We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware: WheelChair Stolen First Night There” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beware: WheelChair Stolen First Night There”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I continue to believe these "wonderful" reviews are written by company employees. While there are many comments regarding the excessive expectations of American tourists, I think there is a global desire to be provided a safe environment if you are paying to stay in a resort. My mothers wheelchair was stolen the first night my family was there and no replacement was available. There was no attempt at prioritizing this robbery with the staff in fact they all but ignored me when I ran frantically to the front desk. I know it was an "inside" job as my family ran around the "resort" seconds after the wheelchair went missing to no avail. Looking in bushes,behind buildings etc. This can only mean the wheelchair went into a room. After this the staff would not issue a report for the insurance company so we could not be reimbursed and then they DID NOT HAVE A CHAIR TO LOAN US nor did they assist us in finding a local merchant who would rent us one. It was a nightmare and upon return home I contacted the company. No matter what anyone says, large American companies are at least a little concerned about this type of thing, perhaps because of potential bad press or litigation, however my attempts to contact the RIU company were in vain. It would be hard to rate anything other than this horrendous service as it was the focus of the trip but my impression was beach and pools areas were overcrowded. The food passable. The rooms OK but with rock hard beds. Not very clean; somewhat of a moldy smell but this often the case in the Caribbean. But truly the trip never went past the absolute poorest, almost non-existent customer service I have ever experienced. These "fantastic" reviews are, in my mind, quite questionable.

Room Tip: Choose no room. Just do some more research and go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pickyhotelclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,968
    1,414
    713
    358
    299
See reviews for
1,263
2,205
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This resort was a major disappointment. Everything looks so beautiful in the pictures, and the hotel really does look just like the pictures, however the pictures don't tell you that the bed is comparable to sleeping on a pile of bricks and the sheets feel like sandpaper. The pictures don't show you that there is no chance of getting your room at the 3:00PM check in time because the front desk is so organized. There is no "first come, first serve". The room were finally were given, not only had a horrible bed, but the faucet in the bathtub didn't work so there was no way to use jetted bath tub. The water was cold and very low water pressure. I basically bathed out of the sink. However, the absolute worst experience was when the bell hop filled the elevator with himself, me, my husband, 4 other guests, and a full luggage rack. The elevator couldn't hold the weight and we got trapped for at least 15 minutes. We refused to use the elevators the rest of our stay and our legs were exhausted from all the stairs. Finally, don't count on using the WiFi in your room. It only works part of the time in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mglne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have gone to the Riu Palace Punta Cana 4 times in the last 5 years. This is a very comfortable hotel convenient to beaches that go on for miles and miles. The staff in the hotel go out of there way to be helpful. They remember returning guests. We recognize other guests from past years as they return also. There are 5 restaurants to choose from Entertainment could be improved--we could probably perform the childrens program as it is the same every evening and has been all 4 years. We return because we enjoy the location and the amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desertgal422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This vacation designation is not for handicapped wheelchair bound people period. Starting at the airport arrival, there are no Jet-ways at the airport for wheelchair people to de-plane. 4 people had to carry my wife off the aircraft down a portable stairway. Same thing on the way back home. Transport buses to the airport/hotel have no ramps to get you into the vehicle. We had to hire a driver that had a Toyota van so we could get my wife in the front seat and the rest of the luggage in the back. No handicapped rooms from what we were told by the staff, even though we asked for such a room when we booked the vacation. No shower chair/bench in the shower for the wife. When we called the front desk, they replied, "We will get her something to sit on"!!! They showed up 30 minutes later with a plastic picnic chair!!! Not what we were thinking of, but it worked out. Forget about the tours; there again, no place to sit for the wife. We took the safari/outback tour, which I do recommend, if you are not disabled. My poor wife had to sit up front with the driver, Leo, who was fantastic driver by the way, on a bench seat chair that was approx. 4 1/2 feet off of the street level. I still don't know how i got her off and on the truck 4 times during the tour. Curbs are huge, approx. 18 inches in some places due to the flooding in the month of May; Very difficult to get around something like that. Yes, you are going to a third world country that is very poor and the infrastructure is not the USA, but this is a tourist destination after all. Our overall view of the Riu Palace Bavaro in Punta Cana, is the hotel and staff were very good. Very friendly and more than happy to help you. Rosa, our housekeeper was awesome. For a non-handicapped person, 4 stars; for a handicapped person 1 star.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2037, no ocean view at all. If you want an ocean view you have to upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed June 28, to July 4, 2014. We had a very very good time, the beach, you and can sit or walk as far as you want, the staff came around about every 20 minutes with drinks or to get what you needed that was every day. The pool was just as nice, everything was always clean. The food was ok, things I liked and things I didn't like but always a lot of food. The rooms were in very good shape plenty of room king size bed flat screen tv a lot of stations, stocked fridge, and a liquor cabinet We stayed at Riu Palace Bavaro Sept 2013 we liked it so well we came back, if you come to Punta Cana you can't go wrong staying here or Bavaro. I have never seen the staff be anything but helpful. If you stay here and you wanted for something and didn't ask, that is your fault.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room We stayed on the 3rd floor on back side, quite but no good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chuckm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tranent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This has been one of the best holidays weve been on, it has been 5star all the way, from the hotel to the staff, to the excursions, the only thing i would complain about is the holiday wasnt long enough, we are just back from a fortnights holiday, could have been longer.
The staff at the Riu are magnificent, they run after you all day and night and have always got a smile for you.
The hotel was brill although does need a little touch up here and there, especially the pool a few tiles missing, but apart from that the cleanliness was great and the rooms were fab.
The food at the Riu was absolutely fabulous, the buffet restaurant was superb, the displays they done with the food were stunning and the taste of everything was great.
My husband and I went on 3 excursions, The Eco Caribe, The Outback Safari, and Santo Domingo, all 3 were first class.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank william w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Entered hotel and everyone was great. Guys at counter friendly and helpful. Room very nice, but did feel a little damp at times. House keeping was great. Juana did a great job keeping me organized and clean. Every night someone came around to offer fresh towels and see if i needed anything. Not sure she knew English, bit nice anyway. Staff at buffet was great and very helpful. There is apparently a shortage of ice because you have to ask for it. I thought since i usually sat in the same section they would remember i liked a lot of ice, but they always brought it over. Food was good could have been a little more variety. Other restaurants were just fair. I would stick with buffet. Definitely would avoid steak house...it is open air and after i dress for dinner i need air condition. If you must eat in one of the restaurants i would chose the Italian, but make your reservations 2 days in advance. Please eat dinner because the room service is the worst thing at the hotel. Menu is very limited and food is awful. It most all be 2 day old left overs. Sports bar was very smokey so avoid that if smoke is a problem. Bar in lobby area was busy and the only time i had a problem with any staff. It could have been me because it was after an excursion and i was hot, sweaty, dirty, thirsty and hungry...but that bartender really made me mad. By the way she was the only female bartender at the resort and all the front counter workers were men. All the staff was great very helpful and friendly. I would go back any day. Don't forget to have several Costa Caribes, Sammy Sosa's and Coco Rosa. These are drinks!

Room Tip: Don't pay for the upgrade rooms. I just slept there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#48 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
1.4 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#78 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig??Ey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int???L. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing