We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet beach resort with superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The Westin is a brand new hotel located on the property of a very large, well established exclusive resort. All areas of the hotel and grounds were spotless. The few minor problems we had with the room's functions or amenities were immediately corrected by calling the service line on the room phone. The evening manager, Juan Manuel Flores went over and above his duty to help us. He made us feel like special guests and he seemed genuinely interested in learning what we thought could be improved. Being a new hotel, the public areas were nearly empty except for the copious diligent staff always tidying up. We never felt competition for pool or beach space. Plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. Beach was very private. No vendors or other nuisances. Some seaweed in and out of the water but not too bad. The staff rakes the beach to keep it pretty. Food and beverage service at the pool seemed adequate. I found the pumped-in music at the pool to be distracting while I was trying to read. I would prefer no music- but that's my preference. I travel with earplugs so I used them around the pool. Hot tub wasn't hot- they are working on it. This is definitely not a "party" resort. Almost no entertainment in the area. This was our first time in DR, and we were looking for a small, quiet resort, so this suited us. I felt very safe on the entire resort (I'm female) even when walking distances alone. No need for a car. Short taxi ride from airport. Bus shuttle service ran perfectly on schedule and goes to other restaurants, shopping, and Ingenious Eyes nature preserve (don't miss this- bring bathing suit for the lagoons-Westin guests get in free). Taxis available anytime. As the previous reviewers stated, the staff here is extremely friendly and accommodating. Most spoke English, but were happy to help us along with our Spanish when we tried to practice. The lunch waitstaff at the Brasa grill were particularly charming, and remembered our names and preferences. The food overall is OK. There needs to be some improvement in the menu and quality, but I trust that will come. Liked Playa Blanca restaurant best for dinner- short walk on the beach. Brassa Grill on the beach at the Westin for lunch. Nice breakfast buffet at Westin's Anini. We were advised to not drink the tap water, but if you call the service line you can ask for extra free bottled water for the room. The restaurants and bars charge for drinking water, which was a little annoying. It would be nice if they gave a large bottle of water with each meal. American dollars were accepted everywhere we went. Bring lots of small bills for tips. Change is sometimes hard to get. The restaurant bills will include an 18% tax plus a 10% service charge. I think this is standard in Punta Cana. According to my research, the 10% goes to the establishment and is split up in set percentages, depending upon the job, among all employed at that establishment at the end of the month. It is customary to add an extra tip for good service. It was my understanding that if you add it onto the bill it goes into this larger pool. We usually left cash for the extra tip. Our room (442) a "Starwood preferred guest" room on 4th floor was quiet, clean and spacious with very comfortable (2 queen) beds. However, I did not like the layout of the dressing/bathroom because, aside from there being no door, everything was located in one little space: closet, drawers, safe, bar/frig, sink, toilet, shower. Sharing the space with just one other companion seemed like a challenge. I understand they are putting doors on the bathrooms. Hopefully they will put the door between the toilet/shower and dressing area so one person can dress while the other uses the toilet or shower. Also, because of the U-shaped design of the hotel, most rooms look across to the rooms on the other side of the pool. If you sit on the terrace, you can look towards the water, but the views from inside are really pool courtyard views for the most part. If an ocean view is important to you, you will probably have to upgrade.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancingledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear dancingledge:

Thank you for taking the time to review our new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club and for taking the time to do such a thorough review.

We are happy you had a positive experience in the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village.

I am glad to hear your comments about the staff, especially Juan Manuel who gave you such exemplary service.

In regards to some of the constructive feedback you gave us, we are in the process of resolving the Jacuzzi, the doors will start to being placed in the bathrooms and we continue to work on improving our food offerings.

We hope to see you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I just spent five days at the lovely Westin Puntacana with my brother and friend. We had two rooms on the third floor. All rooms have views of the aquamarine ocean and the tall palms and the pool. Sitting on the balcony with the complimentary Cafe Santo Domingo the hotel provides was one of my favorite pastimes. We enjoyed thoroughly the breakfast buffets every singe morning at Anani restaurant and received wonderful gracious service from the most friendly and efficient staff every day. Everyone was so nice to us, but we particularly remember Juan Nivar, Jesus Perez, Ana Karen Tejada, Aracelis Placensio, and Damaris Alexis who greeted us with wonderful smiles each morning. At Brassa Grill, we also had the very friendly Juan Nivar wait on us on several occasions with his big smile and Noel Gaston whose great comedic personality made our dinners memorable! We enjoyed one night at Brassa Grill trying all the Dominican specialties on Dominican night when the hotel invites a traditional music group with a lovely dancing couple. The housekeeping staff was so friendly as well as those who we passed in the hallways. The pool guys and bar staff out by the pool also made is feel so welcome. We felt the hotel staff was more than accommodating and welcoming. As a guest at the premises for five days, we were greeted and recognized again and again and I was remembered by name which I know is something which the staff is taught to do, but at this property I really felt like the care was genuine. I will definitely return to the hotel again and recommend it to all my friends and colleagues. It's only minutes from the airport and the shuttle which brings guests to Punta Cana village and to La Yola and Playa Blanca restaurants is a wonderful convenience. If you want to go to Bavaro beach or the fascinating artisan market in Bibijagua, you only need to ask the gracious door staff for a taxi which is about 20-30 minutes away. This hotel is set apart from the "party" hotels of Bavaro beach and it is somewhat secluded so be prepared to pay for taxis if you wish to venture out. We highly recommend the Gray Line day tour to Saona island and the natural pool which is a crystal clear bathing area in the sea. It's inbelievable and includes both a catamaran ride, drinks and island picnic as well as a speedboat rode back to land. Saona is a "don't miss" as far as we are concerned. This tour and others are offered at the tour desk at the Westin. The last point concerning the fact that the rooms don't have bathroom doors was at first something we weren't sure how to deal with, but later became something which we laughed at and dealt with. It was a topic of laughter around the pool one day. One lady said she sends her husband out to the balcony and let's him know when to come back on the room. Anyway it's not that big a deal for most people. The hotel is a wonderful, safe place with controlled access and it is a nature reserve and the beach can't be beat! I can't wait to return soon! I'd say the hotel is at four stars right now heading for five within the year.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank RGeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear RGeist:

Thank you for taking the time to review our new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club and for giving such a thorough review of the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club, our Puntacana Village and the general area.

We are especially pleased that you took the time to mention so many of our staff by name, a copy of your review will go in their HR file.

In regards to the bathroom doors this is something that is already being corrected and you will see this in your next visit.

We hope to see you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My wife and I decided to go to the caribbean area for our honeymoon in the month of January. We looked around for the best locations, hotels, and prices but couldn't seem to find the right place. We finally found the Westin Hotel in Punta Cana as a wedding gift from our family. Place is very beautiful, service is outstanding, and best of all the area was very secluded from other hotels, which made the beach feel even more private. I will say that the prices inside the hotels are high. Bottled water in the hotel rooms are free, but when eating in the hotel's restaurant be ready to pay about 5 dollars for a bottled water. Since food prices were high we decided to go to a tourist area called the village. There we found great restaurants that were at a reasonable price. There is also a supermarket in case you need to make any purchases. I would also like to thank Sonia Charles for always providing us with great service at our stay in the hotel. Also Carlos and Jesus, who worked as waiters, made the trip even better by providing great service each time we ate in the hotel's restaurant. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to enjoy their vacation or honeymoon.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThrillSeekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear ThrillSeekker:

Thank you for taking the time to review our new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

We are happy you had a positive experience in the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village.

We are especially pleased that you took the time to mention so many of our staff by name, a copy of your review will go in their HR file.

We hope to see you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 1 week stay at this property. The hotel is brand new and has been open less than 2 months. The staff is more than willing to assist you in any way possible, but they are not very well trained,especially because of the language barrier. Please try to be patient as the pace is slower and they can only do one thing at a time. Annie Burbon was one of our servers who was just great and especially helpful since she spoke English very well. The pool area was beautiful, although the bar did not have a single chair for anyone to sit at. The suite we had was big and beautiful , but the terrace had absolutely no privacy. Most all of the rooms do not have bathroom doors so this might be a problem for some. One of my biggest complaints was the complete lack of entertainment both day and night. The hotel was a great place to relax but lacked personality. You have to leave the property for any sot of nightlife. overall we had a very relaxing week.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can afford it. Definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbodebobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Robbodebbobo:

Thank you for taking the time to review of the new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and that you appreciated the positive attitude of our staff.

We are looking into some of the design issues you mention, in regards to the bathroom doors, this starts being resolved this week. We are also to increasing the number of activities in our entertainment program.

We hope to see you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Beautiful property, beach and pool. Eager, polite staff. Slow service at pool (go to the bar to order). Nice rooms with a good view. Punctual shuttles. Close to airport. Perfect for an extended weekend stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTRAVELR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear CTRAVELR:

Thank you for taking the time to review of the new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and that you were happy with the shuttle system, the closeness to the airport and our eager staff.

Thank you for your feedback on the pool service, we are looking into that right away.

We hope to see you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If there was a possible way to give this hotel a negative rating I would. The rooms are very noisy, the food is disgusting, the beach is filthy and the staff is clueless.

I do not advise anyone who is used to staying at luxury hotels to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, so you do not hear the noise from the room above you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza_NYC_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Liza_NYC_1979:

Thank you for taking the time to review of the new beautiful Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

We are sorry that you have had a negative experience in our hotel; we are quite concerned about this because all the reviews we have been getting in the last few weeks have been extremely positive.

If you don’t mind, and you have the time, I would love to speak to you to get your feedback directly. If you could send me a phone # to call you at aabreu@puntacana.com I would greatly appreciate it.

We would love to get another chance to have you stay at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club and show you our true hospitality!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful in structure but the service and people that work there make it pefect! From the manager-Cesar Olica to reservation assistant Gabriela Hernandez to bell boy Yalencio Yan Michel -all made our stay the best!!!! Stop by the desk in hall to book day trips with JJ- He will point you in the right direction for a fun day- Enjoy!- Enjoy! Enjoy! ( I am green with envy that you are going!!)

Room Tip: One can see farther out in the sea from higher floors
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkey433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear sparkey433:

Thank you for taking the time to review of the new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club and for giving us such a great review.

We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and we thank you for mentioning some of our exceptional staff by name, a copy of your review will go in their HR file.

We hope to have you back at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
5.9 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,862 reviews
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#27 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,026 reviews
10.0 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £111 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club sits conveniently in the Playa Blanca area of the Puntacana Resort & Club, which is a magnificent 15,000-acre resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. We offer a great setting minutes from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) and along 3 miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing