excellent quality. There is a number of restaurants (besides the buffets mentioned) for dinner and all of them had good food. One tip about the Aqua restaurant - it is right next to some kind of creek and mosquitos seem to be all over your legs in the evening. The swimming pool was large (there is a separate pool for small kids) and well taken care of. There were always enough seats available around the pool no matter what time you wanted to go there. Towels were also always available by the pool. The property is large and you can catch a shuttle if you don't want to walk, but generally it is about 10-12 minutes walking from the lobby to the beach. The staff takes care of property very well, so it is always clean and groomed well. The rooms are large and the cleaning service does a great job of taking care of them. Everything got restocked every day and if you need something extra you can always ask and get it. We were in the building 39 and would like to thank Anabel and Leidiy who were our building concierges for everything they did. Whatever we needed, they took care of with a smile and it is a great feeling to know that if you need something, it will be taken care of. Overall everyone from the staff was nice and pleasant and always willing to help. This was definitely an excellent vacation and a place to go to again in the future

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with us.

We are very glad to learn that Anabel and Leidy provided you the service you were expecting, we will congratulate them for taking care of you and making your stay a great vacation! It also makes us happy that we exceeded your expectations in every way, with our restaurants and pool.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you in a near future, to make you live once again the Pure Freedom experience that characterizes us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Drinkey Drinkey mike is the best beach concierge in the whole world!! He always takes care of us with a big OL SMILE ...just love him. He remembers us each visit and we have been coming for 13 yrs. He is a hard worker

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenandjaneMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Maiker Ramirez ( drinky drinky) he is the all time greatest guy there !!!! We love him he was such an honor to b around n he always made sure we had a drink n we were happy n satisfied !!!! We missed him when we had to leave ! We can't wait to go back !!! My family has timeshare there n we told them to look out for him he's the BEST !!!!!!!! Hola hola coca cola drinky drinky time !!!!!!! Dolores Hawthorne

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DHawthorne2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive warm greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations and that the service provided by our team made your holiday such a great experience and most important that you can’t wait to come back!, you can be sure that Maiker will receive your gratitude, as well as all our staff for their great labor and always showing the passion and commitment for what we do.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Mikey our waiter made our stay the most fun ever. We will for sure be back. He has to be one of the most personably people we have ever had at any island resort. I would recommend Punta Cana resort. Great food, service and all around nice resort!! NC Family

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carwash2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination; and for sharing your experience with us.

It is always great to learn how our team was able to exceed our guest’s expectations, by giving them the service and attentions they deserve. We will surely congratulate Maiker for providing you the most fung vacation. We are proud to have a team that works with such passion and commitment every day.

We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding our gastronomy; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Expectations were high after reading all the reviews, but i must admit this family trip was one of the best one i had with my family in an all inclusive resort. I do have the chance to travel and this place did deliver on their promises.

From our wonderful family concierge Estefania who is always available to help us and answer our questions, to the spinning teacher Manuel who ensured to push us all the way in his class, the great team at Aqua (Felix and the other folks), the team at the much appreciated reserved section on the beach "Maiker, Ramon, luis and Oneida", the great job by Fabio and Elsa as animateurs and all the other people that made the difference we thank you for making this a truly memorable experience.

The site is impeccable, clean, the room are fresh even if they are a few years old, the show at night are of a high quality, love the concept of the bikes, food was great.

Love the family concierge concept, being more quiet without a bug crowd was a plus...

We would go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Dserraglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr. Serraglio,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for choosing us as you holiday destination and for taking the time to share you experience with us.

We are thrilled knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations! Estefania surely did a fantastic job and we thank her for that; also Manuel, Felix, Maiker, Ramon, Luis, Oneida, Fabio and Elsa. The gratitude you share in your comment makes us feel prouder of our team.

We hope we can welcome you back in a near future; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
2.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
0 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 114 in Punta Cana
13,656 reviews
1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
2.5 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £215 - £539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Melia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing