We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Ranked #69 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Annenheim, Austria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For a relaxing holiday in paradise - this is the perfect place!
Wonderful super large room!! Incrredible food, perfect service - NO COMPLAINTS what soever!
Super clean beach and pool area - we loved it!

Room Tip: I don't think one can make a mistake there! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alterwolf665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    1,471
    745
    375
    326
See reviews for
1,347
2,277
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

we had 2 rooms ,both smell mold .TV wasn't working I call front desk nobody came to fix . I did it my self.no towels after certain time every day. nobody mentioned about the smell at the pool? every morning when sprinklers go off.2 days before our departure our A/C in the room stop working I went to the front desk they said 15 min nobody came again. after we left the hotel our friends text us management sent workers to every room and ask people if they have any complains. They were giving out bottle of Rom and cigar. Plus at the dinner people had lobsters and black and red caviar which we never saw in our 7 days staying

Room Tip: no good rooms- smelly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veronica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 14 nights at the Riu Palace Punta Cana and had a great time. This was our third time in a Riu Palace, having stopped in Aruba and Mexico before. The hotel has a very similar layout to Riu Palace Riveira Maya in particular, and they are all in a Spanish colonial style which we like.

One of the best things about the hotel was the staff - we've always had great service at Rius, but here we found the staff really do go above and beyond. We tipped in gratitude of the fantastic service we received for every drink and meal time but did not feel it was expected. Others who appeared to not tip also were served well from our observations.

Drinks service by the pool was great - did get less over the lunch period though. Drinks were also served on the beach, though we found it was more potluck occasionally what was left on the tray at times.

The food was great - again, typical Riu in that there is lots of choice and good quality food in the main buffet. Didn't bother with speciality restaurants, have been in other Rius and we always just prefer the buffet so stuck to it. Only negative was on some nights the restaurant was so busy some of the buffet stations had queues 30 deep. Being British, we can queue with the best of them but this was a real irritation. Going early or later helped, but on holiday you want to eat when you want, and what you want - not weighing up how long to wait in the queue before your other food on your plate is stone cold.

Our room was spacious and nicely fitted, though there were a few marks on the wall etc which could have done with a lick of paint. To be fair, there was a programme of painting and renovation - next door was painted whilst we were there. Our room was on the right hand side as you look at the beach, with a view of the gardens on the outside of the hotel. There was a service road which at times got quite noisy which took away slightly from sitting on the balcony. Wifi in the room and whole resort was excellent, and maid service very good throughout our two weeks - though turn down service was occasional. No big deal.

The beach truly was beautiful, but we seemed to spend less time on it than in other Rius. There are some beach vendors who don't hassle and you can get some bargains. I got a couple of beach wraps from a lady who seemed to do a roaring trade every morning from about 9am on the left side of the the beach as you look out to the sea. We also enjoyed going to the spa after a day in the heat as they had a lovely cold jacuzzi pool.

This holiday for us was all about rest and relaxation, and so we knew in advance that there wasn't much to do particularly at night. We made a few trips on an evening to two nearby shopping centres - Palma Real and San Juan. If you ask the bell boys there are free buses to these centres, but we never timed it right and so used taxis which were $20 a trip. Shops were OK, and ate at Hard Rock a couple of times. Most nights after dinner we walked along the beach path up to Caribbean Street which has some touristy type shops. Usually this was dead, apart from the night the Riu hotels do a 'Calle Caribbean Night' and they set up stalls, bars and music. There were shows put on at the hotel, but we never went to see them. We enjoyed drinks and chatting to others in the other bars such as the Lobby Bar and in particular the Sports Bar.

We did a trip with Thomson to Santo Domingo, which was OK. It broke up our days by the pool and was good to see more of the Dominican, but unless you are a massive colonial history buff it we didn't really feel it was full of "must see places".

As an aside to UK visitors we flew on the new Thomson Dreamliner from Manchester which was great. Going out we had the rudest crew I've ever had the misfortune to fly with, but coming back was fine. The hotel is in the platinum range which means a private taxi transfer which was great after the 8 hour flight.

We had a wonderful relaxing holiday in Punta Cana and would recommend this Riu Palace.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank charljayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Travelling from Norway (Europe) to Punta Cana.
First, positives:
Front desk very helpful and serviceminded, especially a big thank to Neftali who was so kind and helpful, and the rest of the staff were great. Unfortunately this is the only positive thing about the hotel.
Beautiful beach

We stayed at Riu Palace for 10 days and were extremely disappointed and fed up with the hotel.
Firstly, the rooms are not clean, they are old and smell a bad stank of mold! We changed our room 2 times, and still the same smell and yucky rooms and NOIIIISEEE!
The shower tub is horrible, with a white yucky curtain, and with no light inside the shower, so you have to keep the curtain open.

The bed is hard, and the furnitures are old and smelly. The halls are noisy at night, people screaming and partying in the rooms, so you have to expect no sleep.
The buffee is ok, but to messy and not clean at times, they are not that good in hygiene at this restaurant. The food is ok, a lot of variety.

The pool, OMG, nasty nasty filthy pool. All drinking, eating and swimming , kids families etc in the same pool. We never used it, and were disgusted every time we passed it when going to the beach.

All in all, it is NOT a 5 star hotel, its a 2+ hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family until they upgrade the whole hotel from the inside. All the bad reviews are true! It's a hotel from hell!!

PS be prepared for a crowdy and noisy hotel, with no sleep. Run or change hotel to Riu Macao which is only for ADULTS and is sooooo much better then Riu Palace Punta Cana. We stayed there for 5 days and finally enjoyed our vacation.

Room Tip: change hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travellushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We took a last minute vacation over Memorial day weekend - should have stayed home! The room smelled horrible - some sort of industrial air freshener to mask mold/mildew smell. The smell permeated everything including the booze in the mini bar, the mixers at any bar in the entire property, our clothes, etc. The food was inedible. The specialty restaurants are a joke - went to the "steak house" and got surf & turf - a half lobster that looked like it had already been on an earlier diner's plate and a "filet" that was un-cuttable. We threw down our napkins and left - not that the staff took notice. The buffet was ok - but I have to agree with another reviewer - multiple health code violations - at least by US standards. We survived on cookies a waiter boxed up for us the 1st night & dried figs for the duration of the trip. The drinks were awful & weak - minimal pool service, tipping dis some good poolside, but not at any other bar where you were ignored and they could not remember what you were drinking if you asked for another.

You cant see the ocean from most rooms or the pool. We had to pay extra to face the pool and not the adjacent property. There is one elevator bank for each side of the property. so if you leave something in the room plan on a nice long walk and lots of stairs to retrieve it - same goes for ice machines.

I had heard good things about RIU and was excited to go. I don't know if this particular property is the only bad one, but I don't think I wan to find out the hard way. I'll just avoid RIU properties in the future.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Decent food
Decent service
Rooms are a little tired and moldy.
Drinks weren't bad but not great
Entertainment was decent
Beautiful lobby
Beautiful beaches
Very hard time making dinner reservations. Have such a small window
Overall experience was a 6 out of 10

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I can't believe this place even exists or that there are people in this world that would ever vacation here. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights on recommendations from a travel agency(obviously they have never visited this place). Ok, here goes...
-smelly, moldy rooms
-Inedible food. So many health violations here. Food sitting out for hours in the heat. We both found hairs in our food!
Drinks are gross! Especially the wine, that tastes like sewage!
Staff was extremely rude and pretended they didn't understand you.
Only 1 pool that is packed with so many people eating in it and who knows what else. Cups and straws floating around. And the temp was hot!
Zero nightlife! Pool bar closes at 6pm. So much for having a drink and enjoying the sunset.
Sports bar was a joke... And it is only place for late night food. Hotdogs in a fridge that you microwave yourself??
If you don't speak Spanish be prepared to be treated like you don't exist.
I could go on and on! We have traveled to 6 continents and have never been to such an awful resort! We left the resort one day just to find something edible to eat. Do yourself a favor and erase the Riu as an option. Trust me, all the bad reviews are true! The good ones must be written by management.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jynx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
16.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#82 of 111 in Punta Cana
329 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
15.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#88 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Address: Playa de Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#62 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 612
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 4-story building * Surrounded by 63,000 m2 / 75,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 40 km / 31 miles from Higuey * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Riu Palace
Riu Palace Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing