We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous beach- improvement needed in other areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach- improvement needed in other areas”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Westin Punta Cana for four nights/five days at the end of July. It was a great vacation. We enjoyed the hotel, even with a few issues that need to be addressed.
As background, we have been to most of the Westin resorts in the Caribbean. We enjoy a laid back vacation and love a good beach and good food.
PROS:
We liked the quick ride from the airport. The fee of $20 per car was well worth it. The hotel driver met us at the airport and brought us directly to the hotel….no stopping at any other spot. Good service.
Hotel beach is beautiful. Soft, cool, white sand and lovely greenish blue water. Yes, there is some seaweed but nothing too bad. The men rake it up all day and it made us feel a bit uncomfortable sometimes as we lounged at the beach and they worked so hard making the beach nice for us. We tipped them and I felt it was appreciated.
It was nice not to have lots of noise from jet skis and it was very quiet and peaceful.
The employees at the hotel are all so kind and friendly. They always have a smile on their face. We enjoyed meeting many of them.
The double room we were given (201) is really big and has a glorious view of the beach. It was spotless clean and the maids did a nice job cleaning it up each day. There were lots of outlets and the wifi worked well. There are some ideas to improve the room that I will address below.
The pool is fabulous. It is clean and not crowded. You do not need to rush down to the pool in the morning and secure a chair for the day.
The hotel shuttle worked well for us. I am not really sure that the timing is always followed but the shuttle always took us where we needed to go and picked us up at certain times. It is a free service.
We felt safe at the Westin and all around the Punta Cana complex. I never was approached on the beach by someone selling anything.
We ate at La Yola and Bamboo within the resort complex. We liked these and felt they were okay…nothing spectacular but okay. Nice for a change of pace from the hotel though. (see below)

CONS:
The service at the beach is inconsistent. You might wait an hour for the drinks you order from the server or the drinks might arrive within ten minutes. You never know.
My BIGGEST complaint: the bathroom situation in the room is just odd. There is no door between the room and the bathroom. There is a frosted glass door that does not extend to the floor/ceiling that is used to partition off the toilet and shower area but otherwise the room is open. This is uncomfortable. The few drawers for clothing are in the bathroom. I think that the bathroom issue really needs to be fixed. We have been to lots of hotels and have never seen a situation like this. Can’t imagine why it was built like this.
The few drawers for clothing are in the bathroom and the furniture in the bedroom needs to include a dresser with some drawers. There is plenty of room for it. Really need more drawer space in the actual bedroom.
The doors to the bedrooms do not fully seal at the bottom. There is a large gap under the door which allows large bugs to come into the room and precious air conditioning to get out. This could easily be fixed. Also, the rooms are accessed via an outdoor hallway so the hotel is mostly outdoors. It is fine but might be hard to use in the rainy times.
The food at the hotel is not good. Our first night we ate at Anani. It was a DISASTER. We ordered two salads that arrived wet and smelled like bleach. One bite was all we needed to know that the lettuce had been rinsed in bleach or some chemical and we were horrified. The waiter agreed and took the salads back. We then ordered a pizza to split between the two of us. It arrived after 20 minutes and was burned. Our waiter sheepishly said that he was so sorry and scurried off. I have never had a dining experience like this. On a positive note, the breakfast at Anani is good.
The food at the beach restaurant is better. The menu is limited but it was decent. Loved the servers at this place too.
Most of the servers at the hotel don’t speak much English. It helps to speak some Spanish.
There is not much to do at this hotel. Very,very quiet and perfect for us but if someone is looking for activity, this is not the place.
There is an empty lot beside the Westin. It is mostly filled with construction debris and takes away from the beauty of the resort. It needs to be cleared or at least have a tall fence between the hotel and it.

Overall, the hotel is beautiful and could easily be a shining star in the Westin chain. I hope that they will fix the bathroom issue and improve on the other issues noted and then, we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. The ocean front rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vacation209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Vacation209:

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a detailed review.

We are glad that you liked so many features of the hotel such as its location, the beach and pool, the attitude of our staff among other things.

Your comments about the room set up will be analyzed.

In regards of activities, we are conscious that we do not have too much in the way of night activities, but we are working on a couple of things that will improve this situation.

We are very sorry that you had bad experiences with the food at Anani and with slow service at the beach. Both of these are inexcusable and we apologize and guarantee you that we will take the corrective measures to make sure it does not happen to other guests.

Again, thank you for your time and we hope to have you back one day soon.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    281
    69
    32
    31
See reviews for
308
343
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I went to PC for my bachelor party and immediately noticed that this was more geared for families. As my buddies and I spent more time getting to know the staff they did an awesome job with great suggestions on what to do. Victor and Carmen at the cigar bar were simply amazing; always smiling. Manny and his team-Antonio, Mr. Lewis and the rest of the bar team made the best drinks and the best advice. Lastly, Yarik in guest services took special care of us and made sure all was well. Thank you for having such an awesome team.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahwa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Rahwa G:

We are glad that you decided to celebrate your Bachelors Party with us and that our staff was able to give you good suggestions on what to do.

Thank you for reviewing us so favorably and for mentioning so many of our staff by name, they will have a copy of your review in their HR Department.

We wish you a great wedding and we hope to have you come and celebrate many anniversaries and family reunions with us.

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I loved this resort. It was quiet and very private. The beach was beautiful and the water crystal clear. It is not family oriented. There is not a lot to do other than soak up the gorgeous Caribbean Sea and sun. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJP0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear KJP0920:

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are glad that you found it so relaxing.

We are thinking that when you say we are not family oriented, this could have been a typo as we have so many things for families to do and so many of our guests say that we are great for family vacations. If this was your true perception, I apologize for thinking it was a typo as we truly value your opinion.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. If you want to sit at the beach all day and do absolutely nothing then you might enjoy this place. Service was okay, VERY slow in everything they do and they do try to take advantage of you in some ways. (Thank you for charging me $9 for water when I asked for the $2 bottle!). Shuttle service was HORRIBLE! they do not follow their schedule and I was forgotten about twice, once waiting almost 2 hours for them! They drop you off at 'the village' at 6pm and don't come back until 9pm, ridiculous amount of time for somewhere that has nothing to do. Would not recommend eating at the hotel, menu is the worst I have ever seen at a resort, very small selection and overly priced plus food comes out cold and not appetizing. For nothing being around the hotel their menu should be much better. Lastly their gym is worse than a Hampton Inn! Very small with little in it. The beach is OK however they have a very big seaweed problem. There is seaweed all over the beach line, if you get there on a good day they may have just cleaned up the seaweed but better to stick by pool.
For being new I would expect much more from this hotel. I have stayed at many Westins as I am a Starwood member. I am very disappointed in this hotel considering how much it is to stay here. I would not come back nor suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kim C:

We are very sorry that you have left our hotel with such a bad impression to the point of not recommending people come here.

Our goal is that every guest has a great experience and that if someone is not having a great stay while they are here that we identify them and try to remedy whatever issues the guest has.

Thankfully the majority of the guest comments we are receiving are very positive, however, we have obviously failed in making you have a great stay or fixing the issues you had and we will take your letter to analyze what we are doing wrong.

I hope that you change your mind and you give us another chance sometime and if you do please contact me directly to make sure that you have a great stay.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Absolutely fantastic hotel with great and friendly staff. They treat you like family and take good care of you. Very clean hotel as well with a great pool and private beach. Only reason it's not 5/5 is because it's a little far from Bavaro Beach (25-30 minutes) with a $30 USD cab ride. Ouch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal_Hameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tal_Hameed:

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel, we are happy that you feel that we treated you like family, as this is our goal.

We hope to have you return soon.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The Good: hotel is well kept, very nice pool and the beach is really nice. The staff is friendly and eager to please. The rooms are comfortable. Very nice place if you're looking for rest and relaxation and not any exploration.

The Bad: hotel is part of a group of properties seemingly owned by the same owners. The hotel is isolated from anything not in the group of properties owned by this group. Taxi service from hotel is at least $20 per person per way to almost anywhere. Therefore, leaving the compound for dinner or any activity other than those arranged by Gray Line Tours (limited) makes little economic sense. Shuttle service is available to the Village, a small shopping area that does provide some alternatives, but interestingly, the shuttle is not available outside the compound during normal dinner hours, 6:05pm and 8:55pm. Thus, you are stuck within the compound or hotel for dinner. The food in the hotel is expensive and mediocre at best. The other restaurants within the compound are also expensive and the food is mostly average. Unless you rent a car there isn't much to see or do outside of the compound. Forget the taxis, cost is outrageous.

The Ugly: Four of us in our party and all were stricken with diarrhea. Almost certain it was the arroz con marisco (rice with mixed seafood) we ate at La Yola Restaurant in the compound. We all had the same dish and were sick within hours of eating this dish. Solution, see hotel Dr. at $150 per person plus meds. We chose to go to local pharmacy and were given antibiotics which took care of our problem.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ErnieL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear ErnieL94:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate it.

We are glad that you found so many positives in our resort, such as the rooms, pool and beach areas, and staff friendliness among other things.

We are sorry that you did not like that you had to pay for transportation to leave the resort compound although we believe we provide good shuttle service to the Puntacana Village and we receive a lot of good comments about this.

In regards to your report on getting sick in the resort we are somewhat confused as we found a review that you did of another restaurant in a hotel in the area and we believe you got confused in writing the review. If there is anything you can tell us for us to clarify this, we would appreciate it as this is something that we look at very closely.

We hope that you will return to our hotel another time.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from the Westin Punta Cana and have nothing but great things to say. We took our 6-month old son with us and everything couldn't have gone any better. The hotel staff is so accommodating and friendly. The airport is 5 minutes away and is only $20 total. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to other resorts, restaurants and shopping in the area. The food was fantastic at the resort. There is 18% dominican tax on all purchases on the island. Every room as a huge balcony and view of the pool and ocean. One of the nicest pools I have seen and the beach was great too with complimentary umbrellas and chairs. We even took our son to the gym every morning and associate Juan kept him company so we could workout! My wife and I have traveled to 10 or so Caribbean islands and resorts and this is right up there at the top!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberto A, Executive Director of Hospitality at The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear James G:

Thank you for taking the time to review us and to give us such a great review, especially since you have been to so many Caribbean destinations and we are happy that you rate us so favorably.

We are glad that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and the resort and we hope that you come back soon.

Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Puntacana Village
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#101 of 110 in Punta Cana
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
345 reviews
3.3 mi away
Essenza Retreats At Punta Palmera
2.8 mi away
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
#89 of 110 in Punta Cana
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing