We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,507)
Filter reviews
11,507 results
Traveller rating
7,543
2,530
872
287
275
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,543
2,530
872
287
275
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond club martini bar dips pool bar gourmet marche sands beach bar hunters steak house memories splash travel smart juan cruz hunter steakhouse adult only pool vip breakfast zen restaurant sister hotel sports bar family vacation butler service
Filter
Updating list...
8,267 - 8,272 of 11,507 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Rooms and Hotel:

Very modern, clean, beautiful and dangerous. The floors are VERY slippery throughout the entire property (rooms, hallways, pool area and the water park).
Restaurants and Buffets:

Opa: Amazing food was so good we ate there 2 days. Staff and service 5 star from the hostess to the cook.
Hunters: Food was wonderful and our waiter at Hunters (Roger) was excellent!!!
Under The Sea: Gross, yuck and Never again!! Service dismal at best! It took 1 hr and 47 min to get our food after we placed our order (there were only 4 other tables with people as they sat us 15 minutes before the restaurant closed. When served horrible, we ended up walking out and ordering room service.

Buffet: Had everything you could imagine and every night was a themed menu - Mexican, seafood, Dominican etc... So you never got bored.

Service was very good but there were some people that went above and beyond. Luis at the Coffee Shop was very attentive and patient with our kids and the all-inclusive ice cream. Then there was Nilson Mercedes, he was wonderful and very tentative to our needs as we were a group of 16. He made sure that our needs were taken care of and even checked in on one of the members of our group that suffered sever chest pains while on vacation.

There was a lack of activity, at times we were bored because most hotels have several activities throughout the day for the entire family but Royalton did not this was very disappointing. Even other people not in our group mentioned the same thing.

When we first arrived at the reception where you get your bracelets one the of the guys (wish I would have gotten his name) told me that if I paid him $35USD per day he would ensure that we could drink top shelf liquor. Luckily we were forewarned and did not fall for this scam. Our purchase included top shelf.

There are several hotels that offer more family activities at no additional cost, I think I will try those before I consider this hotel again.

These was also some guy sitting at a desk in the hallway (Miguel) trying to sell time share or something. He would call the room and mention something every time someone from our group would walk by him. It got to the point that we would take the long way just to avoid this guy. HUH

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Zeni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Zeni C.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent resort, nice and clean rooms, . We were 8 people, 4 adults and 4 kids, we loved everything about it. The staff made us feel welcome. there were some employees that were awesome like Luis at the coffee shop, the cleaning ladies, Francisco at the front desk and the waitresses at the buffet outside. Almost all the restaurants were very good, excellent food, the only one that we didn't like was the Mexican. The animation Edrey, Luis, Scooby Doo and the show and music at the beach party was excellent, the DJ was great. I want to give thanks to Orestes from Gallo Travel, he prepared this trip for us and Cecilio our tour representative in Punta Cana. We all want to go back for another nice vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josefina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Josefina F.,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Royalton Punta Cana.

We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying Royalton Punta Cana.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

PROS:
The resort is beautiful
Very clean
Staff is friendly
Beautiful beaches

CONS:
Horrible cheap food
Cheapest liquor I have ever tasted
Cheap plastic beach chairs

This is the second resort I have vacationed in Punta Cana. The other resort was the same price just as beautiful but had name brand liquor and great food. If you are NOT okay with cheap buffet food quality then this resort is NOT for you. Half of my group had some type of stomach issue. Almost every resort is built the same and all have equally beautiful beaches. It is important to choose a place that has good food and drinks because you have to eat every meal there.

Room Tip: Make sure to pay extra for the rooms that have swim-up patios!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Joanna A.,

We regret you couldn't enjoy a comfortable stay with us, and we would like to offer you our sincerest apologies for not be able to get pleasant experiences during these days at Royalton Punta Cana.

Sharing your opinion you will help us to continue working to improve our services, especially on the food and beverage issues, As you know we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we want.

We are at your complete disposal.
With kind regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were a group of 12 and we loved everything about it but there was an employee that was very rude and disrespectful, he works on the reception and his name is David. He doesn't knows how to treat the customers who are looking to have a great experience on the property, he acts like he doesn't likes his job and it bother us the fact that the manager was there and didn't try to make the situation any better. So we hope that the staff let him know that he needs to change and to act more professional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Yoel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Yoel E.,

Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Royalton Punta Cana, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I got married July 2nd at the Resort. We had 29 of our family friends to witness this wondering day and week. The resort was awesome, very clean, rooms were incredible, food was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The week was incredible and our group would definitely vacation at the Royalton Punta Cana again!

Notable staff: Junior (Butler - was amazing), Yanilsa (Hostess), Martires (Server), Dario (Concierge - Building 6)

Room Tip: Try a swim up room with private pool, bar and food service. Upgrade your stay to a Diamond Package, well worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauricioZarate, General Manager at Royalton Punta Cana Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Dean A.,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Royalton Punta Cana not only for your wonderful comments that you have had about our team, but also for taking the time to share your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really glad to hear your comments about the impression of our hotel. Reading your comments help us to know that our decisions are in the good way to give our guests the best possible experience. Your comments about the attitude of the staff will be shared with the objective to motivate to continue with the best quality and guest satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.
Best greetings,

Mauricio Zárate
General Manager
Royalton Punta Cana & Memories Splash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews