We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (10,920)
Filter reviews
10,920 results
Traveller rating
5,121
3,142
1,431
670
556
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,121
3,142
1,431
670
556
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden grillclub diamonda la carte restaurantsmain buffetkaraoke barbbq restaurantcloser to the beachmain poolguest servicesthomas cooklarge resortseafooddominican republicsteakbeach poolother resortst shirts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,491 - 3,496 of 10,920 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

From the moment we arrived at the airport and took our bus to the resort we were treated great and the atmosphere was wonderful! When I first saw the lobby to the resort i was very very impressed to see how beautiful and clean it was. Everywhere I went there wasn't a speck of dirt to be found, everything was cleaned and beautiful. The rooms were wonderfull will a great bathroom; including a great shower toilet and mirror. The beds were great and every room has a sliding door with a belcony. It was probably the best sleep I've ever had. So the cleanliness and quality of the rooms and resort was amazing! Second the staff was great! very friendly and funny, and always willing to help. The beach and pool were beautiful and very clean, including the resataurants on the beach. Everyday there was an entertainment crew that came around doing activities which was just great and everyone had a fun time. All the buffets and restaurants were great with good selection, my favourite was the italian restaurant. Nighttime entertainment was awesome as well. The activities we took part in such as parasailing and doon buggies were very safe and fun.Overall if you want to travel somewhere and meet nice people and have a relaxing time i would reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155019Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The resort is too big, beach is way overcrowded and if you're booked into the wrong room, they are very difficult to negotiate with. I suggest you know the resort very well before booking, as after the fact, they don't care. They will put you off by saying, "come back tomorrow" and/or "come back at 2:00" Both these mean, we hope you forget about it and/or come back after my shift is over and try somebody else who might care.
We had cockroaches in building #76 third floor (daughter's leg was quite bitten). We met another couple who had cockroaches in #72 and were moved the same day to "Diamond" without additional upgrade costs. We had to wait 3 days. The safe in the room did not work upon arrival. It took 3 phone calls to get that in order. The maid did not bolt the glass doors as we always did...watch out for that.
The beach is so overcrowded...you have to get your towel onto a lounge chair before 8:00 a.m. or you don't get one. The taxi boats, banana boats will be in front all day, so waterfront water is dirty with gasoline and the smell of fumes. If you want the true caribbean waters for swimming, go further down the beach. The water taxi's cost $25 depending who you get, and they take you down the beach to the "walmart" huts - watch this as quality is sketchy. Vendors will harrass you (touch you) as you walk by...be aware. The night entertainment is ok, but don't expect much....all the singing is lypsyncing. Internet and phone service was out for 3 days. They kept saying, "Oh, maybe later".....the internet room will take your money and then tell you the service is "down". Don't depend on it, as it is spotty and luck of the draw if you get it for any length of time.
The food is bland, but lots of choice. The a la cartes are just buffet foods basically.
We saw underaged teens being served at the pool bar. Watch for this also. Beer pong is a big pasttime.
Bottom line, if you want a quiet, restful vacation, this resort (with 5 resorts in 1) is not the place. It's never quiet especially at the beach unless you seek refuge in your room. The mini buses that transport you from the principle resort area to the beach is a quick way to get there, but the carbon monoxide is too much....and it slows down way too much for the speed bumps and most often bottoms out with the load.
If it rains, the stoned/paved walkways//roadways are extremely slippery. We saw a few people with injuries. There's a slick coating of pollution from the buses that make it treacherous.
We found the last day was the best because all the workers tried very hard to be happy, sing, make a fuss and then we found out the "big management" was there....all a show for them. You'll be asked to fill out a survey...that's how we knew. Overall it seems the resort has too many smaller operations and the management is not consistent between one resort and the other. If you're in Bavaro, you're quite second class as you cannot use any of the pools except the beach pool. They'll kick you out! Upon arrival there's no instruction or direction as to where you can and can't go. Watch out for your representatives, ie. Sunwing....their job is to sell you the excursions. They don't care about any problems you might be having.
Shuttle buses have been known not to show up and be very late if they show up. We saw a few families get taxis...be aware so you don't miss your return flight.
If you insist on this resort, the plus side is....the grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and lots of trees!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We've just returned from a one week stay at Bahia Principe Punta Cana, travelling with a large group for a wedding. To put it mildly the resort is enormous, though by about day two we had our bearings and had basically figured the place out. It was very difficult to locate others in our group, especially because there are two lobbies which really complicated and confused things initially. We were in the Royal Golden area which was close to the beach. This came in extremely handy when bathroom facilities were needed as, no lie, there are only four bathroom stalls for women in close proximity to the two large pools near the ocean. I would guesstimate that during the week we were there, each and every day there must have been hundreds of people using the pool and beach area. At any given time there was a line-up for the women's washroom. I found myself running back to my room to use the bathroom there. I figure there was a whole lot of peeing in the pool and ocean..... A facility of this size has got to improve on basic amenities. The beach is beautiful but very crowded. The water is gorgeous and the kids had lots of fun playing in the ocean. As other people have mentioned you have to get up very early and out to the beach or the pool area to 'reserve' spots (i.e. towels in loungers) or you won't get a spot (particularly around the pool). Lots of fun entertainment around the pool. Can't complain about the food. Enjoyed most everything. Found the drinks far too sweet but found the lime Margaritas to be pretty good. Found the service, especially trying to book the a la carte restaurants to be highly frustrating. We had 'upgraded' to Royal Golden and were 'guaranteed' four restaurants. We were only able to book two. The woman at the Royal Golden office was extremely unhelpful, rude and needs to learn a thing or two about customer service. Considering what we paid for our trip we expected a higher quality of service.

All in all, I much prefer a smaller, more intimate setting. The resort frankly felt like a cruise ship on land.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenity-four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This review is very long, but I would strongly suggest reading it if you want the full review . The first thing I would tell you is not to panic at the size of the place. It is big, but the maps/shuttles/staff make it very easy to get around. Don't worry about asking for help, someone is always available. Also, I'm sure some of the complaints are legitmate, but I think you should take everything with a grain of salt.

Just got back last Friday, 3/11/11, and can't wait to go again. This was my third trip to Punta Cana. My husband and I went with two other couples and had a fantastic time. We are all middle-class working people, secretaries, truck driver, carpenter, etc. We work hard for our money and this trip was well worth it. Not sure if it was because we are very easy going people who just want to have a good time, but we all thought it was awesome. Only complaint is that we wished there was more to do at night besides the shows/karaoke bar. Even the college-age guests weren't impressed with the Disco.

Some of the complaints I've seen crack me up. No grapes/berries, no washcloths, no thermostat on fridge, language barrier. All I can say is "foreign country". You aren't in Kansas anymore Toto. If you're looking for a catered vacation, you'll have to pay a lot more than what you pay here.

Flight:
USA 3000 with Apple Vacations. Direct flight a little over 3 hours from Philadelphia. No free snacks on the flight so bring your own.

Trip to the resort:
Took around 45 mins. Had to drop off others at other resorts. Large, air conditioned and comfortable bus. The drivers are CRAZY there but they seem to know what they are doing so sit back and enjoy the ride.

Check in/out:
Fast and friendly service. Check in is @ 3:00. We arrived around 1:30 and two of the couples were able to get in their rooms right away. Our room because available around 2:30. Just left our bags at check in and walked around a bit. Check out was 2 minutes. You should check the night before to make sure you don't have any room charges.

Room:
The room was very clean, it looks just like the pics you see online. We checked in on Friday and had no maid service on Saturday, not sure why and didn't call to complain, but then had it every day after that, and sometimes twice!! Asked for extra water and cervasa (beer) and she was always accommodating. We left about $2.00 a day tip. We had a remote control problem the first night (I didn't care, but my hubby did). We called the front desk and within 10 minutes a maintenance man came and fixed it. That was the only problem all week with the room. Temperature was good, bathroom beautiful, beds really comfortable and definitely no bugs.

Pool:
We were in the Bavaro section and stayed mainly in that pool. Santos (activity squad) and Jean Paul (bartender) really went out of their way to make sure everyone was having a good time. There were other workers who were great too, but I can't remember their names. It didn't matter if you were tipping them or not. Most of the guests in the pool were very friendly too and would just yell out your drink order if you couldn't get one right away and you had a drink shortly after that. Definitely no complains here.

Ocean:
The beach was very clean, no seaweed on the sand, no trash. White sand and crystal blue water! It was really crowded but the 3 times we went down to the beach (all 3 times after 11:00) , we had workers come up and ask us how many chairs we needed. We needed 6 and got 6 on two occasions and 4 on the last occasion. We didn't care, we shared.

Food:
We went to two specialty restaurants. Italian and Steak House. Not sure what was so Italian about the Italian Restaurant, but the food was delicious. 3 of us had the chicken rolls and 3 the beef platter. All enjoyed it. Like I said, you're in a foreign country so go with the flow. The steak was probably one of the best I've ever . Both restaurants had very friendly staff.

People:
The people are very nice. So what if they don't speak English. Just smile and point and they get the idea. Even if you learn cervasa (beer) and gracious (thank you), you'll be good. Remember, you're in their country. Joel in one of the buffets was very helpful every time we went in and also Caesar at the hospitality area in the Bavara Lobby. I had the hardest time communicating with him (my fault, not his) and we just laughed it off and figured it out.

The resort is very big, but we never had to wait more than a couple minutes for the shuttle bus service. If one was full, the next one would be along in minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphinlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This hotel was excellent, our biggest problem was trying to get a working clock radio in the room!

Staff was great, many cannot speak fluent English, but if they have trouble they will get someone on staff to assist. Polite, friendly and very eager to please.

Food was great, buffet had lots of variety, a la carte restaurants were good with several themes to choose from, (Japanese was the best, they make the dishes right in front of you).

Tours were good i.e. Tropical Storm and Mega Trucks were both excellent full day adventures

Rooms were very clean, mini bar filled daily with beer, water and pop. Lots of towels, face cloths etc.

Great beach, staff keep it clean and there are many showers to clean off after swimming.

We have an 8 and 5 year old and got the diamond club upgrade, it was well worth it. Seperate pool area, rooms close to pool and in the centre of the resort. There is regular bus service around the resort but we thought it was easy to get around on foot.

Went with Sunquest, rep was good, shuttle service was on time and information was readily available.

An excellent trip, no worries and would recommend this hotel to anyone! Enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marchbreakmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews