We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #63 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel staff were amazing! Our family were never treated so great at a resort! From the waiters to the beverage people to the grounds keepers to the entertainment at the various pools.They were always very happy to the point they were singing.These people never get the recognition they deserve! Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nancy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Nancy,

We would like to thank you for recognizing our hardworking staff, who treated great your family. From the waiters to the beverage people, to the grounds keepers to the entertainment will be delighted and motivated with your appreciations and to know that they are making a difference in each guest experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,283 - 2,289 of 10,625 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff and facility were very good. It was a well maintained and clean campus. It is a very large facility so be prepared to take the trolleys to get to the beach etc. If you go to the market also be prepared to be harassed by the vendors hardcore. You can get in and out of the corner shops and use the back entrances.The food like in a lot of these places is OK. You get to know what foods are good. The omlets are worth waiting for. There is a 24 hour bar by the beach that serves booze and snacks. We called it the snack bar. The disco opens from 12-2 (?) it isn't bad. The beach is great. It is long so you can walk it for exercise. The adult oriented "pee pool" is a fun place. A chap named Andy de Leon in the Diamond service room is a very good employee!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Kris,

We sincerely appreciate all feedback. It is a pleasure to know that our staff and facilities were very good for you to enjoy your vacations. Andy in the Diamond Club will be delighted with your recognition.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just got back from the Gran Bahia.It is a great resort.Beach is amazing.This is our 2nd time here.The rooms are clean.The staff works so hard to keep this resort clean and beautiful.The resort is huge but you can get a trolley anytime.Alots of good food selection We have no complaints at all..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Teri,

We would like to thank you for mentioning on TripAdvisor our amazing beach, clean rooms, hardworking staff, and good food selection.

Looking forwarded to welcome you for 3rd time!

Regards from Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel April 2013 with myself and three of my colleagues for a girls away vacation April 2013. Had a few issues initially which is expected but staff looked after everything and corrected all issues promptly. Beautiful property but the largest asset they have are the staff. Friendly and helpful waiters/housekeeping/check in staff etc...fabulous bartenders/waiters. Angel was a star and probably our favourite however Miguel was superb as was Edy and Besouida. The grounds are beautiful but as I said the staff in this resort make the resort. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in the 37 building and we found this a great location for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeldafromto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that our staff looked after everything and corrected all issues promptly. For all our helpful waiters, housekeeping, reception, and bartenders will be wonderful to read that they are the largest asset that we have and that they contributed in creating you a wonderful vacation. Thank you for recommending us.


We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you once again!

Regards from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

There are over 4 different resorts to choose from within this huge complex, you have to make sure you pick the Esmeralda which is for families or the Ambar which is for couples only.

Any other resort selection will be a disappointment, per experience the beer was watered down, you will not be able to get a beer in a can nevertheless in a bottle, also the alcoholic drinks are watered down.

The buffet food seems as they were passed down from the premium resort Esmeralda & Ambar, the salads were really close to rotting, there was a lot of food that was not worth even looking at as it seemed it had been there for some days now.

The entire property is well maintained and the common areas are very well kept, however, it smelled like smoke a little bit and the bathroom tub was not well maintained it had black stains around the shower and it had many black spots within the tub.

Obviously they have to make up for the all inclusive, by cutting many corners with the quality of things.

The customer service its great when you tip if not you will get below average service.

After all these complaints were brought up to management and they were able to do what they can.

Mr. Carlos Lopez (alias Simon)
was very friendly and was able to accommodate within his reach the dinner reservations and room exchange to a more central location.

Next time i'll really research where exactly i'll be staying so we don't have any surprises.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay at the Esmeralda or Ambar part of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiraDtoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your feedback as it enables us to continue improving and providing our service for our guests.

Please allow us to state that, since the health, welfare and satisfaction of our guests are our priorities, we follow a strict program and constant monitoring of all quality standards.

We hope to welcome you once again at one of our Hotels and be able to show our quality of service and customer satisfaction, commitment of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort, and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

First I want to say this is a beautiful resort, from the grounds to the buildings and the beach. The staff are second to none, everyone we encountered from front desk to the wait staff, gardeners and everyone in between are awesome. The only negative fault of the resort was when we arrived they were overbooked and had no room for us in our (Bavaro) section. So they moved us to Ambar section which wasn't fun as we couldn't settle in and had to check out again the next day at noon and no replacement room until 3. The issue with this resort FOR US was its just way way too big. It’s actually 5 resorts in one totalling over 3000 rooms sharing many common areas. It's a ton of walking to go anywhere or waiting 10-15min for a trolley. Except for Ambar and Esmeralda totalling 1000 rooms located close to their private beaches. Almost 15min walk from the beach to the Buffet. I just don't want to wait around for a bus or walk a half a mile for everything, just doesn't seem like a relaxing vacation. Good luck trying to find a lounger at the beach with shade after 10am, so we took our towels to the beach to put on a lounger at 7am (10min walk) as recommended by other travelers, only to go back at 10:30 to find our towels tossed onto a single lounger in the sun and people under the palapa we had put our towels under and they completely ignored me when try to ask how our towels got moved (no understand any english I guess). So we decided to try the central pool area for an afternoon, close your eyes and all you hear and smell is diesel trolleys’, scooters whizzing and rumbling by. Just do research if you intend to stay here to make sure it's what you are looking for. It does have everything on site it's just so massive. When we booked the Bavaro section we thought 720 rooms no bad just a good size but I didn't realize 5 resorts over 3000 rooms sharing the same strip of beach. We would only consider a return to the Gran Bahia Principe in Ambar or Esmeralda, but again thats for us, just do your research to make sure you're getting the right resort for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingsfan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration. We are glad your find worth to mention our beautiful premises and awesome staff.

We are looking forwarded to seeing you soon at any of our Hotels, especially either of our Luxury Don Pablo Collection, and demonstrate you our commitment to excellence.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Review of Bahia Principe Bravaro...
The resort is very big, roughly it has around a 2 mile radius, which is no good if your room is one end of the complex and the reception and restaurant is the other. However, there are several wooden shacks dotted around, these are bus stops for the 6 train/bus type vehicles roaming around the hotel grounds which are free to get on, but be warned - they go fairly fast, even over the incredibly bumpy roads, which isn't good considering it doesn't have seat belts, handles nor sides which could lead to an unfortunate event.
There are around 6 pools and I think its fair enough to say that 4 out of them are usually empty, expect the odd couple or family. The remaining 2 pools, which have a bridge separating them, are the main pools, one being the quiet one and the other the noisier one, where you will struggle to get even one sun bed as both of them are extremely busy through the opening times of 6am-8pm. Thankfully, the hotel is situated on the beach, where the sun beds are plentiful. When we booked our holiday, we were unaware that the beach isn't private, it's public, meaning that anyone can wonder on it, including locals, who are usually trying to sell you something and because the beach doesn't belong to the hotel, nobody can stop them hassling you.
The animation team, which unusually consists of a team of 6 males, is very good. No doubt about it. The are constantly cheerful and try to get all the guests involve. There is always something going on, whether. it be at the beach or the main pool, it is never boring. At 4pm everyday, a game of some sort takes place and they're very good. You can clearly see that the animation team work extremely hard to entertain the guests. They are always jolly and you will never see them not smiling.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank colloYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and for acknowledging our animation team, who are constantly cheerful and working extremely hard to entertain the guests.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £111 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing