We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel from Dec 28th 2013 until January 5th. We had the most wonderful experience, he room was exceptional probably the best I had ever stayed in. The attention to detail was extraordinary. We had a family suite and the amount of space considering we had our 2 boys (age 12 and 10) was huge. The private pool and terrace to finish off the day made the stay even more enjoyable. The beach club was perfect, the attention and service top class. If you like golf, you have one of the most stunning golf courses in the world, Punta Espada, 3 minutes away from your room. We had an unforgettable vacation here, highly recommend this Hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Alex M,

It is always a delight to read from an obviously frequent and loyal guest. Thank you for your kind review .

Best regards,

Daniele Trombacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    38
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
118
199
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Compared to other luxury resorts we have visited in the Caribbean, Eden Roc stands out in a number of ways. Overall, it is a beautifully designed, chic, and meticulously manicured resort with first-rate staff, with a focus on gastronomic-level world class food, on par with finer hotels in Europe. It has a very calm, quiet, exclusive, and comfortable feel throughout.

The staff is generally very professional, attentive, and accommodating. The hotel arranges for pickup at the airport, and it's a 12 minute drive to Eden Roc. Maitre de Maison Paolo Sanavia personally greeted us on arrival, along with concierge, reception, and other staff. Over our stay, he frequently approached us to see whether there was any detail he and the staff could attend to, and was very friendly and personable. The maitre d'hotel at the restaurant Mediterraneo was excellent, and quickly took care of any issues we could point out; the other restaurant staff also were first rate; some rotate through from other Relais&Chateaux properties around the world. Likewise the GM, maitre d' and other staff at la Palapa were immensely friendly, knowledgeable, and very capable. Throughout our stay, we felt like a very large, hospitable staff was at the ready to attend to our every need.

The hotel design is beautiful, as the pictures on this website can attest, but what they show only scratches the surface. It appears nearly every detail was thought through. The rooms are bright and expansive. Our room always smelled gorgeous (Laura Tonnato scents, designed exclusively for Eden Roc). The colors are all relaxing, rich, and complement each other beautifully - I was mesmerized by how the color of the lamps tied in with the deep purple details througout, and most surfaces are a clean, bright alabaster-like travertine marble. The dark cedar walk in closets make it like a home-away-from-home, the custom-made whirlpool tub is enormous, the indoor shower has a rain showerhead and a handheld, the outdoor shower is well designed, also with hansgrohe fixtures, there are Rivolta Carmignani sheets on the beds and R&C towels, the closet includes a shoehorn. Each room is a standalone villa, with its own infinity pool out back, with plants and landscaping to shield from the neighbors, and a sitting cabana; half the rooms face a central lagoon, while half are along the edge of the property, facing a collection of short trees and bushes leading to a creek. Each villa has a carport and a golf cart. There is an integrated system to control the lights, TV, and soundsystem drawing from our own iPhone with speakers in each room and outside at the pool, controlled by an iPad in the room that also provides internet service. The property was built in mid 2012, and still seems new. The resort feels like a quaint little Truman-Show-esque town, and each room is a short walk along little cobblestoned "streets" to the lobby, restaurant, and bar. The bar is another design standout - it was brilliantly designed to evoke Riva boats, using the same colors and materials. It is sleek and sexy. The mixologists that made our drinks were capable, on par with the best of any major city in the world.

The food is very good by Caribbean resort standards. Gianluca, the executive chef, oversees the food throughout the resort, and is brilliant. The menus have largely Italian-focused fare, but Gianluca clearly works hard to source excellent ingredients available locally as well as availing the restaurants of first-rate ingredients from world ports. Pasta dishes I had I felt were on par with some of the best Italian restaurants in my home city of Washington DC, such as Casa Luca, Tosca, or Posto, and the seafood was all exquisite, for example the langoustine fajitas. The sushi is without a doubt worth noting. La Palapa stole away one of the best sushi chefs on the island from Santo Domingo. The preparations are inspired, creative, and delicious. The breakfast is up to the Relais&Chateaux standard - delicious, generous, a lot of variety. Overall, the prices at Eden Roc's restaurants are not any lower than at other Caribbean luxury resorts, but the food generally is much better.

The beach is pleasant. The sand is very fine, nearly like a powder. The surf is "active," with nice-sized breaking waves; it's not a still, clear, calm beach like on the north side of St. John USVI, for example, more like the surfy-waves of Virgin Gorda. The beach furniture and umbrellas are excellent and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and attentive (kudos for having umbrellas on hand when a rain came, for example) and provided fresh towels on demand. The beach is a little over half a mile from the villas (one could walk, but we generally used the golf cart); the beach is part of the Caleton Beach Club (caletonbeachclub.com) which I believe is maintained by Eden Roc. It's a very exclusive club that caters mostly to Eden Roc, but also a few dozen private houses around the golf course (very upscale vacation homes - most of the residents are not there most of the time, so presumably don't feed much to the beach club). The exclusivity of Eden Roc and Caleton ensures the beach is not crowded. The only distractions are that the club does accommodate private events, but they were sparse during our stay; during our 5 days there, 2 of the days had a parade of eastern european weddings, one after another, for a few hours a day, on the point on the other side of la Palapa restaurant, some with photoshoots on the beach afterwards - they were cute and romantic, but cheesy; we also were at the beach at the same time as fellow reviewer "gablegirl" and found the Russian trio a distraction.

There is little we can criticize about Eden Roc. The only issues we had were that our A/C broke on day 2; we kept bringing it up to a number of people on the staff, from Paolo to the front desk staff, but it never got fixed. The retraction mechanism on the charging cord for the gold cart also was broken from day one, and we brought this up many times, and several times were told it would be fixed, but the most anyone did was shove the cord back in the hole - it was stuck out as soon as it was used again - no big deal, I just wrapped it around the rack in the back, but it seemed to me like the ratio of possible solutions to those tried was high. In the end, these two issues were triflingly minor (the A/C perhaps wouldn't have been during a warmer season) and detracted little from our immensely wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglasrathbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Dbartramr ,

Thank you for providing your detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying at our hotel . We hope there will be another occasion for you to visit our esteemed property.

Best regards,

Daniele Trombacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Not only is Cap Cana an extraordinarily naturally beautiful spot, but the resort itself is well designed and exceptionally well maintained. It is very quiet (at times perhaps a touch too quiet), the food is superb and the service staff is very well trained. Everyone we met at the resort was so committed to making us feel welcome and taken care of. Each staff member clearly strives for excellence and it shows. To put it in perspective, the 4 Seasons in Geneva is my favourite and this hotel is the island version of an understated luxury hotel that's family-friendly (just keep the kids out of the mini-bar - everything in there is a small fortune). If that's your kind of resort, this is the perfect place for you. We wiill certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon facing pool if possible. The evening view is so beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TROYT50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear TROYT50 ,


Thank you for your elegant commentary and review of your visit to The Eden Roc at Cap Cana .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards
Daniele Trombacco
Director of Sales & Marketing
d.trombacco@edenroccapcana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

To put this in perspective as my other review says we have stayed at multiple 5* plus resorts.
The good - the rooms are exquisite and we only had a basic room. The bathrooms are beautiful and the products fantastic. Alejandra on the front desk was excellent as were the check in staff.

The resort is beautiful but we felt it was absolutely soulless and bore no comparison to our experience at our previous hotel in the DR.

The staff in the restaurant Mediteraneo are poor, not professional enough particularly at breakast (see below) and we had a very poor experience when we went for dinner.
We were given a bottle of complimentary Champagne in the room, and as we were only there 2 days decided to take it to dinner with us.
They charged us $20 corkage. When questioned we were told that we could only drink it in the room, by the pool or on the beach.
We had booked to eat in the restaurant before we arrived at the hotel and they only had 4 decent tables outside - the one we were shown to was against a wall in the dark. There was one table being used inside.
They showed us to a table in the bar area outside - which was fine. The service was slow and the meal - as we say in the UK - Poncey!

The menu there was small so no idea where you would eat on multiple nights??? They've shipped in staff from all over, one was like David Walliams with hysterical English. The manager was

At breakfast - The cafe latte - a cup, a coffee and milk separately- my husband could not get it all to come in ONE cup???!!!! Meanwhile try getting a napkin!!
I could go on - let's just say it wasn't for us.
At La Palapa at the beach the food was better - but with blaring music. We like music but it was just too much all the time.

The resort is not on the beach and you have a golf cart to get around.
The Beach Club building is HUGE and also soulless with a very average Grill restaurant.
The first day there 3 Russians arrived and brought down a Beat Box and had music blaring over the whole area. A number of guests including myself asked the manager to get them to turn it off. Eventually they did - then turned it on again later. They were't even staying in the hotel but had a pass to be there. The resort has to monitor the beach very carefully because frankly that's not what we want when we go somewhere like that. When asked to turn it off they replied why!!!!?????
There is definitely an issue with the beach not only being for the hotel - it is a club that is used by a lot of Villas etc.
The beach is beautiful but small and the sea clear.
The beds are super comfy.
The staff were lovely there but pushy. We kept being asked to buy Moet Champagne and it seemed as it they were on commission.
I would liken it to European run beach - if you like that sort of thing.
The Spa was very average - we had massages in the cabins by the hotel and it is half open air etc lovely in theory except we could hear the kids in the next door villa and there was no relaxing music.
2 days was more than enough for us. We prefer understated.
Overall - as the title says - but only our opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank gablegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This is certainly THE BEST place I've ever Been to!! Suites are beautiful, food is great, service is outstanding, the pvt pool is just greaaat!! But there are a couple if things This hotel have to take care of such us:
1- The snakes!! Yes, SNAKES in your backyard. I was so scared! Inmeadiatily called The front desk and they said that it was normal that The day before other guests had a snake in their pvt pool!!!. For me that is not normal. I will never take my children there!
2- Seriously they have to take care of The flies at The restaurant its just literally a fight between you and The flies when you are having a meal.

3- The bed sheets!!! I'm sure that they are very expensive imported from some very exotic place but they terrible! They itch!!!!!!

Sadly this 3 things are important to me and I Just wont go back until This things are not taken care of!!

Other Than This This place is a dream come true

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Maria C,

I trust this mail finds you well!

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Eden Roc at Cap Cana. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

We strive to create one-of-a-kind experiences for each and every guest, and as you found, our professional staff is integral in those efforts. All guests are treated to personalized and genuine attention .

It goes without saying that your comment about that 'snake' leaves us a bit baffled and we apologize for this inconvenient. Although we are set in a beautiful fragrant tropical Caribbean garden it is our first time a guest report this. After investigating with our front desk team we were advised of the misunderstanding in the communication, as there was no previous guest that came with a snake.
I want to inform you that the Island snakes are completely armless and that we have taken the necessary actions to reinforce our fumigation preventing any annoying flies and unpleasant visitors.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. If there’s anything we can do to help plan a stay, just let us know.


Kind Regards,
Daniele Trombacco
Director of Sales & Marketing
d.trombacco@edenroccapcana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The beach at Eden Roc is absolutely beautiful. They provided beach toys for my youngest, the pool was huge and everything was clean. There is a small playground for kids as well, but it was too hot to make use of it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitadbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Vitadbella,

Thank you very much for your recent review to Eden Roc at Cap Cana. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your comment about our Beach Club.

We look forward to having you back.


Sincerely,

Daniele Trombacco
Director of Sales & Marketing
d.trombacco@edenroccapcana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Since my first visit many things have changed in this hotel!

I wasn't expecting such a drastic change within such a short amount of time. I spent a week in the hotel and was truly in awe with the efficiency and availability of the staff and how it has improved since my last visit. The rooms are great as always offering an incredible comfortable private indoor and outdoor area.

What has surprised me the most has been the excellent quality and food that has been kept at the main restaurant 'Mediterraneo', I truly believe it is not short of any other Michelin-starred restaurant in Europe. The perfectly balanced Mediterranean cuisine it offers perfectly complements the hotel's essence.

Moreover, the SPA was a great experience too. With a wide variety of massages and treatments it was hard to choose!

I spent an incredible week again and will be returning soon for Easter I hope! This is a place I will be coming back to very often.

Room Tip: Ask for the Golden Shell suite. One word: AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alma89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Alma89,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and welcome back to your home away from home. I am truly delighted to read that our service team and experience all together exceeded your expectations. We will look forward to welcoming you back again this coming Easter. Thanks again,

Kind Regards,

Daniele Trombacco
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,832 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
29.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#2 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,288 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Roc at Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc at Cap Cana

Property: Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Roc at Cap Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining luxury in the Dominican Republic, Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the only Relais & Chateaux hotel in the island, consists of 34 freestanding suites with private pools and stunning views. Eden Roc at Cap Cana offers extravagant amenities such as a full service spa, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course (Punta Espada) located nearby, private Beach Club, Koko Kids Club, five diverse culinary selections, 753 square feet of meeting space at Corallina Conference Room and various multi-purpose spaces ideal for destination weddings and corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Eden Roc at Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing