We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Resort is GREAT for big group, went down for my wedding with family and friends. Good party party atmosphere! On site resort service is poor and inconsistent, only a handful of staff met were decent at their jobs. We received no extras for being a bride and groom. I'm talking like towel characters or bottle of champagne in the room. Other people in our group received daily little gifts at night. Including my sister and her bf who had the SAME room maid as us? Inconsistent. Most of the staff is unwilling to assist or simply stares blankly at you when you ask questions. Its funny you go off resort and mostly everyone speaks decent English, on the resort NONE of the staff speaks English or pretends they can't. Our wedding coordinator barley spoke English and wasn't the same person I dealt with for months via email, was pretty dissapointed in that as she was officiating our wedding and no one could understand her.
Resort was relatively clean but our room floor was never cleaned, our feet were BLACK from walking on it. GROSS! Main pool area (by the beach) never had towels replenished. I know Sunwing/Signature has dropped this resort from their packages and I see why. I wouldn't return and have a feeling it will go down hill in the next few years.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MGB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We deeply apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that we will give the proper attention to your comments, and the corrective measures are going to be taken in order to improve our service.

We sincerely regret that our overall image may have been tarnished as well as not being able to fulfill your expectations. Please allow us to inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that you may have passed.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,915 - 1,921 of 10,634 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The wife and I just spent a week at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, and really had a great time. The beach and ocean was so awesome. The sand was like powder, and the water so refreshing.

The food at all the restaurants was of high quality. The service was also excellent.

The only negative was the many Mosquitos that bothered us in the evening. Bring deet based bug spray, and see your doctor before you head to the Dominican, as ours recommended anti malarial medication.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear James,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the beach and ocean,the sand like powder, the water so refreshing ,the high quality food at all the restaurants and the excellent service. Your suggestions will be appreciate for all readers.

In relation to your opinion about the Mosquitoes ,Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts works with an external company called Cristal Americas, world leader in the implementation of effective systems for environmental, health and safety related risk management and it is member of the Check Safety First Group; which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures. In this way, we can assure you that we have strict programs of fumigation and we do no have any disease cases reported.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best Regards from the Caribbean!!


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

we returned on oct 26, great vacation, very clean, good food, fantastic beach. staff very helpful especially Santos Takara who was extremely helpful in explaining to some of the other dining staff some of our requests as we spoke no spanish and their english was limited.

Bill & Carol

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Bill,

We are glad to read that you y had a wonderful time in our Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

We apologize for the impression you could perceive for the language barrier with some of our staff members. We assured you that we continuously work with our Human Resources and Quality departments to reinforce the training of our personnel. We strongly believe that our guest’s satisfaction depends of their daily performance.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts to continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Went with my boyfriend, brother, sister in law and three friends for my birthday.

Check-In was fast and smooth. The bell service was quick and efficient. The guy who helped us at the deal noticed that we booked three rooms and they has two queen beds. Two of the rooms only needed one king bed. He mad the changes very quickly and by the time we finished our "drink" that was given to us at the check in desk, we were ready to go to or rooms. The bell service again was very helpful in taking us to our rooms and carrying our bags!

The room was nice, nothing spectacular but nice. It appeared clean and well maintained initially. I did notice a pretty deep "dip" in the middle of the mattress. This made sleeping a but uncomfortable. This lighting in the room is very dim and made it almost impossible to apply make up. The air conditioner and ceiling fan was in operable condition and room stayed cool. On day 2 of our stay, the toilet became clogged and it took 12 hours to get Maitnence to come plunge it. This was kind of annoying. We didn't spend much time in our room anyway. We stayed in Villa 18, room 204.

Food was plentiful, both in the buffet and at the snack bar. I am a very picky eater so I enjoyed the food the least, although I was always able to find something to eat. The fruit was yummy, very sweet. Omelette station for breakfast was on point and the chicken at the snack bar was pretty tasty. The service was excellent. The staff made sure to take very good care of us. Drinks were always available and someone was always willing to bring you one, whether in the lobby, pool area or in the theater.

The pool was my favorite place to be. The main pool is loud and full of entertainment. It mimiced a pool party daily. The music and entertainment at the pool was good. The drinks were steady and the surroundings were clean. There are people walking around the pool seeking Excusions all day. Gets a but annoying, but they are not all that pushy. The beach is nice and there is also a bar set up there.

We did the Scape Park Excursion which included zip lining and dune buggies. It was easy to reserve the excursion and the staff was helpful. The excursion was a lot of fun and well worth the money.

The MOSIQUITOS are ruthless. Don't know what to say about that. The bug spray just does not work!!!!

Overall we had a fabulous time and would return. Shout out to some of the staff who made out vacation memorable: Jeison in the buffet, Andres the trolly driver, Melde the waiter at the BBQ buffet, and Rafeal the cool at the Hibachi Restuarant.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shr1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

It is wonderful to know that your boyfriend, brother, sister in law and your three friends experienced a fabulous time with us and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you any time soon!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Best Regards from the Caribbean!!

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent place, very very clean. We went with our daughter and son-in-law, 1st. two weeks October. Food was excellent, the weather was very very hot. We had thunderstorms at night but the following morning everywhere was dry again. The rooms were excellent, we had two four posters in ours, very clean, the staff were so friendly and helpful. They were always smiling and seemed very happy. Though I hadn't been on this type of holiday before, I didn't think that there was enough to do for me, I like old villages and mooching about, but you couldn't really go off the complex. I liked the flight going, but coming back at nighttime I didn't like. It has put me off going to faraway places again.

Room Tip: The apartments are 3high but ours were on the first floor, so if you have trouble getting about ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Hotel Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. Thank you for highlighting our good food,rooms and Friendly Staff.

We would like to cater you once again at Dominican Republic to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a lovely fortnight stay. The rooms,complex and gardens are clean and well maintained.
The lobby bartenders Angel,Edy,Miguela and Matos were always very cheerful and gave great sevice.
We used the diamond reception and found staff in here really helpful, much better than main reception where the language barrier was a bit of a problem.
Would recommend the Megatruck trip for a small insight into island life.
We went as a group for a wedding which went really well. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: upgrade to hacienda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It is a pleasure for us to hear that we provided you and your entire group a lovely holidays and thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff in the Diamond Club reception. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays.

We apologize if you could perceive a language barrier with some of our staff members. We are continuously working with our Human Resources departments to reinforce the training of our personnel.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I can not recommend this hotel enough!

If you are looking for a well relaxed holiday with great scenery, then this is for you!

I have been twice in 3 years now and I would go back again!

I got married here this time and if you are planning a wedding then the settings they have for you are really nice, easy to sort and you are pretty much guaranteed great weather (It was 32oC on ours and blazing sun!)

The hotel has a lot to offer, which is good because if you don't go on the trips, there isn't all that much around the outside of the hotel, except for the beautiful beach!

The food is amazing, the buffet has plenty to offer and accommodates for all, including children or fussy eaters! All I would say is try everything at least once, you don't know till you try it!

The bars are great, plenty to choose from and most are really friendly, especially at the Lobby bar!

The pools also have swim up bars and that comes in very handy!

There are a number of pools around so if you are after a more relaxed place there are smaller quiet pools, or if you like noise and animation, the main pool is for you!

There is also a separate pool at the front of the hotel which has slides for younger kids to keep them entertained!!

You also get the choice of Al a carte meals at some restaurants! Well worth going to!!

We went with Thomas Cook both occasions and can't fault them, they looked after our wedding party well, all 25 of us!!

Enjoy your holiday!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Jay,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is an honor to know that our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro exceeded all your expectations, and you were happy with the choice you made is such a great compliment to know that we are part of the beautiful memories of the wedding of yours dreams.

Thank you for sharing your experience and looking forward to seeing you and your husband soon!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a dream wedding in the Caribbean.

Regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#63 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.9 mi away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#60 of 112 in Punta Cana
9,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £107 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing