We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience”
Review of Alsol Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alsol Del Mar
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had to resort accommodation at Alsol Del Mar in Punta Cana. From the airport we had problems . We rented shuttle with the operator Viator. The driver took us to a totally wrong destination , Punta Cana city opposite . We arrived at the wrong resort , then the reception of the resort that they called another driver. Neither the second driver did not know where to take us . He tried various other relevant sites , asking left and right where Alsol Del Mar resort could be. This resort does not have any indicator information on the highway or on road or even a Logo company on the frontispiece . I spent nearly 3 hours trying to find the resort where we would be staying .
I got a aprtament modern and very clean and well equipped .
When we wanted to eat dinner we had the second disappointment . The waiter us stretched a menu list on a sheet of paper crumpled list with very few options. I received the ordered dishes in an hour and a half. Food portions were very small and poor quality food . Mention that the ticket was all- inclusive and was not cheap at all. Being familiar with locations in Mexico where I was in previous years, all with the all- inclusive, this location was a big disappointment . Breakfast was meager and of poor quality . A family with children accustomed to consume milk and cereal morning meal, you will not find it. At this location you can not enjoy buffet lunch and the dinner. They do not have a spa or a fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Daniela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Daniela,

Thank you for your review. Although it is very dissapointing to receive negative feedback, we take your comments at heart and use them to take all the corrective meassures needed to ensure that service issues of this nature do not happen again.

Regardless, we are happy to know that you have enjoyed your room and accommodations, and rest assured that we are diligently working in having signage up to facilitate guests finding our location.

We remain at your service.

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
AlSol del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    186
    61
    24
    60
See reviews for
291
386
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent 5 nights at Alsol Del Mar, and it was the best vacation experience I've ever had. Super nice and helpful staff, 40 new rooms with fantastic view, unlimited delicious food and drinks, beautiful beach and infinite pool... Can't describe how much I love this hotel. For the price we paid for, it was twice or triple of our expectation. I certainly will choose Alsol Del Mar again and would recommend it to my friends!
One more thing, because this resort is fairly new, it only has 2 restaurants opened so far. They are both good, but if you want more choices, you can ask the concierge to give day passes to their sister hotel - Sanctuary, which is 10 mins walk from the beach/5 mins by car. You will have full access to the facilities and restaurants there with the passes:)

Room Tip: Try get a room on third floor to catch the beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mengxue X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Upon pulling into driveway and entering the lobby, you get the sense this is an amazing resort with a nice entrance similar to those at other luxurious boutique hotels in the Caribbean. The infinity pool was huge and kept clean. Rooms were well appointed - with memory foam beds that was very comfortable! Individual wifi in each unit! Staff was amazing and went our of their way to provide top service and make you feel at home! Outstanding employees were Jose Autoro and Sergio Gomez at the restaurant and Angel the bellman. Once this resort is fully up and running (they just opened 12/1), this resort has potential to be even more amazing. Right now, restaurant choices are limited and not all the rooms are ready to be occupied, and there is no fitness facility. Inclusions of the all- inclusive is also not laid out upon arrival, there was no butlers as advertised ( though not needed at this stage) and no water activities at this resort. Suggestions include an improved breakfast menu, room service menu in the rooms, and most importantly, the resort should provide shuttle service to Juanillio Beach or Caleton beach club since even though it is advertised to be beachfront, it is only a very shallow man made lagoon and not a real swim able beach with no water activities. This could be a deal breaker for most guests that book at this hotel and is easy to remedy with shuttle service.
All in all, this was a welcome change from the mega resorts in Punta Cana, and is quaint and personal with attentive service. I will return and hope my experience will only improve upon my return visit once the resort has more time to settle in and is fully operational.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Shhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one wonderful week at Alsol Del Mar! We look forward to a return visit and we do recommend this resort! Here is what I feel other travelers would want to know: this resort is located in Cap Cana on a beautiful coastline. It is a small resort which offers very personal attention to guests. The grounds and the property are well-maintained, clean, and offer modern amenities. The area of Cap Cana is a quiet gated community. We felt very safe at the resort and in this area. It is a 15 minute taxi ride from the Punta Cana airport and the cost is $30 one-way. It is very easy to get a taxi from the airport to the resort.
Beach: The beach Side of the hotel is beautiful! It is not a long walking beach, but there are other beaches very close by that allow for long walks. The beach lounge chairs are very comfortable and there are open structures to provide shade from the sun. We especially enjoyed the sunrise from the beach every morning!
Pool: The infinity pool is beautiful! It is just a couple steps off of the sand and allows you to really enjoy the ocean view while being in the pool. The pool is kept spotless. It has a gorgeous swim up bar. There is also a very shallow area at one end and a ledge around the deeper end if you just wanted to sit with your feet in the pool and enjoy the sun. The bartender, Herticio, makes great tropical drinks! Around the pool there are comfortable chaise lounges, tables, umbrellas, and a couple bed options. The pool is such a beautiful setting!
Rooms; we stayed in unit number 1302 which was a one bedroom apartment with a loft bedroom. We had an oceanview balcony and ocean view bed! Our unit had tropical feel, was clean and comfortable. The towels, linens and bedding were all quality products. The kitchen was top-notch appliances and countertop. At our request, beer and water was delivered daily. They also stocked three types of soda. We appreciated having coffee and a coffee maker right in our room since we are early risers. There is a huge walk-in shower that has two shower heads, one is rainfall and the other regular. We also saw one of their two bedroom units and their deluxe room accommodations. I would be happy in any of the units that we saw.
Food and restaurants: during our stay, only two of the restaurant options were open. Food is cooked to order and everything was fresh. There are different menus for different nights but lots of great options on each menu! We also quickly learned that Chef enjoys preparing specialty dishes that are not on the menu! We had great salads, fresh fish, Dominican and Mexican dishes and homemade soups. The ceviche at the lunch grill is the best! It is obvious that Chef enjoys making people happy with his cooking! Everything he made for us was outstanding!
Activities: The concierge will arrange tours and activities for guests but we chose to just enjoy the beauty of the property and the beach and the pool.
Staff: the staff is awesome! They made our week so special! They are very eager to please and always offer a smile and even a hug! Someone was always checking on us to see if there was anything we needed.
Overall this is a beautiful resort and a peaceful, romantic, tranquil place. There is no loud music and no vendors. Food is great, staff is awesome, views are incredible. If you're looking for place to party, this is not the place. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind and be at peace, this is a perfect option for you. I recommend this resort and I will soon be booking a return trip.
Feel free to send me a private message if you have any questions about the resort or the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
29 Thank bargainbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from the newest property of the AlSol family of hotels and I wanted to pass along my thoughts about it. The young, energetic and professional team of AlSol is once again putting together a 5 star experience for travelers right on the beautiful beaches of Cap Cana. This was originally a Sotogrande property and the economy stalled progress for a hotel operator to come in and make this piece of paradise a player within the Punta Cana area. Enter AlSol and the improvements they are making are not only full steam ahead, but this looks to be among the best places to stay for the peak season of 2013 and beyond. They are currently building out three restaurants - one seafood/Carribean out on the deck of the main lobby floor looking out to the ocean, a barbeque on the pool/beach and a five star Italian restaurant within the main building. They are enlisting a top chef who has been trained around the world to provide an outstanding dining experience in a location second to none. A sister property of Sanctuary (which is right next door), AlSol del Mar sits on the beautiful Carolina Beach. Units range from a standard studio with two queen sized beds to three bedroom suites. Most of the units have personal Jacuzzis and are equipped with full kitchens or kitchenettes. All of them have outdoor space. I cannot say enough about the staff and if you are looking for a relaxing getaway that has all of the amenities at a VERY reasonable price in an area that is second to none. Take advantage of this chance to get in on the ground floor of this new property before prices catch up to the rest of the Punta Cana hotels! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
31 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
3.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
35.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
3.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#81 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
65.8 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
15.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsol Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Del Mar

Property: Alsol Del Mar
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cap Cana, this 254,000-square-foot private beach complex features spacious suites ranging from Deluxe Studios to 2 Bedroom Suites, all finely designed with innovative architecture and Caribbeanstyle decorations. Guests can enjoy our beautiful white sand beach, large infinity pool with a swim-up bar that cascades into a serene hot tub area, complete with a gorgeous ocean view. Between the wealth of amenities we offer, the pristine facilities, and our devotion to exceptional hospitality, which is felt from the moment you arrive and are greeted by the spectacular panoramic ocean view in our lobby. These are just some of the many reasons why Alsol Del Mar offers guests the very definition of a luxurious Caribbean lifestyle. Conveniently located, Alsol Del Mar is just 15 minutes from Punta Cana International Airport, in close proximity of the famous Punta Espada Golf experience, which is considered the best golf course in the Caribbean, and near the Cap Cana Marina, which is considered one of the best in the world, accredited for its superior fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alsol Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing