We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As a frequent business traveller, I familiar with all the major hotel brands and the experience that I had with my family for a week at this Westin was unbeatable! Starting with upgrading our room for our family of 6 to a suite to the consistent courtesy and friendliness of the entire staff. The food at the restaurants was above average and we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. To our advantage the hotel was not crowded at all due to it being off-season, we had the pool and the beach almost to ourselves. We were not focused on staying busy with activities every day and this resort fit our needs perfectly. Besides relaxing at the resort we still took advantage of swimming at the lagoon at the eco park, scuba diving, visiting the Villages and the San Juan Plaza. The ages of my family included 24, 16, 15 and 9 months and it will always be a treasured vacation that I would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Every room faces the pool and the ocean so it is hard to have a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear David F:

We are happy that you had such a great experience in our hotel and that you took the time to review our hotel and give us such high marks, we appreciate this.

We are glad that we were able to upgrade your family, that you enjoyed the pool and beach, the food and other areas of Puntacana Resort & Club as the eco lagoons, the scuba diving among others.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope that you return soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

first thing first if your looking for a relaxing , quiet vacation with beautiful scenery friendly staff this is it spent 4days here with my family had the time of my life from front desk to pool staff were excellent special mention to sergio , luigi , jonathan thank u for the wonderful hospitality will definately return ps when there go to the pirate show its awesome :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo12011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mo12011:

We are glad that you had such a great peaceful stay in our hotel and resort.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Also for singling out some of our employees by name, they appreciate that.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the Pirate Show excursion; we continue to hear very good comments about this.

We hope to have you back in our resort soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have stayed in a few all inclusives hotels in Punta Cana, none compare to the beautiful and peaceful stay we had here. I highly recommend to anybody looking for beauty, great service and an overall zen feeling! A spa is a must too!!! the beach was crystal clear with sugar on your feet
:) Will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear roxy c:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to recommend to others to come and stay with us.

We are glad you liked the overall beauty of the resort, the overall service and that you compare us so favorably with other hotels in the area.

We hope to see you back soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I spent 7 amazing days at the Westin. Being SPG Platinum guests, we were treated with extra attention and upgraded to a large suite for the entire stay. Wow, what a suite it was! Beautiful and spacious with an amazing ocean view balcony. The staff was incredibly kind and willing to help. The resort itself is brand new and shows it with cleanliness and style. Luckily, the resort seemed pretty empty and even had the entire beach to ourselves at one point. There is a beautiful gazebo over the water where I received a massage that was heavenly. The restaurants were pretty good and we really enjoyed Dominican night! There is a complementary shuttle that takes you to Punta Cana Village, which has many different restaurants and shops. It also takes you to the Eco Reserve, which is free to Westin guests. Another great perk is we were able to charge everything to our room. There was no need to carry credit cards around the resort! All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing trip!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Brett T:

We are glad that we were able to upgrade you to a suite and that you found it enhanced your experience.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the very positive feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of the resort like the staff, the Six Senses Spa massage you got in the beach, Dominican Night, the Eco Reserves and the facility of having a shuttle take to our Puntacana Village. Also the convenience of being able to charge everything within the resort grounds to your room.

We hope that we will see you again soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just returned from an amazing stay. The staff was incredible. The extra care by Yarik at the front desk and Leydi from concierge really made sure our stay was a special one.

My wife's birthday occurred during our stay and Yarik, Leydi and the rest of the staff really made it a special occasion. As a platinum member I have stayed in a lot of Westin hotels and none of them put in as much care to ensure everything was perfect.

My 5 year old little girl loved the hotel, especially the pool, ocean, zip line excursion, pirate dinner and the ecological lagoons.

The food was good but could use a little more variety at the different restaurants. We really enjoyed the Dominican buffet. The bartenders are great and make phenomenal rum punch and caipirinhas.

One negative is the cost to/from the airport since the hotel is 5 minutes away. I thought they would have a shuttle, especially for loyal SPG members.

If you are traveling with little ones I highly recommend a suite. Plenty of room to relax when they go to bed early and the balcony has beautiful views of the pool and ocean.

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel, that is quite, takes good care of you so you can just relax and unwind, then I highly recommend staying here. If you need lots of activities this is not the hotel for you.

If we return to the Dominican we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: If traveling with family get a suite. Go for a top floor because it can be a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear m3006:

Thank you for giving us such positive feedback on our hotel and resort.

We are glad you felt that our staff really cared about your stay and demonstrated our true Dominican hospitality.

We are glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay like the celebration of a special occasion, the lagoons in Puntacana Resort & Club among other things.

Thank you for your constructive comments on a couple of issues, which we will look at closely.

We hope to have you back soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Westin Punta cana was an amazing experience. Every room has a view of the water and the property couldn't be more immaculate. The beach and pool areas are beautiful and well worth the days of lounging. The staff is very friendly and helpful, we ate at both restaurants on the property everyday and we loved the experiences. I'll admit that they aren't the speediest people but we were on vacation on an island so it never really bothered us. I would recommend waiting until you get to the property to book your excursions. Most places wanted to charge us extra for transportation when we tried to book in advance , however, the Westing has an excursion desk that allowed us to book the same excursions without the transportations surcharge. The only downside is that there is no real "nightlife" on the property and the nightlife places such as the hard rock are a $120 cab ride from the Westin. But for one night it's no biggie. The peace and quite and lovely rooms were well worth it. While you're there explore the Puntacana property its beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gatorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear gatorj:

We are happy that you had such a great stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and give us such a high score.

We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience.

In regards to the nightlife, you are right in that if you are looking for more action, casino, etc. you have to go off property, although we have a great bar in Puntacana Village called Punta Cava which has a very nice ambiance and you can reach this with the hotel shuttle.

We hope that you will return soon.

Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Westin Punta Cana in early June 2014, just 5 months after the resort opened. There was still a bit of construction going on, but it did not at all distract from the beauty of the hotel, which is located directly on a private, pristine white sand beach. The lobby opens onto a dazzling set of pools, beyond which is the beach. The food was good, but pricey, and some of the more established restaurants, like La Yola, are worth venturing out of the resort to explore. The resort has a free shuttle bus that travels to La Yola, a shopping center with grocery and restaurant amenities, and other nearby hotels on an hourly and half-hourly basis. Staff was very friendly and attentive. We had a great trip and recommend The Westin Punta Cana for a quiet, beautiful Caribbean vacation getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arw225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear arw225:

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.

We apologize that we were doing some pending repairs while you were here, but we are glad that it did not distract your vacation.

We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and other areas of Puntacana Resort & Club such as La Yola restaurant.

Hopefully you will come back soon.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
5.9 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 113 in Punta Cana
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,437 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
10 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Playa Blanca at Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £157 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club sits conveniently in the Playa Blanca area of the Puntacana Resort & Club, which is a magnificent 15,000-acre resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. We offer a great setting minutes from Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ) and along 3 miles of white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing