We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!! Beautiful Hotel and Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Trip!! Beautiful Hotel and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at the Westin for a golf trip. We had a large group of 33ppl and can say nothing but great things about the hotel and staff. Have a few reccomendations for improvent but overall thought is was a great trip. What made the trip was the fantastic staff and beautiful hotel with top notch golf courses.

Golf:
The Corales Club and La Cana Golf Club are great. In perfect shape, great service, run by two fantastic PGA Professionals (Jay Overtron and Jeff Neal) who took great care of our group.

Group Golf Cordinator:
Ireley Martinez coordinated our golf group and she is a star! What a wonderful amazing person! She made our trip perfect. She is a true asset to the Westin and the Golf Courses. She is the best!

Front Desk and Guest Service:
Fantastic service all of the time. Check-In and Check-Out very smooth and took hardly no time at all. Always smiling and very helpful.

Room / Hotel / Spa
Rooms are great! Very Very nice. Housekeeping did a great job. All the posts about Wireless not working was not the case when we went. It worked great all the time in the room, lobby, and restaurant. Hotel is beatiful, clean, and the pool is great!

Spa - Best massage I have ever had.

Restaurants:
Brassa Grill - My favorite! We enjoyed several great lunches and dinners at Brassa. What makes it special was the great staff. Sergio our lunch waiter was the awsome! He always took great care of us and provided fantastic service all the time even when it was busy and he had allot of tables. In the evening the two supervisors Annie and Juan Bautista were also great! They took very good care of us all the time with fantastic service. They remember your name each day and also our beverage of choice. Our server most nights was Christian Montillo. Another star! He was fantastic. Always providing great service and took excellent care of us. Brassa also has the best bar service.

Annani - We did not eat much here but all meals here were good. This is where breakfast is in the morning. There is a server Robert who will provided fantastic service and is working hard all over the place. Serving drinks and meals at every restaurant including the beach! Always checking on you and always remembered our name.

Food - This is where being a new they still have some work to do. I must say every lunch we had was perfect. Not one bad meal for the entire week. Tried a buch of things and all were great. For the most part all dinners where great. I think the kitchen needs some help at night. Food does take along time in the evening (not the case for lunch) and I do understand "island time' but it was to long on several nights. The servers where rushing around trying to keep everyone with a full beverage and happy and always working hard. A problem obviously does exsist in the kitchen at night with getting food cooked and to the table. Most dinner meals were average. Not bad, not good, just ok. For that price and a $150 to $200 meal for 2 counting beverage you just expect a better meal for the price. The "easy stuff" is great like burgers and pizza but when you get steak or fish it should be better.

Wine - Wine selection was ok. Not bad, not great just ok. Also ran out of Corona a few days. This is an area that could use improvement. House wines not that good.

Lobby Bar - The hotel really needs to step this up. We stayed away after the first night. Poor service and just not good. It is a very nice bar but just needs some direction from an expericienced bar tender.

An experieced F&B Director or Executive Chef could fix all these problems real quick due to having great hard working staff already in place. Just need the proper tools for success!

It think this hotel will be a 5 star property very soon. I highly reccomend this resort for a golf trip or just a vacation. The service side is already 5-star just need to kick start the food and beverage and it will be there. We will for sure be back!

Hope this review helps.

Jonathan from SC, USA

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear JonathanGolfer:

Thank you for taking the time to do such a thorough review of the new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

We are happy that you and your group enjoyed the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and especially our world-class golf operation as our goal is to become a “Golfer’s Paradise”

Your comments about Jay, Jeff and Irely are very appreciated; they are doing a great job in making our golf operation the success it is.

I also want to thank you for mentioning by name so many of our wonderful staff; a copy of your review will go in their HR file.

As I read your note I was thinking that it is amazing how many people say that they got “the best massage ever” in our Six Senses Spa as this comes from people that like you, have travelled and experienced massages all over the world.

We thank you very much for your very precise feedback on the F&B operation, there is no question that we must continue to improve in this area as we strive to have great comments about this in the future. I was especially concerned about your comments on the Lobby Bar as this is such an important area for golf groups so we will look into this right away.

Again, we thank you for your great feedback and we hope to have you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    281
    70
    32
    31
See reviews for
310
343
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Close to the airport (don't worry you don't hear or see the planes), this was a nice place to bring the family. We stayed for 5 nights, the staff goes out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. It was quiet, a sharp contrast to some all-inclusive experiences where its loud and overcrowded. Juan always had a smile and greeted us warmly whenever he saw us, it was much appreciated and made us feel welcome.

There's only a couple of places to eat, and its primarily the same as the room-service menu, very good, but standard, so if you want to venture out Playa Blanca is a short walk on the beach away, and you can take the shuttle to La Yola (we didn't get a chance to go there unfortunately) or to the Village, where there are a handful of restaurants. Some of the restaurant staff had trouble with English, but that's more on us than on them, since we spoke little Spanish. And the Village could use a few more shops to make the trips worthwhile, dinner takes more than an hour, just longer than the next shuttle back, so could use a few more things to pass the time while you are there.

We were in a suite, so very roomy and comfortable, and great views from the balcony of the pool and beach. Love the shower, and the beds comfy. My son was on the sofa bed and that was ok for him too. No problems at all with service, we left to go to the pool or beach and came back and the room was always made up. And if we called for towels or anything they were always prompt.

Pool and beach were quiet, and always a lounge chair available. Pool water was good temperature, not chilly, and both the beach and pool were close by so easy to go back and forth. Wait staff there for you for lunch or drinks.

Wifi great in the rooms, not so good at the pool but they were setting up wireless bridges by the beach so I assume good now.

Played golf there, they'll get you there and back without any hassle. Courses were in great shape.

Hope to be back there again one day.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Ron L:

Thank you for you taking the time to do a review of our new beautiful hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, services and the amenities offered to hotel guests in Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village. Thank you for your comment on the condition of our golf courses, we work very hard to keep them at a top world-class level. We are also encouraged by your comments about our great staff and of the exceptional service you received from Juan Manuel.

We hope that you and your family come back one day to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We took our 4 children here ranging in ages 18-7. The hotel staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spacious and pretty. The concierge hooked us up with the most fun excursions. I can't wait to go back!!! Our only complaint was there were no bathroom doors on the regular rooms. But I heard they are adding them so find out before you go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Fay4:

Thank you for you taking the time to do a review of our new beautiful hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and Puntacana Resort & Club!

You are correct in that we are already solving the bathroom door issue as we start work next week.

We are glad you are looking forward to coming back to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful experience for our honeymoon!

The hotel is new with a nice size pool and the backyard being the beach. How can you go wrong?

We were immediately greeted in the open air lobby by Carlos who was all smiles and set the tone for the great staff service we were to receive during our entire stay. We also received complimentary fresh squeezed juices too. The staff is bilingual in Spanish and English so no language barriers.

The room was spacious and had a balcony facing the pool area. It appeared all the rooms either faced the pool or the beach. The king size bed was firm and relaxing. The only weird part was having no door for the bathroom, but oh well.

Breakfast was spent at the Anani Restaurant each morning. Everyone was quick to keep the coffee, water and juices full. It was our first time having the Dominican style breakfast and man we were stuffed each time. We were really happy to have a fresh assortment of fruits such as passion fruit, pina, etc. We also had a chance to eat dinner their and received great service from Eben Ramirez.

We spent the entire day relaxing at the beach literally from sunrise to sunset while taking some breaks at the pool. The entire staff make it so easy to be pampered. The hotel has lounge chairs and umbrellas all set up on the sand. You simply pick and choose.

The Brassa Grill & Bar is just a few steps from the sand, but no need to walk to it since the staff happily comes to you. We received excellent service from Rogelio and Eduardo. They kept the cocktails coming, frequently checked on us without being intrusive and had smiling faces the entire time. When they were busy tending to other guests, Nathanel (the bartender) would walk out to the sand and cater to guest needs. A true team effort. He also kept a smile on his face and made DELICIOUS cocktails!

A couple times for lunch and dinner we ate at the Brassa Grill & Bar and had the delight of being served by Juan Bautista. He was a soft spoken gentleman that made you feel at home. He provided great food suggestions and really did something special for our last meal by having the chef cook a few homestyle Dominican dishes. Absolutely DELICIOUS!

A note for the hotel restaurants. We highly suggest providing more authentic or Dominican inspired dishes. It was comforting to have American style fare, but for those wanting to try something different why not add more local/national dishes to the menu.

Overall a wonderful experience. We left recharged, happy and smiling back on our experiences. Looking forward to coming back!

NZ&RD

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear R D:

First of all, congratulations on your honeymoon!

Thank you for you taking the time to do such a thorough review of our new beautiful hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and Puntacana Resort & Club!

We are happy that you were so pleased with our staff’s exceptional service; each one of the people you mentioned by name will have your review in their HR file.

We are already solving the bathroom door issue as we start work next week.

We hope that you will come back for many anniversaries at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Sure, this property suffered from some growing pains in its first few weeks, but the Westin is a first class resort. Beginning with Gabriella's smiling welcome and prompt service at reception, the staff here is friendly and eager to please. They work well as a team and take pride in their work. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the bedding is super comfy. While the beach has more seaweed than some, the staff rakes and removes excess daily. Heading south along the beach, you can walk for several miles. A 10 minute walk leads to the La Cana golf course, where there is another beautiful beach and pool along with a great restaurant only open for lunch. Calm surf made swimming a pleasure, and there were plenty of umbrellas and seating at the beach and around the pool. Shuttles to take you to the village and throughout the large Puntacana Resort and Club property were obsessively on-time. By staying at any hotel or home rental, you are entitled to enjoy all services of the 15,000 acre property and have the pleasure of signing for your charges everywhere. The full-service Nacional supermarket in the village has anything you'd need during your stay. Best meals during our week were at La Yola at the marina, Acentos Bistro in the village, and at Playa Blanca 2 minutes north on the beach. Don't miss the Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park near the marina just a short shuttle ride away. Admission is free for resort guests. You can swim in 3 freshwater lagoons, visit their petting zoo, see iguanas and beehives, and view turtle nesting sites. For me, what sets this resort apart is the developers' 35-year commitment to improving the quality of life of the local population as well as providing a first class tourist destination. This shows prominently in the pride the staff takes in their work

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful, but the sitting area is not totally separate from the sleeping area - thus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StardocJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear StardocJG:

Thank you for you taking the time to do such a thorough review of our beautiful new hotel and of Puntacana Resort & Club.

Thank you for mentioning, Gabriella at the Front Desk, one of our staff by name, your review will go into her HR file.

We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and resort facilities and were able to also enjoy our Ecological Park and Puntacana Village two features that make our resort so unique.

We hope to see you soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have stayed at many Westin hotels in the past 15 years and this one by far was the best. The hotel is 2 months old and is still working out a few kinks but I have never met a more friendly and aim to please staff like the staff at the Westin in Punta cana. From The Front desk Manager Yarik to The Executive Chef Santiago to the Restaurant staff Karla and Kassandra, they all made us feel like VIP's. The smiles on their faces and just the good mornings and good nights made our trip so special. The rooms are very nice and they are in the midst of putting up doors in the bathrooms in all rooms that did not have them(architect design flaw, they realized very quickly it was not smart and they are handling it now). Ervery room has a veiw of the pool and beach. The beach is beautiful. The pools are very nice as well. They have a great cigar bar and 2 very nice restaurants. The security at the hotel was top notch and not for 1 second did we feel unsafe. They have a excursion desk that was very helpful in setting us up every day. On premises they have Golf, Segway tours, horseback riding and jeeping. They also have swimming with the dolphins 10 minutes from the hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice. All rooms have a great veiw. 4th floor is the best b/c the floors are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear egellman:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the great feedback that you provided about the resort.

I am sorry I was not able to meet you and your family personally as I have been dealing with an injury that makes it hard for me to move around.

As you mention, we have started the process of putting in the bathroom doors and we will have it resolved very quickly.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you and your family again at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

this hotel has been open about 1 & 1/2 months, so with any new hotel there's a shakeout period. I tend to stay at 5star hotels around the world and have been to Punta Cana 6 times. some of the comments I've read are trivial or just wrong.
positive points: it is located on a beautiful spot with an expansive beach;
the staff is WONDERFUL, they couldn't be more helpful or pleasant (something you don't find in many Caribbean destinations) ; the hotel even has an English language instructor to help the staff with their language skills and most anyone I came in contact with spoke very good to adequate English;
there is an abundant supply of lounge chairs and umbrellas at both the pool and beach (unlike many resorts where guests are having to stake out a spot 1st thing in the morning);
the room I had was very spacious, with a king size bed, great mattress and pillows, the shower was fantastic ! and contrary to one comment I read there was plenty of closet space and drawers;
I contacted guest services at the hotel before arriving (spoke with Leyde), who arranged my transportation and 3 tee times and promptly called me back and verified everything in an email;
the property is obviously new and in good condition and staff was constantly cleaning the premises;
the rate I had was $300/night with breakfast for two, hard to beat at this quality a property;
the hotel runs continuous shuttles to other parts of the resort, including golf and to the Village where there are restaurants, shops and an excellent supermarket, free of charge.
my experience is that food in the D.R. is generally average, like many Caribbean destinations, except when you go to a Four Seasons or maybe a Ritz and pay 2 or 3 times the rate. the food at the hotel is good not great but i'll guess will improve, the bar however, serves a killer pina colada !
there is no question that we will be back next year ! I forgot to mention the weather was fantastic, always a gentle breeze and no bugs.

Room Tip: we don't have young children but if I did I would choose a room on the 1st floor, where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmatt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear cmatt43:

Thank you for the great feedback you have given about our resort in your review.

We are happy that you liked the hotel and especially are thankful on the comments about our great staff.

We have taken note about your comments on the food, our goal is that comments on this important aspect are great and we are working towards this.

We hope to have the pleasure to host you and your family again at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

PS – By the way…the weather in Puntacana today is 84F and gorgeous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#101 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.3 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana
#20 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing