We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, attentive staff, great location and potential ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, attentive staff, great location and potential ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 1/3/14 - 1/11/14. The Westin is literally 2.5 km from the airport which is great and you won't know it. No noise at all. The landscaping is young and needs to mature but will look beautiful in time. It's hard to fault the property for that and there is a lot of upkeep going on. Nothing is neglected. There's nothing immediately to the sides of the property but raw land and some construction staging on the other side. This was not an issue for us as there's no noise and I am sure will change with time. You only see it if you glance out from the walkway to beyond the property as you go to your room. No big deal as it is not visible from anywhere else. Pool and beach area are gorgeous.

We are Starwood Preferred guests and were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool area. We did ask for a better view and the manager Juan Manual Flores was very gracious about it and we moved to a room with a view of the ocean and pool area. When ever he saw us he asked us how things were going. He is quite an asset for the Westin as he truly cares about his guests. One morning we missed the shuttle to the spa and he got his car and drove us over there so we wouldn't miss our massages. That is unheard of in today's world.

The hotel just opened before Christmas so it's still working out all the kinks but I found the staff very deferential and helpful. No attitude like at the Westin in Cancun.

Our room was spacious with a nice walk in closet area and bathroom that ran the length of the room with double sinks and a nice large shower. It was nicely appointed and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon. There are plenty of chairs and a nice chaise lounge. We hosted several happy hours in our room.

The in-room cable TV is a flat screen that can be turned so you can view it from the bed and it has everything you would want to watch. WiFi was great throughout the property and worked great pool side.

The pool area is breath taking as is the beach. The beach is a short walk from the pool area. The beach area is well kept with lots of umbrellas and high quality lounge chairs. The staff is plentiful and takes care of all your needs. You only get one towel but I bet this policy will change in time as it's a little impractical. But exchanging towels is easy and effortless.

You are a 5 minute walk away from Playa Blanca and I highly recommend it for lunch or dinner. You can take the free shuttle but the walk is some much sorter and the view is great.

There are 2 restaurants on site. The one by the beach is more scenic in my opinion. The breakfast buffet is $20 and worth it. There's all the typical stuff and an omelet bar. The dinner Buffett is also $20 and not bad. The buffets are the best deals for meals. Otherwise the menu is pricey and the food is average. But we were hard pressed to find any real good restaurants in the area. I posted reviews separately. In my opinion the 'Village' which is a free short shuttle bus ride away is a tourist trap with the exception of one restaurant - El Tablao. The others had attitude and high prices.

There are also 2 bars - one in the lobby and one by the pool bordering the beach. It is charming and a great spot for an afternoon drink. Prices are what you would expect from a resort.

The lobby has an on site tour operator - Gray Line Tours and the guys there were great. We did 3 tours. I highly recommend the zip line tour - the one with 12 platforms and the all day side by side ATV buggy and catamaran tour with meal. Both tours were awesome and our typically screamish wives had a blast.

I thought the location of the Westin was quite good and conveniently located to the Westin Spa and Golf Club where you have privileges. Free shuttles come on a regular basis and take you there or to Playa Blanca and the Village. There's a great modern grocery store at the back end of the Villlage called the Nationale. It has everything! We stocked up on beer (Presidente is the local brew), rum, snacks, fruit, crackers, cheese etc. well worth the trip.

It seems like 99% of the resorts are all inclusive. This makes sense as good restaurants are hard to come by. But Jelly Fish, Playa Blanca, Bamboo and La Yola at La Cana Club are some of the memorable ones in addition to the ones already mentioned. And we prefer the freedom to choose as I doubt that the food at the all inclusives can be all the great - but I am only basing this on my observations of trying lots of places over the course of 8 days. Being from Southern California doesn't help as we are used to good reasonably priced food. There is also nothing particularly unique in the way of island cuisine - unlike Jamaica and other islands we have been to.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Westin and would come back. I think the Westin will blossom into an extremely nice resort property and I am glad we were there before it really takes off as the destination resort in the DR.

Room Tip: Get a room as close as to the beach as possible. You don't need to pay for a beach view. You get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajmarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear ajmarton:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities of Puntacana Resort & Club.

We are very happy that you got exceptional service from Juan Manuel of whom we have received many great guest comments.

You are correct about your notes on the landscaping, we are happy to tell you that you can already tell a difference from when you left.

We are also analyzing the comments you make about the towel policy and we will pass your note to the owners of restaurants in Puntacana Village because unfortunately you did not have a great perception of them.

We hope to see you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    282
    70
    33
    31
See reviews for
311
345
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wonderful resort. Staff is absolutely excellent. In all my travels, I have never met such wonderful people. Manager Juan is EXCELLENT. Hotel is brand new, clean and very put together. I would recommend this hotel. The restaurants on the resorts are Excellent. They take you with a shuttle. BAMBOO RESTAURANT IS A MUST.

Room Tip: all rooms have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Margie497:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel and of the comments you make about the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Assistant Manager, Juan Manuel.

We hope to see you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our family of five was stuck in the Dominican Republic for 3 days during the Jet Blue pilot debacle from 1/3/14-1/6/14. We had originally been staying at Casa de Campo which was too far from the airport. We had to be close to the airport to catch a flight out in case Jet Blue was able to find pilots. The rooms were clean and beautiful and opened on to the courtyard which led to an infinity pool. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The food was fresh and fantastic. But the most amazing part was the service. We had left the hotel to try to board a flight for a third day in a row, when I realized I left my five carat diamond earrings in our room in the rush to leave. We called the manager, Juan Manuel Flores. He found the earrings, brought them through security and gave them to me before we boarded. We also had no idea over that three day period when Jet Blue would be able to fly us out and he kept our room open just in case, so we had some where to sleep. WHAT SERVICE!!!! It was a miracle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Kristen F:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are sorry you had so many problems getting back home but we are glad you were able to stay in our hotel and get to know Puntacana Resort & Club.

We are very happy that you got exceptional service from Juan Manuel who has been a great employee of ours for many years.

We hope that your next vacation to the Caribbean will be to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Westin from Dec 27-Jan 4th got an extra day because of the snow storm in NYC. They were only open for a week when we arrive - so this was soft opening and they are still working on property landscaping and final touches in some rooms.
Local is great - beach is perfect and each room had a patio and face the pool area or the ocean.
If you are on the 1st floor you can walk from your patio to the pool! While the staff is still being trained you could not fault them for not trying!
This is the real Punta Cana not Bavaro area so no rows of hotel on a strip, just the Westin . You have the village which is 5 mins away a few shops, supermarket & 6-10 restaurants/ bar that gets busy after. 6 pm- free shuttle until 10:30pm from the Westin

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malineann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear malineann:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel we are happy that you enjoyed Puntacana Resort & Club.

Like you, a lot of our guests staying in the 1st floor have made comments about how convenient this location because it is so near to the swimming pool.

We hope to have you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel had opened the week before we arrived and the service staff was wonderful given the challenging circumstances of having a new hotel and a holiday season. This is a brand new beautiful property and the staff was doing the best they could with service, responses to issues and overall interaction with the guests. Congratulations to the people of DR for having such patient staff who often put up with complaining, impatient , people complaining about ridiculous things. A great job was done by all in a new property that is simply gorgeous and the staff who are terrific and well meaning. Keep charging forward !

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are large and wonderful however the entire hotel has a views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Cynthia K:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel we are happy that you enjoyed Puntacana Resort & Club.

We hope to have you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Five years from now, I expect that the Westin Punta Cana will be on the top ten list of Punta Cana resorts. And for those willing to put up with some (sometimes significant) inconvenience, now is the time to get a bargain price on stays at the otherwise beautiful hotel. We just returned from an eight day stay at the Westin Punta Cana, and paid significantly less than we would have spent for beachside accommodations elsewhere between Christmas and New Year.

Let me start with the pros:
1) My family of four all thought that the facility itself was beautiful. The lobby gleams, with plenty of seating for people at the bar or waiting for check-in/transportation. The pools were quite large and warm with plenty of seating poolside for sunbathers (along with drink service). We LOVED the beach -- soft sand, lounge chairs with umbrellas, seawood raked several times a day, and all-day entertainment watching the kite surfing that launches on the next property. Mature palm trees everywhere. Beautiful.
2) We had great luck with our rooms (which are all oceanview and poolview because of the hotel's U-shaped design). The double (room 421) had two nice queen beds, a desk, a decent bathroom, and a comfortable patio. The Executive Suite (402 -- the nicest room in the hotel) had a living room and bedroom. Wrap around porch next to the ocean. Constant breeze cooling both rooms 24/7. Both rooms were incredibly quiet and nicely decorated. Of course, you have the Westin Heavenly Beds.
3) The hotel is 5 minutes to the airport, unlike many Punta Cana resorts which were 35-40 minutes away. Furthermore, Punta Cana Village, which has a grocery/liquor store and other boutiques and restaurants, is only a few minutes drive.
4) We found that most of the hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful, including the managers with whom I spoke. The front desk people spoke English and helped us get around. The concierge was excellent, and arranged dinner and other reservations for us. Housekeeping staff was TOP NOTCH. They seemed to know when we'd be gone, and our room was clean upon our return.
5) Nearly every guest I saw around the hotel had a smile on their face, which says something.

Now the cons, most of which can be rectified if the hotel management is serious about becoming a Punta Cana star.

1) The hotel desperately needs to fix the transportation situation. They are (correctly) advertising the Westin as part of the broader Punta Cana Resort and Club, which includes top-notch golf, tennis, restaurants, and a nature reserve (don't miss the swimming holes). However, the Punta Cana Resort and Club is several miles long and wide, and the Westin hasn't figured out an efficient way to get guests to these attractions when they want to go to them. There is a shuttle, which is fine if you catch it at the right time. But if you want to go someplace based upon your own schedule (tee time, tennis lesson, dinner reservation, airport, etc...) the shuttle doesn't always work. Sometimes free hotel transportation will magically appear to whisk you to your destination, and other times, you'll wait for 45 minutes or be told to spend $20 on a cab for a 5 minute ride (and the cabs looks like the same vans that are part of the free shuttle service). They left my teenage son waiting for 90 minutes after his tennis lesson in a remote part of the resort. We waited 45 minutes to be picked-up after dinner at a resort restaurant, and 30 minutes to get to a tennis lesson. They must come up with a solution quickly -- at a minimum, rent golf carts! From my perspective, this is the biggest problem at the Westin.
2) The service at the two restaurants -- lobby and beachside -- is abysmal (even though the food is fine by Caribbean resort standards). And the biggest failure is that the hotel has not deployed trained managers to the restaurants. Not once in 8 days did I see a manager working with the staff or expediting matters. The waiters are trying to take/place orders on the computer, but are clearly not sufficiently trained in the technology. Drinks routinely take 15-20 minutes to arrive, and the orders were mixed up. The first night we were there, the main dishes arrived just as our drinks did! The prices are at NY levels, with the cherry on the top being a $100 per person New Years Eve buffet that was mediocre and mostly good warming in a chafing dish. Decent restaurant service can definitely be had in Punta Cana. In fact, the service and food at Bamboo, Playa Blanca, Cana and La Yola -- all part of the Punta Cana Resort and Club -- was great.
3). The failure of Westin management to put doors on the bathrooms (our suite had a door, but our double did not) is inexplicable. When I asked the hotel maintenance people about it, they just laughed and said they agreed with me. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world, and never encountered one without a bathroom door. I imagine this will be fixed within a few months because it was such a ridiculously poor decision.

Weighing the pros and cons, this remains an up and coming property in need of continued attention by management to bring it to the next level. At the moment, the hotel would be perfect for a couple or family that wants to spend a few days lying on the beach or at the pool, but doesn't necessarily want to avail itself of the other resort amenities. For food, just walk 5 minutes down the beach to Playa Banca restaurant (which has good service and food), or take a 30 minute walk along the beach and golf course for lunch to La Cana (also good). The breakfast buffet at the lobby restaurant will be fine because there is minimal wait staff interaction.

I wish the hotel management and staff the best as they work on this beautiful property, and thank them for helping us have an awesome vacation.

Room Tip: Room 402 is the best room in the hotel. Top floor right on the beach with wrap around porch and uno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Petelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Petelock:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel and we are glad that; overall, you enjoyed Puntacana Resort & Club.

We apologize for the problems you encountered. Some of the issues that you stress on like shuttle service, restaurant service, management presence, the bathroom door, etc. we have already addressed and as you can see by reviews of the last few weeks are no longer issues.

We are happy that you have seen the great potential the hotel has and as you say we expect to be one of the top hotels in our region very soon. Like you, many people have made great comments about the physical aspect of the hotel with very good comments on things like pool and beach equipment, condition of the hotel, balconies, etc. but we are most proud of the comments been made of our wonderful staff who are showing our guests true Dominican hospitality.

We hope that one day you and your family will return to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

While the first impression from the lobby of this hotel is magnificent, one must be very careful in this resort. I found the problem associated with the food greatly compounded by the absence of a bathroom door. While our family enjoys doing most things together on vacation we found the lack of a bathroom door unnerving.

Room Tip: Ask for the other view
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear William L:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel, we thank you for your feedback.

We apologize because you were not happy with the food in the hotel during your stay and you were inconvenienced by the lack of a bathroom door. We have worked hard to improve on the food and have had improved comments and the bathroom door issue will be resolved, we start to do that work next week.

We hope to see you back one day at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#101 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#6 of 110 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.3 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#20 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing