We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, Relaxing week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alsol Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alsol Del Mar
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great, Relaxing week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

First off, what the heck was everyone complaining about?!??! Pro tip for all you seasoned travelers out there-- when you go to another country, THINGS WILL BE DIFFERENT. If you are spending your holiday examining the walls for paint chips or complaining about 1 soggy french fry- just stay home. Really.

Also , a tip -- "The taxi driver couldn't find the hotel"-- the hotel will arrange taxi service from the airport for you and it's cheaper than a taxi from the airport. We had a fellow standing there with a sign with my name on it and he took us to the resort no problem. $30 US.

We had a great experience here. They seated us at their lobby balcony and gave us a beer and a sparkling wine while they completed our check in. We loved our room, it was a nice size, had a nice big terrace where we enjoyed breakfast several times during our stay and just general chilling out. The pool was fantastic we hung out there often. They also did a nice job making a cordoned off swim-able area of the beach as this part of the DR is on the ocean side so the water can be a bit wild. They have blocked off the beach in front of the property with rocks to take the force off the water and make an area where you can go in and it's very calm.

I don't know what everyone was on about with the food... first off Dominican Beef (which they source the beef from the DR at this hotel , I asked several times of several different people) is some of the cleanest beef you will eat-- all pasture raised, barely an ounce of fat in there. The seafood was super fresh, cooked very nicely. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of selection, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, pastries, tons of fresh fruit and fresh juices, and some Dominican foods also like Mangu. We ate at the restaurant for dinner pretty much every night of our stay and enjoyed it each time. The food is cooked very nicely, try the Dominican Buffet on Saturday nights -- especially SANCOCHO. The only place where the food could have improved was the pool bar, but the can't miss items at the Pool Bar would be the Chicken Wrap, Ceviche and the terayaki skewers. We went over the Sanctuary a couple times but it was too much of a zoo for us so we chilled at Al Sol.

The staff here are awesome and always go above and beyond and they genuinely want you to have a good time. Santiago, Karen, Hosse, Geraldino, Sandro-- were super helpful and made our stay fantastic.

The resort is smaller and simple. If you just want to chill out and read by the pool or the beach this is your place. Since the resort is smaller you get that close-knit community feel and we often ended up having drinks and chatting with our fellow travelers in the lobby bar after dinner made by Horatio, the super cool bartender. We had a good time and will definitely be back. The food was good, the staff were great, the rooms were sparkling clean and water and beer was refilled in our mini-fridge each day, and the weather was awesome. What more do you need?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank misslinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Misslinz,

It is very refreshing and gratifying to read reviews like yours! We thank you for taking the time to give such detailed and positive account of your experience. An open mind and good attitude does help in having a fulfilling vacation experience.

Above all, thank you for your recognition of the fine members of the staff you make mention of. They have been made aware of your comments as it is very motivating to know that their dedication has been noticed.

We remain at your service and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    182
    59
    23
    58
See reviews for
284
374
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I am traveling with my extended family and am currently in my large suite overlooking the pool and ocean. The Alsol del Mar is an interesting property with many room styles. The staff has been extremely helpful and even upgraded one famiy in my group to a 2 bedroom suite, as the one bedroom loft had steep stairs that the kids could not manage. The property is relatively small, with a wonderfully family friendly feel. There is one main restraurant and a pool side grill. I did not come to the DR for the food, so I am perfectly happy with the food quality here. Also, we have been able to make use of the sister property and the many restaurants at that site. The drinks are plentiful and strong; complaints about "weak drinks" do not seem to apply here. There are daily activities poolside for kids and adults. Just beyond the pool is a spectacular beach area that has a "cove like" feel; the area is really perfect for kids and those who want a shallow water experience. The ocean water is crystal clear and the entire property is very clean and pretty.
The bottom line is that this is just a really nice beachfront spot to hang out, relax and take in a few days of doing nothing, while the staff takes care of you. I would come back here again....the value is incredible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mimi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mimi R,

It is wonderful to read your review and know that you write this as you are enjoying the facilities and services of the resort.

Our resort’s size, its setting, and as you say, its family-friendly feel, are indeed some of the best features of our resort and we are glad that you are thoroughly enjoying them.

We remain at your service and look forward to welcome you and your family again in the not too distant future.

Best reards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I don't have enough words to say how much we enjoyed this place. We booked on Jetsetter for an unbelievable price, so I was concerned that we might be disappointed. The setting & beach are beautiful & the weather was perfect. Our junior room was large & very clean, though a few minor decorating details were not completed. It did have good beds, a small kitchen, & a large balcony with the most beautiful view I have seen in the Caribbean or anywhere.
The food was excellent & plentiful. Other reviews have complained about a skimpy breakfast. If you call eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast, pancakes, waffles, cereal, toast, croissants, sweet rolls, several kinds of fruits & juices, cheese, milk, coffee, tea, etc skimpy, you must be hard to please.
The best part of all was the staff. I have never stayed anywhere like this. They are constantly friendly, smiling, polite, ready to serve, & always asking "How is your day?" "Is everything good?" "Can I get you something?" Some felt like family. Waiter Geraldino was always entertaining & called us his"Mama & Papa." Other wonderful servers were Confesor, Juan Carlos, Jose, Santiago,(Who did I forget?) Juan & Coca Cola taught me Spanish & provided daily beach entertainment. Miguel served at the beach bar. Angel & another wonderful, friendly bellman (name?) helped us with transportation. Karen, Saskya, & another young man(name?) at the concierge desk were always available & helpful. Our daily housekeeper did a thorough cleaning every day, & was very pleasant.
All in all this was a perfect vacation for relaxing. Let me say if you are looking for the party scene & lots of action, this is not your place. It's quiet. If you want party, entertainment, spa, fitness room, or a larger choice for dining, it is a pleasant 10 min walk up the beach(or a $2 cab ride). This is a sister property called Sanctuary, & is covered in your all-inclusive.
Enough said. We had a perfect vacation!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue9201B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sue9201B,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to know that you have had a “Perfect Vacation”. It is our goal that every guest at the resort has a wonderful time, feels welcome and pampered. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the food, drinks, facilities, room and overall the service of the dedicated staff members you have mentioned.

We remain at you service and would certainly love the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at Alsol Del Mar for a week with my boyfriend. We had a beautiful room that had vaulted ceiling and stairs that led to our lofted bedroom space overlooking the ocean. Absolutley breathtaking views! The weather was constantly beautiful and the staff did everything they could to make the stay enjoyable and relaxing. All of the staff were extremely friendly and did everything with a smile, making sure we were always happy and attended to. We found ourselves missing our new "friends" when we returned home! The bar food was great (especially the ceviche) and having access to Sanctuary Cap Cana gave some variety when it comes to trying different restaurants and walking around the lovely grounds. It was easy to book excursions through the table located at the front lobby if you are looking to get out of the resort and explore some other parts of the island. Overall we had a fantastic experience… for the price it is easy to ignore some of the small mistakes that were made as this is just a new hotel. I have already recommended it to friends and family!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap63750n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear ap63750m,

It is a wonderful feeling to read reviews like yours, that show us that once again we have achieved our goal of taking care and pampering our guests, making them feel welcomed and looked after.

We thank you for your recommendations to friends and family and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.

We remain at your service,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I returned from an excellent stay at Alsol Del Mar. Found a great deal on Jetsetter for an all-inclusive Jr. suite (basic room) for 7 nights, starting February 9th. It was our first trip to Punta Cana, and I have to say we are so happy we stayed here. Our room was in building 6, 3rd floor. 6305-B and we were happy, not a living room suite, but didn't spend much time in the room, just shower and a little area with a kitchen countertop small fridge, stove, microwave and washer and dryer. Since we had the all-inclusive we had no need for the added kitchen but did store water bottles, wine, sodas. The balcony was also large and nice to sit out at night and enjoy the breeze and stars at night.
What stood out at this resort was the wonderful staff that went above and beyond to make us relax and enjoy our stay. Each and everyone of the employees greeted us with a smile weather it was first thing in the morning or at the end of the day, actually most of the servers and the animation team would begin working at 9:00am. and leave until 10:00pm. and never did I see anyone with a bad attitude, everyone smiling, always.
My husband was surprised on his birthday with a private dinner on the beach and all I can say is: Gracias! for an outstanding evening.
We took this vacation hoping to enjoy and quite and relaxing time away from the brutal cold in Chicago and that exactly what we got and more. The weather was perfect.
I would like to say thank you to Ms. Saskya Carrasco for the best group of employees at Alsol Del Mar. WELL DONE. We recommend this resort without hesitation and look forward to returning in the future.
Just want to mention a few of the names of your wonderful employees. Juan and Coka-cola from the animation team, and lots of fun. Bell men,Cristian, and Angel, Reception, Jonali, Concierge, Karen, Sergio Gomez, and all the servers at the bar and waiters, Miguel,Santiago, JoseAntonio, Jean Carlos, Horacio, JoseArturo,Geraldino, Edwin,Roberto,Yanet,Cristian,Nicolas,Hosse,Confesor, Miguel Rijo, and Inocencio who worked on the pool-grill making sure we were always feed. I would also like to mention the Chef that cooked a wonderful Dominican buffet on Saturday night. Delicious.
Hasta Pronto,
Tino y Juana (los Mexicanos de Chicago)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Imatwin5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Tino and Juana,

You are welcome! It was our pleasure to have the opportunity of hosting and serving you!

We are delighted to know you had a wonderful time, enjoyed the service and attention of our staff, the drinks and food. It is our daily goal to make our guests happy, feel pampered and welcome, and it is a great gratification to know that we have accomplished this goal.

The fine individuals you mention in your review have been made aware of you kind comments. It is a great motivator for them to know that their outstanding efforts to serve are appreciated by you.

We can´t wait to welcome you again and remain here at your service.


Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

So reading the reviews, we were very leary about this trip. Right off the bat we had a problem with the reservations. I made 2 separate reservations (with separate reservation #'s), each for a 1 bedroom. One for us, and one for friends. Checking in, they put us in a two bedroom "because we know each other." No explanation, no other rooms were available, no manager available, and no offer to discount the price, etc. I even called to confirm the 2 rooms the day before. This was a huge disappointment. But it is what you make of it. We had roommates for our entire trip.

The service, however, was abolutely outstanding and really made the difference here. Servers and bartenders were bending over backwards to make us happy.

The pool and beach are gorgeous. It is a quite place suited for adults. (I think my kids would have been bored.)

You can go to The Sanctuary (sister property) which I would recommend, for dinner.

Tell your cab driver "Alsol del Mar SOTO GRANDE" or you'll end up at the Luxury Village (another sister property) like we did.

Housekeeping was OK. Sometimes got towel, sometimes not. They really need to stock the fridges with water. Be sure you call and request this every day. Room was clean, though.

Food was pretty good. Drinks were good. You can request top shelf liquor (Grey Goose, for example). But for beer, there is only el Presidente (local), no other choices.

The Punta Cana airport is packed. Give yourself plenty of time to get there and prepare for the crowds.

There is not spa or fitness center. The website did state this whe nwe made the reservations. I think they've updated it since.

Room Tip: Request a room with a pool/ocean view. I heard the suites facing the back do not have good views at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear eye11,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at AlSol del Mar. We are sorry to know that you had a problem with your reservation, and we want to reassure you and those that read this review, that we are diligently working in ensuring that all guests receive the room they booked or an upgrade if not available. It is disappointing to know that no Manager was there to explain the situation, as in a case like yours either our Chief Concierge or myself directly meet the guests, explain the situation and do offer compensation. Regardless, we are happy to know that you have made the best of the situation and did enjoy the food, drinks and service at our resort.

We definitely would love the opportunity of welcoming you again and remain here at your service.

Best regards,


Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have been here for a week now and cannot think of a single thing to complain about. The views, the staff, the food and the resort are awesome. Everyone here tries very hard to make sure you are having a good time. If you like a laid back vacation this place can't be beat. For those who are more active, there's a lot to do, just minutes away. Will post more once we get home.

Room Tip: most rooms have an ocean view. We are in building 10 which is oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linksters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskya C, Manager at Alsol Del Mar, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Linksters2,

We love the fact that you couldn´t wait to be back home in order to write your review!

Thank you for acknowledging the great effort the team makes to ensure everyone feels pampered and welcome, it is a real pleasure to read reviews like this, and know that our goal of having happy and satisfied customers, is being accomplished.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and remain at your service.

Best regards,

Saskya Carrasco
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
3.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
35.8 mi away
Casa de Campo
Casa de Campo
#1 of 12 in La Romana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#78 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
15.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
15.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsol Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Del Mar

Property: Alsol Del Mar
Address: Boulevard Zona Hotelera Marina Cap Cana, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alsol Del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cap Cana, this 254,000-square-foot private beach complex features spacious suites ranging from Deluxe Studios to 2 Bedroom Suites, all finely designed with innovative architecture and Caribbeanstyle decorations. Guests can enjoy our beautiful white sand beach, large infinity pool with a swim-up bar that cascades into a serene hot tub area, complete with a gorgeous ocean view. Between the wealth of amenities we offer, the pristine facilities, and our devotion to exceptional hospitality, which is felt from the moment you arrive and are greeted by the spectacular panoramic ocean view in our lobby. These are just some of the many reasons why Alsol Del Mar offers guests the very definition of a luxurious Caribbean lifestyle. Conveniently located, Alsol Del Mar is just 15 minutes from Punta Cana International Airport, in close proximity of the famous Punta Espada Golf experience, which is considered the best golf course in the Caribbean, and near the Cap Cana Marina, which is considered one of the best in the world, accredited for its superior fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Alsol Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing