We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Ranked #57 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've just had 2 weeks here and i can say after reading some of the horror reviews i had nothing to worry about. This place is lovely, it has stunning grounds, it's clean and the staff are so so nice. Our room was very spacious and clean and it was cleaned every day. Don't know where to start it was all lovely. The food was great considering how many people they are catering for, if you couldn't find anything to eat in the main buffet restaurant there must be something wrong with you because they cater for everyone & have everything. I would recommend that you book the al a carte restaurants asap as they get booked up quickly, we had Japanese, Mexican, Italian, Steak House and a few more. We were celebrating my husbands 40th birthday in the Mexican and it was great they brought him a cake out and embarassed him for a few minutes, but i can say you'll never be stuck for food. They don't measure your drinks so you get more than you bargained for which is great haha!! And the bar staff are just brilliant. The pool area was lovely and the beach is just stunning and of course the weather was hot hot hot, you got the odd thunder storm but thats to be expected here. I will say that all the staff are amazing and work really really hard to look after everyone. The only negative thing i have to say is about the mosquitos, nasty horrible things, just take plenty of repellent although i think they are immune to everything. Fab holiday & yes i would most definatley return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rotty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and you enjoyed 2 lovely week in our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort.

We would like to cater you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts in Dominican Republic, Mexico, Jamaica or Spain, and continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,818
    2,898
    1,285
    601
    485
See reviews for
3,171
3,854
128
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This resort was lovely i'll start with the good points.

Food- For an all inclusive resort the food was very good as some resorts can have very repetitive food. Some days had a theme e.g Mexican or Spanish. The al a carte restaurants were good, we were aloud three visits a week, they were good but it is down to personal taste. The selection of drinks was more than enough to try, had a range of cocktails however you had to pay for premium brands.

The resort was very clean and garden areas were kept neat, maids came everyday. The room was a good size, but we did pay for an upgrade which included a bath also.

Now onto the bad points.
We ended up paying $4 a day for the safe even though we were all inclusive plus had an upgrade.
Our rep didn't seem to know that he was representing us which was not very comforting.

As we came to check out they said we had had a lobster dinner and made a phone call from our room, nether of which was true. They presented a sheet that showed the lobster dinner that we supposedly ordered (it was one dinner even though there was two of us) with my forged signature the bottom! I had never seen this sheet of paper in my life and certainly did not sign in, we protested and showed them my signature on my passport however they seemed adamant that it was me who signed the paper. After they got the manager and we got out representative they backed off, the supposed phone call was not mentioned again.

Apart from checking out it was a very nice holiday, its just a shame about the end.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice123491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Alice,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel, which we really appreciate. We deeply regret any difficulties, which don´t reflect our daily operation.

We sincerely regret that our overall image may have been tarnished as well as not being able to fulfill your expectations this time.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was beautiful, well staffed and very clean. The food was pretty good, the a la carte restaurants we went to were very good. The only exception was the BBQ restaurant which we didn't care for. The main restaurant has a very odd smell to it that we could not figure out.

The front desk staff was not very helpful, other than that we had great service. Stay away from "premiere club" people. It's a sales pitch, they'll try to sell you vacation time with the promise of free gifts. You have to learn to say no or sales people will drive you crazy!

Our rooms were large and clean. The pools were great, always clean. The bartenders we had were the best. Lidia and Julie at the swim up bar gave wonderful service. The entertainment was good, nice to have something to do at night.

We would go back to this resort for sure. It would have been nice if WestJet had informed us of the check in procedure. We waited for a long time in the wrong line to check in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle of the resort which worked out perfectly. Pool right outside our room, Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnysaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and for praising the outstanding bartenders Lidia and Julie We will forward your kind words to them, we are sure they would be proud.

We thank you for your feedback which we will use to improve our services and facilities and we would love to host you again and this time exceed your expectations!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

just had two weeks here, fantastic hotel and really good chioce of food, the only thing that i will say is that the esmeralda is a private hotel but on a much larger complex which when it is full can get very busy, staff are very friendy and will help in anyway possible, if you like it quite on holiday then choose your time of year, busy time november to about april. so clean and tidy and value for money a big thubs up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Wayne,

First of all, we greatly appreciate you have recommended our Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro. It is wonderful to read that you were delighted with our really good choice of food, and friendly staff.

We would like to cater you once again at the Dominican Republic and continue providing you excellent experiences.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana

Best regards,

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hi Just returned from 2 weeks at this Hotel 8th Oct - 22nd Oct... It's my 4th visit to the Dominican Republic but 1st time to Punta Cana as i normally go to Playa Dorada in the North. So much too do at this hotel and yes the complex is big but not massive. We had a brilliant time and i am looking to return in Sept 2014 and i am wondering what the upgrade would be as i was Diamond Club Hacienda during this stay... So if someone at the hotel could let me know what the upgrade would be if i was too return as the travel agents said it would possibly be upgrade to esmerelda hotel and if it is i will definately be booking in the next few weeks to come back. We were two single women and don't read all the bad stuff ppl are saying about lone women travellers as this hotel was completely safe and security are always on had and doing regular rounds of complex. There's lots of nightly entertainment for all ages and plenty to do for kids as well as adults during the day time the food is a bit repetitive but is always fresh and plenty of choice. Definately the best hotel in the Dominican Republic i ve stayed at and the water for showers is always piping hot unlike other hotels i ve stayed at there. 5*****

Sharon Webster, Perth

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor .

Concerning your questions about upgrade let us inform you that the upgrade is upon availability,have an extra cost and we do not confirm it in advance.

If you may need any further assistance pleases we ask you to contact us directly in the following email address: customerservicebppuj@bahia-principe.com

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Resort is GREAT for big group, went down for my wedding with family and friends. Good party party atmosphere! On site resort service is poor and inconsistent, only a handful of staff met were decent at their jobs. We received no extras for being a bride and groom. I'm talking like towel characters or bottle of champagne in the room. Other people in our group received daily little gifts at night. Including my sister and her bf who had the SAME room maid as us? Inconsistent. Most of the staff is unwilling to assist or simply stares blankly at you when you ask questions. Its funny you go off resort and mostly everyone speaks decent English, on the resort NONE of the staff speaks English or pretends they can't. Our wedding coordinator barley spoke English and wasn't the same person I dealt with for months via email, was pretty dissapointed in that as she was officiating our wedding and no one could understand her.
Resort was relatively clean but our room floor was never cleaned, our feet were BLACK from walking on it. GROSS! Main pool area (by the beach) never had towels replenished. I know Sunwing/Signature has dropped this resort from their packages and I see why. I wouldn't return and have a feeling it will go down hill in the next few years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MGB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We deeply apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that we will give the proper attention to your comments, and the corrective measures are going to be taken in order to improve our service.

We sincerely regret that our overall image may have been tarnished as well as not being able to fulfill your expectations. Please allow us to inform you that most of our employees have good knowledge on many languages and our Human Resources Department is constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that you may have passed.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The wife and I just spent a week at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, and really had a great time. The beach and ocean was so awesome. The sand was like powder, and the water so refreshing.

The food at all the restaurants was of high quality. The service was also excellent.

The only negative was the many Mosquitos that bothered us in the evening. Bring deet based bug spray, and see your doctor before you head to the Dominican, as ours recommended anti malarial medication.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting the beach and ocean,the sand like powder, the water so refreshing ,the high quality food at all the restaurants and the excellent service. Your suggestions will be appreciate for all readers.

In relation to your opinion about the Mosquitoes ,Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts works with an external company called Cristal Americas, world leader in the implementation of effective systems for environmental, health and safety related risk management and it is member of the Check Safety First Group; which on a frequent basis audits our hotels in all Hygiene and Sanitary procedures. In this way, we can assure you that we have strict programs of fumigation and we do no have any disease cases reported.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best Regards from the Caribbean!!


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#48 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Address: Arena Gorda - Macao Seccion Baigua | Arena Gorda - Macao, Seccion Baigua, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Large sun terrace New relaxation zone with Bali beds, sun umbrellas and loungers Pool and beach towels BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts (floodlit for an additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment theatre Wedding gazebo 1 buffet restaurant and 17 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 10 bars 3 Snack Bars Cocktail Lounge Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Golf Punta Blanca Golf Club designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino Rooms 816 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Hacienda Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Sitting area with sofa Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Alarm clock Satellite TV Minibar Coffee-making facilities Safe (additional charge) Ironing set Wifi (additional charge) Club Hacienda Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11-16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Meeting and convention room Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Punta Cana
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Principe Dominican Republic
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Punta Cana Bahia Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Punta Cana
Principe Punta Cana
Bahia Punta Cana
Bahia Resort Principe
Gran Bahia Principe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing