We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreams Punta Cana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel with 24hr food and drink with branded alcohol. The entertainments team are great fun and provide a full programme day and night for all age groups. Grecia, Wilson, Wilberr, Hector and Chiquilin are the best in entertainments team and really get everyone joining in the fun and games. You can even win vouchers playing the games to use at the auction they have 3 times a week. Great fun fro all the family

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footyjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your lovely comments regarding your visit to our resort and we are happy to know that we met your expectations. It pleases us that you enjoyed all of our facilities and services, and that Grecia, Wilson, Wilbert, Hector & Chiquilin from our entertainment team participated in making your stay even more pleasant.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting your stay again in the near future.

Regards,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,317 - 7,323 of 11,782 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Do not read any poor reviews of this place, this place is amazing. We arrived a little worried after reading the bad reviews but there is not a bad word that can be said about Dreams. On arrival you are greeted with a glass of champagne which is welcomed after a long journey, after a quick check-in, we arrived at our room. This was stunning, room 2307, away from the noise of the evening entertainment, close to the beach and facing the pool. The sunbed issue has been resolved as I saw NO problems and even spare beds throughout the day. The food is of a high quality and the World Cafe is the best buffet we have ever had with lots of variety. The Steakhouse is ok, the steaks are not as tender as here but the food is good. Seafood restaurant is good, no lobster though only a small tail, still recommend a visit. We ate in the adults only one night which was again very pleasant. Give the Chinese a miss, its nothing like the menu says and is very different to what we get at home. The Children's club had lots going on from morning through to 9pm and my 10 year old really enjoyed it, although didn't stay for the full day as she had made friends and liked the pool and sea trampoline. The Hotel grounds and toilets are spotless considering the size and the amount of people using the facilities. We didn't watch the evening entertainment so cant comment, but if you like to participate, there is something to do every hour around the pool or beach area. The beach is clean and away from the locals so you can walk peacefully without being hassled to buy something. You can also snorkel when the sea is calm. We stayed for 10 days and it was perfect. We can not fault this Hotel in any way, if you are looking for a family holiday to relax, have some quality family time but also entertain the kids then this is a perfect resort.

Room Tip: Go for the block closer to the beach as its away from the evening entertainment. Also go higher than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LymmLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are truly humbled by your kind words and sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to comment on your recent visit to our resort. As a service oriented company our main concern is our guests’ satisfaction and we are pleased to know that we met your family’s expectations.

Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back “home” for your next family vacation in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were at this resort from March 31 - April 7. We had a wonderful trip! I traveled with my husband, my daughter (10 yr old) and my son (10 yr old). We stayed in the premier club in a family suite. This was great for us. It was two rooms that were connected. The kids' room had two full sized beds. My husband and I had a king sized bed. We each had a patio and a bath. The patios had hamock seats which were nice for some afternoon reading.

First, the food was very good. I am picky (I am a bit of a foodie) and I liked the food selections. We ate in the buffet, which had a nice selection. The buffet always had a section for picky children (pizza, mac and cheese, hot dogs, chicken nuggets). We loved the asian restaurant - great food! The seafood restaurant was disappointing for both service and food. The steak place had great food but the service was slow (this may be because we had a large party that night). And the drinks were great - there were bars everywhere. The free wine that was offered was acceptable. Higher grade wines were also available for an additional fee.

Second, the entertainment was outstanding. There were entertainment staff members that wandered through the pool and beach areas encouraging people to participate in games. If you participated, you got play money that was used in an auction for prizes. The games included darts, funny team games, etc. They were a lot of fun. And they had spanish and art classes. They also had water aerobic classes, dance classes and step aerobic classes at the pool. These were less than 30 minutes long and they were fun, upbeat and interactive. I met a few new people at the resort at these classes. Somehow the staff came off as encouraging participation but not annoying.

The kids also had a lot to do. The kids club was geared a little too young for my kids. But, we met a friend that had a four year old. Her four year old didn't want to leave the kids club - so it was well staffed and managed. My kids used the Core Zone more. This was an area that had fooze ball tables, ping pong, pool tables, electric bull riding, rock climbing, and kid snacks. By the end of the week, we were comfortable with our ten year olds walking back and forth between the core zone and the pool, where we lounged. My son also spent a lot of time on the beach playing soccer with a gang of boys. Not all of the boys spoke the same language, but they were able to communicate through the language of soccer - it was very cool!

The island was beautiful and the people were very friendly. My husband had some issues communicating with the staff, but I had no issues. We also took a trip to go zip lining. It was a great trip that allowed us to see the country side, including the banana and cocoa plants.

One thing to note - we were there on the week before easter - holy week. There were no excursions or water sports Thursday through Sunday. This was advertised heavily and the entertainment staff made sure there were plenty of other things for us to do.

I would definately recommend this resort to any families!

Room Tip: We were in the premier club (bldg 6) on the first floor, pool side. This was a very quiet room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bettykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I'm not a fan of huge, mass tourism hotels but when travelling with my 4 year old son, I consider these types of establishments thinking they offer more facilities and activities. We absolutely hated it!! It is a below average, massive hotel catering to mass tourism - mostly drinking party people.

The day before we arrived we were reading the "terrible" reviews and were really put off - thinking where the heck are we going? So when we got there, we expected it to be so bad that we were actually pleasantly surprised. However, this did not last more than one night (and it might have been because we were so tired from the trip we couldn't see straight).

The room was ok, not bad but very spartan. We stayed in a junior suite. The beds had plastic mattresses which squeaked every time you turned and the pillows were the worst I have ever seen in a hotel and, believe me, I am not fussy when it comes to beds.

The pool had sounded like a cool idea but it's so dispersive and long that you feel that the whole property is really just one big "road" with a pool in the middle, that runs from the main building to the beach.

What people wrote about the pool beds is absolutely correct: they are hard to find, except in the more quiet areas furthest from the beach. Not a problem as we wanted the more quiet areas as if you go towards the middle to the end of the pool it's packed with party animals drinking at the pool bar... However, the beds are in appalling conditions: the plastic ones are all broken, the wooden ones are half rotten with all the hardware completely rusted and the "cushions" are disgusting - all frayed in the corners so when it rained they got all soaked and soggy. Laying out was so uncomfortable.

The food is awful - again, catered to the masses and spare yourself the agony of the Chinese / Japanese restaurant, there was not one crispy item, it was all soggy!

Last but not least I found the nights particularly depressing: the lighting in any place indoors was really low, but not a pleasant, warm lighting - a cold, hard on the eyes lighing that made everything look really grim. It definitely seemed as though the hotel was trying hard to save on electricity bills!!

If you're used to that type of establishment, and just want to go for the drinking then you probably won't mind, but there are TONS of much nicer hotels. This was a total rip off. Would have been OK if it were a budget hotel.

On a positive note, however, the staff was really courteous and nice. Dominicans are lovely people.

Seriously, look at other places and also look in the REAL Punta Cana area, where the beach is MUCH nicer, white sands, no rocks... Dreams Punta Cana is in Uvero Alto, which is TOTALLY different from Punta Cana and far from any activity you might want to do outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the rooms, just forget this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments regarding your stay at our resort, and sincerely regret to learn that you had a disappointing experience. We host many guests that return year after year to enjoy our wonderful customer service and beautiful resort facilities, and it greatly concerns us when we receive comments like yours. As a service oriented company our main concern is to provide our guests with an excellent holiday experience and hope that they too become return guests.

We’re sorry that we did not meet your expectations as far as dining experience goes, especially since we offer such a wide variety of dishes in each of our 6 restaurants to please even our most demanding guests’ different tastes and needs.

It is unfortunate that during to the high occupancy period in which you visited us we encountered a shortage of lounge chairs in our pool and beach areas; please allow me to apologize for this inconvenience and take the opportunity to inform you that since your visit we have received 400 new sun-beds to include to our inventory, therefore this is no longer an inconvenience at our property.

Our property’s remote location nestled within the lush vegetation of our beautifully landscaped tropical environment is one of the many reasons our guests choose our resort and decide to return year after year to experience nature amongst our lovely flora and fauna, and because we are located on the Atlantic side of the island our beach offers natural, unspoiled beauty not found in some other man-made beaches in the area.

We understand that there is always room for improvement and we appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We just got back from a fabulous week! The entire staff is very warm, friendly and fun! Timoteo, Alexandra, Warnery, Anibel and Angel are some of our favorites... there were so many more!!! Maria, our housekeeper is extremely attentive and very observant of our wants/needs!

Will definitely return to this hotel when we are able to go on vacation again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Everything was wonderful...food, entertainment, pool, activities. My family loved it. There was always something for us to do, even the kids, who love to keep busy. The entertainment team was fantastic. Our favorites were Grecia, Juan, Wilbert and Chiquilin, who were always laughing and showing everyone a great time. They made us feel right at home and could not have been nicer to our kids. The shows at night were fun and entertaining. We can´t wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our property. We’re so happy to learn that we met your expectations and that you truly enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments to our entertainment team and it pleases us to know that they participated in making your family holiday extra special.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forwarding to welcoming you back “home” for your next family vacation.

Kind regards,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My daughter and I arrived at Dreams Punta Cana on March 24th-30th. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly. The Entertaiment Team was great. Always something to do. The night show were very good. The DJ in the Disco knows how to mix and play his music. The Restaurants good food. My daughter and I celebrated her birthday with the Dinner on the beach it was perfect. The bartender Anibal and Blyndy the best guys. Great customer service. My accommodations were with Apple vacation I was very happy. I can wait to visit again and bring my friends.

Room Tip: I had the Deluxe Room I was very happy with the room very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our property. We’re so happy to learn that we met your expectations and that you truly enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your compliments to our staff and we’re glad that Anibal and Blyndy also participated in making your stay extra special.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting your stay again in the near future.

Regards,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#47 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,842 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,421 reviews
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £160 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing