We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here......won't be the last!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #69 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First time here......won't be the last!!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I love the all inclusive here at Riu. The people, the servers, wait staff and animation crew made us feel like family! !! I would come here again and again. Everything about this place screams 'you must come back'.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimberg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    1,471
    745
    375
    325
See reviews for
1,345
2,277
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here in august 2013 for 14 days. The overall feel of the hotel and rooms is very nice however a few cracks start to appear the closer you look. The staff here were fantastic the whole time we were there and our rep we had through Thompson was brilliant, he gave us local tips that maybe the hotel wouldn't give because it wouldn't benefit them. Moved from our first room because the air conditioning was broken and made the bed damp second was better but still had a similar issues but not as bad. Restaurants here were good, I personally liked the steakhouse and the fusion. Buffet can be a bit boring so look to book the restaurants as much as possible. Pool staff and entertainment was really good overall was a really good 2 weeks away. With a few areas just having a new coat of paint and the buffet being a bit better would have been 5 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, far quieter and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our first trip to the Dominican was to the Riu Punta Cana. The customer service was good, the entertainment good, rooms needed updated, and resort is starting to show signs of its age. The highlight was the entertainment, and a invitation bbq on the night before we left. We did not leave the resort, due to safety concerns surrounding the resort areas. The drinks were ok, not great. The pool was good, and there was daily activities at the pool with the entertainment staff. There were small bugs/mites in the room. The safe is nearly on the floor and does not hold much. A small Macbook laptop barely fits in the safe. They make it very clear to not leave valuables out in the room. We had a good stay, and would return but would probably want to check out a different resort next time. The airport was interesting. We chose this property because of our experience in Cancun at the Riu Palace Peninsula-the food at this Riu property did not live up to our expectations. The service was awesome and makes up for the shortcomings. We made reservations to eat at the Italian place and it was ok, the fusion restaurant was decent but nothing like the reservations places at the Riu Cancun.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are better and overlook the courtyard leading to the pool and the ocean. The resort b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Having spent time in several Riu locations, this one is a swing & big miss. On the surface the hotel is just okay. But, after a weeks stay one will find that the place is under staffed, you can go a long time before anyone will notice or move to take a beverage order. Most drinks are way too sweet, only one beer choice (Presidente), so if you're not a fan, thats your only option. Breakfast and Lunch meals are tasteless and boring. Nothing in the way of snack foods anywhere near the pool. Lunch is the same thing each and eveyday. We found that only the Italian and Brazilian resturants enjoyable. Room service is a sad joke. Overall, the beach was nice enough, and the property is adequate. But, that doesn't make up for a hotel staff that falls short of what a resort should be.
If you're planning a relaxing vacation, do youself a huge favor, and go elsewhere. This one needs new managment now, they could take a few tips from places such as Cabo, Playa de Carmen, or any of the Mexico locations. Really a disappointment all the way around. Will never repeat Punta Cana....there is better!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel, thats the best advise here. Room selection will not make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived to the Hotel, RIU Bambu to be offered suites at the Palace Punta Cana. The rooms were fantastic and the service was best ever. the food was great everywhere and all the staff was warm and friendly. The location was close to everything on the resorts and we viseded all the RIU's in the area.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room or junior suite to get the best experience. we all liked the buffet for our meals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked this hotel based on Internet reviews. The reality was quite different. While many of the reviews mention how the rooms stunk, and the food was mediocre, they still give the resort 4 or 5 stars. Our room smelled as well, and the pillows looked and felt like they had been there for many years. The floor always felt sticky and dirty, leaving us to wipe our feet before getting into bed.

We got in between serving times on the restaurants, and ordered nachos from room service. When the plate of chips arrived with a small plastic cup of Cheese Whiz arrived, with a few canned jalapenos on top, we called and asked where the guacamole was that was listed on the menu. "We don't have any." The "nachos" were representative of the food at this resort. We ate at the Brazilian restaurant that evening, where we thought the meat must have been marinated, it was so gray. Turns out it was just that overcooked. That was indicative of the food for the rest of the trip.

Some of the staff were nice, such as at the front desk, but many were apathetic. There was frequently staff yelling at each other in the restaurants, it made us very uncomfortable. A couple of times they chased each other around the room.

The beach was beautiful, the chairs plentiful. The water stunning. The drinks watered down completely. I'm not much a drinker, and I could drink all day and not even get tipsy.


The location is isolated, there is not much to do offsite, one lame snorkeling trip. One spot for scuba, which was not impressive either. We had a "massage" at the spa, both of us came out with pinch bruises from the girls who clearly had no training. The sheet on the massage table was dirty, I requested a fresh one before I would lay down. She did not have one, and I ended up laying down towels.

I would not recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGirl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson Hills, Pa.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent a week at the Riu Palace and had a great time. The food was good, beach was beautiful and pool was great. It is not a huge resort so everything was relatively easy to get to. Entertainment was typical for this type of resort. The best part was the people. Everyone treated us great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to make it a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
16.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#82 of 111 in Punta Cana
329 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
15.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#88 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#62 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 40 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing