We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The journey from the airport is rather long - about an hour. However, once we arrived we loved the hotel. Our room was quite large - much better than at Dreams La Romana. The a la carte restaurants were really good and all staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the beach. I only went in the sea twice and cut my feet both times. The huge pool almost makes up for this though. In the evening there was a very strong wind coming in off the sea, and I don't know if this was just the weather conditions whilst we were there or if this is normal. I would definitely go back though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tymoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,983 - 6,989 of 11,792 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

9-17-2012
Apple Vacation Customer Service,
we were there Sept 8-15
Fooled by Apple vacation Ratings Dreams Punta Cana is not a 6 golden apple
Problems with Hotel

• The resort Dreams Punta Cana was not even in Punta Cana.
• the rooms were very small
• furniture broken
• mold in room
• ceiling in bathroom falling in
• plumbing in tub did not work
• key to room did not work
• food was horrible, not gourmet food
• always had to wait for beach towels
• drinks were watered down
• entertainment was awful
• Disco stunk like mold made my asthma act up
• Bar tenders did not like you asking for top shelve they would give you attitude when you did
• Maids never left enough towels and did not pick up plates from the night before
• Safe did not work had to call to get money out right before our excursion
• The maid would put beer and pop in fridge but when you opened the door they would fall out, one broke, we called for them to come and clean it up, they picked up the glass but did not mop. Ww were not in room when they came to clean it up.
I slipped when I walked in the room and the room smelled like beer.
• Beds on beach were falling apart and they were only for Preffered Club.
• The maid changed our pillow cases but did not have new ones so left them like that and never came back to put new ones on. The day we left still no pillow cases…

Spoke to the Apple Rep. He was as helpful as he could be, gave us a room upgrade, to a junior suite Which was nice, but it still did not change everything else. Should have been moved to another Hotel.


Problems with Excursion Isla Saona

We were picked up and taken to an intersection and made to wait for 1 hour until another bus came to pick us up. Thank god I speak Spanish because I could ask question. If it were some one else they would have freaked out. Sitting in a bus not knowing the language and not knowing what was going on
Workers were very aggressive when it came to tipping, so aggressive they made you feel like you had no choose.

How could they rate this hotel a 6 golden apple when you rate Zoety a 6 golden apple + there is nothing Luxury about this resort. Iberostar Grand in Mexico, Beaches in Turks and caicos, Sandals white house in Jamaica those are 6 golden apples not Dreams Punta Cana. Makes me wonder if the only reason this was rated so high was because Apple ownes the resort.

One thing that I have to say from the front desk people, servers, bus boys, hostess they were extremely nice and always pleasant. The spa was very nice.

I’m not sure if I would ever book a Amresorts Hotel ever because there ratings are incorrect. This is not fair to the clients that are counting on this information.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel if you all looking for luxury resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drich888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operacionesdrepc, Manager at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort. Your feedback is very important to us as it permits us to identify any deficiencies that may otherwise go unnoticed in our daily operation. We`re sorry to learn that you encountered any inconvenience during your stay; as a service oriented company our main concern is our guests` complete satisfaction and we truly regret that your experience was anything less than excellent.

Our management staff is available around the clock to handle any issues that may negatively affect our guests, and we would have appreciated the opportunity to offer any additional assistance while you were in-house. The room upgrade to a Junior Suite, with a value of over US$1000.00, made possible through your representative with prior authorization from hotel management, was an obvious gesture of goodwill. We understand that you would have preferred to move to another hotel, as stated in your comment above, and would like to remind you that the offer was presented to you at the time, but you declined. It is unfortunate that you feel that despite the complimentary upgrade and the personal assistance you were provided with you were still dissatisfied with our service.

We host many guests that return year after year to enjoy our wonderful customer service and beautiful facilities, and it greatly concerns us when we view comments like yours, nevertheless we thank you for pointing these issues out to us. We understand that there is always room for improvement, and all necessary measures will be taken to correct our weaknesses.

Sincerely,

Nancy De Lara
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

it was amazing , we are as europeans are used to go to countrys like spain greece or the popular turkey for sun see and fun , this time we went to the domenican republic and YES it was a bullseye , nice rooms in bloc 1 preffered , good food , not only chicken as in turkey moslim , nice restaurants without bookings , the beach and see are speechless , good amimation team , clean rooms , the hole location is also cleaned , we didnt do the spa so dont have an opinion about that ,
the others guests are mostly USA and CANADA , very welcoming people instead of a buch unmannered russians who are destroying turkey for the moment , the poolbar very easy going staff , about the hole staff i want to say that these people are so friendly and kind and in an hounest way , non forced , natural way , especialy Sujeidy was exellente on the OCEANA bar , she doesnt have to much work there but if you are at the bar she gives you the feeling to be very welcome and has always a smile for everyone , girl on the right spot !!!!!!!!!!! for the rest a want to say that if you come from europe to this place you wont regret the long trip

Room Tip: if your room doesnt fit ask kindly for another, they are so helpfull all of them , from the bellboy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coppens P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just returned from our stay at Dreams Punta Cana and we had an amazing time! My boyfriend and I could not have asked for a friendlier staff! veryone was so nice and welcoming =) the food was delicious and the beach and activities were tons of fun! Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nunezdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

First of all I would like to say that this our second trip to this resort. We went as a group of friends back in 2009 and this time we returned with our little boy. This resort is quite nice and the staff work very hard. Ive been to a quite a few places and would consider myself well travelled but have yet to go to a place with this excellent service. Some places serve you because its their job but here at Dreams they serve you because they are quite happy to do so.

The resort itself is quite beautiful and it has a great flow to it that really gets highlighted by the free flowing pool that goes from the lobby to the ocean. The buildings have a nice spanish colonial feel to them that I personally like.

Ive read some reviews on this resort and people complain about the choppy water or the sand is brown...do your research before you go. Some resorts are meant for some people and some are not...again do your research. Personally the thought of staying in a high rise resort hotel doesnt appeal to me but some like it better...again we are all different.

The Food was better than the last time we were here. The Oceana beef tenderloin and salmon were Excellent...Sea side grill was amazing as well..great food and good atmosphere.

Dreams to me is SOLID 4 to 4 and half star resort but it could so easily be a 5 star if there were little things done. The rooms stand to gain the most. They are tired and kind of need a better facelift then what they were given. If they did this this would make all the difference! It needs the wow factor....The lobby is beautiful but in some areas like the rooms they need minor facelifts...Thats all folks...im being nitpicky i guess...Now on to the highlights:

The staff is what makes this place roll and the MAIN reason why my wife and I would return...They were amazing to our little baby boy and they did everything to make him happy and he loved them. I will point out one amazing employee thou that is incredible:

Lenin: THE BEST!!! Note to Dreams: He is a valuable asset to your place and if we ever return you have this man to thank! Im being honest when I say that we would probably look at trying a different resort if it wasnt for this man.. Lenin gave us the best service we have EVER had at any resort. He did Everything for us. Great service, was excellent with our boy...He really cared about how we were doing and went above and beyond what his job was...He found out it was our sons first birthday on our last day and got him a cake and sang to him and gave him a little present. Like i said: This man is amazing and he made our whole week...its amazing how an employee can make the trip better but when we think of this trip we will remember how amazing he was to my wife, son and myself.

One note: (THIS NOT REFLECTIVE OF DREAMS AN DIS NO WAY THEIR FAULT) on our last night this family started this huge fight in the seaside grill. The girl was swearing and throwing things in a restaurant...who does this? Go to your room and fight or someplace where we all dont have to watch your lack of class and intelligence on display for everyone to see...Please, if your missing a Chromosome or have the IQ of a fruit fly stay at home because this girl clearly was...it was like watching a bad MTV reality show (hope your reading this btw)....hate to end the review on this note because everything else was excellent and we had a great family trip! Thank you Dreams and THANK YOU LENIN for not just making this a vacation but an experience!

Room Tip: Swim up room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Basically, this review is to tell the truth about this resort, against what some have made out to be a monster of a hotel. It is based on our visit from last October, so things may have changed since then, BUT.. They were in the process of renovating as we left, so I can not see it been any worse than the year before (althought we found no problems with the hotel at all)
1. It is a long drive to the resort from the airport, but after an 81/2 hour flight, like an extra hour matters? If you are as excited as we was, the time will fly by.
2. Ok, so the rooms aren't amazing! But they are clean, comfortable, spacious, provide all the essentials and the beds are really comfortable!!
3. Not all of the food is horrendous!! So a few things might be dry or overcooked but there is ALWAYS something to eat!! If not there are many restaurants to visit, room service or pizza!
4. Most importantly, the beach is rocky but it is still unbelievably stunning! It is not as messy and disappointing as people make out!!
5. I you want quiet space there is PLENTY of places to go.. The pool makes up most of the hotel!! Some are just petty and picky.
6. Entertainment is brilliant day and night. There is always something to do, and if you don't want to do it, you do not get tormented!

Reading through some of the previous reviews, either the hotel has changed drastically in 12 months, or people are expecting beyond the imaginable.

Overall we found the hotel fantastic value for money, it's perfect for a couples getaway.
AND WE RETURN TO DREAMS IN 25 DAYS. I CAN NOT WAIT!!!

Any questions, please message.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cooper92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks. The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are bad, our bathroom ceiling was hanging off! Maid service was not too good, think we were unlucky as I saw other maids cleaning windows etc but ours were never cleaned. One day we had a different cleaner & room smelt fresh, needless to say we didnt tip!
The most positive thing about the resort is the staff. They were so friendly & helpful. The kids club staff are amazing, my son has never bothered with kids club before but we couldnt get him out here. His favourites were Vicky & Marilyn but all the ladies are superb! Massive thanks to them all. The only staff to let down the hotel was the ladies in the shop that sells lilo's, clothes, sweets etc. They were so RUDE! Disgraceful. In the end I stopped going in there.
The restaurants were ok but the food is average but you'll survive.
The shows are a bit samey by week 2. The magic & circus shows were good but too much dancing for the rest. The entertainment team di work hard though dancing around in that heat.
The pool is good for families are not deeper than 3 feet. Beach was ok, yes theres seaweed its the ocean people.
I enjoyed my holiday but probably wouldnt return to the Dominican in the foreseeable future as mexico tops it on excursions & food.
But go & see for yourself, definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phineasfrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#47 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,851 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
10.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 113 in Punta Cana
13,434 reviews
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £163 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing