We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First All Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First All Inclusive”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our first all inclusive resort trip and our first time in Punta Cana. Family of 5, 3 kids aged 8, 3 and 3. We really weren't sure what to expect of the resort

First things first, arriving into Punta Cana was absolutely ridiculous. It took us over 75 minutes to clear customs for no apparent reason other than perhaps island time. The stroller was gate checked but didn't come through until after customs so our kids were pretty wiped, we were hot and sticky and sweaty beyond belief.

After clearing customs we got fairly quickly to out bus which was air conditioned and comfortable and then to the resort. On arriving we decided to upgrade to Preferred Club. I guess we were booked in standard rooms and our AC didn't work, neither did the fridges. They moved us to another section (right by the Preferred Club) as soon as a room was available and I don't know whether it was because it was on the ground floor (fine if you are on the buildings 6-10 side because there is a path that runs through the resort NOT through the accommodations but NOT fine if you are on the other side as the path runs through the accommodation and you can hear everything so on that side you want to be closer to the beach to avoid hearing much noise) but the AC worked like a sub-zero as did the fridge. I'm guessing that these were the preferred club rooms...

So the good:
Amazing facilities - the pool is beautiful and has tons of places for small kids including the swim up bar which is shallow enough for them to walk the length and yellow floating beds which the kids loved (if they'd only used the kids club properly I would have enjoyed them too). Preferred Club beach - incredible beds (palapas?) - the week we were there was apparently 95% occupancy but felt pretty empty to be honest. We didn't have any trouble getting a bed at all but don't know what this would be like if it was truly full.

Amazing service (the best intentioned in any case). Everyone tries very very hard to please although things don't always work out (whether its the coffee, the food, a misunderstood order). We asked for chocolate chip cookies and fresh fruit - they didn't ordinarily have choc chip cookies but managed to find some for us each time. Fresh fruit translated as fresh melon juice. Quite delicious but not what we asked for. Staff members of note in this respect: Nelson who runs the Oceana, Amarius who was our server there as well as at our dinner on the beach (more on that below), Elivira, Carolina and a male manager whose name I have forgotten at the Preferred Club. Diogenes in the Preferred club beach. All the girls at the Kids Club (who also babysat for us) but Maria, Carmen, Evelyn, Perla, Carol, Jennifer to name a few. All room service staff were fantastic.

Kids Club -my oldest had a great time and my younger kids just wanted to hang out with Mum and Dad. But the club had a fun facility with small water slide. They took the kids out a lot. It wasn't open til 10 that i'm aware of - only 9. And they didn't do the overnight camping on the beach which my daughter had been looking forward to but it was definitely a bonus and the kids will use it when they are older.

The food - OK this is a pro and con. The first night we went to the buffet - we were beat. I enjoyed the salads and veggies but my kids didn't enjoy the food and my husband was on the verge of killing me for organizing the holiday. We are both foodies (we live in NYC and eat out for date night). The following day we ate in the Oceana and the food was OK (the tuna steak was cooked rare as ordered but it was a thin cut - why not do proper steak cuts?), the following night we ate at the Seaside Grill and were pretty happy with our steaks (the skirt was reliable - the the rib eye was cut thin again - again, why do this - why not do the right cuts of steak - it's not a minute steak and I understand they are cooking for a larger number of folks and trying to move people through the restaurant but it really shouldn't be that difficult). Desserts - I'd stick to fruit which is amazing (the other desserts were pretty BLAH even if they were nicely plated. Best food we ate was at portofino. My husband was very suspicious of the pasta - we also spent a ton of time in Italy (living and traveling there) and so we are pretty fussy. The world cafe bolgonese he had the first night was "revolting". He asked our waiter there (also deserves a callout but I can't remember his name - will ask my husband and add a comment) if it was the same - he said no and in fact it wasn't. it was actually really good. As was the tenderloin. We should have passed on coffee and dessert tho. Oh and room services was consistently great and they were consistently accommodating of requests that were off menu (but elsewhere in the facility).

Cons: room variability as noted above our first room (2 nights) the AC didn't work nor did the fridge.
Maid service - we had great maid service in the new rooms (again I think these are preferred club area) but still no towel art (about half the traveler photos on the site), and it generally didn't happen before 4.30pm - not useful with kids who get wiped by the sun. The last day I actually asked and it was cleaned in the morning but not sure what would happen if everyone asked for morning service (I think before 1 is reasonable).

Food - see above. World Cafe was good for breakfast. Mains for dinner were apparently pretty sub-par. Pizza wasn't great (too fluffy, too much sauce and too much cheese - pizza at the trattoria by the beach by contrast was thin crust and OK but not great). Variability - greek salad - great greek salad with real feta at the seaside grill for dinner. Really average Greek salad with some processed cheese from the Oceana for lunch - restaurants are literally adjacent to one another with open walls.

Restaurant Wait time - with families - go early. As a couple either go late or be prepared to wait up to 45 mins for a table - not a bad idea to order a salad from room service (I did this or ate a greek salad at the seaside grill with my big kid before dropping her at kids club and heading out to dinner with my husband - we generally ate after 9 - once at 10 and were the only folks there more or less).

Room Tip: I'd do the Preferred Club - with small kids ground floor (no elevators) closest to the beach pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to have you with at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa. Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share the details of your Dreams experience. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff members, specially the ones you mention in your review, as well as the food, the grounds and your room.

Your comments are very important to us, as we always strive to improve the quality of our services in order to offer our guests the exceptional experience they deserve. We appreciate your feedback and you can rest assured your message is being passed on to corresponding departments.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Should there be anything we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,933
    2,538
    990
    428
    291
See reviews for
4,489
3,955
114
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,888)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

To begin with, our travel agent highly recommended this resort as a wedding destination and she was not wrong! Everything from the time we arrived to the actual wedding day was perfect. The food is delicious, the hotel is clean, the staff have fun working at the resort, it's amazing! The entertainment team, especially Ne-Yo, Carlo and the rest of the crew went out of their way each and every day to make sure everybody had a great time!
My new wife and I can't wait to go back or possibly visit another Dreams location next year!
Thank you all for the fantastic time, we will never forget our vacation!
Excellente!
Dave( Gigantico) and Mel

Room Tip: Go with Preferred Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share this wonderful Dreams experience, and we thank you deeply for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA as your wedding destination, and allowing us the opportunity to have be part of such special moment in your life.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your wedding to the fullest and everything went just as perfect as you had planned it. It makes really happy to know you received exceptional attentions from our staff.

It was an honor to host you and offer you an unforgettable and remarkable experience.

Should there be anything we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Wonderful resort, beautiful friendly people, and good amenities. The lagoon pool was the best. Food selection was great, especially if you opt for the preferred club. Sanchez in Oceania restaurant was great; Jason at the french restaurant was also very nice.

Stephanie, the pool concierge was very attentive and helpful. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent visit.

We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of our resort, such as the food, the friendliness of our staff and the beauty of our property. We really enjoyed taking care of you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

It was a pleasure to host you and provide you with the special attentions you deserve. Thank you very much for choosing Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa as your vacation destination. We will pass the message on to the people you mention in your input.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Should there be anything we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was there to take our bags (looking for a tip), however no-one directed us to the preferred club nor did anyone ask. After waiting an hour at the front desk for help, we were finally directed to preferred check-in. Still another 30 mins before our room was ready. The great things about the resort, the landscaping,ambiance, and friendly staff. The rooms were less than average. The shower was extremely small with mildew and a hole in the ceiling. We had a broken table in our room, with a less than cold mini bar. Things that were fixed had poor craftsmanship. We only had turn down service one night in the preferred club, although maid service was guaranteed daily. I would not visit again, not worth the money.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room # 6215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latresha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent visit.

We are glad to know you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff, as well the beauty of our grounds and the pleasant atmosphere at the resort. We appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience and we thank you for choosing us.

We regret learning that some of the aspects from our resort did not fully meet your expectations, as we strive to constantly make our guests feel pleased.

Please note your comments are very important to us and they're being forwarded to the corresponding departments in order for corrective actions to be taken.

We look forward to an opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Should there be anything we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently returned from our destination wedding vacation at Dreams Punta Cana. We were very hesitant when our travel agent made blunder after blunder with our trip...but that is for a different review.

Upon our arrival we were taken care of in every way possible. Our guests were even upgraded to make up for our travel agents miscommunications...which honestly the resort was not responsible for, and therefore were not required to do. They went above their call of duty.

The resort grounds are beautiful and clean. Also, even when the resort is full, as it was during our time there, it never felt overly busy. The staff are always at work ensuring everything is clean and beautiful. Our maids Herminia and Estella were fantastic at keeping our room clean, and entertained us with their daily towel sculptures.

The staff at the buffet and restaurants were also fantastic. Judy was always there to great you with a smile and a laugh. Angelo, Bindy, and Santana also entertained us, and catered to us in the pool. Finally, the staff at the Rendezvous bar made sure we wanted to stay there. Raydon, Yanni, Ana, and Lenny got to know our likes very quickly and made sure we didn't even need to ask. These are just a few of the outstanding staff members we encountered on our trip, but everyone who works there should be commended, as it is the major reason we will be returning.

Our only issue was that our room card reader seemed to work randomly. We had our cards reset numerous times, and they confirmed that it was not the cards, but the reader. That being said, it was never long for us to get help.

The wedding went off without a hitch, thanks to Daniella, our wedding coordinator, along with Daniel and Morino, the bar and wait staff. Daniella was outstanding, especially taking care of our travel agent issues. She did more than was required of her. It was everything we wanted for our wedding...relaxing, beautiful, and fun.

We would highly recommend this resort.

P.S. The food is great...especially the steak.
P.P.S It's a great place for families with smaller kids.

Room Tip: Get a swim out room....it's definitely worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheilaandscottmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and sharing your Dreams experience.

We feel honored to have been a part of one of the most special events in your life. Thank you so much for making Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa your wedding destination. We are glad we were able to go beyond your expectations and offer you a remarkable and unforgettable experience.

It was a pleasure to host you, and provide you with the exceptional services we are highly known for. And we are happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of the resort, as well as your guests did. We appreciate the time you have taken to express your gratitude and satisfaction. Your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to having you back soon.

Should there be anything we could assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitchener, ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I just returned from a week long stay at dreams punta cana; I was travelling as part of a group of 22 people who were there for a wedding celebration; there were some aspects of the trip that were great...the food at the a la carte restaurants was amazing and we liked the idea of not having to pre-book reservations; the spa was the best that I have experienced in the Caribbean; staff were wonderful (especially yessica who was the wedding planner and willy who served us in the world café each morning and also at the Japanese restaurant); the rooms were adequate; there was plenty of room for my husband and I but those in the group who were travelling with children were a bit cramped; the resort is located on the atlantic side of the island so the beach area is a little rocky compared to the properties on bavaro beach which is the Caribbean side of the island; the few problems that we had all related to poor communication between departments within the resort; the wedding couple were entitled to late check out at 2:00 p.m. but found that their key card had been de-activated at noon which is the regular check out time; also, one couple in our group had an $250 charge on their bill at check out and it took a bit of convincing to get the cashier to phone and check that this charge was a mistake; overall, we had a good time and the wedding ceremony and celebration were worth the trip but I don't think that we will be returning to this property as we have stayed at better places in punta cana for the same price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience, and we are pleased to learn about the aspects that you enjoyed from our property, such as the food, rooms and spa, but most of the all, the attentions provided from our friendly staff, specially the wedding coordinator. We are glad to know everything was perfect with the wedding you came for.

We would also like to thank you for making us aware of things that did not go exactly as you expected. Even though we regret knowing that we did not fully meet your expectations. But you can rest assured that your comments are being forwarded to the corresponding departments and actions will be immediately taken in order to improve our overall quality.

Looking forward to an opportunity of hosting you again in the future and remaining at your services.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is in one word beautiful, the rooms are nice, at least the preferred club ones...the staff is very friendly and look foward to deliver a great experience to the customers. The reason of the title is due to two things, first off the name is very misleading since the hotel is in uvero alto and not in Punta Cana wich is about 30 miles from the actual location of the hotel, the other is the food...for a hotel of the category as this one the food was less than ok at least for the a la carte restaurants, the buffet almost made but I wouldn't recommend the other.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignacio E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary U, eConcierge at Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for informing us of your recent stay.

We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the room we offered you, as well as the attentions by our staff members. Our mission has always been to make our guests feel like home and providing them with the exceptional treatment they deserve. Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments and feedback, as we always strive to improving our overall quality in order to offer our guests the best services they could receive.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Should there be anything else we could assist you with, please let us know.

Best Regards,

Gary Ubiera
eConcierge
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & SPA
econcierge.drepc@dreamsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#14 of 111 in Punta Cana
10,965 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
11.4 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#20 of 111 in Punta Cana
12,807 reviews
14.1 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#15 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in a lush tropical paradise, Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa features one of the largest free-form swimming pools in the Dominican Republic, stretching from the lobby all the way down to the pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Sunscape Beach Punta Cana
Punta Cana Sunscape Beach
Dreams Resort Punta Cana
Dreams Punta Cana Resort
Dreams Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing