We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREAMS - Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DREAMS - Beautiful!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I wanted a blend of holidays all rolled into one.....relaxation, entertainment, active, romantic, with a stress-free environment. DREAMS delivered on that and more! The layout of the resort ensures that you can relax on the white sand beach with a cool breeze and a good book and stare out at the beautifully coloured sea; with a one minute walk you are able to join in the fun and games by the pool side and drink your way through the huge selection of cocktails whilst being thoroughly entertained by the DREAMS entertainment team who's energy and enthusiasm never stops (a particular mention must go to Wilson and Chiquilin.....fantastic!). The variety of games, competitions and fun lessons available all day and every day is perfect if you're holidaying as a couple of as a family. The service on the whole, throughout all areas of the hotel, is faultless, with the staff never ceasing to ensure that you are content, happy and having the best of times. This is done in a sincere way and I truly belive that they are happy to see you. The evening entertainment is great and clearly a lot of effort and though goes into their nightly productions.
Some all inclusive resorts are let down by the fod available. DREAMS does not. The variety is excellent and there are a good selection of different restaurants to choose from.
All in all My wife and I had a fantastic time and we wuld be willing to join the ever growing number of returning guests to this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edward f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,012
    2,557
    1,000
    431
    293
See reviews for
4,542
3,991
115
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,911)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is our 3rd trip to Punta Cana, but our first time staying a Dreams. Our son got married last Friday, and we had a total of 54 guests join us.

When first planning the wedding, we noticed that Dreams had a 6-star rating!! We thought... WOW - this must be an exceptional resort. We did read many of the reviews, the good, the bad, and the ugly - and took each with a grain of salt, as everyone has different opinions and different experiences. We had also stayed at Colonial Majestic and Grand Palladium Bavaro in the past. I would not say that we are resort experts, but I will give our honest opinion of the good and the not so good. Remember also... it is what YOU are most interested in!

ARRIVAL: The hotel is about 45 minutes from the airport. No surprise to us. We reached the resort and we were greeted with cold towels and champagne. Nice touch. Check in went very smoothly. We had over 15 rooms booked, and some of our elderly guests were given 2nd or 3rd floor rooms (no elevators) even though we requested 1st floor rooms for them. This was not really a big deal - the rooms were changed without a problem, with maybe an hour wait to get the new room ready. The one annoying thing (didn't happen to us, but many of our guests), was that they were pulled aside by what we thought were employees of the hotel, but were really solicitors trying to sell time-share property. This was not something one feels like going through after 10 to 12 hours of traveling. A few in our group were hassled for so long, that the World Cafe closed at 4:00 and they were left without a place to eat until 6:30 - after not eating since 6:00 a.m. before their travels. We never had this issue in the other hotels we stayed in. If one is interested in a time-share, I think one should be able to make the choice on their own whether or not they want to sit through an hour of hard sell.

ROOMS: We saw many of the different type rooms since we had such a big group. We had the family deluxe suite, which is nothing more than adjoining rooms, one with a king bed and the other with 2 doubles. The rooms were okay, but definitely need some updating. We had several guests having problem with air conditioning (mainly on the 2nd and 3rd floors), but our room was freezing (1st floor), so we had no problems with that. We also had several guests have problems with bathroom doors. One had no handle, so if the door shut, her partner had to let her out, and my mother-in-law got locked in her bathroom for 15 minutes after she locked the door from the inside, and the button stuck and would not open again. Calls to maintenance were quick and prompt, and they did let the poor soul out. Our maid service was excellent. The fridge was always stocked, towels were always replenished, and turn down service was always prompt. When comparing the room to Colonial Majestic - Colonial wins hands down. All rooms are suites, marble, and much, much bigger.

FOOD: I have read so many horrible reviews on the food, and to tell you the truth, this resort had the BEST food out of the other 2 resorts that we stayed. The World Cafe Buffet had a wide variety, especially at breakfast. We barely ate lunch, but when we did, there was a very wide selection. We only ate dinner there twice, and the food was very good. It is typical buffet food, and nothing very fancy. The a la cart restaurants are a MUST! Our favorite was Italian, which is adults only and long pants for the men! Service is always a bit slow in the restaurants (plan to spend at least 2 hours for dinner).. but remember you are on Dominican time. We never had a problem waiting for a table (there are no reservations), and one night we even had about 40 people sit for the same dinner. There was only one problem one night, and that was with a group who went to the Hibachi - out of 8 people, 5 ate the fish, and all 5 got sick that night with vomiting. I would assume that they had bad fish or it was not cooked thoroughly. The other great thing (which Majestic did not have), is that there was a kid section for food - serving all the kid-friendly dishes, i.e. chicken fingers, pizza, hamburgers, french fries, etc.

DRINKS: Without a doubt... the BEST drinks of the 3 resorts we have been to. The drinks were BIG and FROZEN!! From previous experience, we brought our own big mugs.. but never had to use them. They also use TOP SHELF alcohol!! We did not have to ask for it... they just poured it. And believe me... we drank a lot!!

STAFF: This is where this resort shines! We never came across one unhappy staff member. Everyone greeted us with smiles, holas, handshakes, hugs, etc. We were not the quietest group of people... and we really put those poor servers to work at the pool and beach. We made sure we took care of them with really nice tips, as they really do work their tails off. Of course, not everyone speaks great English, but we never had a barrier that was too troublesome. In fact, some of the staff gave us Spanish lessons every morning at breakfast!!

BEACH: This was a bit disappointing, but nothing that is the fault of the resort. This side of the island is not even technically Punta Cana - It is in Playas Uvero Alto Provincia La Altagracia. This is the Atlantic ocean... not the carribean. This side of the island has a lot more seaweed and coral than the other side. The resort does have a roped off area where it is safe to swim without stepping on coral, although there were a few small spots where we saw some. Again... this is your preference - if you want to do some great snorkeling, this is the beach for you. The other drawback is that the resort is isolated, which again is good and bad. The bad is that since there are no other hotels surrounding it (except for a vacant hotel a little way down the beach), it is NOT safe to walk off the beach property. One of our guests went for a run on the beach one morning, and a gentleman with a machine gun... yes a machine gun, came out of no where and told our guest to "get back to where you came from." There are also signs posted at the edges of the resort property advising you that you are now leaving the property... at your own risk. We were sort of bummed out by this, as many of the girls wanted to get our exercise by walking the beaches... but not at the risk of our safety.

ACTIVITIES/ENTERTAINMENT: The activities were plentiful, especially at the pool. In comparing with the 2 other resorts we stayed at, the beach activities did seem to lack a bit. While there was a daily bar-b-q on the beach every day (hamburgers, hot dogs, potatoes, nachos), there was never a BIG beach bar-b--q with a beach party like at the other 2 resorts. This was kind of disappointing, as it was always a fun night. They did have a Memorial Day celebration with some live music, but it was very short-lived. Another strange thing was that if you want to rent a snorkel or flippers, etc., you had to leave a $20 deposit (which you get back when you return the equipment). The other resorts did not do this, and when you have 5 kids that all want to snorkel, carrying around so much money doesn't feel very comfortable. I don't know why they could not just charge the room if something were to happen with the equipment. We did go to the disco a few nights, and we had a blast. There is a nice big bar in the middle, so drinks are not a problem. We did catch a few shows in the auditorium, and they were just like any other show you see in PC. Some were ok, others were just plain bad. The kids seemed to enjoy all of it.. and we had a good time no matter what.

GROUNDS: The resort grounds are impeccable!!! Groundskeepers were working 24/7. The trees, flowers, landscaping, lighting, etc were just gorgeous. We saw peacocks and baby peacocks (even hand fed them). There were flamingos roaming the grounds (hand fed them too)... and we also saw a few tarantulas (yes... not kidding), a snake, and even a whale on our last day during sunrise. Again... because of the area that the resort is in... we got eaten by mosquitoes!!! We NEVER had this problem on the other side of the island... but the location has a lot to do with it. The resort is surrounded by jungle, and a lot more critters. Unfortunately, we did see a few cockroaches (big ones) in our bathroom, as well as some of our other guests saw them too. Not sure if its an exterminating problem, or people leaving half-eaten food out in the hallways from room service (which we saw frequently).

CHILDREN: We had quite a few children on our trip... and let's just say, we barely saw them. As far as this resort, the entertainment for the children was top notch. They had everything from bull-riding, archery, rock wall, tennis, basketball, batting cages, ping pong, pool tables, WII, X-box, etc. Our kids would go off, and we would not see them for hours. There was also an area for the very small children, which we did not use, but it looked like a lot of fun and very well maintained. There was always some sort of activity going on whether it was in the pool or at the Core Zone (kids area).

SUMMARY: All-in-all, we had an amazing wedding/vacation. The guests who had not been to Punta Cana before thought everything was exceptional. Those guests that did visit Punta Cana in the past and stayed at other resorts, also felt the way that we did... that while the resort was very nice, it wasn't a 6-star hotel. It really all depends on what you are looking for and what makes you happy. Do you like long walks on the beach? Then this is not the place for you. Do you love to snorkel? Then you'll love it here. Do you have children and want them to be occupied? This is the place for you. Do you want a beautiful room that is big and up to date? This is not the place for you. Do hate mosquitoes and bugs? Don't go here. Would you rather stay at a smaller resort without tons and tons of walking? This is the place for you (although there is still a lot of walking, but not as bad as the others). Do you want better entertainment? You might find this resort a bit boring.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms seemed to have best working air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cherylhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our first trip here for a destination wedding. The wedding and reception were beautiful. However, the food here is bad. Numerous people who made the trip for the wedding got sick at various points. Our room was on the 3rd (top) floor and when it rained hard the last night we were there, the bathroom door jam & hallway would drip water. It was disgusting. The hotel mgmt just gave us towels to put down to sop up the water.

Pool is nice but spent more time on the beach. Bring back up beach towels because they usually run out of fresh towels by the afternoon (and basically just say "oh well!" if you need one).

However, staff is friendly and energetic (although you will be bugged very frequently by them about doing activities or playing games for prizes, coming to hear more about timeshares, etc. It's hard to just relax on the beach). The drinks were decent. The room itself was clean & comfortable despite the water issue.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have never stayed at an all-inclusive before and we have positive and negative comments about this one.
Positive: The staff was amazing! Always smiling and helpful. The entertainment team was awesome and put on great shows every night! Plus they had activities scheduled everyday. Very organized. The food was really good. Even the buffet was great. Lunch buffet was average, but every night they had a different theme for dinner. The grounds were kept very clean.

Negative: The room we were in was run down and smelled like mold. We couldnt leave our wet stuff in the bathroom because it wouldnt dry and would start to smell as the bathroom did. The maid service was good for the first 3 days and then she stopped coming regularly. We found the pool closed really early at 6pm. Only thing to do between 6-930pm was eat dinner. The pool was nice and big but very warm....you werent able to 'cool' off.
The people on the resort trying to get you to do excursions and buy stuff were very pushy. Two nights of the week they actually had vendors on the property and they were very pushy and would not take no for an answer. We paid a lot of money to go to an all inclusive for a reason....not to have to spend money while there!
Be carefull with what excursions you pick! The marinarium was great, but the trip to see the starfish was not!! Every step of the trip someone was trying to sell us something...even toilet paper to use a 'public' bathroom!
On the weekend the locals were allowed to stay at the resort, which in one way is nice for them to experience, but made you feel like you were at a kids water park! There is no separate pool for kids so it got crazy with screaming kids for the 2 days. I think we should have been warned that this resort does that and they should have a separate area for the families.

When driving to the resort get ready for a crazy bumpy ride! Lots of pot holes along the city roads.
I think if we ever went back to the Dominican we would try a different resort just to compare.

Room Tip: Swim outs were nice to have the pool and lounge chairs right outside your room. Room upgrades are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is our second trip here. We will come back again. The entertainment group is excellent, on the beach and at the pool area as well as the theater at night. Our room was very nice, which we upgraded to the preferred club and the food was very good. The staff is excellent and very friendly.Our 16 yr old son loved playing all the games at the pool and on the beach and winning money for the auction. We have nothing to say bad about this place except I wish there was a little better swimming on the beach but if you love the pool, you dont need the beach. Once again, the entertainment staff is excellent and are always trying to get people involved. If you do those things, it is a lot of fun. Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the back side instead of by the walk ways and pools. Its a little more quiet and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We have stayed at several all-inclusives before and this resort ranks among the top.

Positives
The resort is beautiful with many tropical plants throughout. Service is quick and always friendly. The grounds were kept sparkling clean every day. The highlight is the swimming pool which stretches throughout the whole property and is clean and very warm. The beach is soft sand and the water is clear. The food at the World Cafe buffet is fine. Specialty restaurants were much better. Our favorite was the Sea Side Grill Cafe steak house for dinner and Oceana for lunch. Also of note, out of our party of 2 elderly ladies and a small child, no one got sick. Entertainment was top notch! We loved all of the shows.

Negatives
The lunch at the buffet was just OK. The standard rooms are small. No bars to hold on to when getting into shower.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool offer good people watching but the ones facing the gardens are quieter. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyTravelerLeeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Having recently returned from getting Married at this excellent resort I am truely amazed at some of the negative comments. Firstly I found the staff to be more than helpful and polite and if there were any problems they were resolved with expediance. Secondly the food again was amazing, you show me another buffet that caters for so many different tastes and thats just breakfast, evenings at the World Cafe (Buffet) had a theme from Dominican Roast to italian. The Himitzu Restuarant can get noisy if there are some inebriated individuals having the cooking show but thats not the fault of the resort. As for cleanliness, the rooms and resort are cleaned daily...getting up at 5am to find people out picking up every leaf that had fallen from the trees over night, raking the seeweed from the beaches and disinfecting the pool (including scrubbing all the tiles). As for the Wedding itself, well that was stress free, you have a meeting with the co-ordintator and she/he takes care of the rest. You just get told what time to arrive and before you know it your Married. Entertainment was varied and above excellent the shows they put on, with the team after excerting themselves joining you for a game of pool or a dance in the night club always smiling.
Got to thank the Entertainments team Wilson, Hanora, Wilbert to name a few for making everyone feel they were friends for years.
Its difficult to express how impressive the resort is and we are already planning to go back to the exact same resort for our first anniversary. (We saw some of the other resorts and none appeared on face value to be as impressive)

Thank you Dreams, looking forward to going again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarmaUK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.7 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#13 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,199 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing