We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property to stay in, Newest on the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We, recently stayed at this property, I can attest that this is the newest and in my opinion for the price is the best property to stay on the island. There may be little things that get in the way of usual american resort experience, however after getting out of the property and touring island and comparing it to other properties you understand how wonderful this property is.
To other reviews that had described certain things as an unpleasant experience, it appeared to all of us that this is just the way things are done, and you can't fit everyone in a same mold.
Please understand that this is different country with different culture. Staff is excellent and is always striving to get better, that includes everyone, people at kids club, towel service, wait staff at both restaurants, especially i'd like to express gratitude for excellent service to head waiter Juan Bautista, Noel Gaston as our regular waiter, Yonatan Sanchos and Sergio Silva. Again if you are not a fit for a "traditional" all-inclusive experience and can afford this property - This is the place to be.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, however i think that west wing rooms can be more sheltered from the wind...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear dema K:

Thank you for your taking the time to review our new hotel.

We are happy that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the experience at Puntacana Resort & Club.

We are especially happy about the comments you make of the great staff that we have and will make sure that a copy of your review goes to the Human Resources file of Juan, Noel, Yonatan and Sergio.

We hope that you will one day return to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,012)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for a week during the Christmas holiday. Overall, the stay was great, service attentive and very friendly. The hotel grounds and rooms were very clean, bed was extrememly comfortable. The room is sound proofed very well, noise from the hall, outside and adjoining rooms was nonexistant. There is a variety of food choices at each restaraunt, everything was very well prepared. Pool and beach are fantastic and very relaxing.

Staff was very attentive, albeit a bit slow. Communication was sometimes an issue although we spreak fluent spanish and engish. Big shout out to Franklin and Ramon for excellent poolside service!! Make sure to have an Franklin get you a large iced coffee with cinnamon, it is delicous!

If you go with the mind set that things will be very slow the you will have a great time. Since the hotel just opened 12/19 I imagine speed of service will improve. Also, make sure to check your room bill carefully. The servers are not acclimated with the computer system yet and we were substantially overcharged. However, the errors were all corrected at check out in a pleasant manner. Poolside walking can get very slippery, especially if it showers, so be aware. Also, if you rent a cabana, there is very little privacy, except within the cabana itself. Perhaps in the future this section of the pool can have some sort of roped off area, at least outside of the pool. One last thing, the shuttle will never run on time. If you are requesting the shuttle to go anywhere, request it 20-30 minuntes prior to when you actually need it. I think this is more of a cultual thing than an issue with the hotel. Wifi is very spotty.

We enjoyed ourselves very much on our trip, despite the growing pains of the hotel. No we had no major issues, just several small things that could be anticipated with the grand opening of a hotel..

We look forward to visiting again this year to relax and enjoy all the improvements we anticipate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Bullins23:

Thank you for your taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are happy that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the experience at Puntacana Resort & Club and about the comments you make of the great staff that we have and will make sure that a copy of your review goes to the Human Resources file of Ramon and Franklin.

We apologize about the issues you had with billing, Wi-Fi, shuttle and slow service but as you say in your note these have improved since we opened.

Thank you for your comments on the way we operate the pool cabanas, we are analyzing your comments to see if we can do it differently to give more privacy to this area.

We are happy that you are planning on coming back to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, just to help you hurry up and make your next reservation the weather in Boston is now 14F and here in Puntacana its 82F!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Our 7-day visit ended just 3 days ago and our satisfaction lingers on. Our stay was an unqualified success, and not just because an establishment of this level (high) has succeeded in making it within the very first month of operation, but also because getting it right in developing countries is usually very challenging.
From the ample size of the room and its terrace to the welcoming pool area, the sensational beach and the exquisite food, there was nothing to dislike about the Westin and a lot to admire and applaud.
Special kudos are in order for both the Executive Chef, Santiago Salamanca and his assistant Manuel Abreu, for their attention to detail as regards the cuisine. We are especially grateful for their offer to prepare a special dinner based solely on local cuisine after we approached them to express our desire to have some of it. The dinner was a roaring success and we hope they incorporate it into their standard menu.
Although the Westin fare at both of its restaurants is enough to satisfy the most exigent palate, a 5-minute walk north on the sandy beach on which the hotel rests there is Playa Blanca Restaurant, also excellent and with the possibility of enjoying fresh and beautifully coked fish near the shore for lunch, and indoors at night. Well worth visiting it.
Also, short rides away you will find fine dining at both Bamboo, in Tortuga Bay, and La Yola at the Marina.
Proximity to the airport, though beyond earshot, is also a great plus.
We will definitely return with more members of our family in short order/

Room Tip: Though all rooms afford a great view of the pool and the beach, the more advantageous views are from...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Carlos60750:

Thank you for your taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are happy that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the experience at Puntacana Resort & Club and that Santiago, our Chef and Manuel, our Assistant F&B Manager were able to accommodate you in regards to local foods, which coincidentally they are currently considering entering into our menus.

We hope to see you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel from 1/3/14 - 1/11/14. The Westin is literally 2.5 km from the airport which is great and you won't know it. No noise at all. The landscaping is young and needs to mature but will look beautiful in time. It's hard to fault the property for that and there is a lot of upkeep going on. Nothing is neglected. There's nothing immediately to the sides of the property but raw land and some construction staging on the other side. This was not an issue for us as there's no noise and I am sure will change with time. You only see it if you glance out from the walkway to beyond the property as you go to your room. No big deal as it is not visible from anywhere else. Pool and beach area are gorgeous.

We are Starwood Preferred guests and were upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool area. We did ask for a better view and the manager Juan Manual Flores was very gracious about it and we moved to a room with a view of the ocean and pool area. When ever he saw us he asked us how things were going. He is quite an asset for the Westin as he truly cares about his guests. One morning we missed the shuttle to the spa and he got his car and drove us over there so we wouldn't miss our massages. That is unheard of in today's world.

The hotel just opened before Christmas so it's still working out all the kinks but I found the staff very deferential and helpful. No attitude like at the Westin in Cancun.

Our room was spacious with a nice walk in closet area and bathroom that ran the length of the room with double sinks and a nice large shower. It was nicely appointed and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon. There are plenty of chairs and a nice chaise lounge. We hosted several happy hours in our room.

The in-room cable TV is a flat screen that can be turned so you can view it from the bed and it has everything you would want to watch. WiFi was great throughout the property and worked great pool side.

The pool area is breath taking as is the beach. The beach is a short walk from the pool area. The beach area is well kept with lots of umbrellas and high quality lounge chairs. The staff is plentiful and takes care of all your needs. You only get one towel but I bet this policy will change in time as it's a little impractical. But exchanging towels is easy and effortless.

You are a 5 minute walk away from Playa Blanca and I highly recommend it for lunch or dinner. You can take the free shuttle but the walk is some much sorter and the view is great.

There are 2 restaurants on site. The one by the beach is more scenic in my opinion. The breakfast buffet is $20 and worth it. There's all the typical stuff and an omelet bar. The dinner Buffett is also $20 and not bad. The buffets are the best deals for meals. Otherwise the menu is pricey and the food is average. But we were hard pressed to find any real good restaurants in the area. I posted reviews separately. In my opinion the 'Village' which is a free short shuttle bus ride away is a tourist trap with the exception of one restaurant - El Tablao. The others had attitude and high prices.

There are also 2 bars - one in the lobby and one by the pool bordering the beach. It is charming and a great spot for an afternoon drink. Prices are what you would expect from a resort.

The lobby has an on site tour operator - Gray Line Tours and the guys there were great. We did 3 tours. I highly recommend the zip line tour - the one with 12 platforms and the all day side by side ATV buggy and catamaran tour with meal. Both tours were awesome and our typically screamish wives had a blast.

I thought the location of the Westin was quite good and conveniently located to the Westin Spa and Golf Club where you have privileges. Free shuttles come on a regular basis and take you there or to Playa Blanca and the Village. There's a great modern grocery store at the back end of the Villlage called the Nationale. It has everything! We stocked up on beer (Presidente is the local brew), rum, snacks, fruit, crackers, cheese etc. well worth the trip.

It seems like 99% of the resorts are all inclusive. This makes sense as good restaurants are hard to come by. But Jelly Fish, Playa Blanca, Bamboo and La Yola at La Cana Club are some of the memorable ones in addition to the ones already mentioned. And we prefer the freedom to choose as I doubt that the food at the all inclusives can be all the great - but I am only basing this on my observations of trying lots of places over the course of 8 days. Being from Southern California doesn't help as we are used to good reasonably priced food. There is also nothing particularly unique in the way of island cuisine - unlike Jamaica and other islands we have been to.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Westin and would come back. I think the Westin will blossom into an extremely nice resort property and I am glad we were there before it really takes off as the destination resort in the DR.

Room Tip: Get a room as close as to the beach as possible. You don't need to pay for a beach view. You get...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajmarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear ajmarton:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the facilities of Puntacana Resort & Club.

We are very happy that you got exceptional service from Juan Manuel of whom we have received many great guest comments.

You are correct about your notes on the landscaping, we are happy to tell you that you can already tell a difference from when you left.

We are also analyzing the comments you make about the towel policy and we will pass your note to the owners of restaurants in Puntacana Village because unfortunately you did not have a great perception of them.

We hope to see you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Wonderful resort. Staff is absolutely excellent. In all my travels, I have never met such wonderful people. Manager Juan is EXCELLENT. Hotel is brand new, clean and very put together. I would recommend this hotel. The restaurants on the resorts are Excellent. They take you with a shuttle. BAMBOO RESTAURANT IS A MUST.

Room Tip: all rooms have a wonderful view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Margie497:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel and of the comments you make about the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Assistant Manager, Juan Manuel.

We hope to see you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our family of five was stuck in the Dominican Republic for 3 days during the Jet Blue pilot debacle from 1/3/14-1/6/14. We had originally been staying at Casa de Campo which was too far from the airport. We had to be close to the airport to catch a flight out in case Jet Blue was able to find pilots. The rooms were clean and beautiful and opened on to the courtyard which led to an infinity pool. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The food was fresh and fantastic. But the most amazing part was the service. We had left the hotel to try to board a flight for a third day in a row, when I realized I left my five carat diamond earrings in our room in the rush to leave. We called the manager, Juan Manuel Flores. He found the earrings, brought them through security and gave them to me before we boarded. We also had no idea over that three day period when Jet Blue would be able to fly us out and he kept our room open just in case, so we had some where to sleep. WHAT SERVICE!!!! It was a miracle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Kristen F:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel.

We are sorry you had so many problems getting back home but we are glad you were able to stay in our hotel and get to know Puntacana Resort & Club.

We are very happy that you got exceptional service from Juan Manuel who has been a great employee of ours for many years.

We hope that your next vacation to the Caribbean will be to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Westin from Dec 27-Jan 4th got an extra day because of the snow storm in NYC. They were only open for a week when we arrive - so this was soft opening and they are still working on property landscaping and final touches in some rooms.
Local is great - beach is perfect and each room had a patio and face the pool area or the ocean.
If you are on the 1st floor you can walk from your patio to the pool! While the staff is still being trained you could not fault them for not trying!
This is the real Punta Cana not Bavaro area so no rows of hotel on a strip, just the Westin . You have the village which is 5 mins away a few shops, supermarket & 6-10 restaurants/ bar that gets busy after. 6 pm- free shuttle until 10:30pm from the Westin

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malineann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear malineann:

Thank you for you taking the time to review our beautiful new hotel we are happy that you enjoyed Puntacana Resort & Club.

Like you, a lot of our guests staying in the 1st floor have made comments about how convenient this location because it is so near to the swimming pool.

We hope to have you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.9 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,860 reviews
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,021 reviews
10.0 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £110 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club sits conveniently in the Playa Blanca area of the Puntacana Resort & Club, which is a magnificent 15,000-acre resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. We offer a great setting minutes from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) and along 3 miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing