We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New and amazing”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We visited Westin in January. The property is amazing. Airy, light, still very new but just perfect. When we arrived our room was not ready yet so we went for lunch to Tiki Bar on the beach. We booked suite and they gave us handicapped accessible. That by itself was fine but the location of the room was not good. We were above the Cigar bar so we could hear and smell everything till late night and at night someone was moving chairs above us or next to us. As the rooms have marble floor it was quite loud. We called the front desk and they said it is housekeeping in the middle of the night (?!). It was happening 3 nights in a row and the story was different every night. Other than that the property is really beautiful and all employees were really nice and pleasant. I would not hesitate a second to go back to this paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or suite not above the Cigar bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LZK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear LZK007:

We thank you for reviewing our new The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

We are glad you enjoyed the property.

We apologize about the fact that you were not happy with the location of the room and about the noise problem that you confronted and especially the way the Front Desk handled your complaint. We have already looked into this to make sure to handle better in the future.

We are happy that you enjoyed “our paradise” and that you say that you would come back, hopefully you will come back soon!

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    291
    73
    33
    32
See reviews for
320
367
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

From the second we arrived here we were treated like royalty by every member of the staff. It is so unusual to find this level of service anywhere, I cannot imagine a more caring and concerned group of people. The rooms are lovely, the food excellent and the entire place immaculate. As for people complaining about some of the poor english, maybe they need to be reminded that the language here is Spanish and not everyone in the world is fluent in English. Having said that, we never had any issues in communicating our desires to the staff. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear travellinghopefully:

We are happy to hear that you felt treated like royalty at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to speak so highly of our staff.

We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the food and the general condition of the resort.

Just like you can’t wait to come back…we can’t wait for you to come back!

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great trip.Hotel was lovely with great rooms and the internet was particularly good i found.
Exceptional staff included Gabriella at the front desk Robert and Jorge and Virgil at the restaurant but everyone was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panda416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear panda416:

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and giving us such high marks! Thank you for your comments about our staff, and mentioning some of them in your review, those mentioned will get a copy of your review in their HR file.

We hope to have the chance to have you back soon at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

spacious rooms with great view and a nice building and garden.
however guest room is missing some important details: no bathroom doors which is irritating if you dont travel alone and we only received a toilet brush one hour after we have asked for it.
staff is generally friendly (especially Eduardo from the beach and hostess Ana) however level of english needs to be improved and some more training is needed. all prices are in USD and you still need to add 28% (VAT + service charge) however if you don't tip an additional 15% you are strangely looked at which is a pity.
funny enough that when i ordered a stir fry for dinner from room service, i was called back after 10 minutes and informed that the kitchen ran out of rice (seriously!?). as I was not offered any alternative, i just asked it to be prepared with pasta instead but the quality wasn't very good.
the place still has a huge potential and hopefully management will succeed in training their staff and improving the quality of food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenzwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Wenzwei:

Thank you for taking time to review our new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

We are glad you liked the rooms, their view and the beauty of our nature and gardens.

In regards to the doors in the bathrooms, these have already started to be installed and we will have them in every room in the next few weeks.

Thank you for singling out some of our staff, a copy of your review will go to their HR file. We continue to train our staff with and make it a point to concentrate on them improving their spoken English.

We are very concerned, and we apologize in regards to two comments that you make:

As you state, food and beverage bills have 28% in legal tax and service. Anything else that the guest wishes to leave is what we call voluntary tip but this is completely to the guests discretion to do and in no way should any of our staff react to someone leaving, or not leaving, voluntary tip. We will address this immediately with the staff, as it is very important to us that a guest does not feel pressured in this regard.

The incident with the stir-fry is completely unacceptable and I cannot even respond to that other than to apologize because this should not have happened.

Again, we appreciate that you see that we have potential, we thank you for your valuable feedback, which will help us improve and we hope that in the near future you come back to the Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My family and I had a great vacation while staying at the Westin Punta Cana! The hotel was in great shape especially when considering that they had only been open for 6 weeks before we visited.

The room we had was beautiful and very comfortable for a family of four! Our room had a bathroom door. There was plenty of space for luggage and unpacking.

The service in the hotel was terrific. Servers such as Christian Montillo, Jonatan Acosta, Ramon Valdez and Juan Bautisto were friendly, attentive, talkative and personable. They remembered our names, interacted with our children, and tried very hard to please us at all times.

Morning yoga on the beach with Activities Director Gerdes R. was definitely a highlight for me. The classes were very basic/beginner level but I loved being outside and enjoying the sounds of the ocean while stretching and also clearing my mind. Gerdes is wonderful! He is always looking to please his guests, receive feedback and continuously improve.

We would have liked to have seen more breakfast options as you can only have a sit-down breakfast in one restaurant and there are no other choices (or coffee in the lobby - though I did mention this to them). We really enjoyed dinner in the Village (Mamma Luisa's and the Burrito place), as well as lunch at La Cana Golf Club. Keep in mind that for all food on property, there is a 10% service charge on all food PLUS 18% tax. We also left several dollars for each server for good service. Come prepared with single dollars for this purpose! Ask for kids menus if you have children. They did not seem to be offered without asking but are available at all of the restaurants and by the pool.

During a couple of nights during the week, the restaurants offer a Dominican Buffet Dinner and some vendors (8-10) set up on the beach. This was the only time we saw souvenirs for sale. If you are not interested, try to completely avoid their area because the vendors were a bit relentless.

Although the hotel was at full capacity for several of the days during our stay, we never had difficulty finding chairs at the (very large and clean) pool or on the beach. As some of the previous posters mentioned, there is some seaweed in the water and on the beach. The staff is diligent about raking up and removing any on the beach at the tide-line but there are some patches in the water which can be avoided.

The Ecological reserve was a great experience. My kids loved the natural swimming holes and we ended up walking back to the golf club along the beach where we had lunch and then caught the shuttle back to the Westin. The dive shop at the former Punta Cana resort is moving next to the Westin which will be a good addition for guests of the hotel for watersports like snorkeling and scuba. Presently, you can rent kite surfing equipment (and lessons?) as well as paddleboarding right on beach between the hotel and Playa Blanca restaurant but there are no other options yet.

Massages at the spa (located at La Cana Golf Club) were great! There is also a lovely pool there that guests of the Westin can use (no umbrellas though), as well as a small game room with foosball and pool - and a restaurant open for lunch. My 8 and 10 year old kids were not interested in the kids club but it seemed they had good activities. You can interject a trip to the Ecological Reserve, spa, and excursions to break up the pace a bit for a family. There is an excursion desk in the lobby that is run by a third-party company. They had many trips to choose from but it may be worthwhile to also search online for other companies’ offerings as well.

This was a quiet and relaxing vacation. We had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 321Steph_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear 321Steph_H:

Thank you for taking the time to do such a detailed review of our new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club! Your review will be very helpful to many future guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village.

We are sorry that you found the vendors relentless, we will address this with them and make sure they do not cause this impression.

We also thank you for mentioning by name some of our wonderful staff, those mentioned in your review will have a copy of your review placed in their HR file.

We are happy that you pointed out your great experience at our Six Senses Spa, we receive fantastic comments about our spa and we will make sure that the staff there knows that you were happy with their services.

Again, thank your time, positive feedback and we hope to have you back soon at the Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a wonderful vacation at the Westin. The staff was extremely courteous. Leslie was especially wonderful checking us in. We had two reservations, we had to change plans quickly to avoid a snowstorm at home. We were able to get into our room early which was a Godsend after traveling overnight.

Carmen and Viktor at the cigar bar were wonderful. They were so courteous and welcoming.

We had a great time and we will definitely return to the Westin.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was a wonderful room and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Eileen H:

We are glad that you enjoyed our new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club and that you have such positive feedback of some of our staff, which will have a copy of your review placed in their HR file.

We are especially pleased about your comments on the Cigar Rum & Coffee Bar, which has received so many great comments, it really is a nice cozy bar for people who want to enjoy a cigar, have a drink or simply have a cup of coffee.

Hope to see you back soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a great new property. Everything was extremely clean and staff was very friendly, especially Sergio at Brassa (beach side restaurant), he was exceptional! Hotel very conveniently located just 2 miles from the Punta Cana Airport. We took a taxi to the hotel for $20, which was the same price as the shuttle. Plenty of room at the large pool and at the beautiful beach. No racing to reserve a spot at the crack of dawn, good spots were still available after we finished breakfast. Best part of the beach was the privacy – no one bugging you to buy a necklace or braid your hair. Rooms were clean and beds were heavenly. Sat on balcony and enjoyed view of the ocean. Maid service was prompt – had to make up hideaway bed for my son. They were at the room within 5 minutes with sheets and pillows. The free shuttle service to Punta Cana village, La Cana Golf Club and the Ecological Reserve (go swimming in the crystal clear lagoons) was an additional plus. It enabled you to get off the properly without needing a car and there were plenty of shuttles so you didn’t feel stranded. Already starting to plan our trip back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Brian H:

Thank you for taking the time to review our new Westin Puntacana Resort & Club!

We appreciate the positive feedback you have given us and we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel, Puntacana Resort & Club and our Puntacana Village.

Among other things it seems you really appreciated the privacy of our beach, which is one of the comments we are receiving more often.

We are glad that you already are planning your next trip to our resort and just to make sure you speed up making that reservation, as you know the weather now in Perkasie is 14 degrees and here in Puntacana we have a balmy 82 degrees!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.9 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,744 reviews
7.4 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#32 of 111 in Punta Cana
367 reviews
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#21 of 111 in Punta Cana
12,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing